Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area

Hot
 
4.3 (113)
234947 4 41 1 206

User reviews

35 reviews with 4 stars
113 reviews
 
57%
 
30%
 
8%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.4(113)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(113)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(113)
Value
 
4.4(113)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(113)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
35 results - showing 21 - 35
1 2
Ordering
10 to 14 Mar 2013
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
B.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The new section was added and opened in Nov 2012. More pull throughs and Handicap. Slabs level and less trees then old section but easy to park your rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
JAN 2013
(Updated: January 21, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
THIS CAMP GROUND HAS WENT FROM 450.00 A MONTH TO 540.00 A MONTH WITH NO ADDED AMENITIES. THEY HAVE LOW WATER PRESSUER SINCE THEY ADDED THE NEW 40 SITES IN BATTELSHIP SIDE OF THE CAMP GROUND. IT IS A NICE PARK, BUT IT IS OVER PRICED.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
Sep 2012
(Updated: September 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
My favorite so far. Lots to see and do or just relax. First park Military or civilian that I have hated to leave and will look forward to coming back for a longer stay. Kayaking in the bay with dolphins all around you, just don't get no better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov. 1, 2011 - April 1, 2012
(Updated: April 04, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here from Nov. 1 to April 1. This is the policy for winter stays. CG has everything you need, full pad, 50 amp, sewer, paved roads and street lights. Cable would be a nice addition since most sites you can not get satellite because of the trees. The grounds need help. did not see anyone doing anything on the grounds during my stay. The trees need trimming your rig will hit small branches as you travel threw the CG. the leaves need to be racked, grass cut and fire rings cleaned and repaired. I asked the office if they ever racked or cut grass and the excuse was that several years ago they where weed eating and a small rock hit a RV and the person tryed to have his rig repainted because of it. I don't buy that excuse because every CG we have visited they post when they are going to cut the grass and state they are not liable. Which is good enough for me. I asked about the fire rings being cleaned out and was told it was my responsibility. (I cleaned and repaired mine). The camp Host is tucked way in the back of the CG and i was not sure who they were. They have started construction on 40 more sites and the manager of OAK GROVE is also Blue Angles manager. I expect to see some great changes and improvements as he has at Oak Grove. Reservations and maybe some personnel changes. This review is for the Battleship side of the CG. Anchor Cove side is a mess. would not stay on that side. Camp Host over there has a porta potty and window AC units that should say it all. Some tree trimming and gravel would make it a good weekend / short stay / over flow CG.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
March 25, 2012
(Updated: March 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We came with a group of civilian and retired military and their family and had a wonderful time paint balling. The two people handing out equipment were polite and helpful. The grounds could be cleaner but it was ok, as it was paintball. The gate staff, however, was rude and very unfriendly. We smiled, were polite and very friendly and she was grumpy, downright rude and slow. Not a good first entrance experience for anyone later that day! (We were there at 10:30am).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 26 2011 to September 1 2011
(Updated: August 29, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our second visit here this year. We had a very nice site looking at the water. Restroom facilities were clean as well as the laundry. The grass needs to be cut more often. I had mail delivered regularly there and for the most part it was fine. However, twice I attempted to get my mail from the office within the last hour of the office closing (1500 to 1600) and was "blown off" by the employee working. He would not take the time to check for me, insisting I had no mail. After the second time , I approached him with an e-mail verification showing my mail was signed for two days earlier. Don't expect a high level of quality customer service that last hour of the day in the office. BTW, the mail was there and I had seen it sitting there the night before.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2011
(Updated: May 23, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location and we had a nice view of the water. The campground seems to be regularly monitored by security and campground staff. The commissary and exchange complex is easy to get to and very nice. We stayed on the older side of the campground because no spots were available in the newer section. The disadvantage of the older side is no 50 amp service or sewer hookup. The campground host was very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
March 31 - April 2, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Only spent two nights in campground A, and thought the grounds looked fine. There were a lot of leaves which can't be helped this time of year. Jerry and Dalores (camp host/hostess) were very friendly and helped us get parked without hitting any trees. This campground and campground B are both located in a very wooded area off base and have a very nice beach area (small but very nice). Most people clean up after their pets but some don't. Walking through all the leaves can sometimes leave you with an extra bit of a surprise if you don't watch your step (thanks to those that do not clean up after their pets). One very nice restaurant is the Shrimp Basket on Perdido Key! There are several other places that are nice also and not hard to find.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
February 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After being in NOLA for Mardi Gras any quiet place would be fine. But this c/g is really great. Loved the way we could pull in and sorta make your own campsite (on the grassy side). The shower facility could use a major upgrade. But for everything else about the park it's tops. Easy in easy out. If you can get into the "good sites" then you have it made. But when in Pensacola area, we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
January 14-19, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We really like this campground. It is very quiet this time of year. The A side has a lot of openings but the B (Battleship Row) side is full. I guess everyone wants sewer hookups. Water and 30 amp power is good enough for us and the price is right, plus the view of the bay is outstanding. The dump station is convenient when we need it. The staff at Marina/Camp Store is very friendly. The young woman running the store stayed late after we checked in at 4 p.m. (closing time) so I could pick up some ice. It must be a great location in the summer when you can take advantage of the nice beach, boating, and fishing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Sept. 21 - Oct. 21 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed on Battleship Row in a prime slot. Arriving in Sept. enabled us to slip into a prime slot, on the front row, with a view of the water. Leaving today, 21 of Oct., every slot is now filled with people in for the winter, the next 3-4 months. Had a great time. We did not use the bath house or laundry facilities so could not rate them. However, the one thing that was so outstanding about the location of this area is the close proximity of the commissary and exchange facilities. There is also a beautiful park within 10 miles with the bay on one side and the gulf on the other for day use. A must see is the Naval Aviation Museum, which is free, donations accepted. The camp ground does have wi fi but we did not use it and others said you had to pay and that it was not very good. For those that have children or those young at heart, there is cinema by the bay every Sat. night at no charge. Mostly G rated movies shown but it was fun and something different. Be sure and bring your own chairs, bleachers are all that is provided. Lastly, there is a weekly news bulletin put out that is delivered to your front door. We definitely plan on coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
July 2006
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our family went down from Ft. Benning, GA. to Blue Angels and stayed on the Anchor cove side. Although rustic and nearly full (it was July after all), we found that a few of the camp sites on the back did not have power. This limited our choice of working campsites to use. The bathhouses were clean, but could have used some renovation or updating. The beaches were o.k., but the amenities were few. All that aside, my wife and the kids loved it. The DJed music was wonderful. There is nothing like dancing with your sweetheart under the stars, near the ocean, under a big bright moon. We ended up wanting to stay longer, but eventually had to return home. The staff seemed very helpful with side excursions in and around the Pensacola area. Word of advice: make reservations 4 to 6 weeks in advance if not earlier. We haven't stayed on the Battleship Row side yet, so we can't comment about the "newer side" of the CG. Enjoy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 17, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We made a day trip here and didn't stay overnight. The folks at the gate were very friendly, gave us a map and pointed out locations of various activities. There are two campgrounds. We only checked out Battleship Row with full hookups. We did not drive through Anchor Cove so can't comment on it. Battleship Row met my standards with paved roads and sites. Restrooms and laundry was clean. There are plenty of things to do here. They have two mini golf courses, marina, boat ramps, beach, boat rentals, tennis and other. This is an old seaplane base so there is a lot of concrete. The only negative is the distance from NAS Pensacola, 15 miles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 21 to April 4, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Fourth time staying in Anchor Cove. Great place to stay, however "A" side needs improvement. Dead trees and limbs need cutting. Electrical needs upgrades and bath house facilities are old and worn out. Without sewer hookups, a bath house is a very needed facility. The day I arrived, I was very lucky indeed to get a site. The dulcimer group was in as well as the SMART group. Only site big enough for my 40ft motor home was only vacant because a vendor(for the dulcimer group) left early. Military (retired or active duty) should be able to get in ahead of civilian groups. Was informed by one host that all proceeds from the area go to Jacksonville. If that's the case, someone needs to get some of that money back for improvements. Even with all the short comings, I still enjoy my stay at Blue Angel. I did stay on the "B" side briefly in Feb, 2008. Nice sites, full hookups, but much more expensive. WiFi didn't work the whole time. Several of us retirees found module in soffit dead. When we reported it nothing was serviced. Only reason we stayed in "B" side was arrived when raining cats and dogs and site was available. My active duty son and family stayed in one of the rental trailer units and found them to be a great deal with plenty of room. Two bedrooms with full kitchen and living area with a great deal of space to move around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7-12 March 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice campground. The "B" side has full hookups and WiFi for a fee. There is always a waiting list to get into the "B" side. You must be staying in the "A" side to get on waiting list. (There was a Sam's Club group of 15 units in the "B" side with only a few of them being military. The rest were sponsored by these few. This left many of us to have to go to "A" side since they were taking up the good sites.) "A" side is the older part of the park and has 30amp/water only. No sewer and the WiFi does not reach there. Many trees in this area which makes driving through on the dirt roads very interesting, especially with a large motorhome. The staff, a group of retired Navy Chiefs, are very helpful and friendly. They help to make this a good place to stay. Marina/store, laundry, mini golf, bingo, and free movies on Wednesday night. Would definitely go back.
RS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
35 results - showing 21 - 35
1 2