NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (157)
429362 2 34 1 142

User reviews

157 reviews
 
55%
 
28%
 
14%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.8(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(157)
Value
 
4.5(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
157 results - showing 141 - 157
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Jan 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I agree with "proxy". We have stayed here for the last six years and love it. It amazes me that so many people are allowed to experience Americas little piece of paradise at a reasonable price. I thank the hosts for putting up with so much grief.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
February 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Kwdopher left this review using the Directory software: Good place if you want to come to Key West.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
4-27 Oct 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great stay at Sigsbee again. Who can argue that Key West, sun, sand and sea is not one of the finest locations a camper can experience. That is why we keep going back year after year. The office crew is not only very helpful, but are very knowledgeable about all activities in and around the campground. The camp host is always available to assist. In fact, the host assisted us in parking our rig. These folks have done a tremendous job with the resources available while still recovering from the hurricane. There are no reservations except for active duty and that is the way it should be. No different than most military campgrounds. The rotation system is very fair. If a camper wishes to just dry camp they can go to Trumbo seaplane base in town. Most Trumbo dry campers will remain until well after the first of the year. They love the dry camping close to town and the reasonable price. Laundry has been recently added at Trumbo. The water park is great. We stay at Sigsbee, because we like the full hookups. A short stay (if any) in the Sigsbee dry camp and then two weeks with full hookups. We can stay in hookups until there is a waiting list. No problem with the rotation. Sigsbee rest rooms are clean, neat and readily available, also an ample number of washers and dryers. Commissary and NEX within walking distance of campgrounds. Not large, but good enough for us. Gas and diesel fuel on Sigsbee. About the value. If anyone thinks the $19 is too expensive, I invite them to go up the keys and pay the $100 dollars a night. No better value can be found in any military campground. Obviously, the overall experience at Sigsbee, whether you go during the spring, summer, fall or winter is one that is enjoyable and we look forward to our next visit. CoachKen and Rita
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1 Jan - 1 Feb, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location of Sigsbee NAS is great; BUT not being able to make a reservation and not being able to stay on dry camping if you don't want to go to hookup is not right. You should be able to go on a list for hookup and be able to make a reservation to go on hookup when you first get to campground and stay on for 2wks to a month. Then go on a list to go back on hookup. Another thing that would help immensly is ELECTRIC to cut out GENEATOR noise. Hopefully the right people will read this and take some ACTION!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
April 2007
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Sigbee RV Park at NAS Key West has one of the most beautiful locations but is the worst run military RV Park we have ever been to. As with the other reviewers, the location is great. The area where we stayed the grass was uncut and there were several campers/trailer sites that look like they were occupied by the homeless for years. The nicer section is only available if your part of the 'good old boys' network. Even though the regulations provide rules on how long one may stay and etc, I believe the rules are overlooked or used only when it benefits them. The people in the office are physically there during the posted hours but do nothing to make the campers stay enjoyable. They are there just to take your money. I feel that the current management feels that they have a captive clientele and don't really need to improve or correct the current park conditions because, after all, what other choice do you have? The employees of MWR Sigbee RV Park should manage this facility as a service organization and enforce the regulations for ALL authorized visitors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 3
5 Dec 06 - 5 Mar 07
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Area is great and at Trumbo by Fly Navy you can walk into downtown KW. The thing that we do not care for is having to move at Sigsbee fam camp. Even if full hook up is available you cannot go on it before being on dry camping. You should be able to make a reservation and be on full hookup at least 2 wks - a month then go on just electric which would also help with generator noise and eliminate not being able to have any electric after 11pm and before 7am. The only thing that people like about Sigsbee and don't mind moving because of BX, commissary and other convieniences make moving somewhat workable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
November 2, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our third visit to Key West and we wouldn't trade it. The only reason the amenities/facilities are rated a 4 is that this is really "pre-season" and there is work going on at the marina. Yes, the commissary and exchange are on the small scale but selections are not bad and at least they are convenient. The laundry has not been well kept for years and I don't believe the MWR is responsible for it. As for the shower facilities, most of our RV's are self contained and I don't think anyone expected the winter population to grow so fast so quickly. We've been here during January, February and March and have never had any trouble using either facility. Compare this with the fishing, the sun, the friends you meet and make and the fishing, we have not gripe comin'! If you accept the smattering of inconveniences, your stay in Key West will be thoroughly enjoyable. Buck for buck, Sigsbee is a great deal and for us snowbirders, it's pure heaven!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
October 23 thru 29, 2007
(Updated: October 23, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've been here several times, but never stayed more than a week at a time, so have never rotated into full hookups. Our only experience is with the overflow facilities. We've stayed at both Sigsbee and Trumbo Point (which is dry camping only). Sigsbee has a nicer/newer bath house, laundry, and dump station. It's also near the exchange/commissary, as well as the marina, ITT, etc. It's NOT located for a quick and easy bicycle ride to the heart of old Key West. Trumbo Point, on the other hand, is just a short bicycle ride (or even walk) into town. It's also next door to a large swimming pool, with adequate toilet/shower facilities, and newly-added small laundry facility. In case you're wondering why the emphasis on bicycle distance to town, Key West is not a car-friendly place. It has narrow, easily grid-locked streets, limited parking, and a very aggressive parking enforcement program. Oversized vehicles (including large vans and the largest of the SUVs) are not welcome and are ticketed for parking in town. The best way to get around is on bicycles, mopeds, or on foot. So if your focus is simply on BEING in warm weather and having hookups, and you have little interest in the life and times of old Key West, then Sigsbee is probably your best bet. For those more adventuresome souls who don't mind dry-camping, and who have come not just for the weather, but for the larger cultural experience of Key West, then Trumbo Point, with quick and easy access to town is more likely your magic mojito. Trumbo Point however, is NOT open all year 'round. It's only open for the winter season, so if you're here outside that window, expect to stay at Sigsbee no matter what your preference. Happily, starting this year, they opened the Trumbo Point area October 1, instead of November 15. (This is a trial period, and if the demand for it is what they expect, they'll make it permanent). As campgrounds go, the facilities are pretty much average and quite adequate, BUT...as others have noted, the location is simply the best, and the price is right. And even more notably, the management is great and recognizes the tremendous demand for tropical fun and sun camping, and they make the extraordinary effort to accommodate 400+ RVs in an orderly and well-coordinated manner. They've also managed to find some well-qualified, people-oriented hosts to run the on-site end of the campgrounds. We're staying at Trumbo, so THE REMAINDER OF THIS REVIEW IS ON TRUMBO. If you've stayed at Trumbo Point in the past, you'll find a completely different space layout than before. Now, you'll find six rows laid out with all the spaces oriented east & west, and the roads running north and south. All sites appear to be back-ins, but are nice and wide, so there should be plenty of room for slideouts. The spaces are also color-coded by the size of vehicles they can accommodate. There are water faucets now spaced along the rows to allow in-place filling of your tanks if you have a long enough hose, but they are not full-time hookups (we chose a site close to a faucet, so our regular hose will reach). The dump station is still at the south end of the area. No shade anywhere, but a completely clear shot to the TV satellites, wherever you park. Side Note: For Sprint cell and broadband card users, there's maximum signal with EVDO.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 17 0
Jan 28 - Mar 10, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our 3rd winter here and we will return! As I did the ratings and came to the "Location" and "Value" areas I found myself wishing there was a 6 or 7 on this scale ;-) For the value alone this place is #1 of the 25 or so Military RV parks we've visited. That said, it does have a few shortcomings in the Facilities area. There are not enough washers & dryers, and the change machine is out of quarters more often than not. I would think these would be more profitable for MWR if they improved this. My wife tells me there aren't enough showers for the ladies. Also (nothing they can do about it) the Commissary and BX are very small. We love to dry camp and have no problems doing so at Sigsbee with one exception. Some folks can't seem to avoid running a generator all day long. Yes, most are the "quiet" Honda's, but some aren't, and "quiet" isn't "silent". If you're unlucky to get a spot with 2 or 3 neighbors who run theirs from 7am to 11pm you'll know what I'm saying. So, I volunteer to help anyone coming to Sigsbee with your dry-camping preparations. Look for my email address in my profile and email me. I also have an extensive section of our Blog devoted to dry camping, so check it out. ;-)
MM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
Feb 23-28, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Anywhere else I'd say $14 per night for a place to park is awful, but in Key West it is a real bargain. The Sigbee campground is built where an old housing addition was located. The inner section has full hookups but it takes getting on a waiting list to get in there and usually takes at least two weeks in winter. (Two week limit on full hookups is in effect during winter months.) Campground is divided into two locations. Main campground, with full hookups in the middle and dry camping around the outside and an older park across the base with all dry camping. All locations are adjacent to the Gulf of Mexico with great views. Due to the number of spaces available, both hookup and dry, the laundry facilities are very inadequate. Additionally, we noticed young families from the base housing areas coming over to use the laundry's which put even more strain on them. WiFi was available but for a hefty fee. ($7.95 per day.) We had a great time in Key West and would definitely return. During two months in Florida this was the only place we really found the sun and the warm temps we went down there for.
RS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
2 Jan-27 March 2006
(Updated: July 23, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We first came down to Sigsbee the first part of December 06. We stayed in dry camp 1 night and the full hookup. Enjoyed it very much. We returned Jan 07 and are at Trumbo and we are staying until 27 March. You can't beat the value. Most of the people are friendly if you make an effort to break the ice. Oops there is no ice in Key West, the weather is too hot. LOL All you need to dry dock is a couple of good batteries and a good old Honda 2000 generator. This year we have solar and 4 golf cart batteries, so hopefully the Honda won't get much use. We will be back Gods willing in December.
RP
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
November 2006
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
A good place to see the keys. Could not stay dry camp at Sigsbee and would have to rotate so moved to Trumbo which is all dry camp. The same ones come every year so if your not in the loop you are an outsider. That was OK for us since we aren't party people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Dec 22 2006 - Jan 14 2007
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
You have to check in during normal operating hours M-F 8:00 - 5:00 Sat and Sun 8:00 - 12:00 at the MWR RV Park Office before taking a space which is located at the following GPS Coordinates 24.580898, -81.773417. Take a right just past the Commissary/Navy Exchange. After hours find the on-duty campground host. This was our 1st visit and we enjoyed Key West. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Wish I could say the same for some of the people that come there year after year. They think they own/run the place and are not friendly at all.
LD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 1
May 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I'm curious as to why people are allowed to live at the campground permanently? I talked to one guy that has lived here for 5 years another that has lived here for 3 years. On the 17th of May they held some kind of lottery for reserved spaces, because I arrived on the 20th I was not allowed to book a space past the 1st of June as lottery winners were taking the space I had parked on. The more folks I talked to that were here for 2, 3, or 4 weeks the more I heard complaints of two sets of rules, one for vacationing retirees and one for those that knew someone, seems the rules, even rules about pets, don't apply to them. From my personal observation, this is a very poorly managed facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 2
---
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Been here before and each time had to dry-camp but it is worth it ! Will certainly be returning to this campground again. If you don't have a tow vehicle, rental cars are available and the rental company will send someone to the gate to pick you up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Mar 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is great, a real bargain, and the only way that most of us could afford to stay very long in the keys. This is our second winter in KW. However, fair warning, learn to love dry camping (we do) if you plan to come here!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
January 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed at Sigsbee in the drycamp overflow area. Rotation to a full-hookup site was taking 7 - 8 weeks in January 06. Lots of sun!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
157 results - showing 141 - 157
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8