Manatee Cove Campground

Manatee Cove Campground

Featured
 
4.0 (132)
195446 3 25 1 152

User reviews

12 reviews with 2 stars
132 reviews
 
45%
 
33%
 
13%
 
8%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.5(132)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(132)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(132)
Value
 
4.1(132)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(132)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
24 Feb 2021
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Agree wholeheartedly with @Maine_Adventures! I worked all last summer as a campground manager / campground host for a US Forest Service campground in the Rocky Mountains. The campground was at 100% occupancy for the three summer months it was open, had 181 individual campsites and 4 group campsites, and my wife and I, plus one other couple, were able to manage the location completely on our own. Key to this was the US Forest Service's use of an online advance reservation service (recreation.gov) to manage all aspects of the campground and customer experience. These modern systems completely manage all of the reservations, payment processing and campsite assignments. All we had to do was call up a list each morning of which campers would be checking out that day and who would be checking in each day. So while some users below have pointed to mismanagement, abuse of power, or lack of personnel resources; it really boils down to a (poor) leadership decision to use an outdated first come first served approach to managing this FAMCAMP. An online reservation system solves all of those issues while providing a better customer experience by removing all inventory management and financial transaction/accounting responsibilities from the staff, thereby freeing them up to act in a hospitality role to welcome and assist campers during their stays.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9 February 2021
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We visited Manatee Cove in February 2021 and it seems like the place is very poorly managed. I see what other users say about needing to be part of the 'in crowd', or being on the hosts' or managers' good side, to get a spot in the campground, but to me the problem is even deeper than that. Who in the world thinks it is a good idea in this day and age to manage a customer service operation like this without offering your customers the opportunity to make advance reservations? I mean who would go to a doctor or a dentist that didn't accept appointments made in advance? Who would risk their entire vacation plans on traveling an airline that didn't sell tickets in advance? In this age of constant connection with the internet, it has even become commonplace to make reservations or purchase reserved seat tickets for movies at the cinema. So why would Patrick make customers drive all the way out to this facility with only a hope and a prayer of getting a campsite? Online self-serve reservation systems like those used at hotels, airlines, state park campgrounds and national park campgrounds not only prevent the on-site host or manager from abusing their position and rigging the system to only serve their friends as has been alleged at this location in the past, but it also requires customers to pay via electronic means such as credit or debit cards which eliminates the high costs associated with collection, handling and auditing of cash. I am not fully retired, nor a snowbird, and usually can only get a few days off at a time from my job, so with an outdated operational model like the one employed at Manatee Cove prevents me from considering this location in the future. If I've only got 3-days off from work, do I want to spend it sitting in my camper in Chevron Park just hoping someone will call me into the FAMCAMP to occupy a campsite, or would I want to make advance reservations at a state or federal park campground and know that I can spend all three days relaxing and enjoying the area? @45 FSS - There is a lot of room for improvement here to alter your business and management model and offer increased customer service to your clients. Take a hard honest look at the management of this FAMCAMP and you will find better ways to operate this facility and improve the customer experience through advance reservations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 0
Dec, 23,24,25, of 2018
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
My wife and I stayed at Manatee Cove for a few nights, just to get away. I don't think that there is a management problem, just a lack of personnel to do the job. You have absolutely no idea if you will get a spot. The park is full of snowbirds and homesteaders. When we arrived, we asked one homesteader where the host was, his reply was that there is none and the office is closed, park out there and in the morning they will come get you. Well, the office was not closed, but she was at lunch and returned at 1300 hrs., but the sign said that they were closed and go see the camp host. Well there is no camp host. What she should have did was put a sign on the door will be back after lunch. It was very confusing. I did get the last site, as she said, but I seen plenty of sites empty. Most of the sites are tight to get into, so it makes it like living in a mobile home park. They have very specific rules, no rugs over a certain size, no fires, no noises and so on. If you make any noise, break a rule the park homesteaders will be the first to turn you in. It like the park has a bunch of Geriatric patients living there. You come there to enjoy yourself and have fun but there is nothing to do. They do have a small dog area, which is Ok. But watch out for the Geriatric patients with there dogs. There is no real beach, just the edge of the water with stinks. We did meet some nice people that were very sociable, and seen things as we seen them. To be honest most of the older people there were rude, like we were invading and disturbing them. Maybe when they live in there RV they forget how to socialize themselves. All in the nutshell, if you want a place to park your RV and sleep at night it's cheep. If you want to enjoy yourself, have fun, it's not the place. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 28 4
Nov - Dec, 2016
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I went to Manatee Cove to Enjoy Some time away from snow in Mich. I was greeted at the office by the comment (what are you doing here, we hired someone to do Karaoke) I did Karaoke for the last 2 years with no compensation and I enjoyed It. Went to Karaoke, the guy was terrible so I Went to Karaoke no more which was fine with me. People kept wanting me to go so I went. The Karaoke host came to me to talk and threatened me so I walked away from him. He then grabbed me and I pushed him away from me to protect myself and someone turned in a complaint against me and I was kicked off the campground. I asked if I was allowed to say anything and was told an officer would come and escort me off the Base. No Explanation from me at all. The guy was rite, If you are not part of the Clique, Good Luck. I am a veteran and I do want Respect. This Campground would be great if the people who run it cared about the campers instead of just the money
Mar 9 - 11, 2015
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This is one of the times you really have a hard time not posting a review. Hopefully we just caught them on a bad day. We called three different times to make sure they had overflow spot for us. He said he had one or two, so we we drove our way there and arrived at 12:15. When we arrived the office was closed, and said they would reopen at 1:30. Wow, would have been nice to know that when we talked to the person running the office, he could have mentioned that to us. I called the offce number and they said the office is close 1:00 - 1:30 PM, for lunch and a mail run. We ran into some people, and they told us good luck, but one person took us to one of the camp host. I told her (site #30) that we just pulled in and the office was closed and could she help. Her anwser was you need to leave and come back. Really, just get in the unit and leave and come back??? She said she couldn't help me, she didnt have paper work for me to fill out to get a spot. She didn't know if they had any spots at all. The reason she didn't help she doesn't start working until 4:00 pm. The person running the office showed up around 1:00 pm, put the closed sign on the door until 1:30 pm. He finally opens the office only to tell me that he doesn't think he has any spots open, three people came in since we called at 11:15. He said, he will go check to make sure, but it will take another 30 mins. He returns and tells my wife he has 3 spots open. To say this guy is clueless to what is going on in this campground is an understatement, that or he is just lazy. Then he takes almost 30 minutes to get my wife log in and go to good so when can go to our spot. Total time from arrival to getting in our spot over 2 hours. When my wife presented her frequent camper program book to get stamped, he asked if we had ever been at the campground and if we already had our book stamped??? No, she told him three different times, then he said if he found a stamp from Patrick AFB, he would void our book, of course once he looked through the book he stamped it. Why there are people like him working in a job that requires working with customer's I have no ideas. If your a camp host and someone needs help, help them best you can. This is the 97th military campground we have visited, and this is the worst customer service ever. The Patrick AFB needs to change the way they run the campground, thats my advice. I don't like posting bad reviews, but sometimes you have to do it, so others will be informed. Johnny B.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 17 6
Feb 14, 2015
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We arrived on Saturday behind a active duty that had reservations and would be leaving Monday morning. Upon check in we were informed we would be in overflow slot number one and would move into a site on Monday morning. Ensured that there was quite a few active duty that would be leaving Monday and that we would be put in a slot. On Sunday we were informed we would have to leave because there would be no rotations on Monday due to the holiday. We, along with two other campers that were in overflow explained what we were told upon check in. We were told we would have to leave and was offered a list of campgrounds, which were full. I believe the hosts name was Tom, who explained that these were the rules. When we awoke on Monday, there was five of us in overflow, which is against the rules! When we went to dump the tanks prior to leaving, the active duty personnel that was ahead of us was leaving along with others. We didn't stay around but I would imagine that the two campers that were in overflow, one of which was in no way active duty (due to age) would check in with the host and be put in a slot. The three of us in overflow were treated very rudely and all of us should have been informed of this on Saturday when we checked in. No veteran should be treated this way aboard any military installation!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 16 2
February 2015
(Updated: February 16, 2015)
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Beware of calling ahead of time and being told that you could be waiting on getting in to the overflow. They will put you in the "Parking Lot" for a maximum of two days, then you must leave if no spots are open for the overflow area. There is a nearby Walmart and a Cracker Barrel however you should contact the manager of those respectful places for permission to over night in their parking lots. Local commercial campgrounds are quite full in this area during February, so plan accordingly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
August 2013
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I called ahead from the Florida panhandle and told Rec Services I had a boat and I wanted to be sure there was a place for me to part my boat at the FamCamp before driving all the way out there. The gentleman I spoke to assured me there was, that he was the guy who worked at the FamCamp and that there would be no problem. Now this was very important to me because I had to make 2 trips from Panama City Beach, Florida as I had just purchased this boat. I brought my bumper pull trailer first, 440 miles, then went back and got my boat. When I return with the boat, I was told there was no where to park it at the FamCamp. I ended up putting it in the Lemon Lot on the base in order to have access to the boat, when I parked it near my RV to prepare it to go fishing the next day, my wife took the truck to the Pharmacy and I ended up with the base police at my RV site telling me I had to remove my boat immediately. It really turned into a cluster, they simply could not or would not understand that my wife had the truck and I could not move the boat. There were other people with there boats doing the exact same thing. I ended up with a Major down at my RV as I had gotten on the phone and called the Commanding Officer and anyone else who had a phone number and told them what had transpired. The women in charge of MWR had sent the Security Police down there, at 1 time I had 4 armed policemen outside my RV with their vehicles, lights going like I was a serious felon. I had just put my boat there a couple hours before to get it prepared to go fishing the next day. There was another boat parked on an RV pad a little further into the FamCamp, hooked to the water, parked on a RV pad, and hooked to RV power, while the guy cleaned his fish and no one said boo to him. I was more than a little upset with the whole experience I had at Patrick AFB. I will never go back....................
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 0
January 2014
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This was our 4th trip to Patrick arriving on 1 Jan 2014. We were turned away due to the park being full. The new building for check in and recreation is still not complete and they have closed down the office in the front of the park. They have moved the hosts to the end of the park which makes it difficult to pull the RV's into and out of the host camp site area. The new hosts they have this year are not very friendly and not very helpful. The washer issue was still not corrected. The host stated that the base commander will not allow rv's in Chevron park as they had in the past, but the by-laws still state that rv's can stay in the park for up to 48 hours when full. We ended up going to KARS at Kennedy Space Center. Will not try to stay at Patrick in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Feb 9, 20013
(Updated: February 18, 2013)
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Warning, we have stayed at this Famcamp many times, but the last time was in 2011. We attempted to spend one night here on 9 Feb. I tried to call the office five times and the message said my calls were during office hours but no answer. Since we stayed here many time in route, we assumed we could spend one night in dry camp overflow, wrong assumption. We arrived at the large vehicle gate at 5pm and waited about 45 minutes to get on base. We arrived at the Famcamp at 6pm. The host on duty didn't look happy and after a few minutes we were not happy campers. No room at the Inn, the overflow was full, the Base/Wing Commander only allows three RVs in overflow. I was very tired after a 450 mile drive. They said we had to leave the base, After about 10 calls to parks we attempted to leave the base, which took about another hour, then a 30 mile drive to a county park in the dark. Looks like this park only caters to long term residents, or to someone that knows someone. I've been retired 10 years and never been turned away from a military Famcamp. The poor communication on the phone message was the main problem, if they had offered me a warning I would stayed at a commercial park. I guess I learned a lesson.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August 2011
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
2 Campsite Hosts plus the lady at the office provided plenty of support. Free Ice at the office. Restrooms were very hot and steamy. The site can be VERY noisy at times because the base firing range is only 50 or so yards away. Expect to hear loud gun fire throughout the day, even at 4am when they are doing their night fire. The site is a high vehicle traffic area because of all the activity going to and from the firing range that passes right through the RV park. Digital TV scan got around 10 or so local channels using RV roof antenna. Virgin Mobile Mifi 2200 worked well for internet service. Cell use was available. Base had excellent facilities. Anyone can now use the chow hall. Tickets and tours had all the tickets for all the Orlando parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
05 Dec 07 - 15 Jan 08
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This campground is located in a fantastic area. It's a shame that's all it has to offer. No clubhouse, no planned activites, no cable tv, more partial and dry camping than full hookups, and a bath house that although they have a cleaning service come daily for an hour, it's never clean. How can you clean 8 showers, 8 toilets/urinals, 4 sinks, and all that floor space in one hour. The military RV park system needs to realize to continue to provide these parks to us some of the revenue being made needs to be put back into the park or they will end up just as they were, an empty field with no revenue. I hope these reviews are also forwarded to the appropriate personnel at the campgrounds for action. See you at my next stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 2
12 results - showing 1 - 12