NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (157)
429362 2 34 1 142

User reviews

157 reviews
 
55%
 
28%
 
14%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.8(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(157)
Value
 
4.5(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
157 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
17-25 March 2012
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived and had no idea where to go to sign in - office is not on campsite. Off-duty host tracked me down and made a phone call - On-duty host showed up immediately with a smile and took care of us. No full hook-up sites were available, so she put us into dry-camping in the first row off the water. Stayed for eight days and never wanted to move due to the view. Ran across numerous folks that had been there for six months or more - you would never have guessed it by the look of their campsites. We did not have a reservation, but according to the host they have had up to 500 rigs in the various campgrounds at one time - would not hesitate to go without a reservation again. Overall a great campsite, at a great location, with a VERY pleasant, courteous and competent staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
December thru March 2009-2012
(Updated: March 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pictures offered on the official Sigsbee sight does not show the beauty of this location to it's best. The pictures of the RVs grouped together looks more like dry camp at Trumbo Annex - not the campground on Sigsbee Naval Air Station. There are 2 full hookup areas at Sigsbee NAS with about 86 sites (give or take a couple)and almost 200 dry camp sites which do not include the numerous tent locations. We have wintered at Sigsbee each year since 2009. Arriving sometime shortly after Christmas and leaving in March each year. We have had the normal RV problems (a failed generator, a slide that didn't want to pull in) and we survived the trade winds of the Keys which can be exciting at times. But with that said, the social outings (group bike rides, kayaking tours, game night, movie night, friendships new and old), organized classes (painting, jewelry making, wood carving, and sewing only to name a few), and wonderful sunsets to watch as a group or individually are so worth any inconveniences you might endure to be in paradise. Also a great fenced dog park, great food and drinks at the Sunset Lounge, ITT reduced tickets for local activities, Exchange and Commissary, clean restrooms and laundry facilities, softball, washer toss games, karaoke each week, and such nice hosts through out the park. Yes, there are periods of time in dry camp, but that's where the friends are made. Full hook-ups of 2 weeks at a time are greatly anticipated - but everyone goes thru the same cycle and it's fun to meet neighbors at the list board to see where you are on the movement list and anticipate where your next location will be. And if you don't want to move ever so often, you can choose to go to Trumbo and dry camp for the full time you are there. It's closer to downtown and many prefer that location over Sigsbee, but anywhere in Key West is worth the trip. It is truly a paradise. Of course, all this may change in June 2012 when these campgrounds go under the reservation on line conception - no one knows how this will work yet - but hopefully the Navy won't mess up the greatest thing going in Florida. At least I can say - I've been in paradise for 3 years during the winter and loved every minute of it and have lots of pictures and friends as a result of our visits. If you haven't tried it - I hope you do sometime before you're too old to camp anymore. Of course there are other options - rental rooms, trailers and unoccupied quarters but they costs more than just camping. Look for pictures that campers have left instead of the official ones if you want a true picture of "dry camping drudgery in Sigsbee".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Jan 15-Feb 1, 2012
(Updated: February 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed at the tent camping area in Sigsbee..Great staff and location. BUT, be aware that generators are allowed IN THE TENT AREA from 700 am to 11 pm..The tents are spaced very close and the noise and exhaust fumes of some inconsiderate people forced some folks to either move to another location or leave early. Many arguments could be heard thru-out the campground about loud and smelly generators running at 10 pm when most tent folks are trying to sleep. Having a generator running in the tent area is insane, especially at 11 pm, and with exhaust fumes 5 feet from your tent entrance. Recommend the staff either completely ban generators from the tent area, or limit them to daylight hours only. If you really need a coffee pot, toaster, PC, microwave, blender and TV, then you really shouldn't be in a tent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
December 31, 2011 - ???, 2012
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our 8th year coming here in the winter. Can't beat it if you don't mind doing the dry camp rotation shuffle (and we don't mind at all). Some additional information: 1. Most overflow sites on Sigsbee are larger than last year, I'd estimate 8 to 10 feet wider. No problem now with slides and awnings even when three multi-slide RVs park side by side. Less issue with generator fumes. More room for a "front yard". 2. At the time we checked in we learned they've eliminated the vehicle length designations on sites. This may become a problem, and may change, but for now "if it fits it can park there". For example, a 12 foot popup can park in a space that will accommodate a 40 foot bus. No idea what they'll do with the 40 foot bus that shows up next when the park's 99% full but I'm sure they'll think of something :-) 3. Firearms Policy: I called Pass and ID and was transferred to "Donald" who handles all firearms inquiries. He said the policy is: Personal firearms must be declared, then turned in at the armory to be stored. The maximum storage period is 2 weeks. Registration paperwork is required and a background check will be performed. Retrieving the firearms is often inconvenient and time consuming -- and he knows first hand because he was formerly the armorer. Based on this we decided to leave our weapons behind, stored in a relative's gun safe. Bottom line it's a wonderful place, but if you don't like dry camping don't come down and complain about the lack of hookups - it is what it is. If they put hookups in all the sites the next thing would be reservations and then it would be like MacDill where you have to reserve a site a year in advance. Happy Travels!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
December 7 - 11, 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - This was our first experience staying at Sigsbee. We went with the idea that we would be dry camping. As expected we were put on the rotation list with the thought that we would get onto a full hookup site at the end of our stay. We were directed to a site located on the water in the overflow area. The site was so quiet and the view so great that when offered a full hookup the next day we declined and opted to stay right were we were. The three dump sites and potable water filling stations made dry camping painless. A special treat were the Iguana Lizards who hung out by the car wash.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
20Dec-29Feb11
(Updated: November 08, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a lovely time last season at Trumbo. Enjoyed walking into town, Bingo at the coastguard station plus other events hosted by CG Chiefs. Hope we have the honey wagon that the new manager of the campgrounds said we would this winter. Looking forward to renovated bathhouses at Trumbo. Lkg fwd to another great season at Trumbo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
May 7 - 16, 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
H.B. left this review using the Directory software: I don`t know where to begin, it is all the good things the others have said in there post, more fun than you think ,hope to do it again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 5
April 5-9, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: - This was my second visit in 4 years. Things have really changed for the better since my first visit. All the staff was awesome and friendly. Cleanliness has vastly improved. Dog owners clean up after their pets. We had an awesome time there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
14 - 23 January 2011
(Updated: March 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was my first time to dry camp so it was a little disappointing. I was very happy with the price and I'm sure we wouldn't have gone to Key West without Sigsbee being there, since other parks are charging $100.00 a night. Location, location, location, that's the important part, and Sigsbee RV Park is great. Clean, friendly, and an awesome value. I love being retired military.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
February 10 - 16, 2011
(Updated: February 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have come here at least once every year for the past seven years. I posted an extensive review back in October 2007, so this is just a brief update on some minor changes. My star ratings tell you I still think this is a great place. Recently the new base commander instituted a policy that when the MWR folks check you in to the campgrounds, you must show them a valid vehicle registration and proof of insurance for your RV and toad. So have those documents with you when you go in to register and save yourself a trip back outside to get it. Another surprising change, having nothing to do with camping, is that the Sunset Lounge (at the Sigsbee marina, for those not in the know) has closed and emptied out the indoor portion of the restaurant. It now operates ONLY on the back deck area, with overflow under a canopy next to the deck. This being a cold and windy day, we decided not to dine there because it was like a refrigerated wind tunnel on the deck. The camp host tells me the building was closed by the base fire marshall because it didn’t meet fire code standards (thatched roof, not enough exits). He said there was no word yet on whether MWR would ever rehab the building to meet code. Just food for thought while contemplating another day in paradise here in the beautiful Trumbo Point campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 2011-March 2011
(Updated: February 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We go to key west every year, and love it. If someone said there are no beaches then you didn't make it over to the military beach located at rec center. Great place to hang out with family. Private beach, rec center has games, movies, food and gym located next door. Like a private resort. Great place at Sigsbee for camping. Cant beat $12 per night and hot showers included! When we want to walk around on Duval street, go to sunset festivities, or eat out we park out side the military beach area and walk to all the things we want to do. Key West also gives you a nice resort, Island feel with everything withing walking distance! Also you can rent canoes and kayaks for next to nothing and if you have your boater license that is even better. Compared to local business prices for outdoor fun in the sun this is dirt cheap. I hated camping at Macdill (not sure how to spell it) AFB in Tampa because it took you forever to get around and the beach area on base is nasty so you had to drive an hour in traffic to get to the gulf beaches. The campsites themselves are great, but traffic congestion and taking forever to get around is not my idea of vacation. Patrick AFB is amazing for the beach but the tent campsites suck. We were right on top of each other to say the least, the ederly gentlemans dog pooping right outside our tent door. Again Key West has everything at fingertip reach, great night life, and nice secluded military side of everything to escape the busy touristy areas!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
January 2011
(Updated: January 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
After reading last review of saying there are no beaches or parking.... One there is a very nice beach on the Atlantic side.. and there is parking on selected side streets and there are a couple public parking lots for a reasonable fee or when you stay at Trumbo you can walk into town and leave your car at your campsite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
25 Dec - 28 Dec 2010
(Updated: January 03, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the Trumbo Point RV area in Key West. It was very easy to get to, the price was right ($12 a day--dry camping), Butch & Terry (camp hosts) were awesome, & the location was fabulous! We walked out of the Coast Guard gate & were on Duval Street in about 10 minutes. This is the place to stay if you are interested in being where the action is on Key West. There were plenty of places to just walk to or rent golf carts, motor scooters, etc. The only reason we would not go back is because we pretty much did all there was to do on Key West. No beaches & no parking were a disappointment but we visited all of the tourist sites and pretty much all of the watering holes along Duval Street. Mallory Square gets lively after 3:00 PM with jugglers, illusionists, comedians, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
18 - 28 Nov 2010
(Updated: November 29, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The location can't be beat if visiting the Keys. Cost for full hookup is just $21, I'm from NC and in comparison, a site in one of our state parks with nothing but a 30amp service is generally $25 or more. This is quite a bargain especially for this area. WiFi is available through MWR for a nominal fee, I thought it was reasonable, still no cable & local channels are next to nothing but you don't visit here to sit around watching TV. Loretta the Camp host is still one of the best host I have seen in our FAMCamps. Very pleasant and helpful and nice to be around. The front office was easy to deal with, just a little more business than personality. Only reason for less than a 5 on the amenities/facilities are the roads in the campgrounds and the bathrooms. The roads are gravel/dirt and get very dusty in the dry weather and water puddles fast when it rains. The bathrooms, while kept clean, are outdated and in need of a reconditioning. The grass/weeds around the campsites could use some attention as well. We loved our visit and hope to be able to return in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec 15, 2009 - Mar 23, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent our first winter in KW and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We'll be back in November. A couple of things that would be nice additions at Sigsbee. An easily accessible wash rack for RVs and a place to change oil in RV generators. A real pain to have to go to Boca Chica to do a 10 minute oil change. We found it far easier, healthier, and cheaper to just ride our bikes into town rather than drive in, unload, etc., etc., etc. Going around the long way via Smathers Beach was easy with a nice wide sidewalk most of the way. The entire staff is exceptional, especially Loretta. I didn't use it but I think the wi-fi and computer fees are very high. All in all, another good reason to stay in the military and get great retirement bennies like Sigsbee!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
18-24 November, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We loved our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer and were asked many times if we would like to. By all means we would like to, unfortunately I still have work items to complete before I could stay longer. We had a site one lane back from the water and were pleased with it other than a little close to neighbor. We enjoyed walking around the park greeting folks who were for the most part very friendly. Our plan was to go into town with our bikes, park and just ride the bikes around. This worked out really well. We found the office workers to be efficient and Loretta was great. There was a decent size dog park & dog walk but we did not use it. Our site was nice, the bathrooms were clean, people were friendly. We will definitely return here again when we have more time to spend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
5-12 March 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
1. First and foremost BIG KUDOS to Loretta you can't touch her positive and excited attitude, she express to everyone and everything she does all of the time. 2. We arrived at Sigbee around 11:30 PM after we past the gate twice, so that tells you to arrive in the daylight hours if possible, if not look for the Blue Lagoon and turn right there, The MPs at the gate were courteous and did their checks and we were on our way in. 3. The late arrival area is OK, but if it's cold like it was that night you needed some heat, but we survived until the morning. The Check-in office was open on time and checked us in right away, It pays to have all your vehicle and party info with you to fill out the registration cards or they will send you back for it. 4. We asked for a site near the water and we received it, we could see the ocean from our bed and from our dining room and living room area (#125 great spot). I know MWR has the money to provide at least 20 or 30 amp to run your refrigerator to minimize the generator use, for I will pay extra to turn off the generators. The PX and Commissary is close but they are small, easy access to downtown KW. Go to Trumman Anex to park your car to walk tour DUVAL and other streets. My opinion Trumbo is a mess and someone need to straighten that area up like NOW, it look like a Gypsy Camp, Glad we stayed at Sigbee. Overall we had an excellent time and will return to Sigbee, We visited there in a 5th Wheel pulled by a Volvo Super Hauler. (Thanks again Loretta)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
March 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I travel to Sigsbee frequently, and although I love this place I am disappointed in seeing the poor things happening there. Price went up and improvements went down. Sunset lounge manager ----- went from extremely charming to an arrogant butt. The greatest thing he put in the lounge was the Wednesday Karoake with "Key Time Karoake" and now he has decreased the hours, they only play from 7 to 9 pm, what is that all about? His male bartenders need to be replaced, on a very busy night I listen to the one named "-----" use the "F' Word constantly out loud when children were present and I watched many of the women there cringe. The park itself has improved on nothing. The WIFI is there, but extremely slow for the cost. A lot of people do not pick up after their animals and when I went to the Dog Park not only did a large dog pee on my leg but all the dogs slobber all over you and the owners do not watch their animals and few do not even pick up the dog waste. Of course you're in Key West and everything is beautiful but I heard nothing but people complaining. A new Host, don't know his name, a former ------ flys through the two camp areas on his Golf Cart and nothing is said to him. ----- of course is still charming but the new girl "-----" doesn't seem to know what she is doing. Navy Lodge personnel are great as well as ----- the new Manager. Navy police seem to continually harrass the campers and circle the RV roads way to often they need to stay on the main road around the park, especially at night. My opinion is the wonderful people there, on staff or volunteers, are being brow beat by the not so nice staff and volunteers. Cost of tent camping is same as dry camping for RV's...that does not seem fair. Dumpsters are old, dirty, smelly and many without lids. Some RV sites are allowed to look like Homeless Shanty Shacks with stacks and stacks of Junk outside when next door a half million dollar RV sites. From what I could see, the rules are not enforced at all, but many of the snow birds constantly complain about every little thing. Laundry Rooms and Bathrooms are not as clean as they use to be years ago. Change machines are always empty if your needing change to wash car or do laundry. Many of the snow birds there every year are very rude but the full timers who live there year round are great. BX and Commissary is fine except they have too many reserve officer spots. You have to cut your own grass, that sure does not seem right since they raised the price of camping. So there you are, yes I love the place, but here are just a few things that this park is ignoring. If you want to see the proper way to manage a Military RV Park check out Jacksonville, that guy has it all on the ball. (Ed note: names removed per request)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 7
01-05 MAR 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Sigsbee RV Park MWR staff and camp volunteers set the Gold Standard for customer service in a really big operation. In multiple visits to Key West, we have never made it off the wait list for a full hookup site, but dry camping at Sigsbee is as painless as it can be. Two large improvements since our last visit; 1. The chickens that some terrorist snuck on base from downtown Key West have disappeared. Dry camping in hot weather with all the windows open, and having the chickens announce dawn at 0300 used to be a major annoyance. 2. The Sunset Lounge has a new chef and menu; the food is excellent, and the beer is still inexpensive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
23 Oct.2009 -25 Feb. 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
If the person that is complaining about the hosts knew what the "freeloaders" do, you see that they deserve the free rent. We stay at Trumbo and the hosts do a lot. They see that campers get a spot and set up. They clean the bathrooms, which can get pretty dirty because some people can not clean up after themselves. They do a lot of things at the campground that would not get done if they had to wait for the Government to get around to it. Now at $12 a night, that comes up to $360 for twenty eight days. Now break that down by the amount of hours they put in and you will see they work for not very much an hour. Thanks to them for a job well down.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
157 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8