Eglin AFB FamCamp

 
3.8 (54)
159943 2 20 1 57

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars
54 reviews
 
26%
 
41%
 
22%
 
7%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.1(54)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(54)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(54)
Value
 
3.7(54)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(54)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Dec1 2019
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Web site shows 400 to 450 for month stay but it is 550 for month stay. (Editors note: Website updated)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 17, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The rules have changed. Currently the rule is first come first serve but management is holding slots for Tindal AFB displaced persons. There is still a 180 day limit (paid month to month) with a 30 full days off and you can NOT return to the same site you left. They are holding some sites (between 4-8) to a 14 day 'reserved' plan but the sites seem to change daily. Reservations made through management by phone. Best to call management for current rules and occupation plan. I currently reside in this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
Feb-Mar 2018
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We were thankful to be able to get a camping spot at Robins when we arrived. The campground was full the whole time we were there, it appears that people have figured out how to work the system to save spots by placing a tent in the spot to hold it but never occupying the spot until they return. Also notice tents were being allowed to rent RV camping (concrete) spots. Many folks with RVs would come in looking for a spot and find numerous spots with pop-up tents with no occupancy that were being saved. All other Famcamps I believe require the RV with occupants to be there. Not sure if there is any priority system applied for Active Duty, Retired, or DOD Employees. Also, not sure how DOD contractors fall into this priority. Campground sites were larger than average sites and there were no issues with electric, water, or sewer. Wish they'd spend some funds to pave the roads, or fill the pot holes. Unfortunately I would not call this a clean campground. Pet owners are advised upon arrival to pick up their pet droppings, however we observed several folks ignoring this requirement. In addition, we noticed a lot of pet droppings while walking around the campground. The area around the trash dumpster was very trashy, to include box springs, pallets, bedding, etc., which were dumped outside the dumpster. These items were not picked up the whole time we were there. We did not see any staff checking the campground for rules being followed or any other issues like the dumpster, etc. It appeared that the campground was under staffed, and we didn’t notice any maintenance or cleanup being done. Finally it appears that people have figured how to stay in the campground for lengthy stays, more on a full time basis. This campground is conveniently located and has the potential to be a beautiful campground.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 13 3
Dec16 - Feb 17
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We landed at Eglin in Dec 16,and didn't depart until the end of Feb 17. This was our first full-time winter stay, but not our first rodeo staying in an RV park. We've been RVing for 20+ years. Campground is nice with larger than average sites. No issues with electric, water, or sewer. Wish they'd spend some funds to pave the roads and add more FHU sites. The sound of freedom waking you up is welcomed by most veterans, but be aware your on an Air Force base and the campground is at the end of the runway. Shower house was clean with good water pressure. Maintenance on the shower house took longer than it should have. Handicapped shower head broke and it was not fixed 5-days later when we departed. Laundry rooms were in good repair with 4-each washers and dryers that cost $1.25/load. Staff was mostly friendly and they were always responsive to Facebook communication. This was very important because the phone system didn't work to contact the office the entire time we were there. So broke in fact, you couldn't even leave a message for the staff. This is a known problem MWR has failed to resolve. Contracted management also doesn't care for the campground as well as others we've stayed at that empowered camp hosts to be the local presence. There was trash littering the sites that persisted until a camper picked it up. I spent the entire stay policing cigarette butts left behind by previous occupants. The waterfront area is a work in progress. It's getting better every week thanks to efforts of CE workers. They've been cutting back grasses to allow access to Choctawatchee Bay. Walking and bike trails nearby are in need of repair. Cut trails were nice, but paved areas were in need of repair due to heaving and large cracks. I believe the price exceeds the value of what the campground offers. There were no planned activities, even during holidays, there is no central clubhouse or like venue in either campground, there is no WIFI throughout the campground (you can get WIFI if you go sit in or near the office), no fire pits or campfires allowed, and no cable option. This was simply a decent place to park with FHU available. I'd expect a park of this type to run $30/night or $375/month. One major drawback is no reservations allowed. This is a first come, first served park. It's even more troublesome because of all the homesteading folks due to lax stay policy. Folks are turning Eglin into a family housing area. Forcing a departure for 10-days is a ruse because residents call a buddy to pull in as they pull out, so they can swap back when the minimal time period has passed. We saw at least four different rigs due this to keep their spots. Issues related to the homesteading movement make it difficult to get a spot and folks seemed to keep to themselves more than you'd experience in parks with more turnover. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 12 2
Nov 24, 2012
(Updated: November 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Intended to stay at the campsite, but since it was a first come first served affair, I did not want to take a chance and not have room. So I went and stayed at the Army RV park in Destin. One recommendation I would make is for Eglin to accept reservations. If I could have made reservations, I would have stayed on Eglin. As it turned out, there was plenty of space available, even though when I have called the folks at the desk said that it was the "snowbird" season and it would be busy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
Mar 13 - 14, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
L.R. left this review using the Directory software: - Only stayed 2 nights. "Have Wifi when it works"; did not work the time I was there. Crews in process of paving access road TO park, don't know if they will do gravel in park. Quiet and ok for short stays. "Social life" not determined in my short stay. Rule list is long but not uncommon for most CGs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
August 2011
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Eglin had 2 separate RV sites to choose from. Robbins had full hook and internet, no cable but close to the laundry and rv office. It's basically in the woods. Postal point had an ocean view, cable tv, showers, no internet, cable tv, no sewage hook up. We chose postal point because we were only staying 3 days and had our own internet (miFi2200). Some of the postal point sites were sort of flooded with about a half inch of water because of the rain. The cable connection was missing at our site so we chose another and parked with an ocean view. Both sites were very spacious for pull throughs. I recommend looking at both sites before you select one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
21-24 April 2009
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The park needs some work in the cosmetic arena as the sand could be replaced with some grass. When campers leave, the areas aren't cleaned as my site was filled with cigarette butts and paper. I understand that the previous camper should have been responsible but they weren't. There is no cable TV and the antenna signals are very poor even with the digital converter. It cost $20.00 with a 10% discount for club membership. The camp has a 5 mph speed limit yet all seem to drive far too fast, even the police. Almost no control of animals using camper spaces with no clean up. The camp manager isn't very friendly and needs some training in dealing with people. There are some spaces in the area of 1-8 that blocks satellite signals because of the trees. There is one camper parked in a horrible, nasty beat up old Allegro class A that has been there for at least 4 years in one spot or the other. It is a disgrace for any rig of that sort to be allowed to park. It is an accident waiting to happen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2009
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
My wife and I stayed at Eglin for a week and we enjoyed our stay. Management could spend a little money and sow some grass seed to make the camp ground more attractive. Only thing that bothered me was that after a month you had to move to dry camp for I believe 2 nights and then you could move back in. They did this even though there were empty pad. I asked a couple of campers why they did this and they stated that was the policy. I wrote an E-mail to the base commander and received a reply that that they were making some changes. Only thing I could not open the attachment to see what the changes were. I have replied to the e-mail asking what changes were made. I did observe many Rv's that were there when we arrived and were there when we left at no time did I see any one around some of them. It appears they are using the FamCamp as a storage area as you could tell they had been there for a while. Other than that would go back. John and staff were very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 3-5 2008
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The campground has great possibilities but there is just very little interest in camper hospitality. The manager cut the grass in the middle of the day and it generated a major dust storm through the open camper door. There was no grass only dirt. The speed limit of 5 mph is impractical but regardless there is no enforcement. The managers are very unfriendly and are more concerned with office chit-chat than helping campers.. A bit pricey at $19.00 and no cable. Antenna reception is terrible. Cell phone reception on base for AT&T and Verizon in marginal at best. There are too many local campers with empty rigs. They pay and stay only on weekends. Very poor animal control with barking dogs and no clean up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
July 27, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I arrived at Camp Robbins at 1150 hrs on a Sunday. The park was about 70% full. The clerk was pleasant but didn't seem very knowledgeable. I was told I could not go to Postl Point because they had no way to convert the 30 amp outlets to my 50 amp RV. ???? Go figure. The websites and directories I consulted said the price was $15 but I was charged $20. The area was clean. 90% or more of the RVs there had local plates and appeared unoccupied. I saw only five people during my one day stay. It appears the locals are storing their rigs there for weekend or occasional use. That's not a complaint, just an observation. No water view or other scenery. BX and commissary about a 1/2 mile away, maybe less if you want to walk through the pines. Restrooms, showers, laundry and ice machine. Nothing else available on-site. Not a bad place but I wouldn't rate it above so-so. Not a $20 camp as compared to others I have used.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 10, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This was a visit only, not overnight. There are two sections, one pretty bad and the other better. Postl Point is near the Outdoor Recreation office and not very appealing. It looks like it would be quite wet during heavy rain. Camp Robbins would be okay but is not as nice as some of the campgrounds we've stayed in. It is located near the BX/Commissary. The pads are gravel with a concrete patio. Although you can stay there for 6 months (and extend for 30 day increments), I didn't see a lot of garbage piled around and under RVs. There were plenty of available sites at Postl Point and 8 at Camp Robbins. You have to go to Camp Robbins to check in at both areas. Seems to be better looking than last post of 1 year ago.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12