Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.8 (101)
200140 2 23 3 159

User reviews

29 reviews with 5 stars
101 reviews
 
31%
 
43%
 
17%
 
5%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.3(101)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.6(101)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(101)
Value
 
3.9(101)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(101)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Jun 4- Jun 9, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit to MacDill and the Campground. We arrived right at 4pm on a Friday and pulled into the RV spots behind the office, where we were greeted by someone from the office and told that we would have to check in with the night host. We drove into the campground and met the night host. He was very friendly and helpful and set us up in the row closest to the beach. What a great site! The wifi worked well and we were able to visit, and be visited by, family during our stay. Will have to make reservations for a Winter stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
17 Feb - 8 Mar 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We can see why people want to spend a season here. MacDill AFB has to be one of the most beautiful anywhere. They have a brand new registration office; park in the back of the building while you register. Spent only one night in dry camping, although our fairly late arrival in the season probably explains that. We appreciated the mailroom service as well as the doggie beach not far from the marina office. Too bad the beach-side restaurant was still close due to COVID after a year. With all the precautions in place, they really could open it up. We LOVED using Bayshore Blvd to get to and from Tampa as well as walking along the bay side while on base. All the services you could want are nearby. The office people are very nice and will work with you to try to extend your time in the full hookups area if they can. Our ONLY complaint: both of us where bitten badly out of no where by "noseeums" about 2/3 of the way into our visit. Those bites are way worse than mosquitos of which we saw none.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Sept. 6, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is located on the very southern tip of the Tampa peninsula and MacDill AFB. We arrived after 1600 and checked in with the camp host - super easy, super nice. We had site 109. 108 - 113 are single row (no pull through - replacement water lines buried on back end). Loads of room in the front of the space. Easy and close access to the beach. Good WiFi, 50 power. I didn’t use the cable connection. $51 for the entire Labor Day weekend - can’t be beat. The beach has a covered pavilion and grills. Since it is on the bay there are no waves and there is sea grass about 5 yards off shore. Loads of kayaking and there is a marina.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
September 12-16 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
No one has mentioned the Cable TV Connections have a MALE end so you need an "extension/adapter" for Male to Male. Fortunately I had ONE onboard with my Cable TV parts but this was the FIRST time I ever needed it (over 10 years of RVing). Originally we planned to stay the last full week of Sept and they were unable to reserve us a decent site (proposed Site 15 would never have fit our 36'RV and Truck) as Snowbirds were expected to fill it up by then... We changed our plans and came in mid-September where the main Park was maybe 20% Full and Office personnel told us to find our own site, so we found one with some shade and only one "nearby" neighbor. Nice to have a concrete patio but sites are very close together as is common with Snowbird parks. And it was overdue for a mowing... Two Dog Parks with bag dispensers was a plus for us. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 9 1
27 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This review was left by T.M. using the Directory software: Beautiful and very large campground. Beautiful beach and there was a resturant at the beachfront (walking distance from the park) that serves a large platter of crab legs on Friday nights for just $11.99. They were fantastic. Facility is well kept and sites were large. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to visit this park again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
April 1 - 14, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time staying at MacDill and had a wonderful visit. The snowbirds had gone back north so it was easy to get a site. The base beach, marina and SeaScapes Beach House are right next to the Famcamp. You have beautiful scenic view of Tampa Bay, with fantastic sunsets. We would stay here again and may consider this to be a winter destination but it is very hard to get reservations unless you plan 2 years in advance. Must call on October 1 2018 for reservations for 2019/2020 winter. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
October 29, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
In reference to the previous dry camping comments. Here is what was in the latest base newspaper, Thunderbolt, dated October 26, 2017. Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp: "As of this week, the FamCamp is about 80 percent full, said Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp. There are 384 camping spots." "A change this year is that the dry camp, or camping without water or electricity hookups, is not available. The dry camp area is being converted into a compound of cabins which could be ready by late 2018 or 2019. "Currently, reservations have most of the camp spots booked for the winter, but there is short-term camping (two weeks maximum) on a first-come, first-served basis, said Farcy. For more information contact FamCamp at 813-840-6919"
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 1 Mar 30
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Thanks again for another wonderful winter stay. We arrive in Oct and stay the full 6 months. Thanks to the office staff for all that you do. We stay in the annex by choice and enjoy the camaraderie with our fellow campers. I have to address a few things Happy Camper reviewed (previous poster), I feel the people in the annex were misrepresented. I only know of one person who brought their MH in to get a spot and left. There were a lot of people who went home for the holidays. We have a dog that we take away from the campsites do to her business, we do walk her for exercise. Happy Camper should put a no dog sign on his lot and most dog owners would avoid his site. The only recommendation I would have is to make a designated walkway to the dog park area. I don't like walking through someone's campsite to get there. We are all adults and the majority of the campsites are kept in good condition. Again, thanks for a wonderful season.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Last Visit 2011
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I put my 100 dollars down to reserve a spot in advance, however due to my wife's medical condition, recently dignosed we could not travel down to the warm Florida area this year. I was surprized when I received a telephone call telling me I was close to the top of the waiting list but if I was not in the area I could reschedule for next year on the same dates, which I did. The young lady who called was very nice and supportive and it was just good customer service as I did not state to her why we could not make it this year. Breast cancer and Parkinson's dignosed in the same year will slow anyone down. I appreciate the opertunity to visit the Fam Camp in future and any prayers that are offered! Mike & Diana Solon, USAF Ret 89
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 4 & 5, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I was told to call 2 weeks prior to arrival to make a reservation -which I did. The girl took all my info, I thought check in would be easy and maybe it would have if Bill was not the one to check me in. A couple problems at arrival: 1. I stated I had a reservation-he argued that I could not have one since I called 2 weeks ago. After giving him all my info AGAIN, when he hit the enter button - there was my reservation. 2. Bill said I could not have a reservation under my name - must have sponsor with me - I explained that the sponsor was deceased and my ID card stated that - he argued that it did not state that - even when I pointed it out. 3. Must show vehicle registration/insurance proof - however, I do not see that as necessary as I have base stickers for the motorhome and towed car and could not get on base without proof. I have stayed in 11 military campgrounds driving down the East coast over the last 3 months and have never had the check in experience I had at MacDill including Andrews Air Force where the President flies in and out (you would think security would be greater there). Once past the check in process: the campground is in a great location, wonderful beach, Seascapes café, clean laundry, so-so WiFi, commissary on base and propane available at the marina.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
August 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another off season camping trip at Raccoon Creek in Tampa Bay area. It is so nice having the beach right on your doorstep. We ate at Seascapes with the granddaughters and they had a blast.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 17-30th, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the off season at Raccoon Creek, what a great time to enjoy the beautiful Tampa Bay area. Everyone at this place was just wonderful to us. I hope we can get on the list to stay in the winter here for a couple of weeks. Shore line boulevard is just beautiful and the facilities at MacDill are outstanding. We ate in the Mess hall and checked out the stand-by office and my wife even got to go to a post wide yard sale, she had a blast. This was a great trip for us. We will be back, thanks for the great time, and the Poor Boy at the Sea Breese restaurant on the site is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan '13 to Mar 24, 2013
(Updated: March 30, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our fifth or sixth stay but our longest. We enjoyed all the activities and of course the weather. The weekly dining out trips were a pleasant surprise. The staff is great and the "rotation" is not really hard to take - 14 days and you move. But you don't have to move far and quickly go on the list to move back into a FHU site. They could do something better in organizing the dry-camp area - the 'field' as it is called. Plans are to reduce the number of partial sites by making 16 FHU sites. This will mean fewer partial sites so don't know who they will handle the rotation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6-14 March 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.W. left this review using the Directory software: - We made reservations by calling 14 day prior to our planned arrival date. Had to call two morning before we got a confirmed reservation. Check-In was quick and easy considering the level of activity. There was a mix-up on the site assignment but the staff quickly resolved it. Their policy of allowing you to wash off the road dirt, salt and film on your RV at your site is a pleasant surprise. There were a lot of activities planned by the staff for campers. The facilities were excellent. We will definitely come back next year for a longer period.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 2012 - Mar 2013
(Updated: March 15, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our 4th stay at this campground and we have plans to come back. We stay in the annex area by choice because of the larger sites. We also like the fact, we can walk to the golf course. The reservation system works well for us since we know when we will be coming back and make our reservation in advance. Lots of activities so you will never get bored. Another great snowbird season.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21 March-4 April 2012
(Updated: April 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the Annex which was very clean and suited our needs perfectly. Full hookup and 50A with more room between campers than raccoon cove. There are no facilities at the Annex but the main campground was not far away. Closer to the golf course. Only downside was the sand burrs that are everywhere in FL. Dogs were constantly getting them on their paws. Very friendly folks in the registration office and eager to help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 2011
(Updated: February 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed here at MacDill the weekend of Airfest 2011. Campground and hospitality were great. My wife really liked being able to walk to the beach area only minutes from camp. Not supposed to be any dogs on beach but there were a few owners who could not read signs I guess. Only thing I could fault, and not really a fault of there's, it is so far back on the base. A good drive to get there. Had a nice time and will most likely return when we can.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2010 to April 2011
(Updated: April 03, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first year of being Snowbirds and we couldn't have picked a better place. We stayed in the annex which has larger sites. The staff worked very hard. The amenities on base are great and the price was right. Lots of activities, you could be busy all the time if you wanted. We made some lifelong friends and plan on coming back next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 20 - Feb 8, 2011
(Updated: March 10, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place, however, by mid January they were already booked with 200 on the waiting list for next year. Being able to make reservations a year out is a bit ridiculous for those of us who don't know what we plan to do next month. we would definitely like to go back next winter if we can get partial or full hook-ups for at least a month January/February time frame. We were lucky this past January to get partial hook-ups the day we arrived. Great location with plenty to do on and off base. Good daily activities in the rec center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
January 2011
(Updated: January 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived early January and staying through February. Great place and a very fair rotation procedure. All personnel are friendly and very helpful. Wi Fi is up most of time. Great beach and good activities. Not as many Rv'ers this year as the dry camp has been almost empty and rotation is quick into full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2