NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (157)
429362 2 34 1 142

User reviews

157 reviews
 
55%
 
28%
 
14%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.8(157)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(157)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(157)
Value
 
4.5(157)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(157)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
157 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
March 10-14, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Thanks for the alternate route to avoid the construction. It worked well, but missed Kennedy. Street sign very small. I think it is the first stoplight after turning onto Flagler which might help. We had dry camp space one row back from front, so could see the water. Arrived after 3, but camp host very efficient and helpful. Showers and laundry could have been cleaner, but with so much use, would need a full time person to do any better. ITT staff very helpful & good suggestions. Loved the Sunset Lounge and the close proximity of BX & Commissary. Have waited a long time to get to Key West and was not disappointed. Only negative was lack of generator stacks to keep fumes from going into neighbor sites. Did not see any except ours. Also, some portable generators in use were very noisy. Did not feel the hours were misused.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
February 25-28, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Campground Office was well marked. Our reception was welcoming and efficient. We were shown the available sites in Overflow and allowed to choose which we wanted. Most of the Overflow sites are spacious, most have tables and all are well defined. We never intended to wait for hook-ups but were told to expect 4-5 weeks wait. Staff was always cheerful and helpful. Their suggestion to eat at Goldman's was spot on. A driving tour of Trumbo Point made us feel we were better off at Sigsbee. Trumbo was clearly homesteaded, with most sites storing accumulations of stuff and all the sites facing the water looked very long-term. Restrooms were clean but there was always a line waiting for the showers. Wifi was non-existent but Fleet & Family had internet connected computers to use. Commissary and Exchange were small but adequate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24th Jan to 4th Feb 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just spent 10 days here and had the most amazing experience. The location could not have been better (we're active duty) right on the water, ITT staff were helpful not only with getting tickets for local attractions and Dry Tortugas, which we thoroughly recommend, but also good, local restaurants. There was no wifi at the campsite and it was slow at the office but let's face it, with that view you weren't in your RV much.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 15 - 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We knew we wouldn't get a FHU site within the two weeks of our stay and we wanted to be closer to downtown Key West. We purposely asked to go into dry camp at Trumbo Point. Many friends said this would be a mistake, as it wasn't as nice as Sigsbee. We didn't have any problems and liked it at Trumbo. Being able to walk out the Coast Guard gate and be at the pier near Mallory Square was great. Since this was the first time we had spent anytime at Key West, this worked out great for us. We didn't need to fight traffic and the road construction around Sigsbee. We walked into town almost everyday. We kept busy for two weeks walking, bike riding, kayaking, visiting the Dry Tortugas, and many happy hours with numerous friends and website users. The office was very friendly. We arrived a little after 1500hrs and I didn't know they closed then. They stayed open another 15 minutes to help us get settled. I think the office hours are very limited. 0900 - 1500 hrs, Mon - Fri. ITT was VERY friendly and useful with information on where to go and what to see, where to eat, etc. Some of the happy hour deals around the pier are good deals. The weather was cool, breezy, some rain, then some humidity. Most days were good for us. While it really can't be prevented, the only negative was the many of the other campers dry camping insisted on running their noisy generators all day long and starting them at 0600hrs. The Navy is supposed be cracking down on this abuse, but some campers got away with it. However, we would still return.
Trumbo Point
Dry Camp at Trumbo Point
Trumbo Point
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 14th
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Once again a great experience at Sigsbee, friendly folk and a great location. One week in overflow and two weeks on the rock pile. The only problem was the Wifi service. I signed up to receive Wifi and paid for four weeks usage. The only real place I could get a signal was sitting outside the laundry. Moved into hook ups and now there is nothing at all. Had to walk over to the office to receive a different Wifi which is now free. Very slow downloading. Took a trip over to the Fly Navy building to use their Wifi in the Lobby. Couldn't get a signal. Took the computer to town to Starbucks. Nope, couldn't get it there either.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 18-28 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a facilities update here. I just returned from 10 days at Fly Navy Building on Key West. I usually stay at the RV park but had limited time on this trip. Couple of new things since I was there last (summer 2012). 1) Wifi is provided FREE now most places on base. Just need to log in to set up an account (CC is required for ID purposes but no change). 2) The RV park check-in is moved to the old ITT building across from the BX on Sigsbee. 3) Good computers and access at Truman Annex now at no charge. 4) The quality of the food at the Beach Patio on Truman is really good now and you can still get attraction tickets there. This was my first stay at the Fly Navy Building and I surprised to get a room...suite at $75 per day (no tax of course). This room would sell for $450 in KY (I worked in the hotel business in KY). Enjoy.
Fly Navy room.
View from Fly Navy
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 9th, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great to be back! Ken checked us in within 5 minutes @ the Rock Pile. Spent last evening @ Sabastin Inlet State Park. It was scheduled for a week but the bugs and anti-pet policies wasn't in our comfort zone. No problem, pack up and head for the Keys.. The sign in process and hospitality was above grade and a neighbors cold Beer topped it off. We could look for the negatives if we wanted to but that's no fun. Went to the Sunset Lounge for a sunset dinner and a wonderful chill out after spending time on the road. The bikes are ready to go and a fishing trip has already been set up for Tues. As an added bonus we expected to be in overflow but there's about 10 spots open and life is good. We wish everyone safe travels and invite Key Westers @ heart to return :-). Leave your negatives at the last fill-up and enjoy what you have left.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 4 -?, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Always good to be back. Seems rule book does not apply to some. Rigs nasty, grass knee high, crap all around. Ready to move to Trumbo where campers know how to keep things nice and neat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
May 28, 2013 - June 5, 2013
(Updated: June 09, 2013)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We can now say we've been to Key West, but we will not return. Still recovering from the bad roads to get there; poor signage on U.S. 1; rotting foliage or sewage smell just past the check-in gate on the island's access road; masses of flies greet you at the dumpster and invite themselves to your campsite. Two days of nats mating and swarming any open orafice on our body; the Sunset Lounge can't keep a cook; the commissary and exchange have limited selections (very small); NO local HD tv; didn't even take down our kayak to put in the water due to severe weather and lightening that turned into TS Andrea. Sewage filled the city streets when the drains couldn't handle the storms. We got to see ONE sunset. It was lovely. Thank goodness we did not have to dry camp. We met a few very nice visiting campers, but the people who live there permanently didn't socialize between thunderstorms. John Pennecamp State Park in Key Largo costs LESS for state seniors, and though it rained as much there it did not smell or have trashy looking campsites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 8
May 19 thru May 29, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
G.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Beautiful campground and very helpful camp hosts. During this time frame there is a lot of construction in the area of Sigsbee and a lot of the street signs are down. There is no street named Dredger Key Rd. It is only Kennedy. Due to the confusion of driving directions and the construction we did $32,000 damage to our 5th wheel. Would stay at park again, but not until the construction is completed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 2012 to April 2013
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Still can not figure out why a weeks deposit is collected for long term campers when no other Famcamp does within the same command. It is very confusing to most people. If your account goes past 30 days because staff is overworked, then your deposit money is used. When they finally get you extended, it is then thirty days plus the deposit they used. And the deposit amount changes when you go from dry to full hook ups. Seems like a lt if trouble. But always a great place to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
December 5, 2012 - January 3, 2013
(Updated: March 16, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We like Sigsbee RV Campground. They have removed the brush from the 'Circle' overflow area, so you have a clear view of the gulf. Great views. During our time there, we camped in the 'Circle', over at the 'Rock Pile', and in 'Hollywood'. You can not beat the price for camping in the Keys! It is just great. The Rock Pile was our least favorite. Despite full hook ups it is crowded. Even Hollywood is crowded but it was a little nicer. We camped in a 40' motor home. This is our second year here and we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 5 - 14, 2013
(Updated: March 14, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Check in was easy, the host takes you around to show you the empty spots and you can pick from the open ones. It is common knowledge that you will only have dry camping to choose from. But since we were only here on a short-term basis, that was fine with us. We were facing the gulf and waking up to that view through the front window was worth it! Weather wasn't all that warm while we were here but it is still better than snow. Water and sewer were convenient to get to. Found the showers and laundry to be clean, unlike earlier posts. Agree that using a bicycle is THE way to get around (if you are able). It was a little over 4 miles to get downtown and plenty of places to park a bike. We will definitely be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Apr 6, 2010 and Feb 2-10, 2013
(Updated: February 20, 2013)
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Having just read the USAF LtCol's review in the Mil. Campground news letter, it has become very clear that that review was all about the "Gamesmanship" at this facility. It has also become very clear that the reason this Campground does NOT take reservations is because it would eliminate this "Gamesmanship". Something smells very rotten here, while it all centers around the policy of not taking reservations. The excuses about this policy would be eliminated if management would just follow other NWR Campground excamples in the State of Florida. Having been retired for 20 years now, I will continue to stay away from this Campground. It is a shame.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 3
July 2011
(Updated: February 19, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I did not stay at the campground, I stayed at the townhouses. The staff there was fantastic, the unit was clean, well kept and everything you could ask for. While it is maybe not as spacious and modern as some of the condos offbase, it was clean, everything worked fine, nothing was in disrepair again just an oustanding value!! The staff at the ITT office was also outstanding. Very informative and they knew what they had to offer and the ins and outs. You have to go there, save some money and get the same experience. I have been hesitant to mention this because I do not want it to get hard to get a reservation but their efforts have to be noted.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2012
(Updated: November 18, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Let me start by saying that I have never had a better time in any RV park anywhere, civilian or military. Maybe it's just the type of people that are drawn to Key West or maybe that Key West makes everyone calm, happy and laid back. Everyone was friendly and happy to be spending another day in paradise. We were there before the mobs hit and rotation began so we enjoyed 2 weeks in a waterfront site. Met some great people and enjoyed watching sunset every night and then sitting out under the stars. At $23 per night this was an exceptional value. I only have one pretty significant complaint. The bathrooms and showers were disgustingly filthy. I was lucky enough to have my own onboard facilities but some of the smaller campers who had to use the showers told me that they cleaned them themselves before they used them each day. When I say filthy I mean that the same dirt on the floor and hair on the sink and the cobwebs in the toilet stalls that were there when I arrived were still there when I left. The toilet seats were broken and slid around when you sat down. I'm baffled by this since everyone in the office and the camp hosts were so friendly and efficient. Did they not notice this? Is everyone just used to this level of dirt? It's really sad.
PB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Sept. 18 Sept. 28, 2012
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We always enjoy this campground and the surrounding area when we are here. When we arrived, the campground office was closed because of some problems so we were checked in by Glen. He was very friendly and helped us get into a site on the water. When we went to the office the next day, the 2 women in there were friendly & informative. We will definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
Feb-Mar 2012
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sigsbee is my absolute favorite place for the winter. The overflow area is well laid out and organized. The camp host helped us to pick out a great spot. The system of rotating into a full hookup site is very fair. You can ride your bike to anywhere on Key West, snorkel and kayak right from the campground. The Navy Exchange/Commissary and ITT/Fitness Center right at Sigsbee is very convenient. They have established a PO box at Boca Chica for mail delivery and FEDEX and UPS will deliver right to your campsite! You can't go wrong with Sigsbee Island. Don't miss the Karaoke at the Sunset Lounge!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Jan - Feb 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We loved our first experience at Sigsbee. We chose to stay over in the area with the larger shower and laundry facilities. The sites are marked off for the overflow. Generator use is a must until we could rotate into a full hook up site for 2 weeks. We had no problem boon-docking/dry camping and would do it again. We camped in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 14,2012
(Updated: April 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first time from CA to FL. Loved Sigsbee, we felt it was well run. Host of duty would be glad to anything they could to help you. We enjoyed the dry camp more then the rock pile (full hookup)felt like more room. The important thing I want to pass on to you is....When you sign in ask about getting a pass for your car. We left the base and could not return without a pass. Thanks to all the staff we had a great time and fell in love with FL.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
157 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8