User reviews

72 reviews
 
53%
 
24%
 
15%
 
6%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.4(72)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(72)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(72)
Value
 
4.2(72)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(72)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
72 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
April 12-19
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the Marina campground, other than the campground being a tad bit tight we really liked it. The Bay is beautiful, the campground is clean and the staff was great. The camp hosts were very friendly and kept us up to date if bad weather was coming in. We will go back it's a great place to stay to see the sights in Panama City. I do think next time we will asked to stay at the off base campground. The sites are easier to get into and roomier.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 29, 2013 - Mar 31, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Returned for fourth winter stay to Southside RV Park. As usual the stay was great in spite of the weather! Great to return and meet old friends and make new ones. Sheila is the best host of all the places we have visited.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 18 - 21, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the Marina RV park in a 30 foot motorhome. Concrete pads make leveling easy, staff met us and showed us to our site. Great beach, very clean campground, good wifi and cable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
January 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed in the Marina campground. Nice location and the staff treat you great. It's a bit tight among the pine trees but we really enjoyed this park. Nice restaurant/club across the street from the marina. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 13, 2013 to Mar 20, 2013
(Updated: March 24, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Returned for third winter at Southside. Things are about the same, we are very happy with this facility. Sheila is still there and as usual she is the greatest host. Didn't seem to be as many people wintering in the area this year as there was vacancies in many of the RV parks in the area. The secret to entering the gate at Southside, if you think you can't make the turn, is to enter through the first turn then open the entrance gate and then use the metal plate and open the exit gate and pull through it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 8-9, 2012
(Updated: February 07, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location is good (close to the beaches in Panama City), but I would not call this location "big rig friendly". We pull a 43 foot fifth wheel and checking in at the marina was tricky given some tight turns. The South Point campground (where all of the pull-thru sites are located) has a very narrow gate at the entrance. To make matters worse, there is a V-shaped planting area in front of the gate which prohibits you from pulling straight in or straight out of the gate. Bottom line: it is very easy to scrape your coach on the way in or out of the campground. Given the aforementioned facts, I would probably not stay here again because of the size of our fifth wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 15 - 18, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
G.G. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed at the Southside (off base) campground. Getting to the Marina and checking in was inconvenient. This was our first visit and will probably visit again now we know where to go and there is space to pull the camper down to the marina for check in. Convenient to beaches, etc. Was met by camp host with maps and info for the area. Had difficulty parking truck out of road. Have a 42 ft 5th wheel and a F550 to pull with. Have to stay on gravel because of soft sand all around the area. Had planned to do laundry, but all parking spaces were being used by other campers as overflow parking. No one was in bathhouse or laundry, but every space was full with the same vehicles for the three days we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22 - 29 Jun 2012
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the Southside CG based on prior reviews concerning issues with larger campers at Main CG. Plenty of shade at the Main CG, but none at the Southside CG. We were there during Tropical Storm Debby so it was nice not having to worry about tree limbs and such from the high winds. Shelia was just as helpful as others have said. The facilities were great and the people were friendly. Very close to all PCB has to offer. We will definitely visit here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground. Small, but nice marina and very small beach area on the bay. Staff did a nice job cleaning out the seagrass in the beach area, but what we found out is that the water is only about 1-2 feet in depth. Not even deep enough to float around, but great for kids to play and checkout the sea life. You would have to walk half way across the bay for it to get deep to swim or float. Staff are friendly and sites are good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 16 - Apr 22, 2012
(Updated: March 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time at this facility. With only one week notice the staff was able to fit two of us traveling together. We stayed at the main campground near the marina and really like the proximity to the water for fishing in the St. Andrew Bay right from the property. We have Porta-Bote and launch it right from the marina at no charge! We utilize the pavilion for fishing set up time. For those of us who like to walk for fun and exercise the base has ample sidewalks and distance. Furthermore virtually every facility is within walking distance on this small base. The galley doesn't let retirees eat there, one of the few in our experience. Bird watchers will delight in the forest, marsh areas adjacent to the park. The restroom/laundry building is always clean and tidy with a book exchange library in the laundry. The office staff are eager to help and are knowledgable about RV'ing, fishing, restaurants, etc. NOTES: Don't arrive after 5 p.m., the office shuts down and there's no place for you to stay till morning, that's stated policy. Their policy also makes sure a staff member assist in parking you, it's tight at main park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 30, 2011 to Mar 01, 2012
(Updated: March 04, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I returned for our third visit to this facility and as previously stated in reviews we were very pleased. As usual we were greeted by Sheila and other guest. We had planned to stay another month but were unable to extend. For those of you that comment about the "white tent", it is gone now as Mike retired while we were there! The free washers and driers are no more, they were replaced by coin operated machines while we were there. Would like to see changes to the policy for extending stay. Having to wait until two days prior to leaving does not give alot of time for making/changing travel plans. Will return in the future. As for previous reviewers negative comments about pet rules: He should read the rules as they are clearly stated!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 19, 2012
(Updated: February 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Should have been posted about the 2 pet limit. Could not wait to leave. Our site was right be hind the sewer capture. PHEWW!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 8-12, 2012
(Updated: February 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at the Southside Campground. The location is wonderful and very convenient to the beach, shopping and many fine restaurants. The campground host "Sheila" welcomed us with information (and coupons) about the area and the campground. This is a super campground for campers with pets. They have a very nice fenced dog-run. We will definitely stay at this campground again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 Jan - 5 Feb 2012
(Updated: February 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the south point campground 1 week. I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don't. Well, I like this famcamp! Very quite and peaceful except for some road noise. Had full hookups (water, sewer, elec,). Had a lot of snowbirds here. Host was great and had somethings going on to keep you entertained. Shopping & dining out close by.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6-8 Feb 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice helpful personnel here. I would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
January 2012
(Updated: January 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This was our second stay at the Southside Campground. Both visits have not been enjoyable. The Marina staff gave us incorrect authorizations each time when we made our reservations. During the first visit the incorrect authorization allowing both my ID and my wife's ID to reserve spaces (as Pensacola and many others allow) caused us to leave shortly after arriving. Jerry was host at the time and made the experience even more difficult. Our second visit has been difficult also. Nicole with the Marina staff assured me that it would be no problem allowing our 2 small dogs and the 2 small dogs of widowed sister who is staying with us. Host Shiela was hesitant but said she would notify management of the 4 dogs. WRONG!! Well! Campers were friendly upon on arrival, but after learning I am 100% disabled, not retired 2 guests complained about the dogs awakening them, which we think was not a valid complaint. "Squeaky wheel gets the grease". Make certain to request campground rules prior to stay and follow them TO THE LETTER no matter what reservationists or camp host promises. Guests RULE. Sheila is a pleasant host and just does her job.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 7
January 6-10, 2012
(Updated: January 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We called just before leaving our previous campground for a reservation. Jessica helped us and was very nice and courteous. Once we arrived in Panama City I called Jessica again to have her help us to the base. She gave us great directions. She did forget to tell us to stop at the visitor center before entering the main gate line. We needed to get a pass for the truck so they made us turn around and go back. That was not easy pulling a travel trailer but was possible. Got the pass and got back in line to get on base. Directions were great on how to get to the marina. The people at the marina were extremely helpful and even went to our site with us and helped us get parked. There were several openings and it was no problem for us to get our 24' travel trailer into the spot even though we are new retirees and new to pulling a camper. There is great free cable tv here. The bathhouse has 5 individual locking shower stalls with toilets and sinks. They all have dead bolt locks. One has a sit down shower and ramp to make it ADA accessible. In that new building is the laundry facility. Wash is $1.50 per load and drying is $1.00 per load. They sell quarters at the marina. There are only 3 washers and 3 dryers. There are 3 eating places on base. One is for active military only (Galley) one is under renovation (C4 Cafe) and one is only open a few days a week in the evenings. There are plenty of places off base to eat. It cost us $19 a night to stay, but we are retired military. You have to be checked in by 5 pm and they do not allow late arrivals. But they tell you this when you make your reservation. We did not go over to South side, but this older main camp is not big rig friendly but southside is. We would definitely come here again. We loved it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Oct 3rd to Oct 10th, 2011
(Updated: October 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I am staying at the Marina Campground on base. The Campsites are too small and campers cannot park their vehicles at their campsites requiring a lengthy walk to the parking lot. The staff were very rude on arrival and use foul language when they try to spot your RV. The campsites are not maintained and are over run with tall grass, pine cones and sand spures. I complained to the Campground Manager who said they would have to raise the campground fees to maintain the campground. I would not stay here again, but there is another campground off base that is very nice and properly maintained. Al Skinner
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 3
May 3, 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.C. left this review using the Directory software: On 3 to 8 May my wife and I stayed at the off base RV site. We were as usually greeted by the site Host Sheila. She had a hand full of information about the site and local area. We were also invited to go out to eat along with the other site guest at a local restaurant she set up. We would have but had other plans. She keeps the facilities very clean. She always checks on the guest to make sure there are ok. She is a Class one Host and MWR should know they are lucky to have her. The personnel at the rec office are very professional and friendly also. The off base sites only bad mark is it needs trees and grass around the sites so sand is not tracked into the rv. It is nice to have nice laundry equipment and the cost is free. Thanks Shiela! Faye & Brian
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15 - 21 April 2011
(Updated: April 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at this campground for the first time. We stayed at the Southside and really enjoyed our stay. The camp host is great and takes great pride in her position and area. The campers were super friendly and the location is great. This campground is a well kept secret. SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH don't tell anyone. We will definitely be returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
72 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4