Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

FeaturedHot
 
3.8 (99)
200140 2 23 2 123

User reviews

42 reviews with 4 stars
99 reviews
 
29%
 
43%
 
17%
 
5%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.3(99)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.6(99)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(99)
Value
 
3.9(99)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(99)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
24 May - 7 June 2012
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived during the day and came in through the Tanker Gate. No problems, Security Police very courteous and helpful. It is a long way from the entry to the FAMCAMP, but the roads are OK and not much traffic along the road next to the bay. There's a lot of work going on upgrading many of the sites in one section. All sites are back in even though some have a long area to back through. The check in office is off to the side and the entry to their place is a bit narrow. We pulled ahead to the holding area just beyond and walked back, much easier. The base is very big with a lot of people stationed and working here. One thing to be careful about, I got stopped by security for not coming to a full stop at a stop sign. No big deal, right? Wrong. He had me pulled over on the side of the road for fully 45 minutes and gave me a moving citation after executing a felony stop on my. He and his partner came up on both sides of my truck with their hands on their weapons, walking sideways and stopping just behind my open window. Really? I expected a warning and a short lecture. Nope, 75 bucks. Welcome to Tampa.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sept 12 to 16, 2011
(Updated: October 11, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Long drive from Augusta Ga, GPS took us to Tanker Gate but got up to gate after closed and had to back with trailer down long narrow road to get turned around to go to the Main Gate. The area is very nice but down at the beach people had thrown trash all over the ground even though there were trash cans right there. some people couldn't bother to go 3 feet to throw their trash in the can. park layout is very nice. picked good time to go place was completely uncrowded, only a few people there. I understand that in the winter the place gets full with the snowbirds. The hospitality was good, its the cleanliness that got the 2.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 26 and 27, 2011
(Updated: June 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived Main Gate Sunday evening. Sign posted directed buses and RV's to Right Lane (electrically lowered barrier). I immediately handed Airman ID cards for myself and wife. Was greeted with a 'How you doin', I guess retired officers are not addressed with a lot of ceremony! The second evening, returning from town, reentered the Main Gate and pulled behind a bus. Airman approached my vehicle and said I should get in the line with autos. I said sign directed RV's and buses to right lane. I advised my motorhome was an RV......he looked puzzled and directed me to another lane. He said "You can't go through there!" (that is, the lane I entered the night before). Now, a third Airman approached, handed him my ID cards. Wow! Came to attention, rendered a salute, and advised he would open the gate, and bid me a 'Good evening, Sir' Wow! The FAMCamp was fine, Bath, laundry room neat and clean. Nice 'Facility'....Tiki Bar on the Beach...But closed both days....in June? But, you gotta love mosquitoes! Go outdoors near the Beach at your own risk! I'm guessing it's great in Winter, if you've reserved a year in advance. Base is overall, beautiful and first class location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 7
May 4, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
H.B. left this review using the Directory software: Only one day here on the way to Key West. A very nice long drive after you get on base to FC. WiFi not working, but we were close enough to club house to pick up an signal. Good food at the club. Should have stayed another day or two.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November - February 2011
(Updated: February 18, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Raccoon Creek is potentially one of the best military campgrounds. The staff is friendly and always helpful, they now permit on base retirees to eat in the “chow halls” (the food is great and a la carte), the amenities are plentiful (BX, Commissary, Golf Course (it’s in mediocre shape) Auto Shop, marina, beach, fishing etc. The base has it all. The one comment is that this park is a poorly laid out “cash cow” that is not properly set up or appreciated. If you get assigned to “sardineville”, which seems to be the “in place” to set up, then you will be ( in my estimation ) too close to your neighbors and you will hear their dogs if they are noisy. If they had used some common sense when they set up the annex ( the area we prefer – w/I walking distance to the golf course ) they could have easily placed another 75 – 100 sites. In early Feb we noted that the dry camp area is almost completely full and if the MWR or FSS ( whoever runs this campground ) would just add 50 more FHU sites that would be an additional $24K per month. Remember my comment about this being a “cash cow”? As many of these campers are golfers ( = more $$$ for the golf course ) and they eat at the galley, shop at the exchange, use the Vet services etc… you get the picture – more money all around. Perhaps if the managers would get out of their comfort zone and visit a well run military campground such as Kings Bay ( NavSubBase, GA ) or NavSta Mayport ,FL they’d see what I’m talking about. Would we return ? absolutely. Can this place be made better ? It surely can and we hope that the decision makers . What do I realistically expect? Nothing to happen because they always have a waiting list of campers for the following year and so no improvements are required or needed to keep the people coming. Too bad!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 2011
(Updated: February 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This CG is huge! Must be one of the biggest in the MWR system. Dry camp is large, and they have both partial and full hookups. We got into PHU on arrival, but when we left after 14 days, in late Jan 2011, the dry camp was starting to fill up. Bath house and laundry is appropriately large, spartan, but kept clean. My wife said the washers were not maintained well. MacDill is not a large base, but it takes a while to get off, and then you must negotiate the traffic in the Tampa area. The limited beach area on the base, near the marina, looks nice from a distance, but I'm not sure I would swim there. Lots of trash washed up, and the water did not look very clean. But then, I am not an ocean person. I won't attempt to explain the reservation system, but if you want one of the 6 month (long term) sites you have to call a year ahead. They already have 200 people on the wait list for winter of 2011-12.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan-Feb 2011
(Updated: February 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Staff was very polite for being under stress from so many people wanting to stay. The rotation is very fair. The two things that was bothersome were the dogs barking especially when they go off and leave then in their RVs next to you. The wi-fi is very poor. With so many people staying on the Internet and not getting off to allow others to use it. Would like to see special area for RV without pets.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan. 9th, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
FYI - If you use the Main Gate, signs direct trucks & RV's to the far right lane. It will appear that the lane is closed because they have an automatic barrier in place. Pull up to the line, a guard will come to the rig, take a quick look inside & at ID's, and lower the barrier. It was a little confusing since all other (backed-up) traffic was being routed through a single gate on the far left.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
Nov 2009 (Thanksgiving)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice place with nice people! I'd come back again. I gave the place a slightly lower mark on location and amenities for two reasons. First, the famcamp is way at the bottom of the peninsula. It takes maybe 10 or 15 minutes to get to the main gate or the bx/commissary -- not a huge deal, but sometimes annoying. Second, Verizon service was not so good. Maybe it was bad weather or just bad kharma, but the Verizon service for voice was very weak and would frequently cut out. Same with Verizon broadband. Although the broadband seemed more stable, it was slow and would also unexpectedly quit. Neither signal was particularly strong. As far as reservations go, we had no problem at all. We called for reservations exactly two weeks before we were going to be there and got a space with no difficulty. However, this was for a short, less-than-2-week stay. If you are just passing through, it seems ok. If you want to camp here for the winter, things are not so easy. Note the lat/long for the Tanker Way Gate in the directions. Unless you like driving at night or unless you arrive on a Sunday, you will most likely come in thru the Tanker Gate. We came thru Tampa via the toll road (618), since we were coming from the south. The tolls from stem to stearn added up to about $9. Given the condition of the road and lack of traffic, it was a bargain. We will most likely leave on I-275 as we are heading north.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
JUNE 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Park was clean and comfortable. Beach was fun. Lots to do on base. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 23 - 27, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
E. M. left this review using the Directory software: An excellent campground and a great location. Somewhat cumbersome to get to the commissary, exchange, and shoppette as they are located near the entry (north) end of the installation ad the campground in at the southern tip of the peninsula. Not a big deal but nice to know info. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 1 to March 1
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great FAMCAMP. Their new concrete pads with patios and tables are great. The laundry and showers are still mediocre and kind of grubby. The staff are friendly enough. This is the first time that we have been here in February and it is crowded! We have been here in January, March and April (early) in previous years. The partial hook ups are all taken and there are about 40 other rigs in overflow. The price for a full hook up has gone up to $18 and we only have a smaller rig. The cost in partial hook up was $12/day. There seems to be the usual crowd of regulars who have full hookups for 6 months but the rest of us have to rotate to dry camp after 2 weeks with a hook up. We were supposed to have 2 weeks in partial too but they upgraded us after 3 days and then want us to go to dry camp again. We figure if we are dry camping we might as well go to Key West! Happy trails!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec08- Jan09
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second time at Coon's Creek and we are a little dissapointed this year. The laundry area and showers were pretty dirty the 2 months we have been here. Also there seemed to be more washers out of order than were working. Too many people had to wait for washing machines. Speeding needs controlled before someone gets hurt and rules need to be enforced on dogs barking. Otherwise our stay has been pleasant. We were on a rotating basis since we don't pay a year in advance to reserve a site. In 2 months we moved 5 times, so I'm not sure how the rotation works. However the staff does try and get you out of dry docking as soon as they can. $10.00 for no hookups is high to me. Being in FL on the bay must be the reason. There are activities every day and planned trips weekly. The commissary and fitness center are the best and biggest I have seen. The retirees center was most helpful and the Pharmacy went out of their way to help with our medications. Sunsets at the campground are spectacular.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
7-10 Jun 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
During our PCS to Eglin, my wife and I decided to tour around Florida for the month of June before I sign in at Eglin. We are headed to the Keys and decided to stop here along the way and spend a few nights for some shopping and lying on the beach. Maybe we just expected more, having just come from the white sand beaches around Destin. We came in through the Dale Mabry gate. Only one lane was open so I went for it. It was certainly wide enough for our class A and tow car, but the TSgt Cop thought we should have waited for them to open the far outside lane. Sorry, I wasn't going to wait as Outdoor Rec was going to close for the evening in about 30 minutes. So the last thing I wanted to do was to wait on the gate guards to open a lane just for me. The TSgt was slightly irritated that I drove a motorhome through a car lane, so I promised not to go through that particular lane again. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the fam camp from the front gate. There are very few signs directing you to the location. Hopefully, you know where you are headed. We had already familiarized ourselves via Google Maps and knew the campground was at the very back of the base. I did feel a little uncomfortable driving that close to the driving range as I know where some of my shots go. I was hoping no errant shots were headed our way as we drove by. They do have a large area to pull in/out of at Outdoor Rec when you sign in. That makes life real easy with a 34ft as you pull in one side and exit another. They are in the process of pouring concrete pads in many of the sites. We couldn't get any with concrete as they were letting it cure. No biggie. We found ourselves on site 43 not too far from the laundry or the beach. Most of the sites are still dead grass which splashes over everything when it rains. Unless you have big pads on your jacks, your rig will settle a little into the ground. Only the 110v part of the power did not work. I pulled out an adaptor and ran a cord from another 30 amp socket on another power box. I run two power cords so I can run both A/Cs at the same time, hence the need for the 110v. They have WiFi and cable at the sites which we found very useful. After being on the white sands at Destin, we were disappointed with the beach here. It was probably due to the water being from the bay and not open water that you had a definite harbor smell. We did see a dead shark on the beach. It was probably 18 inches long. Lots of Heron and Ibis flying about, along with a Coast Guard C-130 & a KC-135 doing touch-n-gos. Overall, we would stay here again as you can't beat the price and amenities of being on an installation, but it would be as a stop-over, not as our final destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19 APR -5 MAY 2008
(Updated: April 21, 2009)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This base is the home base of U.S. Central Command (CENTCOM), U.S. Special Operations Command (SOCOM), the Joint Communications Support Element (JCSE), the 6th Air Mobility Wing and other units so security is tight. We had our fifth wheel searched at the main gate. Security stopped us one evening and told us we were not supposed to be riding bikes without helmets, so make sure you plan to have your helmets, even in the RV park. Nice little thrift shop on base near the post office, where you can get some NEAT stuff! The base library is WONDERFUL - lots of books, magazines, DVDs, VCR tapes and CDs with a VERY generous checkout policy. They even have a free book section. We were able to get library cards even though we're not locals. Just a short walk to the nice little beach. Nice exchange mall and commissary. No diesel fuel at the gas station on base. The mosquitoes were out in force every evening, even though the area is sprayed so be sure you have bug spray if you plan to be out at night. Saw large racoons! Largest I'd ever seen. Guess that's why they call this campground "Racoon Creek". Saw an armadillo and horseshoe crabs and watched some pelicans dive-bombing into the bay for fish. Saw a 6" RAT running from the bushes across the beach to another set of bushes. EUWWWWW! So we were a little reluctant to eat at the little restaurant on the beach! The coin laundry here is air-conditioned and large with a TV to watch while you're waiting. There is a nice air-conditioned clubhouse with computer desks and a TV with lots of tables and chairs. They have a nice magazine/book/VCR tape exchange there. Watched an Air Force plane that was practicing - repeatedly taking off and landing. It's full here during the winter months, but a lot of spaces were empty in April and May because of the heat. We had tried to get reservations in Jan, Feb and Mar but were unable to due to the fact that campers can stay here for MONTHS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26 Feb - 11 Mar 07
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Beautiful area with nice beach and very scenic. Great walking trails. Think for the money this Famcamp makes, more things could be done to improve-such as more concrete pads, paved roads, etc. Arrival M-F between 8-5 must use Tanker/commercial gate. Military book tells you to use main gate and the security police will not let you in the gate and turn you around which is almost impossible in a 40ft motor home with a tow. Close to bay-beach and club house open for most lunches, some dinners with excellent view of Tampa Bay. Park reserves some sites as two week sites, which gives most the opportunity to visit when unable to get in snow-bird sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
November 2006
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We have stayed numerous times at Coon's Creek. Enjoyed it all the time. It is great that they have fenced pet areas. There are two campgrounds, one at the marina and one in the old trailer park, which by the way is very nice except they have not built a bath house/laundry. They are both clean and great for relaxing or visiting the area. The campground at the marina is great because you can walk down to the beach and watch the cruise ships go in and out. Not to mention the beautiful sunsets. The problem we encountered was that as DOD civilians we could not make reservations at any time. It is first come, first serve. We have stayed at numerous military campgrounds and were able to make reservations. The other problem is the "long term" folks who stay anywhere from 2 to 6 months over the winter. So unless you have "reservation rights" forget about staying there from December thru about April. We have written our concerns to the Services area and to be honest their answer was why fix what is not broken. Most of the other military campgrounds do not allow stay of that length, or if they do it is based on space availability. In other words, if someone comes in and you have been there 30 days you are required to move to either a partial or dry camp spot and they rotate you in and out. It seems like Coon's Creek is used as a "second home" to snowbirds. Plus they can make reservations a year in advance. So when they check in one year, they go ahead and make them for the next year. My husband and I have a combined civil service career of over 54 years and will retire within the next 5-6 years. If you visit there over the winter you can forget about getting the "great spots" that overlook the water or are closer to the facilities because the "long term" snowbirds have snapped them up. Plus we have noticed it is basically the same people year after year. We were told that because of the location it is very popular and most of the campgrounds in the area are full. Which is not true because we have inquired with other places and they all had availability. While I can tell you that this campground is really great, they need to take a look at the length of stay rules so that everyone who is eligible to use the facility has a fair chance. Some of us who are not retired yet take vacations when job responsibilities permit. We may be only DOD civilian employees, but we are still supporting the effort and serving our country, just in a different capacity. The Services department which manages the facility didn't seem to think my concerns were worth looking into. But once again, the park is clean and well maintained. Plus the area offers a lot to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 21 5
Feb 13 - 27, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We're here now, and as in most cases w/ military bases, you have to have a res a year in advance for anything over 2 weeks, unless you can get into "dry camp", and then apply for a 2 week stay w/ full hook-up. Feb. is tough all over the US. we were in the Sigsbee dry camp in Key West last week (usually enough spots, no res accepted) and then you get on a rotation list into a full hook-up site, but thats only for 2 weeks. Anyway, this base is beautiful !!, and the spots are real clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 1
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Spacious sites and we especially enjoyed the Seascapes restaurant and bar which was very near the RV park. Drawback is that it is not open on the weekends. Plenty of pet walks for your dog. Clean restrooms and laundry facilities. We were able to access WiFi from our RV site as it was near the marina and beach area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
42 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3