Eglin AFB FamCamp

 
3.8 (54)
159943 2 20 1 57

User reviews

14 reviews with 5 stars
54 reviews
 
26%
 
41%
 
22%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.1(54)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(54)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(54)
Value
 
3.7(54)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(54)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Agree with the other recent reviews. Nice park. Folks in the office were great. I reserved for 4 days about a month ago and glad we did since there were no openings while we were there. Another MWR facility that has, in essence, transitioned to Family Housing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2017
(Updated: May 22, 2019)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We tent camped at Postl Point for a week. There are two tent only sites located next to the small inlet, just before exiting on Desoto Circle Road. I would recommend against tent camping on either of those two sites. Rent an RV site closer to the beach and camp there because the no-see-ums will eat you alive if you pitch a tent at one of the tent only sites. Otherwise, it is a great location being right on the beach. The only other problem was the RV that was parked on the last site before you exit Desoto Circle. The couple that resides there believe that one-way signs and speed limits do not apply to them. Additionally, their site (and several others) are messy and give the entire RV site the look of something out of Deliverance.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
Sept 13 - 30 2015
(Updated: October 19, 2015)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Well we're back again after a couple of years. Stopped by for a couple of weeks to rest from traveling up north. Need some sit still and quiet time. Got it here, except for the morning and evening jets. Well, I still like this FamCamp! Plenty of sites to choose from. Great people, Full hookups (all of them). Very quite except for the sounds of freedom. Will certainly come here again. Laundry worked and was clean. Commissary and Exchange right down the road half mile. Dining out not too far to town. Had a real good time here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
3 thru 19 June, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great two weeks at Eglin! Once again, we stayed at Postl Point, never more than 75% occupancy, but it was obvious that three or four were full timing. Weather was great except for two storms that blew through, temps averaged right around 89 degrees, but most of the time we had a breeze to alleviate the heat. The grounds were still maintained nicely and the showers/bathrooms were always cleaned daily. The only possible downside was that the office closed for two weeks without any prior notice, just note on the door that they would be closed and if anyone needed LP, they gave the number for Outdoor Recreation. Not really a big problem, we had no campsite issued and since we wanted to extend our vacation for another week, we just used the drop box. Definitely a great spot to camp, can't wait until next year. You just can't beat walking out your front door every morning and looking across the bay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 23 - April 1, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed at Camp Robbins and its one of our favorites so far. We probably would still be there but we had reservations at Panama City. We enjoyed the well spaced sites with the largest concrete patios we've seen. We checked in on the heels of a big storm that had knocked out power in Mary Esther and downed a lot of trees. The park had several trees down, including one that landed on a Class A motorhome. Not sure if that had anything to do with it, but the girl who checked us in was not very efficient. Apparently they have a new computer system and she couldn't give us our frequent camper discount. The office/lounge area is one of the nicest we've seen. Excellent library. Did not use the bathrooms or laundry but the building looked very nice. The setting for the office was well landscaped and attractive but as it's located at the very back of the camp some signage would be helpful. There are 2 driveways into the park. Some signage here too would be helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We were not impressed with Postal Point. Even without it's being mostly under water when we drove through the sites seemed oddly placed and not too appealing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25 Feb -1 Mar 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camp Robbins (Eglin FAMCAMP) is still a really nice campground. We stayed in one of the 3-day sites. We were on our way to Arizona and stopped here as we have been here before. There are 3 of the 3-day sites they keep open for those travelling through. I asked the staff if I could have an extra day and they said no problem. Although, any more than that and I would have to move. The campground was full this time of year with the snowbirds. We really liked how dark it is at night, especially when you remove the light bulb from the power box. Keep in mind it is their busy time of year so you may not get a site. There was a guy waiting for our site when we were packing up to go. We did not use the bath house or laundry so I cannot comment. Still a really good FAMCAMP for $20 per night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 Dec 2013 -1 2 January 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camp Robbins is a beautiful campground, nicely spaced, wide, long and level spots. Had no trouble with my big rig. The campground is close to everything, PX, Commissary, Starbucks all within walking distance. The staff was excellent except for not wanting to pump propane on cold days. Had to drive to Postal Point Campground to get it. Washers and dryers were very clean but a bit pricey $1.75 each. Restroom and showers were very clean. Lots of hiking trails, had lots of great walks through and around the recreation area. Ticks were a problem for the dogs but they loved the trails and the waterfront. Will be back next season. Thanks Eglin, keep up the great work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
March 28, 2013
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We didn't stay here but took a field trip to check things out. In the past my opinions have been mostly negative. On this trip I must say that this place has changed so much that I may in the future consider coming here even though I like to have a confirmed reservation and they don't take reservations here. There were no sites that looked trashy and they appeared neat and clean. A big improvement from my last visits. I counted 26 vacant sites and this was the week before Easter. We drove out again the Tuesday after Easter and also counted 26 vacant sites. Postl Point only had one site but I probably wouldn't stay there. So. Overall, Eglin Famcamp is looking good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 thru 23 May 2012
(Updated: May 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the first time I've been to Eglin FamCamp where we spent a week, on Postl Point. I was a little hesitant after reading some other reviews and the "spartan, but clean restrooms", but I'm so glad I took the chance. This place was a gem! They've remodeled the restrooms and showers, new tile, fixtures and air conditioning, and they've also upgraded the electrical connections to 30 and 50 amp. Even over the weekend there were never more than 12 spots filled and two of those appeared to be preset rental units, I never saw anyone at those sites the entire week. We set up on site #101, right in front, looking out over the bay. True, this spot is a little distant from the BX/Commissary, but I'll take that for the solitude and beauty, plus, it's an easy walk to the small beach (if you want to swim in the bay). The equipment rental office is located right next to the beach and you could buy soft drinks, beer, ice and snacks right there. Fairly easy access to the East Gate shopette. I didn't know it until I'd arrived, but Eglin also has a beautiful private beach right on the Gulf, located on Okaloosa Island, $3 admission during the week, $5 on weekends. True, it was 20 miles from the campground, but then you're also right there with all the great restaurants. I will be going back and I highly recommend this little jewel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
6 APRIL - 6 MARCH, 2012
(Updated: March 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don"t. Well, I like this famcamp! Great people, Full hookups (all of them). Very quite except for the sounds of freedom. Will certainly come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7-16 July 2011
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.N. left this review using the Directory software: Campsites were spacious and level. Some of the tree branches needed to be trimmed or rubbed against your rig. Very little grass area with sand burrs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
January, February 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband says that he pulled me away from Camp Robbins kicking and screaming when we had to go home on business. We loved walking daily by the nearby bay and watching the pelicans and other birds, even dolphins one time. The staff were very, very helpful and caring. The site was large and clean. The whole park was attractive and quiet, and the other campers were friendly. I had a feeling of community. Wish I were there still. Next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It has been interesting reading some of the previous comments. It seems some folks expect a full-blown private resort and if not, they're going to complain about the grass, about the noise, about the rules and about the sites. Actually, there should be two separate review sections because there are actually two parks. Rules are in place for a reason ... and, actually, it's to make the experience enjoyable for everyone. We are currently at Camp Robbins and have been here for several days. It's a great park with huge sites. Some are back-in and some are pull-thru. The managers (I think they are fairly new) are absolutely fantastic!! They are friendly, out-going and want to do almost anything to please. The park is almost right on the bay with trails leading from the campsites to the beach. Love the park .. love the convenience and love the management. Thank you for a good experience. Satellite is excellent, internet is excellent and we would definitely return if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July - August 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the second time we visited Eglin. Each time we were treated as if we owned the campground. John and Amy were always ready to assist, answer questions or just viait if they had time. Each experience was great. We plan to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 results - showing 1 - 14