User reviews

37 reviews with 5 stars
73 reviews
 
53%
 
23%
 
15%
 
5%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.4(73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(73)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(73)
Value
 
4.2(73)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
37 results - showing 21 - 37
1 2
Ordering
May 3, 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.C. left this review using the Directory software: On 3 to 8 May my wife and I stayed at the off base RV site. We were as usually greeted by the site Host Sheila. She had a hand full of information about the site and local area. We were also invited to go out to eat along with the other site guest at a local restaurant she set up. We would have but had other plans. She keeps the facilities very clean. She always checks on the guest to make sure there are ok. She is a Class one Host and MWR should know they are lucky to have her. The personnel at the rec office are very professional and friendly also. The off base sites only bad mark is it needs trees and grass around the sites so sand is not tracked into the rv. It is nice to have nice laundry equipment and the cost is free. Thanks Shiela! Faye & Brian
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15 - 21 April 2011
(Updated: April 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at this campground for the first time. We stayed at the Southside and really enjoyed our stay. The camp host is great and takes great pride in her position and area. The campers were super friendly and the location is great. This campground is a well kept secret. SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH don't tell anyone. We will definitely be returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec 28, 2010 to Mar 29, 2011
(Updated: March 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time for us to visit this facility. Stayed at the "south-side" park. All the positive comments about this great place are true. Sheila is the best Camp Host that we have ever come across and deserves the credit for making this a most enjoyable stay. All of the winter guest that were present during our stay were great. Will be returning here for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
31 Dec 2010 thru 10 Mar 2011
(Updated: March 19, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at southside from 31 Dec thru 10 Mar. We had a very enjoyable stay with very few complaints. Shelia (camp host) is one of the best I've seen and is always on top of any problems. Medical facilities in the area are excellent. The nearest commissary/bx is approximately 25 miles. If you are driving a motorhome I would suggest that you fuel it before getting into Florida since gas is 30 cents or more per gallon in Florida. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will return there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan. 16 to Feb. 16, 2011
(Updated: February 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first stay here and we are at Southside as we have a 45' Class A and would not fit at the RV park on Base. Utilities are great and the pad is long and wide so for us this is a great place to stay. Only negative comment I have and I did not take it into account with the ratings as it is a personal preference; tall trees surround the RV park so no view into the distance of anything which we prefer. Most folks are here for a two month stay which you can do the first time and yes the person with the tent is still here. Does not seem to be a problem as most times there was at least one site open and sometimes as many as three so doubt he is keeping anyone from getting a site this time of year when it is the busiest. My Verizon broadband was strong and the Comcast TV stations were almost as good as our Dish Network. For those who have not stayed here yet give it a whirl and you will be pleasantly surprised and Sheila the host is top notch.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
21 Jan - 29 Jan 2011
(Updated: February 02, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the older campground next to the marina (not the one off base). Staff at marina was first rate. They went out of their way to take care of any concerns we had. Quiet, small base that appears to be a "think tank" for development, research and innovations of Navy systems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 Oct 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.C. left this review using the Directory software: The Camp host at the off base site is super. She meets you at the site, gives you tons of information. She sets up programs for the guest. The facilities are very clean. She is constantly checking on you and letting you know of up-coming events. We have never found a Camp host as outstanding as this lady.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2010
(Updated: October 26, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My family and I absolutely LOVE the Panama City Beach Area and spend as much time as possible down there. The Panama City CSS Family Campground and Marina is one of the best places to camp. It is located just minutes from one of the most beautiful state parks in the world (St. Andrews State Park). We have camped at both the on post and off post campsites and now request the off post campsites because of the dog park, the larger lots, and the washer and driers. The off post campground needs some more shade trees around the sites, but besides that, we LOVE it there. There are walking trails that lead directly down to St. Andrews Bay. The off post campground is just down the road from several large supermarkets, stores, and restaurants. They have a nice pavilion to BBQ near and there is exercise equipment. My family and I spent the entire month of July there and cannot wait to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 15, 2010 to June 30, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the "south" FAMCAMP. The sites are well spaced and the concrete pads are extra large. The only draw back is the lack of shade. Shiela (Camp Host) is the greatest. She makes you feel welcome upon arrival and has activities and lunches planned at local restaurants. The free laundry is a big plus also. We will be returning to this facility in the future. The "oil" had not made to this area yet. The Navy base has a small shoppette. Closest large exchange and commissary are appx. 20 miles away. Being able to make reservations is also a big plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 17 - 26 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great view of St Andrew's Bay. If it had been warmer would have taken a boat out. Sites have plenty of room. Laundry facilities nearby. People are very helpful. Highly recommend and hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
January 5 - February 27, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent 2 months at the Southside RV Park. It is a very nice, quiet, and clean campground. Lots of room and easy parking. Shelia, the camp host, was nice and friendly. Rob, who works at the Marina, was friendly, and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. The free laundry was an extra plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
January 4-11, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the "south campground" the sites are large and accommodate a large RV Ours is 43 feet. Most are back in with 4 pull thrus. The directions listed above are for this campground. However you must check in at the main base to get access to the south facility. The main facility is .8 mile from the US 98 on Thomas Rd. The only complaint I have about the services is the mail delivery is slow. We receive our mail from our mail service in track-able Priority packages. We were notified that our mail arrived on base two days before we received it. This is not a good way to run a railroad. The camp host in the south area really makes the stay worthwhile. She plans group outings to some of the local restaurants. She also is a wealth of information about the local area and the shopping facilities. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 25-26, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed only two nights at the campground in the Marina. VERY NICE and VERY CLEAN and VERY QUIET. Office personnel are very friendly and are eager to help you get into your site. A perfect place to really relax on a small beach while watching various boats come in and go out of the Marina. While we visited this facility, we took a W/E site very close to the water area. For others that may want to stay in one of those sites, you may want to use the dump facility on the way in, since the dump area will be on the proper side as you enter (it is located on the left as you enter the Marina).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
March 2 thru March 6, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.M. left this review using the Directory Software: We do allot of RVing and the South Point CG is very nice and clean. There is allot of room between sites so you have more privacy than you have at the Marina CG. The camp host is very friendly and helpful. She has a lot of information on the area and this to do in the area. She is also very personable and alot of fun to be around. We will come back to this CG. The exchange is small but you are only about 40 minutes from Tyndle AFB which a very large exchange and commissary. Tyndle AFB is on the same highway as the Coast Guard Station you just get on highway 98 and it runs right through the AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 30 to April 27 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
4th visit to this CG. Was on the off base one again and found this experience to be just as good as all the rest. Shiela the camp activites director does not stop. Always has something going on (Shopping trips, Crafts, Pot Lucks, Beach walks etc.)and there is no pressure to take part. She does a great job. And you can tell she likes her job. Jerry the camp host does a great job also keeping people aware of the rules but with tack and professionalism. A pleasure to talk to but does not get into your business. They have just put in a dog run. A fenced area so you can let your pet run around and visit with the other 4 legged guests. Still needs a Flag Pole and a better way to check in so you do not have to bring your rig on base then drive back off. The campground needs some grass, so bring a small bag of grass seed and spread it around, before you know it, it will be like a golf course. The stay policy is 2 months then 48 hours before your time is up you can see if they have avalabilty to extend your stay. I think this is a good policy. It seems to stop homesteading and give everyone a chance to enjoy this CG.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 14-16, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
E.A. left this review using the Directory software: Arrived on Friday and was taken right to our site. Told them when I made reservations that we had a 34' 5er. Stayed at the campground right at the marina. Very close quarters for larger RV's but there were many large ones there. MWR personnel were very helpful and help guide us into our site. When it came time to leave, was able to back out of our pullthru site as I felt much better doing that, just not enough space to pull out for me, trees and other campers right in front of our site were just too close for comfort.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 6 - Mar 6, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
N.L. left this review using the Directory software: We arrived here at the NSA at Panama City Beach, FL on 02/06/08 and will be staying a month. Price is $350 per month currently for Southside. This is the third time we have stayed here and all three times were on the Southside CG so my rating will reflect that only. I called for reservations apx. one month prior to arriving. I also requested the off-base (Southside) RV Park as our TT is 38 foot long and the on-base (Mainside) RV Park is too close for us to park. We would definitely stay here again. Lots to see and do. The great things about the Southside RV Park are: 1. It is gated with key entry only. (Very secure) 2. It is located on a quiet street. 3. It has free cable, wi-fi, laundry facilities. Very clean laundry, shower/bath rooms. 4. The campground is kept up very well. A pavilion with a fire-pit available for anyone to use (nice on a cool evening we found out). 5. You are met at your site by the campground host who is very helpful. Soon after the campground activity coordinator greets you with a packet of useful information for your stay. The not-so-great things about the Southside RV Park are: 1. You have to go on base to check in. This means hauling your 38 foot TT through the gates and around the streets on base. They need to move the off-base check in to the off-base CG. 2. No shade anywhere (although they do have some trees planted).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
37 results - showing 21 - 37
1 2