MacDill AFB Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.9 (104)
200140 2 23 1 197

User reviews

104 reviews
 
30%
 
44%
 
16%
 
5%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.3(104)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.6(104)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(104)
Value
 
4.0(104)
Overall Experience
 
3.7(104)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
104 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
July 22 - 24 2022
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Location -- as most military camp grounds they seem to be always at the far end of the base. Driving the RV through a main street of Tampa to get to the main gate was interesting. From the gate to the RV site was normal. McDill AFB was quite for a weekend -- nobody out. Cleanliness -- RV check-in office and bathrooms were clean. Amenities -- has a beach area which was nice. There is a dog beach -- needs a lot of work though. Bay water was bad -- looked to murky. Value -- Can't beat the price. Camp host did stop by and gave us our sign for the window. There is a small conveyance store. Because of high COVID in Tampa area in July, had to wear a mask on the base. Check-in -- required RV Registration and also Pet records (other bases have not asked for them). Check-in person was really nice. Was going to stay 3 nights but rained most of the 3 full days there -- left one day early. Overall: Big campground(s). Would use again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2022
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We like this Famcamp. We've stayed here a few times before. We were surprised at how full it was during the summer. It was extremely hot and humid and buggy, which is pretty typical of Florida, but was unpleasant nonetheless and we're still healing from the noseeums bites despite contantly spraying with bug spray. There is a beach and boat ramp (and rentals) within walking distance. This is the bay and the water is murkier than the gulf beaches, which are about an hour drive away. The Seascapes was not open while we were there (for a month), and appears to still be recovering from some storm damage. I hope they get it back up and running as I feel it is a great option for rv park guests. The wifi and even cell service is very sporadic. We were in the second row from the road and were unable to make phone calls and the internet rarely worked. It did seem to work better closer to the laundry room, which is very large with so many machines ($1.75 for washer, .25 per 8 minutes dryer). The laundry room was a sauna and so unbearable that I had to grab my laundry out of the dryer and take it back to my RV to hang/fold. I think they got the a/c fixed a day or two before we left. The camp host is super friendly and definitely stays on top of everything. Tampa is right outside the gates with lots of things to do. As of this time (June 2022), the base has gone back to wearing masks indoors, seems to be only this base because we moved on to Patrick and there is no mask mandate there. I meant to add in my review that we had issues with the consistency of our electricity. We have the surge protector that conncects directly to the box, but we had a lot of trouble with our residential fridge. The temperature kept fluctuating between 38 and 52 degrees, causing our temperature alarm to go off a lot. We thought our fridge was going out, but we've since moved on to another RV park and have had no issues here, confirming that the electrical current at MacDill Famcamp is not consistent. Just something to be aware of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1-22 Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Had a short notice trip to Tampa and decided to take the RV instead of staying in a hotel. I knew it would be busy and prepared for some time in dry camp. Ended up on the end of a row right next to the boat launch exit...beautiful spot even if it had no utilities. Evening camp host was very nice and guided me to parking. I was able to get full hook-up a week later in the 'first-come-first-serve' area which meant 2 week rotation schedule. After two weeks decided to move closer to Clearwater where class was being held. Overall, a nice experience and I'm glad I had it. Wearing masks then was a bit of a pain, but... not going there here. The RV park was very crowded, but there was sufficient space at each of the sites. A couple weeks after I left, I heard about a person in dry camp was experiencing a heart attack. They called 9-1-1, but paramedics were unable to locate their rv. The individual passed away prior to help arriving. This is second-hand information, but I heard it took 2 hours to find the victim. The famcamp was only supposed to have 30 (ish) dry campers, but had about 100 at the time. Needless to say, the solid brown waste hit the oscillating blade when leadership was informed about the incident. Some 70 dry campers were immediately evicted. Does anyone have anymore information on this? Can anyone confirm, deny or correct my story?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Jun 4- Jun 9, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit to MacDill and the Campground. We arrived right at 4pm on a Friday and pulled into the RV spots behind the office, where we were greeted by someone from the office and told that we would have to check in with the night host. We drove into the campground and met the night host. He was very friendly and helpful and set us up in the row closest to the beach. What a great site! The wifi worked well and we were able to visit, and be visited by, family during our stay. Will have to make reservations for a Winter stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
17 Feb - 8 Mar 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We can see why people want to spend a season here. MacDill AFB has to be one of the most beautiful anywhere. They have a brand new registration office; park in the back of the building while you register. Spent only one night in dry camping, although our fairly late arrival in the season probably explains that. We appreciated the mailroom service as well as the doggie beach not far from the marina office. Too bad the beach-side restaurant was still close due to COVID after a year. With all the precautions in place, they really could open it up. We LOVED using Bayshore Blvd to get to and from Tampa as well as walking along the bay side while on base. All the services you could want are nearby. The office people are very nice and will work with you to try to extend your time in the full hookups area if they can. Our ONLY complaint: both of us where bitten badly out of no where by "noseeums" about 2/3 of the way into our visit. Those bites are way worse than mosquitos of which we saw none.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 2
Sept. 6, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is located on the very southern tip of the Tampa peninsula and MacDill AFB. We arrived after 1600 and checked in with the camp host - super easy, super nice. We had site 109. 108 - 113 are single row (no pull through - replacement water lines buried on back end). Loads of room in the front of the space. Easy and close access to the beach. Good WiFi, 50 power. I didn’t use the cable connection. $51 for the entire Labor Day weekend - can’t be beat. The beach has a covered pavilion and grills. Since it is on the bay there are no waves and there is sea grass about 5 yards off shore. Loads of kayaking and there is a marina.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 1
16 - 21 Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
It is winter at MacDill AFB with all the snowbirds in full bloom. The nice thing is they will turn no one away but it is at full capacity in dry camp. There is about 7 days in dry camp before eligible for 2 weeks of partial hookups followed by 2 weeks of full hookups. Then it is back to dry camping and the bottom of the rotation list. In April, they have proposed a restrooms/laundry remodel for a few months, so be patient with their progress to make this a more modern famcamp. Dry camping is just $12.00 a day and as the weather warms up more open frame generators are running during the day. This is a prime location for this part of Florida. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
14 - 31 Jan 2020
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location can't be beat. The only shower facility needs quite a bit of work. The shower curtains have mold and there were broken/missing tiles in some of the showers. The WiFi is also hit or miss but mostly a miss since the campground is full so everyone is trying to use it.
MacDill AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
20-27 Dec 2019
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
No hot water in the bathhouse which means no hot water for showering or laundry. Took a week for a sign to be posted stating no hot water. When you ask about hot showers you're told to go to the fitness center. Good customer service does not exist at this FamCamp. When will the hot water heater be replaced? Rumor is sometime next year. Why not rent a shower trailer in the meantime? Let's mention cleanliness for a moment, trash in men's room is overflowing, at least 5 bars of soap and numerous shampoo containers on the floor in the men's shower area. Base preventive med personnel should make an unannounced inspection, because certainly no one in the FSS comes through to ensure folks are doing their jobs. First and last time staying in this FamCamp which seems like a 65 and over gated and closed community. Sites are Not private and as one other reviewer wrote, this does have the feel of a Used RV and Boat dealer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 5
September 12-16 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
No one has mentioned the Cable TV Connections have a MALE end so you need an "extension/adapter" for Male to Male. Fortunately I had ONE onboard with my Cable TV parts but this was the FIRST time I ever needed it (over 10 years of RVing). Originally we planned to stay the last full week of Sept and they were unable to reserve us a decent site (proposed Site 15 would never have fit our 36'RV and Truck) as Snowbirds were expected to fill it up by then... We changed our plans and came in mid-September where the main Park was maybe 20% Full and Office personnel told us to find our own site, so we found one with some shade and only one "nearby" neighbor. Nice to have a concrete patio but sites are very close together as is common with Snowbird parks. And it was overdue for a mowing... Two Dog Parks with bag dispensers was a plus for us. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 9 1
June 20 -25 2019
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed at MacDill AFB so we could attend and support the Warrior Games 2019. We were disappointed in the high grass around our RV site when we pulled in. We paid the $100.00 deposit fee to guarantee we had a spot. The site had not been mowed before we arrived. The renters contract states that patrons will be responsible for the lawn area surrounding your site. Lawn mowers and weed eaters are provided by the Fam Camp office. This was not relayed to us at check-in. The RV spaces are close, they provide a concrete slab large enough to hold the picnic table. Camp regulations do not allow rugs. We did enjoy the dog parks one was on the beach so it gives the dogs water playtime. As we travel with 2 dogs one is my husbands service dog. They do provide laundry facilities with quite a few washers and dryers, however several washers were out of order. We enjoyed a lunch at the Seascape Beach club restaurant which is located in the RV campground within walking distance from our site. Overall, I don't believe we will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
27 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This review was left by T.M. using the Directory software: Beautiful and very large campground. Beautiful beach and there was a resturant at the beachfront (walking distance from the park) that serves a large platter of crab legs on Friday nights for just $11.99. They were fantastic. Facility is well kept and sites were large. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to visit this park again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
March 2019
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
M.B. left this review using the Directory Software - This Campground is based right on the bay at Tampa and it is absolutely gorgeous. Probably one of the most well-maintained and well manicured campgrounds I think I’ve ever stayed at. Every spot that I saw was mostly concreted. Beautifully manicured and each utility hook up had a night light that came on at night which was really kind of neat to see when you pull into the campground at night. Saturday mornings the campground throws a free breakfast for campers. It was a breakfast buffet, with their restaurant right there on their own private beach under the palm trees as you watch the dolphins swim in front of you. It made for an epic setting. I definitely highly recommend this campground excellent staff excellent scenery and was great launching point for us to get to baseball spring training games as well as Clearwater Beach and the strawberry festival down in plant city.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 13 5
December 2018 - January 2019
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
MacDill AFB, is a perfectly beautiful place to visit. We have been camping at this campground for 10 years and this past Dec/January 2019 we could not spend the winter, however, we rented one of the trailers for a couple of weeks. The trailer was nice enough, but the mattresses on both of the beds were literally horrible. The rental fee is $75.00 a night and with that kind of fee, you would think that purchasing a couple of new mattresses would be very minor to make the stay more pleasurable. Everything else about the trailer was ok, but like I said, a minor purchase sure would have made the stay much more comfortable. We will probably not rent one of their trailers again unless they corrected this problem, but will have our own camper from now on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 4
Oct 2018 - Jan 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first time staying at Macdill AFB. We stayed in the annex and got a great site. Way more room than the main campground by the beach and Marina. All full hook up with 30,50, and 15 receptacles. No bath house or laundry in annex area. Laundromat is quite large and has the bathhouse in the same building. The famcamp office is in a portable trailer near the main campground as a new famcamp building is in progress of being built now. They have a mail and package delivery building. A mailbox key is $20 for the time you are here. The marina has fishing, pontoon, and kayaks for rental. You must have a boating course completed thru Boat US to rent power boats. The famcamp has a rule that you keep your own site mowed and organized. Mowers, rakes, and weedeaters are available for use along with the fuel. Being new here we weren't told too much and learned as we went. Mostly people here for the winter months from all over the US. Two 18 hole golf courses, bowling alley, auto shop, bx, commissary, and several eating spots. The MWR staff were accommodating and friendly. Lots of things are changing, and some staff are new and learning the ropes. Wifi has been installed in the annex now so thats a plus. We enjoyed our time here and hopefully will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 0
Nov 15 - Dec 20, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
While tent camping at this campground: there was only one other individual at the campsite when I arrived I noted that the individual was a smoker and remained there the duration that I was there about a month and was there when I left. About four of five other sites had become occupied since my arrival. Things were pretty good for the biggest part; then suddenly, one night the other first individual mentioned that was camped out starting having violent coughing and hacking fits while screaming profane remarks and blasting the radio in the vehicle so loud that you could hear the metal vibrating from the vehicle this went on for hours. There was no getting hold of security without dialing 911. I reported this incident to the campground attendants and I did mention communicable diseases there are things out there known as airborne pathogens and I did not want to catch anything like Tuberculosis or anything like that. Shortly after this incident, not sure if anything was said to the individual about this incident by the attendants but one night immediately thereafter, returning to my site I noticed my tent had been vandalized by someone snapping one of the rods. These rods are $40.00 a piece, how many packs of cigarettes can you buy with that? Shortly after this I packed my stuff and left. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 18
April 1 - 14, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time staying at MacDill and had a wonderful visit. The snowbirds had gone back north so it was easy to get a site. The base beach, marina and SeaScapes Beach House are right next to the Famcamp. You have beautiful scenic view of Tampa Bay, with fantastic sunsets. We would stay here again and may consider this to be a winter destination but it is very hard to get reservations unless you plan 2 years in advance. Must call on October 1 2018 for reservations for 2019/2020 winter. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
Nov 28, 2017 - Mar 4, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This review was left by J.B. using the Directory software: "Free bowling, twice monthly breakfast, and weekly dinner trips provide enjoyment. New sites are planned with water view."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
March 2918
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
GOOD LUCK getting in here from December through March! They will not make a reservation for you unless you are staying at least 3 months. The staff is downright rude, acting as if this is the way it's always been. No, it's not the way it's always been. There was a section that was held for short term stays -- no longer. It's first come, first served. So, come on down to Florida on the off chance that the day you show up, there will be a spot. We stayed here about 2 years ago, the facilities are older but pretty well kept. Now, not so much. They have crammed as many sites in here as they possibly can and as long as they get filled, the staff could care less by whom. We probably will not get the chance to stay here again. Sad. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 1
Feb 27, 2018
Overall rating
 
2.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We called and there were no full sites available but there were about 4 partial sites but we were unable to make a reservation for these. When we got there the partial were still available. Actually I am glad that we were in the partials as we had more room and an nice creek running behind our camper. The full sites were packed in like sardines. When I went to check in they required my DL, my ID card, my vehicle registration for my car and my camper, my insurance on my camper and my dogs shot record. I have stayed at many military campground and I have never had to supply anything but my ID and maybe the dog shot record. I had everything but my insurance card on my phone and they had to have a separate copy of it so I had to email one to them. The dogs shot record I did not have so I called my vet to get it and they said they could FAX it. The campground office did not have a FAX machine and my vet did not have the ability to email it or text it. At this point one employee began making fun of the place I was from. "Where is this place West Virginia", she said. I said no Alabama, she said "oh Alabama", "What kind of place doesn't have email". After begging my vet to ask someone to take a picture of it and text it we got it handled as I was then able to email it. They made me very anxious. Then they began to talk about where they were going to meet after work completely dismissing me. I got no info about the campground except rules that I had to sign, no directions to the camp site I rented, and no info about the bathhouse or laundry. The beach is pretty but because my dog was only allowed in one area that was grassy and muddy I didn't get to enjoy it at all. The laundry was pay machines at $1.75 per load and $.25 for 5 minutes to dry. On the Navy Base and a few other AF Bases the laundry was free. Bottom line though I probably could have overlooked the other inconveniences had the staff been friendlier and not made fun of the place I came from and asked me "are you going back to that place". 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 21 5
104 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6