NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (157)
429362 2 34 1 142

User reviews

157 reviews
 
55%
 
28%
 
14%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.8(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(157)
Value
 
4.5(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
157 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Feb 13-16, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We opted for Trumbo as it within walking distance of down town Key West. This was our first time dry camping and we don't have a generator. As it turned out we met a camper who had an extra Honda 2000i and as soon as he heard we didn't have one...he loaned it to us! By the way...Thanks a bunch! We walked into town a couple of times from the campground...good exercise. Key West is so congested that's the best way to go if you are able. Lots of people take their bicycles too. We plan to return in the future and recommend this CG to anyone that doesn't mind a little dry camping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jan 21, 2009 - Jan 26m 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Sigsbee is full at this time of year so we were directed to dry camping at the Trumbo Annex.
If you are just visiting for two weeks or so, Trumbo is a better choice. You will be dry camping at either location and Trumbo is within walking distance of Mallory Square, the Key West waterfront end of Duval St. The Camp Hosts have arranged with the local US Coast Guard command to allow gate access (walking and/or Bicycles) for RV Park patrons. All you have to do is sign in with the Officer of the Day and he/she will give you the gate cypher code. The Camp Host will point out where te OOD office is. THIS IS A GREAT "BENE". If you have bikes, Trumbo provides easy access to all of Key West! You will only need a car to go to the Commissary and Exchange at Sigsbee.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
15 Dec 2008 - 10 Jan 2009
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
B.G. left this reev using the Directory software: Great campground. I elected to boondock the entire period, camping at Trumbo Point(?), and I can't say enough good about the campground hosts (there were three, on a rotating schedule). I greatly enjoyed the area, and could open my trailer door and look right out on the Gulf of Mexico. Or walk up onto the bridge between Key West and Fleming Key to watch the full moon rise up over the Keys and flood the bay with shimmering light - magnificent! The only problem was a neighbor who drank far too much, far too often. When I left, he had received his LAST warning; one more offense and he was out. I decided not to remain for the final offense. But I WILL be back. This next time, however,if I get a disagreeable neighbor, I'll simply move, rather than trying to tough it out. My only other complaint is the lack of enclosed area for evening games - cards, dominoes, checkers, chess, what have you. There is an apparent lack of group activities for newcomers. Oldtimers have their friends from other years, and tend to stick together.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Dec 30, 2008 - Jan 7, 2009+
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We arrived at Trumbo Point on the 30th and found the CG to be less than 1/2 full. The on duty host met us promptly and showed us several sites, but when queried about several others (water view) that were not taken, we were quickly told those were not available, they were for someone else. The rules I read said, NO reservations, especially in dry camp, but I guess the host group added, unless you are a member of the clique who returns year after year. By the way, here it is the 7th and some of those sites are still open. On the plus side, the facilities are clean and generators are being shut down at 11pm. On the minus, there are still many regulars using a macerator pump and the stench is wicked in some sites. We have noticed a very strong undercurrent of hatred between the campers at Sigbee and the ones here at Trumbo, with both sides openly referring to the other with names that are not repeatable. This is too much of a jewel, for a small group of homesteaders to ruin for all Military users. It is time for the Command to step in and straighten things out, by making some strict rules for ALL to follow and changing some host if needed. We have camped here almost every month of the year over the past 20 years and it is getting worse every year. Time for change.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
15 Dec 08 - 2 Jan 09
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our second year...arrived Monday morning and was told it would be 2-4 days of dry camping at the Sigsbee overflow...got a place RIGHT on the water. Very nice camp hostess, although not really clear on how the 'rotation' works. There is not a published list for all to see, but you can check anytime in the RV office and see where you stand. They will let you know after 1200 on the day BEFORE you rotate to one of the 93 full hookup sites. Full hookups at Sigsbee main site and pretty close together, so you'll get to know your neighbor! Several active duty families were there awaiting quarters or out processing. Nice laundry and latrines. Keep your speed down to 15MPH...saw plenty of SP (Shore Police) cruisers, and some police were pulling people over. Barber shop is very small - 1 chair, fairly long wait time. Commissary is unusually small for such a large military presence...would suggest going to Albertson's, in the shopping center across and slightly to the right when you exit the Sigsbee main gate. Huge supermarket - clean - lots of selection. If you have friends visiting, check the "Fly Navy"...its the 6-story VQ facility at Trumbo Annex - usually plenty of rooms, clean, TV, wifi, A/C, all for $50 a night! Nice beach at Truman Annex; never crowded even on the busiest days! Excellent workout room/gym at Truman and world class gym at Main Base at Boca Chica. Weather absolutly perfect! Hi 70's day and about 68-72 by night. Would return in a heartbeat!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
18 Dec 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
How to catch a conch at Trumbo point: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7vZuGIowz4&feature=channel_page ---- Trumbo folks......Don't worry be happy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 4
few years ago
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Sigsbee and Trumbo are nice. Trumbo is closer to town. Long time reader and first time writer. (deleted) There is much to say about the campgrounds in KW. As earlier stated best to move on. Move on to bigger, nicer, greater things. I do not see a benefit for all members and readers on here to continue this. Merry Christmas and best wishes for New Year! (Moderator note: Portions of this review have been deleted to reduce a controversy.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 6
From October 2008 to present
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The hosts at Trumbo take care of their campers with love and full attention. They are available to help the "old farts" at any time of the day or night. (deleted) Two of the four hosts are new hosts this winter, so how often does this person want the hosts to be rotated? Sigsbee offers a great commissary, NEX, there are laundry, sports, great boat launching, restaurants etc. and the MWR are an excellent bunch of people who offer the "old farts" at Sigsbee and Trumbo equally such a huge range of activities etc to make our lives here in this idyllic Island Paradise a lovely easy experience. The good old boys here have gone out of their way to help the elderly campers at Trumbo dump their tanks once a week. This has been a win-win situation. These older folk can shower in their own facilities - keeping the public showers and bathrooms more available for the other campers etc etc. (deleted)
From a young newcomer here at Trumbo. (Moderator note: Portions of this review have been deleted as the result of a controversy).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
December 1, 2008 to present
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Trumbo is a great place! Where else can you see Key West for $13.00 a day? It has been our experience that all you have to do is to follow the written rules, mind your own business, treat everyone like you would like to be treated and your stay will be great. The hosts will bend over backwards to do anything they can to make your stay better.........all you have to do is ask. However, they do require the proper respect and courtesies afforded to anyone in a management position. I would recommend anyone to visit, inspect or stay as long as they care to. The Commissary and NEX are a short drive away where you will also find a Vet Clinic and a Barber/Beauty Shop. Trumbo is also a short walk to downtown Key West, Key West Bight, Harbor Walk and Duval Street.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Winters of 2001 - 2008
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Larry glad you deleted the names on previous post. But, the issues remain the same: MWR needs to get on the situation at Trumbo and clean up that act. While I do not think names should have been used in the post (and you deleted them) the basic information in that post remains to be true. THE ACT NEEDS TO BE CLEANED UP THERE. They need to rotate campground hosts. Sometimes these hosts get locked into a place and start to think they run the entire base. There is a way to address problems and get things moving in the direction that helps all of us. Let this be a learning experience for all concerned. (Moderator note: The rest of this review has been deleted as result of a controversial discussion).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 5
Winter 2008
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
MWR staff is great. Nice facilities on base. Key West is close by to both campgrounds. The people staying at Sigsbee are very nice. The old crowd at Trumbo are a bunch of nasty rude people. Some of them think since they have gone to Trumbo for years they own the campground. They will tell you that the rules do not apply because they have been there for years. The gossip mill is alive and well at Trumbo. The stories about new comers and anyone else they don't like get bigger with each mouth that passes the BS story on. Some of those old farts staying there need to get off their high horses and realize there are others in the world. The campers at Trumbo run a mile long garden water hose to dump their black tanks. Despite the fact that such is illegal. They leave the cap off the sewer when using their garden hose to dump their black tanks. Be down wind you will get a good wiff of it. Someone needs to put a stop to this unhealthy practice. Environmental health and state authorities are being contacted by a few of the campers here who also see this as a health issue. The base commander will receive a written letter of complaint about the black water dumping with garden hoses and no "doughnut" being used. Generator are to be turned off at 11 pm. Despite this rule, which is good for all campers, a few in class-A motor homes ran their generators well past 11 pm. (Moderator note: The rest of this review has been deleted since it caused a lot of controversy.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 5
Summer of 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WORD TO THE WISE....STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. That way those of us who love it have a better chance of full hookups. This is the best place to relax and vacation. I travel down to Key West at Christmas, Spring Break and my most fun is the summer, which I stay from June 6 until late August. I've now invested in a motor scooter and no longer pull my vehicle instead I pull a jet ski. My only suggestion that I wish the base commander would consider is cleaning up the beach area, Getting rid of all the rocks would not be that difficult and sure would add to comfort. Everything else is perfect. Staff is friendly and very helpful, and lets not forget about the full timers down there. If you need anything at all, the most friendly people down there are full timers Bill and Kathy. Look them up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 3
5 Jan-15 Jan08
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
One comment I have to make first is that of tent campers complaining about price of $12. When the motorcoaches are on dry camping they pay the same and have to deal with inconviences of generator noise and fumes. The motorcoaches only are on full hookup for 2 weeks after dry camping of about 5 weeks when campground is busy. If tent campers think $12 is too much they can go to Boyds and pay $70 a night to camp in Key West! Next most important is we need to get rid of generator noise and pollution by putting in at least electric on all sites. It should not be a problem since housing was there before the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Mid May 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location and nice being able to set up a tent right next to the water. Host has a lot of knowledge of the area. Nice having the NEX and Commissary across the street. Only issue: RVs pay $19 for full hookups and water, etc..... tents pay $12 for a small piece of ground with nothing? Seems like tents are paying more than their share. Although, the location is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
April 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The camp host, Mike, was wonderful...he has a breadth of information about the local restaurants and other non-touristy information such as where to park and places to see. Our only issue was that if you have pets, watch where you walk them; we had to check our dogs after EVERY walk for stickers. Otherwise, what a great place to stay, but we were there during off season so who knows what it is like when you have to rotate. We like this area better than Hawaii, but nothing beats staying at Hale Koa!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
Nov 2007 and again Feb 2008
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I arrived in November 2007 for a month and a half stay. I was offered a full hook-up site facing the beautiful Gulf Of Mexico and didn't have to rotate the entire time. I left for a month or so (left my motor home in MWR storage for under $60 for a month) and flew down the next time. By this time the park was full and I went into a "dry" site for three weeks. Both times were just a complete joy. Great weather, close to shopping, restaurants and recreation. The marina was still closed (probably open by now), so had to go off base to rent boats etc... I found the place fairly well run and the management interested in the experience that the residents were having. There seems to be a close nit group of people that return year after year. A lot of people seem to know each other. If you plan to bring a scooter with you, make sure it has base registration and you have a safety course under under your belt. Long pants, gloves and helmet, ( a lot of overkill for KW) is mandatory on base. I recommend a good bike with a basket for shopping though. The next time I go (winter of 09) I plan to stay in the overflow area at Trumbo Point. Its real close to downtown. The downside is that it is a good clip to get to the commissary and PX than the Sigsbee Park. The commissary is a huge advantage..local prices for food is much higher than on base (for most things). Amenities/Facilities: There are several bath houses that were either very clean or new along with ample laundry facilities. Most of the pads are gravel but about 30-40 are newly paved. The area has three locations for RV and other campers..Sigsbee Park (two separate areas, one new one the original). The overflow area is called Trumbo and is located on a different base near Downtown Key West on a Coast Guard facility. At Trumbo there are no hook ups. Water is available, dump station is available and bath house/laundry . A small BX branch is also there. If you stay at Trumbo (unlimited space) you don't have to rotate while you are there. Note: Rotation is only required during the busy season. If you go in the summer you will probably have a full hook-up site the entire time you are there. Go and enjoy! The huge upside to being on Trumbo is that its walking distance to Downtown and within view of the Gulf. Downside is that a lot of industrial work is going on during the day and it gets a little noisy and congested with heavy equipment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
8 - 13 March 2008
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
E.W. left this review using the Directory software: It's in the Keys and it was warm, but otherwise not much to offer. A lot of folks seem to live there full time with many living in homemade shelters like in a shanty town... pretty sad that the portion of the park we were in looked like skid row with several "tarp" houses and junk everywhere. Obviously we had to have somebody relocated when we showed up since his refrigerator and other crap stayed in our spot during our visit. Not a bad family camp and if you like the ocean (no beach!) it is a great place. Somebody really should look at the area that looks like it is full of homeless people and clean it up. There is a very large car wash very close to the camp and if you are able to wash your own rig it is great!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
19 Feb - 06 Mar 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a great first experience in Key West Florida! We stayed at Sigsbee RV park and enjoyed every minute. This was our first experience at dry camping for such a long period of time (the entire time we were there) but the bath house was clean & available, the dump site was really good, laundry facilities nice and price fair (biggest facility we've encountered!). It was VERY hot and humid when we first arrived, but we were able to cool off periodically due to the generous generator regs. Although some folks ran their gens all day everyday, it didn't seem too bad (we ran ours intermittently as needed). I know this has been a complaint from others, but we have seen worse in other areas! The staff and the hosts were great and the people sharing camping experiences were wonderful. Neither my husband nor I found any fault in the rotation system, and I personnally don't see a need for the reservations system here at Sigsbee. I find it very fortunate that Sigsbee and Trumbo allow SO MANY rigs in the two parks; that gives a lot of folks the opportunity to enjoy Key West! While in Key West we made an effort to see each of the bases: Boca Chica (beautiful marina & nice lounge), Truman Annex (nice beach and rec facility), Trumbo (more RV parking, swim park and nice lounge/dining facility in the Fly Navy Bldg) and of course, Sigsbee. We enjoyed the Sunset Lounge and watched some beautiful sunsets from there. The 4 rating on facilities and amenities came only because the marina was not opened yet. The RV park manager told us that the marina was to open in a few months. We are looking forward to that next year! The walk into Key West from Trumbo was a very easy and enjoyable one. We would leave our car right outside the Trumbo gate and then go into town; that's definitely a plus. A word about the chickens: When we arrived there was a "disagreement" going in the park about the roosters crowing. I had to laugh as some of the parks we've been to have jets flying overhead, shaking the rvs at 0700! What's a little rooster? I believe this is a base-wide issue, not an RV park issue. The community of Key West is finally recognizing the health issues and seem to be heading toward removal of the birds (I don't really know), but to have an ongoing "war" in the RV park seems ridiculous! My last comment is that I would like to give a big thanks to all on this website who took the time to answer my questions and calm my nerves regarding our trip to Key West. The forum is a great place to get info!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Dec11, 2007 - Feb 23, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There is a decent Commisary and Exchange on Sigsbee. One section of full hook-ups is excellent, the other section is mostly coral dust. It depends on the luck of the draw where you go. Views of the Gulf and it's sunset are unbeatable. If you have a motorcycle, bring a helmet, long sleeves and pants, boots and gloves. They are pretty strict on this. You also have to get a pass if you don't have a sticker, and you have to apply for the safe driving school. It is a short ride to downtown Key West where all the action is. Duval Street is expensive but fun, look down some of the side streets for bargains. Some of the entertainment from Key West comes to Sigsbee at the Sunset Lounge or the baseball field. Most entertainment is free.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 5-23, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just left, and is always fun, after you get into the swing of dry camping. We only go for the month of Feb., so, when our names come up to go into full hook-up, (about 3 1/2 weeks) it's time for us to leave. But, we'll go back as usual, 'cause we have a lot of friends we meet there now. The weather was kinda funky there this year, we actually had a tornado watch! We wear those soft ear plugs at nite, so the gen noise is OK, and during the day, we're out and about, so all in all, a good experience. P.S. The camphosts work their butts off !!!! P.P.S. It's to bad the C.O. wouldn't do something about the RV section of the exchange, it could become a gold mine w/ 400 odd Rv's there needing supplies and such.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
157 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8