User reviews

72 reviews
 
53%
 
24%
 
15%
 
6%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.4(72)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(72)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(72)
Value
 
4.2(72)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(72)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
72 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Dec 28, 2010 to Mar 29, 2011
(Updated: March 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time for us to visit this facility. Stayed at the "south-side" park. All the positive comments about this great place are true. Sheila is the best Camp Host that we have ever come across and deserves the credit for making this a most enjoyable stay. All of the winter guest that were present during our stay were great. Will be returning here for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
31 Dec 2010 thru 10 Mar 2011
(Updated: March 19, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at southside from 31 Dec thru 10 Mar. We had a very enjoyable stay with very few complaints. Shelia (camp host) is one of the best I've seen and is always on top of any problems. Medical facilities in the area are excellent. The nearest commissary/bx is approximately 25 miles. If you are driving a motorhome I would suggest that you fuel it before getting into Florida since gas is 30 cents or more per gallon in Florida. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will return there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan. 16 to Feb. 16, 2011
(Updated: February 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first stay here and we are at Southside as we have a 45' Class A and would not fit at the RV park on Base. Utilities are great and the pad is long and wide so for us this is a great place to stay. Only negative comment I have and I did not take it into account with the ratings as it is a personal preference; tall trees surround the RV park so no view into the distance of anything which we prefer. Most folks are here for a two month stay which you can do the first time and yes the person with the tent is still here. Does not seem to be a problem as most times there was at least one site open and sometimes as many as three so doubt he is keeping anyone from getting a site this time of year when it is the busiest. My Verizon broadband was strong and the Comcast TV stations were almost as good as our Dish Network. For those who have not stayed here yet give it a whirl and you will be pleasantly surprised and Sheila the host is top notch.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
21 Jan - 29 Jan 2011
(Updated: February 02, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the older campground next to the marina (not the one off base). Staff at marina was first rate. They went out of their way to take care of any concerns we had. Quiet, small base that appears to be a "think tank" for development, research and innovations of Navy systems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 Oct 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.C. left this review using the Directory software: The Camp host at the off base site is super. She meets you at the site, gives you tons of information. She sets up programs for the guest. The facilities are very clean. She is constantly checking on you and letting you know of up-coming events. We have never found a Camp host as outstanding as this lady.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Defc 22 - Jan 1, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.R. left this review using the Directory software: We just stayed at the Navy park (off base) at Panama City, Florida. The camp host's were on top of the park. It was very clean, well tended and shows pride. There are weekly group events scheduled for those interested. Free laundry in a very nice shower/laundry building. Park location is between PC & PC Beach. We will go again~! **** four stars from us. John Renger
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 7-10, 2010
(Updated: December 09, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The staff here is excellent. They assist you with parking, help customers with their boat trailers, their tow dollies. There are 2 campgrounds here, we stayed at Mainside. It's a great facility, but there are not many "big rig" sites at Mainside. There are plenty at Southside. Mainside is right on the water with great views. There is a lot of construction on base, but the roads are still wide enough for traveling through. The actual entrance to the RV park could be marked just a little better. We didn't come in at night, but it would be tough to see the turn at night. We would definitely come back here!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2010
(Updated: October 26, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My family and I absolutely LOVE the Panama City Beach Area and spend as much time as possible down there. The Panama City CSS Family Campground and Marina is one of the best places to camp. It is located just minutes from one of the most beautiful state parks in the world (St. Andrews State Park). We have camped at both the on post and off post campsites and now request the off post campsites because of the dog park, the larger lots, and the washer and driers. The off post campground needs some more shade trees around the sites, but besides that, we LOVE it there. There are walking trails that lead directly down to St. Andrews Bay. The off post campground is just down the road from several large supermarkets, stores, and restaurants. They have a nice pavilion to BBQ near and there is exercise equipment. My family and I spent the entire month of July there and cannot wait to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
17-24 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
GPS coordinates for the “Mainside” RV Park are 30.1053, -85.4514. All of the current pictures on ‘militarycampgrounds.us’ site, with the exception of the Marina, are of the “Southside” RV Park. Unfortunately we could not visit the “Southside” location as it requires an access card for the gate and these are only issued to registered campers of that facility. Overall, the “Mainside” FamCamp rates a 3.5 and the only reason I would not assign an overall 5 is due to the very restrictive parking conditions. Concrete pads are cracked and much too small for modern RV’s. There are no picnic tables, grills, or fire rings. The lack of these items is dues to the congested nature of the pads – as an example; our awning (patio area) is almost on-top of our adjoining neighbor. Their sewer, water, and power connections are very close to our motorhome. The staff, marina, beach, and other amenities are all outstanding. There is no room for expansion of the current “Mainside” FamCamp. The marina offers pontoon, fishing, canoes, kayaks, and paddle boats for rent, as well as bicycles, diving gear, and miscellaneous outdoor recreation equipment. This FamCamp is well worth a visit for the marina and beaches, as well as the close proximity to the commercial beaches/fishing. Suggest all the current pictures, with the exception of the marina bay picture, be identified as “Southside”. I’m providing Larry with several “On-Base” photos to use at his discretion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug. 23, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This site was on base and a little hard to find. The directions point to the site off base, after turning south off US98 you only go about a 1/4 mile to the base entrance. Once in the Marina the spaces are tight. It took two of the guys there to help me get into the site. The trees are big and old and drop a lot of pine needles on the 36 foot 5th wheel. Nice place and close to the busy Panama City beach, I did not get time to visit the other RV site. People are very friendly and helpful. I would go back but not stay at the Marina due to the size of the sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 15, 2010 to June 30, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the "south" FAMCAMP. The sites are well spaced and the concrete pads are extra large. The only draw back is the lack of shade. Shiela (Camp Host) is the greatest. She makes you feel welcome upon arrival and has activities and lunches planned at local restaurants. The free laundry is a big plus also. We will be returning to this facility in the future. The "oil" had not made to this area yet. The Navy base has a small shoppette. Closest large exchange and commissary are appx. 20 miles away. Being able to make reservations is also a big plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2 - April 30, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We full time RV and stay at the off base RV Park a couple of times a year. They have security, large concrete pads & dog run. Free laundry, cable & wireless internet at each site. Sheila by far is the most professional & friendly camp host we have ever met. She goes out of her way to help everyone an is always available. The locations is convenient to everything. Occasionally there has been times we could not make a reservation because all 24 sites were taken. The base has a more then adequate reservation policy to keep those from homesteading. It appears this policy applies to everyone with the exception of one individual that is allowed to stay year around. He not only has been on the same site since last summer but tells other campers he will be at the base for 2 years. It is evident by the appearance of his site he is permanent. There is a large tent beside the RV. He even has a refrigerator outside. We thought the RV Park was suppose to be a famcamp for all of those who served not just for one person. Other then that it is a nice park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27 Mar - 02 Apr 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed in one of the cabins over spring break. It had a screened porch with a view of the bay. My wife and I had a great time. Can't beat it for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is a 5 min drive from base. The only con that I can think of is the size of the loft. It's quite small, but would be fine for kids.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 17 - 26 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great view of St Andrew's Bay. If it had been warmer would have taken a boat out. Sites have plenty of room. Laundry facilities nearby. People are very helpful. Highly recommend and hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
January 5 - February 27, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent 2 months at the Southside RV Park. It is a very nice, quiet, and clean campground. Lots of room and easy parking. Shelia, the camp host, was nice and friendly. Rob, who works at the Marina, was friendly, and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. The free laundry was an extra plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
January 4-11, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the "south campground" the sites are large and accommodate a large RV Ours is 43 feet. Most are back in with 4 pull thrus. The directions listed above are for this campground. However you must check in at the main base to get access to the south facility. The main facility is .8 mile from the US 98 on Thomas Rd. The only complaint I have about the services is the mail delivery is slow. We receive our mail from our mail service in track-able Priority packages. We were notified that our mail arrived on base two days before we received it. This is not a good way to run a railroad. The camp host in the south area really makes the stay worthwhile. She plans group outings to some of the local restaurants. She also is a wealth of information about the local area and the shopping facilities. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 25-26, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed only two nights at the campground in the Marina. VERY NICE and VERY CLEAN and VERY QUIET. Office personnel are very friendly and are eager to help you get into your site. A perfect place to really relax on a small beach while watching various boats come in and go out of the Marina. While we visited this facility, we took a W/E site very close to the water area. For others that may want to stay in one of those sites, you may want to use the dump facility on the way in, since the dump area will be on the proper side as you enter (it is located on the left as you enter the Marina).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
March 2009- Spring Break
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Sites are very close together, and you have to park your truck across the street in the parking lot. Make sure to bring extra long hoses for sewage, and cable for the tv. It is a nice place, just very hard to get a travel traler in the spot. Tight spots, but nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
February 25-28
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground ... easy to get to ... facilities clean ... individual sites plenty large. The campground hostess is the best ... she is very friendly and very helpful ... seems to have your best interests in mind, including activities and helpful coupons and information on area attractions. We'd stop here again for a short term stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 2 thru March 6, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.M. left this review using the Directory Software: We do allot of RVing and the South Point CG is very nice and clean. There is allot of room between sites so you have more privacy than you have at the Marina CG. The camp host is very friendly and helpful. She has a lot of information on the area and this to do in the area. She is also very personable and alot of fun to be around. We will come back to this CG. The exchange is small but you are only about 40 minutes from Tyndle AFB which a very large exchange and commissary. Tyndle AFB is on the same highway as the Coast Guard Station you just get on highway 98 and it runs right through the AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
72 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4