NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (157)
429362 2 34 1 142

User reviews

157 reviews
 
55%
 
28%
 
14%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.8(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(157)
Value
 
4.5(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
157 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Jan. 30, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Talk about angels---- Sigsbee RV Park has many but my heartful thanks go out to Ms Loretta, John, and Terry. Our generator died----- Ms Loretta referred us to John, and he got us Terry. Each of these kind people stopped what what they were doing to help us. Terry, after working until dark, could not get the generator working---- so John loaned us his generator. Terry and John both returned the next day to continue their help. Talk about caring folks---- well, we found three. If our generator had to die--- it could not have been in a better place. We have found this park to be the greatest with the most caring, friendly, and kind people. This refers to the workers in the park and the rv campers as well. A big hug and thank you for John and Terry! This place is wonderful----- the location---- the weather---- the people---- and the park! Alice and Jim, Jan. 30, 2010
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
5 January 2009 - 11 February 2009
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We're still here and this is our second year. Not sure how anyone can have a complaint about this place. My only complaint is that it's been freezing cold here, but the folks didn't have anything to do with that. Local campgrounds here are over $100 a day during the winter months. Rotation is somewhat of a nuisance, but so what? Key West in the winter (and we're waterfront) for $12 is a real military benefit. After our third week, we finally got into hookups and the weather has taken a turn for the better. Have changed my ratings on the Cleanliness and Facilities, but still a great place. All the camp hosts, especially Loretta, are great and the office staff have been very cordial. Most of the RVers are super nice, but just like in the military, there's always those who think they were put on this earth to watch other people and complain. I will voice a complaint with the office in regards to the propane service. Seems they won't service propane bottles. They only want the big motorhomes, where the money is and they freely tell you that. Not a real problem to carry the bottles out the gate and it's actually cheaper, but my position is if you service anyone on a base, you service everyone. The other thing I might add is that 75% of the people here (to include us) have dogs and some of them bark. Quite times are from 11 AM to 7 AM, to include generators. Don't hear any dogs or generators after 11, but you can set your clock that the generators will start at 7 AM sharp, so if you are coming here for complete peace and quite, you might try somewhere else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21 Nov - 13 Dec 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was going to make an elaborate entry but the posts by bwzander and OldAFChief fully reflect our view. We left on 13 Dec to be with the kids for Christmas but will return in early Jan. The rotations are a small "price" to pay and the dry camp is better than some that I have paid a lot of money for. $21/$11 vs $120 is a deal...esp given the nice facilities. Plus, the pooch is missing Loretta's dog biscuits!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec. 5-Mid-March 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For those recent critical reviewers who came here thinking it would be a private resort, they may be correct in their comparisons, but we have found Sigsbee to be an excellent military campground. The biggest complaint we've heard is having to rotate out of full hookups every 14 days during peak (wintering) months, but most of our fellow campers grin & bear it. While we are about 4 weeks into our first visit here, parking among many who come year after year, we have enjoyed the friendliness of the people we've met, both among RVers and the Sigsbee staff. Facilities are close by and more than adequate -- Key West is a real happnin' place. Golf at K.W.C.C. is a bit steep -- $70 a round, but military pays $50 on Mondays & Wednesdays, plus we can join in with the group that meets every Friday in season for $30. Key West, a long way from everywhere, is well worth the drive down. As for the comment about numerous volunteers, we think they are underpaid for services rendered.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec 16 - Mid-March, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First visit here but it won't be my last. If the 15 "freeloading volunteers" were replaced by paid employees at $2,000 a month each that would be $30,000 a month in salaries. The volunteers all do a great job and put in lots of hours. Great facilities, great location, great weather, great staff. Nothing else needs to be said. For those that don't like being within walking distance to a first rate exchange and commissary (I know, they're small but fully stocked) or the volunteers they have the right to mosey to the east a couple of miles to a private campground for only $120.00 a night that isn't on the water and surrounded by questionable surroundings. Sigsbee is a top-notch professionally run facility.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Nov 09
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The price went up because all the other campers have to pay for all of the volunteers who get free rent. There has to be at least 15 freeloaders between Sigsbee and Trumbo. I can't believe that MWR lets the management get away with losing all this money. If you figure $630.00 a month for each volunteer, and you just say that there are 10 of them that is $6,300 per month that MWR is losing. I also wonder if they file a IRS form 1099 for the income that they are receiving. Just thought I'd throw this out there, let us know how you other retires feel.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 2 11
01 Oct to 30 Nov, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Great location, but now costs 21 dollars a day for just basic Water, electrical and sewer. No cable, no wifi. Bathrooms and laundry is used by a lot of people other than campers. Attitude at front office is you can leave if you do not like the price. I agree with the other poster, the staff love to smoke right in front of the office and you have to walk through it to get to the office. Loretta, one of the camp hosts is just wonderful. Small NEX and commissary. CG is not worth the money. Patrick AFB and JAX are far better for the cost.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
Nov. 8, 2009 - Nov. 22, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer. We had a water site and enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings watching the sun set. It is very convenient to the downtown area. We found the office workers to be very pleasant and Loretta was great. Our dog perked up each time she heard a golf cart thinking Loretta was going to give her a treat. There was a good sized dog park & dog walk. Our site was nice, the bathrooms were clean, people were friendly. We are definitely returning here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
14 Oct -01 Nov 2009
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location is the best. The cost for full hookup has gone up to 21 dollars. At that price you do not get much more than power, sewer and water. No WiFi, no cable. Loretta the Camp host is absolutely the best. Very pleasant and helpful and nice to be around. The front office is a different story. They are smokers and sit out front smoking and when you pull up, they run inside to take care of you, but you have to smell the stench. During this time Fantasy Fest was going on and the full hook up people had to rotate out to dry camping which is fine, but it did not seem that the rotation was done from the front office on an equitable basis. There were some year round campers that never moved. That is not fair or right. We will be back, when there is no rotation and hopefully they will have other amenities.
MD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
AUG 10-20, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
NICE PARK, THE POSITIVES: GREAT LOCATION. THE NEGATIVES WERE: DIRTY REST ROOMS, NO COVER ON THE DUMPSTER, QUIET TIMES NOT ENFORCED. IT WOULD BE NICE IF ALL OF THE SITES WERE PAD SITES THAT WERE LEVEL AND HAD A LITTLE MORE SPACE BETWEEN EACH OTHER, THE SITES ARE SO CLOSE THAT OUR NEIGHBOR WAS USING OUR SPACE TO STORE HIS DIVING STUFF. WE ASKED ABOUT THE WINTER AND WERE TOLD THAT EVERYTHING IS ON A FIRST COME BASIS. AND THAT THE SNOW BIRDS USUALLY HAVE THE ENTIRE CAMP FILLED UP SO THERE ARE NO SPACES FOR FAMILIES WHO WANT TO USE THE CAMP FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
17 JUNE-1JULY 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WONDERFUL CAMP, NOTHING NOT TO LIKE. WE ARRIVED LATE, CALLED THE CAMP HOST AND IN LESS THAN FIVE MINUTES SHE CAME TO THE OFFICE, TOOK ME ON A TOUR OF AVAILABLE SITES(VIA GOLF CART). WE GOT A WONDERFUL SITE WATERFRONT NEAR EVERYTHING. LORETTA REALLY MADE IT EASY FOR US. IF YOU GO THERE MAKE SURE YOU TAKE TIME TO MEET HER. CAMPS LIKE SIGSBEE MAKE IT POSSIBLE TO STAY FOR LONG VISITS. ITT OFFICE HAS GREAT DEALS ON DISCOUNT TICKETS FOR EVERYTHING. NEARBY TRUMBO HAS A VERY GOOD FISHING PIER. IF YOU CAN'T CATCH A LOT OF FISH IN KEY WEST, SELL YOUR FISHING RODS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The only way to see Key West. We loved our little spot near the water. The view was grand and we have nothing but praise for this place. Loved it loved it loved it. The 4 legged residents were an added experience. And it wouldn't have been a Jimmy Buffet experience for us had it not been for the old resident drunk. No problem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
March 1 - 15, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just loved our stay at Sigsbee. We have not been here since 2003 or 2004 when we were told that we had to stay at Trumbo, so we went straight there this time. The next day I drove through Sigsbee and the camp host was so friendly and nice and told us we could have a spot that was right on the water with trees. We stayed for 2 weeks and had great neighbors who did not run the generators much at all. When they did, it was not too bad. When we stayed at Trumbo, the generators were Terrible. The decibel levels have changed on the newer generators which helps. Next year we will be back and probably have our own generator - but still appreciate quiet to enjoy the outdoors. The bathrooms are much better than at MacDill FAMCAMP and it is nice that everyone is on the rotation - not just some. We never have had a full hook up here but look forward to next year. We also love the beach at Truman Annex. There is a nice workout room and the ocean is lovely. Just don't forget your water shoes. The coral rock is hard on the feet. I really hope they do not change this campground to lodging.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Mar 30 - Apr 18, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Wonderful location. Close to water to see gorgeous sunsets. Spent 2 nights in dry camp, then a nice site. Sites are pretty close together. Close to fitness center for workouts. Great walking areas. Commissary and Exchange OK. Having to rate every 2 weeks would be difficult if we were to stay a long time. No generator so no AC at night in hot weather! Camp hosts we met were very nice and helpful. Negative was the site directly in our view was terrible. Old dying tomato plants, tarps over all kinds of stuff, many old plastic boxes stacked. Looked like a junkyard! Close enough to Old Town to allow trips in to see the sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Apr 15 - 24, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.F. left this review using the Directory software: Our experience from the drive in was great. Loretta the camp host was wonderful and helpful. After one night we were able to move to overlook the water. The sunsets are picture perfect. Our experience as novice military campground users was inciteful and great. Our co-campers were also great and we look forward to returning for more visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 14 - 21 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Visit every year, this year we found the facilities maintenance to be lacking. Showers had good pressure but shower heads were almost clogged. Water selection for hot/cold was actually reversed. Head stalls were deteriorating. Sinks were chipped and showing signs of rust. Paper towel dispenser was removed and small air dryer installed. No way to clean/dry sinks after use. Weeds around site utilities were high and bees were present in them. Other than that, the people present were very pleasant and friendly. Commissary/exchange still nice and convenient. Weather as usual was fantastic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 12th to April 21st, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very few in overflow so we got a handicap full hookup very quickly. Have not been here since 2000 and the new section is excellent. Rumor has it this new section is scheduled to become housing and another site will be found for a campground, no idea when this is going to take place. Since there are several Naval/Coast Guard Installations we visited all of them. We were surprised to see the Coast Guard no longer lets Military Retirees eat there, in 2000 we had some great breakfasts there. Most of the staff at Sigsbee were helpful and friendly and we plan on going back in the fall. Albertsons and Publix are huge and close by and better stocked than any I have ever been in. Exchange and Commissary are small and you can walk to them from the campground. Was surprised to see they allow homesteaders here but were told they rotate also. Good strong 50 AMP and water pressure is good too. Old campground is tight and with a 45' there are not too many spaces we can fit into.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 2-14 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Sigsbee is a great campground with many waterfront sites. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rotation from dry camping to full hook-ups only took us two nights during this time of year. Great weather and great water!! Gulf front grill and bar has wonderful light meals and drinks. Service is a little slow because of staff shortages so it best order at the bar than wait on the waitstaff. Will be back!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
January 1-March11, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We also opted to stay at Trumbo. The fact that it is so close to downtown and the great fellow campers more then compensates for the lack of hookups. I do wish they would add more washers and dryers and maybe spiff up the bathrooms, maybe next season.......
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
16 Jan. to 12 Mar. 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We came to Trumbo point with the intent of only staying for 10 days or so. Well, we liked it so much, we were there for nine weeks. We dry camped for the entire time in the large, grassy field with no problems. Only had to move to dump about every ten days and that was easy to do. Nice, large lots with plenty of room for rv and car. Easy to get into town at the Coast Guard gate. Just get the code at OD officer before leaving. I suggested to camp host about placement of smaller campers/truck campers. They were placed in between large rigs which presented a problem when generators of those rigs were run. While there, another couple took over the camp activities. They seemed to be doing a great job and made a point to visit each and every camper with new information. They also provided a calender of events to each. We will be back in late Oct. for the entire winter. Made a lot of friends in town and we felt like locals. As a side note, present your military ID in town and most times you will get the local discount. Just tell them you are staying at Trumbo point.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
157 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8