Holbrook Pond Recreation Area and Campground

FeaturedNew
 
4.2 (70)
113102 2 38 0 50

User reviews

70 reviews
 
49%
 
37%
 
4%
 
6%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.9(70)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(70)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(70)
Value
 
4.5(70)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(70)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
70 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
May 13-15, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
30 to 45 minutes from Savannah. Nice level sites, mostly gravel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 17, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Older mature diverse couple, first time trying this camp site. Also very new to the camping scene. It was a military RV park with 30 and 50 amp full hook ups. Very large spaces (like 70 feet long) if you get spots 20 thru 30. Long term spots (for those staying over 10 days). The nature beauty from the small lake/pond to the walking trails made it very cozy. We would love to come back and hopefully one day host their.
Holbrook Pond Recreation Area and Campground
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22 January 2022
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a standard style military RV park with 30 and 50 amp full hook ups. Very large spaces (like 70 feet long) if you get spots 20 thru 30. Long term spots (for those staying over 10 days) are pretty rustic and a bit overgrown. Boating and fishing is allowed and there is a great renovated deck stepping out over the water. Laundry room under construction as of this review.
Will This Be Our First Stop? | Holbrook Pond Ft. Stewart
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 17, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We tent camped here for 1 night. The good: staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was generally attractive. The bathhouse was nice and clean. The not so great: the tent camping area was poorly maintained as there was broken glass throughout our site. Tent sites were poorly marked and somewhat far from the restroons/showers. Would I stay again? Maybe, but with lower expectations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 3-6, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We reserved a space to tour Savannah and stayed 3 nights. Unfortunately it was quite a drive to the campground from the city (40-45 miles). But the campground was close to the base and the amenities (commissary, exchange, etc.) Rustic but enjoyable and quiet. The lake is beautiful!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
21 November 2018
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This campground has lost its charm. No WiFi, no laundry area, cell service has always been touch and go. MWR has not been on top of things here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 28, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed for three days and as we had stayed here before we were pleasantly surprised to find 10 new drive thru sites with with 30/50 Amp service, sewer and water. The restrooms were nice and clean and the overall appearance of the campground has been improved. A bit of a drive from I95 but worth the effort!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
Oct. 16, 2018
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Because of Hurricane Michael we could not use the CG. They charged my card and after it was canceled were suppose to credit the card but never did. This as been a problem with them since the 16th of Sept. I only get lip service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 4
July 18 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Right off range road but didn’t hear a single shot, even though I know they were active. 5-7 minutes from the PX and Commissary, pretty convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful, I arrived and departed during business hours. The spots in the loop are back in only and don’t have sewer hookups, but easy to back into, wooded and well shaded. The pull through sites have sewer hookups, but no shade, which might be a big deal in the summer. The dump station costs $5 and is in an odd spot with low tree branches on one side that could pose a problem for Class A set ups. But my truck and trailer are 55 feet bumper to bumper and I got in there no problem. Stayed 2 nights on our way to Florida, will stay another 2 nights next week on our way home. Overall a good experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 26, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For those looking to use Holbrook outdoor recreation campgrounds at Ft Stewart, their new phone number is (912) 435-8205. Also, DO NOT use the drop box for late night check-in until further notice, MWR move operations to the outdoor equipment rental office and was informed by the attendees they don't have access to the Dropbox.. Only other issue is that their modern comfort station is accessed by combination lock on door. Meaning late night arrivals will need to use the old white bldg toilets.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
12 May 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice wooded campground with improvements and expansion ongoing for more campsites. Bathrooms were clean and neat. Will definitely return to this area and stay again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6-8 February 2017
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
...small RV park in the woods, very quaint and nice. There is no sewer hookup but there is a dump station. Only stayed two nights. Staff was awesome! WiFi was decent. A little drive (15 miles) from the I-95. Definitely will stay again if in the neighborhood.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Jun 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a wonderful time during our stay there. The staff was most helpful. The camp was clean and well maintained. We'll stay again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great stay. Staff thoughtfully called us on the day of arrival to ensure we didn't run into any trouble with the holiday Hayride that was going on in the area. It looks like a new shower/bathroom building and wifi have been added since the earlier reviews. I am however sure the alligators still exist but we did see a few security cars driving through during our stay.  Fire rings and charcoal grills seem to be a each site. All sites have water and electric (20/30/50). Dump station is along the exit and free for registered campers. Concrete pads easily fit my 33'MH. Closest stores are probably 20 minutes away so bring what you'll need. We enjoyed it and will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 21 - 30 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Well we're back again after a couple of years. Stopped here for 10 days on our way to Camp Lejeune, NC. Not much has changed, trees everywhere, fishing pond, still a very quite and peaceful, and great hosts. Yes a little bit away from stores and such, which I think is great. Not interested in camping in a city. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like it or not. Well I still like this FamCamp!  Will certainly come here again. Plenty of sites to choose from. Great people, 50/30 amp electric and water hookups, gray water on the ground, black at the dump station or you can rent a tote for $ 3.00. I use Direct TV and always get a site where it works. Also use Verizon Phone & WiFi, no problems at all. Laundry worked, was clean and free. Commissary and Exchange right down the road about 3 miles. Dining out not too far to town. For you dog lovers, right up the road is a dog park, lots for your pet do do. Had a real good time here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
14 Apr 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A bit out of the way (15 miles) from the 85 exit. Had no black water hook out, gray water was OK to put on the ground! A great outta the way place. Large sites on concrete pads. We were greeted and given the 5 cent tour by the attendant. There were two gators in the pond! It was a bit buggy, but I do want to go back and hang out some! We did the PX, but not the commissary. There were excellent restaurants in Hinesville and we chose the German one! - Can't wait to go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
7-8 Jan 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Secluded camp ground, was about 20 miles into base area before we found it. Host was friendly and informative about the area. Bathhouse was clean with plenty of hot water and the laundry facility was spacious and clean. We were in site 7, had 30/50 amp service, water, sewer, OK WIFI, picnic table, charcoal grill, and fire ring. Savannah was a pretty good distance so didn't get there but this would be a good place to stay for an extended visit. Stayed only one night on a trip from FL to NC. The facilities appeared clean and well maintained. Did not use any of the base facilities but they appear to be near by, commissary about 2.5 miles. Would like to stay here longer some time maybe in the fall. Overall a well managed and maintained Camp Ground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
May 02, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WARNING: THE GPS COORDINATES IN THE MILITARY RV CAMPING GUIDE BOOK ARE WAY WRONG! Do not use them, they are at least ten miles off and left us completely lost. The GPS coordinates on this website are different than the ones in the guide book but I cannot say if the ones on this website are correct since we didn't use them. The written directions in the guidebook and on this website are good. Another big deal: The military RV guide book says Savannah is 11 miles away. In fact, it is 39 miles from the RV park to the Savannah historic district. Fort Stewart is a massive base - 437 square miles! The RV park is a long way from anywhere, so if you are looking for a place to overnight on the way somewhere else it's probably not the place for you. If you just want a great spot to spend some quality time, it's perfect. The RV spaces are widely separated and the campground is gorgeous. Holbrook Pond is a short walk away and we were told the fishing is excellent. Check in is at the Outdoor Recreation office located at the campground, NOT the Outdoor Recreation office you first come across. When we checked in we told the manager of the incorrect guide book GPS coordinates and that we got lost as a result. She said she hears it all the time and gave us a coupon for a free night's stay on our next visit. We'll probably never get a chance to use it but it was a nice gesture.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26 Apr - 1 May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground host. Bathrooms were clean and a lot of space between campers. Lots of shade. Close to Ft. Stewart, just a little faraway from Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec-Feb 2014
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I have traveled to Holbrook Pond for the last 6 years and it has been a very enjoyable time. Cathy, office manager, is a wonderful caring woman and she has always found us a "home" here while staying 3-4 months. It is very quite, clean and for the most part, the people are very friendly. We can have pit fires and that makes it so nice around a roaring fire in the evenings. We travel from Texas and this will be our last year on the road. We will miss it here. If you are in the area it is well worth the trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
70 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4