User reviews

72 reviews
 
53%
 
24%
 
15%
 
6%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.4(72)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(72)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(72)
Value
 
4.2(72)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(72)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
72 results - showing 61 - 72
1 2 3 4
Ordering
25 - 29 November 2008
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Stayed at the on base campground. The facility on base IS NOT big rig friendly. Spaces are small and tight. Tow vehicle and car has to park in parking lot across street. We stayed in row closest to cabins. What a mistake that was. A large group rented two or three cabins and decided to have half the student diver population there for a party. Someone called the base security because the yelling and screaming by the drunks was too much after 11 pm. The party would see the police arriving and hold it down. As soon as base security departed they went right back to being drunks screaming and yelling. The next night same show. Same base security but this time with three vehicles. Again as soon as the security departed right back to the party. The people staying in the cabins had no regard for RVers. One RVer had neighbors dog crap under his rig. He addressed this issue with his neighbor and they seemed to care less. Addressed it the office and the manager did speak to the dog owner. Speaking of dogs, the party crowd in the cabins had a large black dog in the cabin. Despite rules that that say they can not have pets in cabins. The dog barked at night. To my knowledge nothing was done to the people who stayed in the cabins. Guess RVers don't rate there. The rest rooms were dirty. No laundry facilities at the on base location. Will not stay there again. The off base facility has nothing by it. You have to go out the electric gate in vehicle cannot walk out. Laundy is located at the off base location but on base RVers can not use laundry at the off base location. Makes no sense.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 FEB - 1 MAR 2008
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is actually called NSA Campgrounds in the Military RV Campground book. We stayed at the on-base campground. It definitely was not a good experience from the very start. First of all, to go into the campground you have to do a real tight hairpin turn and all of a sudden people started yelling at us - we stopped and found that we had hit a tree (they said it was the second time it had happened that week!) We didn't even hear or feel anything but sure enough, we had scraped along the side of our rig, including our dining area window. Well, that was truly a bummer since we've only had the rig since October. Oh well, I guess it could have been worse. Then it took us 40 minutes to get situated into our campsite - with about 7 staffmembers helping! The campsites are so close together and nearly impossible to navigate into. There are cabins in front of and in back of the campsites which makes it all the more difficult. Even though the maintenance guys were accomodating, I didn't find the office girl very friendly or helpful. You can't keep your vehicle with your rig so we had to go park the truck in a nearby parking area. There's a nice little beach area nearby and you can get a site almost right ON the beach. A tiny exchange. The mess hall is great and is within walking distance. We went there often. No coin laundry on base. There IS a coin laundry at the off base site but you can't use it. We found one off base and it was EXPENSIVE! $2 for washers. There's a building called the MAIN DECK directly across from the campground and there is FREE food and non-alcoholic drinks every Wed and Fri. It's really a bar, but you don't have to be a drinker to go in. There is karaoke on certain nights and there is a pool table (free) and darts (coin operated) and foos ball (free). DON'T wear your CAP inside this building or you have to buy a round of drinks for EVERYONE at the bar! You CAN have mail forwarded here. They have a little mail box in the office where you can check if mail came for you and there is also a modem for those that need to use their laptop. The beaches in Panama City are great and free and not too far away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
March 30 to April 27 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
4th visit to this CG. Was on the off base one again and found this experience to be just as good as all the rest. Shiela the camp activites director does not stop. Always has something going on (Shopping trips, Crafts, Pot Lucks, Beach walks etc.)and there is no pressure to take part. She does a great job. And you can tell she likes her job. Jerry the camp host does a great job also keeping people aware of the rules but with tack and professionalism. A pleasure to talk to but does not get into your business. They have just put in a dog run. A fenced area so you can let your pet run around and visit with the other 4 legged guests. Still needs a Flag Pole and a better way to check in so you do not have to bring your rig on base then drive back off. The campground needs some grass, so bring a small bag of grass seed and spread it around, before you know it, it will be like a golf course. The stay policy is 2 months then 48 hours before your time is up you can see if they have avalabilty to extend your stay. I think this is a good policy. It seems to stop homesteading and give everyone a chance to enjoy this CG.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 14-16, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
E.A. left this review using the Directory software: Arrived on Friday and was taken right to our site. Told them when I made reservations that we had a 34' 5er. Stayed at the campground right at the marina. Very close quarters for larger RV's but there were many large ones there. MWR personnel were very helpful and help guide us into our site. When it came time to leave, was able to back out of our pullthru site as I felt much better doing that, just not enough space to pull out for me, trees and other campers right in front of our site were just too close for comfort.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
R.D. left this review using the Directory software: Camp ground is ok. No swimming pool, small play ground and mini golf. Camp host is helpful only if it suits him. Getting in to the gate is a trick for big rigs with tows. So be careful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 6 - Mar 6, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
N.L. left this review using the Directory software: We arrived here at the NSA at Panama City Beach, FL on 02/06/08 and will be staying a month. Price is $350 per month currently for Southside. This is the third time we have stayed here and all three times were on the Southside CG so my rating will reflect that only. I called for reservations apx. one month prior to arriving. I also requested the off-base (Southside) RV Park as our TT is 38 foot long and the on-base (Mainside) RV Park is too close for us to park. We would definitely stay here again. Lots to see and do. The great things about the Southside RV Park are: 1. It is gated with key entry only. (Very secure) 2. It is located on a quiet street. 3. It has free cable, wi-fi, laundry facilities. Very clean laundry, shower/bath rooms. 4. The campground is kept up very well. A pavilion with a fire-pit available for anyone to use (nice on a cool evening we found out). 5. You are met at your site by the campground host who is very helpful. Soon after the campground activity coordinator greets you with a packet of useful information for your stay. The not-so-great things about the Southside RV Park are: 1. You have to go on base to check in. This means hauling your 38 foot TT through the gates and around the streets on base. They need to move the off-base check in to the off-base CG. 2. No shade anywhere (although they do have some trees planted).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 4-8 2007
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This was our first stay here. We stayed on-base (marina side). That is where we were assigned when we called, told we did not have a choice. We had only made reservations about a month in advance. Nice place to stay although you are so close to your neighbors. Very small concrete pad on each site. Gravel roads which the kids could ride their bikes on. We were surprised to find out the picnic tables and grills that are advertised were "moved to the off-site campground". I have a grill so I didn't mind that but I had to rent a banquet table and chairs for $1.50 a day so my children could eat. There are NO LAUNDRY facilities on the base campground either as advertised. We were told the off-base campground facilities had laundry but we were not entitled to use them even if we wanted to pay for it. (Didn't realize it was free as jazyn55 stated.) Some of the staff were really nice however we had a few that were just plain nasty day in and day out. Restaurant tip: Dan's BBQ in Panama City is a must!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 28 - July 25 2007
(Updated: July 15, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is the 3rd. time we stayed at this CG. Twice on Base (Full and limited hook-ups) and now off base. The on base does need help, there are only 5-6 sites you can get a rig larger than 24ft. and they take some skill to get into. To upgrade this on base CG for todays rigs would mean loosing some sites. All have been upgraded to 50 amp service. The water and elec. only sites are right down by the Rec. aera and the water. You get a lot of foot traffic around your rig at these sites. The shower rooms are clean, there is no laundry on base. They do have a wash rack to clean your rig. The Marina offers Pontoons and 17 ft. Cape Horns. The Cape Horns you can take into the Gulf, up to 3 miles. (good fishing boats) You have to take a online course to rent the boats. You can do this in the office or call in advance and ask for the web site. The staff on base does a OK job but needs to keep in mind rig size when assigning spots. The off base is newer and all sites are close to being the same size. All sites are concrete pads with 50 amp. The bathrooms have one shower ea. the laundry has 3 washers and 3 dryers and they are FREE!!! (very clean). The camp host is helpfull and I have not seen any junky sites. They also have a Activites Coordinator, she comes by when you set up and gives you a package on area activiies along with discount books. The beach is about 4 miles down the road. St. Andrews Bay State Park charges $5.00 per day to get in. The CG is not on the water but they have some picnic tables on the Bay about a 1/4 mile walk down a path from the CG. Some other things at the off base CG are, Free WiFi with great recep. Cable TV with 70 channels, Excellant cell and Dish reception. You can have your mail sent to this campground and the hosts will bring it to your door, Each site has its own trash can, no trips to the dumpster, you can wash your rig once a month and group pot lucks and trips. Lots of things to do in the aera. Things I would like to see changed is a different check in for the Off base CG, upgradeing of the on base CG. and a Flag pole at the off base CG. My ratings are a average for both the on and off base CG.
JA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
the off base cg has large site and full hookups with laundry facilities. signing in is a real pain as you must go onto the base proper which is a trip in itself and these personnel are not very helpful. we were met by a female host at the cg and welcomed us. the camping area on base should be closed very poor.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Campground off base has large sites. However, you must go into Marina office on base to check in which is impossible in a 40' motorhome. They should have a system where the campground host opens gate calls to office and gets you on your site then you can go down and pay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
---
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Got to be the worse operated campground in the military. selected people have special treatment. The cg host at the larger cg has a patio that looks like sandford and sons but if you try to keep anything outside he will be on your case that minute. each year the rates goes up and nothing has been added to the cg for the customers. The main cg on post is so close together that if you are at your patio table you can watch the neighbor's sewer hose move when he flushes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
---
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This was the worse military family camp that I ever stayed at. The RV pads were very close together, behind a large building which blocked any view. I have a 24ft RV and I had difficulty getting in and out of the park. I would not recommend this to anyone. Tyndall AFB just down the road is a much better choice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
72 results - showing 61 - 72
1 2 3 4