Bethany Beach Training Site

 
4.2 (51)
115263 0 25 2 59

User reviews

25 reviews with 5 stars
51 reviews
 
49%
 
35%
 
14%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.6(51)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(51)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(51)
Value
 
4.3(51)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(51)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
May 7-17, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay in this place. Billeting Staff and gate Guards are good people and professionals. This is not a destination RV campground but a safe and quiet place to park your RV while you explore neighboring towns. This RV campground is very clean, with concrete pads, full hook-ups, and full cable channels but no wifi. Sites 13-22 are pull-through and Sties 1-12 are back-ins. There is a big oval running track, a children's playground, one pavilion with a picnic table, and a small floating pier to launch a paddleboat, good for crabbing I heard but not good for fishing. Big laundry facility is available, very clean inside and although not all machines work there are plenty to choose from. I noticed a couple of longtime residents on class A RVs at sites 16 and 20 and a couple of class C RVs in the back-in sites. If you are exploring Delaware, which is a beautiful state, and want to visit Ocean City, MD, which is only 7 miles away, I highly recommend this campground.
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Several spots difficult to back into. Very small base with nearly no amenities. Medium walk to the beach. Towards the high end $$ of military campgrounds for full hook-up. So overall, this place has security and location. Plenty of restaurants with off-season specials. To enjoy the area you probably will want a car - but traffic is horrible during the season. Billeting staff was excellent. Front gate guards friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Gate is on the south side - past the base on RT1 South, then right at the little shack that sits on 1.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 - 18 October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our second stay at this facility. Both were off season so I don’t know how their lottery system works to get a site during peak season. I stayed in the pull through sites and they are a hike from the facilities ( which I prefer to use but, with full hookups...). This facility is very close to the beach and 20 miles from Assateague Island. Staff does an excellent job in returning calls and handling all your question.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Early June 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Staff was very attentive to answering email prior to and during our stay. RV Latrine is now closed. RVers are to use the Male/Female Latrines in the same building. Both newly renovated and are pristine. Jack up the quality of the base WiFi and the sites will be truly worthy of the $30/night cost.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 19-25, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Staff was very friendly, helpful, courteous. and overall wonderful! The base guards were on top of it. There wasn't that usual we don't recognize you non-sense I've run into other places. The site was well maintained. The salt water pond was well maintained, mother nature of course wanted to do her thing and have some algae in the pond but what do you expect? We can't control everything, (though it seems some would like to.) The beach was just a 3/4 mile walk very doable. This was an overall great place to stay. Thanks for having it and keep up the great work! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 7-9 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
All of what the previous reviewer from June 8 2019 said was true, but we were in the short sites closer to the facilities which this weekend meant closer to the drill training, (marching in formation, singing) and flight ops with two blackhawks on the infield of the track. All of which took me back in some ways to my time on active duty. The updates I would add from some of the previous reviews are: The gate is manned 24/7 now so no need for access codes and you can come and go as you please. This is a tobacco free installation. The pads are all concrete in both locations and sites 1 thru 12 are tight against the fence and the access road from which to back in. This was a good break from DSSP for the weekend up out of the sand at those sites. Thanks to the Guard for the hospitality
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 17-24, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit and very pleased. The staff and gate guards very helpful and nice. Made them some cookies before we departed to let them know. Location is perfect and Bethany Beach a nice non congested small community. While there we visited Fort Miles SP and toured Battery 519 which is open on Fridays and Saturdays for tours. Also visited town of Lewes and New Castle. Also Kalmar Nyckel ship next to Fort Christina in Wilmington. Shopping near by. Laundry very clean,free and 10 washers and dryers. We were only ones in campground for 5 days. Had site 22 next to pond. Oval walking/running path steps away. Yes, would definitely return. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 9 - 11, August 11-13, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
SO do not let the 3 fool you, there are really no Amenities at this site other than a small but very nice gym, clean showers, and free laundry, the playground by the salt pond is really in bad shape the little dock area is great for crabbing and the site itself was beautiful, we stayed at site 18 and had a GREAT time. The training center itself is quiet, and small which is really great for us, and we had a GREAT stay, we are actually headed back down next week for 3 days but I can assure you next time we are going down for 7 days. There is beach access directly across the road from the training site that you can literally walk to if you don't have a whole lot of things to drag along, The chicken BBQ which is hosted by the VFW every Saturday morning was pretty good for the price I think it was 5 bucks or something. There are armed guards at the gate 24/7 and they are super nice and professional.......Overall its an amazing value that's clean in a great location I will make this a yearly stop for us. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
2 - 9 June 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fifth Street is a little difficult to recognize while driving down SR 1. I drove past the entrance and had to make a few turns on narrow streets to return. Going South on SR 1 you will pass the closed main entrance to the post. (There is a Huey on a stick at the main entrance.) The next street on the right is the entrance street to the post. It is approximately 100 yards from the main gate with the “VFW BBQ Chicken House” just before the turn. It is a narrow road entrance and a narrow gate. Wide enough for RVs, but only oneway traffic. If a vehicle is coming out you have to let it pass before you enter. The gate is 24/7 with friendly, professional civilian guards on duty at all times. A great place to relax and enjoy close to the beach. Our pad was assigned to us on my email account so we went to the RV site, set up and then went by the billeting office. Sites 16 through 20 are pull through with a paved and gravel road to enter the pads. The pads are all concrete, level, full hook-ups, picnic tables and BBQ grills. The laundry is in building 162 with numerous free washers and dryers. We were there during a drill weekend so a few UH-60s flew in and out and some troops were here. Very low key activity. No facilities (PX, Commissary, Hospital), but the surrounding area offers everything. We will definitely return to this site for a week vacation in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 20-27, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent a week in RV spot 13, What a hidden gem! Fantastic! Clean restrooms with nice showers, clean and free laundry room, across the street from the beach, kids play area and docks with canoe rentals $6 overnight! Friendly staff, made to feel right at home. Just minutes from Ocean City we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 17-19, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
pull through sites 13-22 full hook up including sewer,  $30 per night  outstanding value.  Bring your bikes,  short ride across US 1 to the beach,  trolley leaves right outside gate for 25 cents into Bethany Beach.  VFW chicken barbecue every Saturday right out in front of the gate.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a beautiful place and location is great. 12 miles from Rehobeth Beach, Delaware and 10 miles from Ocean City Maryland, not to mention it's right across the highway (walking distance) from Bethany Beach. Yes RV sites 1-12 a little tight for manuevering but all in all great. In back of the small training facility so, you can't expect a lot of amenities such as recreational, commissary/BX, gym, etc. But do have a weight room, laundry, shower/bath facilities and a host/check-in office that will provide information on local eateries and things to do. It has a salt pond for swimming, fishing, kayaking that leads to a canal and also a 1/2 mile track for walking, running, biking and large open field for playing almost any sports. This facility is great because it's quiet, and conveniently located from the crowded nearby public campgrounds that look more like little trailer towns or mobile home parks. Best of all NO HOMESTEADERS allowed. Will be visiting again during July 4th weekend 2015. BTW, the staff is great, very friendly and accommodating. Remember to go through new access gate just a few yards south of the main gate which your GPS and other directions will send you through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Jan 16-19, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This visit was to stay in one of several mobile homes on post ($66/night). I've used these a few other times and are convenient for those times when we stay with either a number of family members or another couple. Our RV (truck camper) is best used for just the two of us. The trailers are very nicely fitted out with bed linen, very minimal kitchen supplies and three (?) bedrooms and two baths. Minimal kitchen supplies means plates, cups and adequate dinnerware but very little in the way of cooking utensils. As always, check-in was smooth and easy. When we visit the RV sites, we often bring bottled water for drinking, coffee, etc as we often find the water there undrinkable. On the contrary, the water in the mobile home seemed quite good. I'm not certain if there were changes made to the system or it the mobile homes were on another water supply. Please note my forum post about access to the post. The 'main' gate is no longer open. The 'older' gate is now used for access.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
July 3 - July 10, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another relaxing vacation at BBTS. Always a good time. Surprisingly, the post wasn't a sharp looking as normal. It was mowed during our visit but prior to that, hadn't been apparently for some time. Grass under the picnic tables (of occupied sites) was never mowed. This can be an issue as numerous ticks were picked up in this longer grass. Additionally, I would suggest that efforts are initiated to remove the resident Canada geese that roam the new section. Both the beach area and sites at that end of the post are seriously fouled by goose droppings. As an aside, we always bring our own drinking water. The water at these sites often (but not always) tastes and smells badly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 23-24, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a nice little RV Park! Very close to fantastic beach resorts and yet so underutilized, at least this early in the season.....we were the only ones staying during a very pleasant weekend in late April. Enjoyed exploring the town of Rehoboth Beach a short drive to the north. Or, one could take a walk across US-1 and visit the small coastal town of Bethany Beach. These, as well as Dewey Beach are quintessential east coast beach communities that have largely been untouched by the mega-resort mentality such as you find at Ocean City to the south. We will be back, hope the word doesn't get out about this incredible camping opportunity and the place fills up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 2012
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I come here often. There are very limited "amenities and facilities" but the beach is a couple of blocks across the road. What's not to like. The pads in the older section have been recently redone - all smooth concrete. The post is kept in immaculate condition and the staff are very accommodating. 24/7 security during the summer season. Whenever we're not hosting our 'grand dog', we're here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Late October 2011
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another excellent weekend at BBTS - a truly undiscovered gem. Brought the kayaks this time and spent two relaxing hours on Salt Pond as well as the canal to Ocean View. Walked to the beach for another several hours. 24/7 gate security now so there's no trying to remember a gate code. Nothing to do but with the beach so close, there's no need for them to provide entertainment. Supposed to be WIFI available but at the RV sites, the signal is next to non-existent without a signal booster. Great place and NOW OPEN YEAR ROUND!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
June 24, 2011
(Updated: July 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was very pleased with the site and the camping facilities and would highly recommend it. I will return. Security was an added value to the experience and the staff was very courteous and friendly. If I could make a couple of suggestions: 1. Advise guests in advance that Junior ROTC training would be taking place during their visit and that they would be awakened at 4:30 and 6:30 in the morning every day by the LOUD cadence calls of the cadets as they marched past your campsite and 2. advise campers that the generator is run up on Wednesdays at 9:00 AM for an hour and their camper AC units would take power hits as the generator went on and off line. Also, I arrived on a Friday and the restroom was out or paper towels, toilet paper, and looked like it had not been thoroughly cleaned in some time. On the following Wednesday morning, nothing had changed. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience and the close vicinity of the beach made it great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
C.J. left this review using the Directory software: Great place to visit crabbing at the salt pond is great, would go again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
September 2010
(Updated: September 16, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a beautiful place and the location is amazing. We liked it so much that we went back the following weekend. The only area that needed some attention was the bathroom(RV Latrine). It was in need of cleanliness but since we had the RV we didn't depend on the Latrine. The location is amazing and the staff was great. I definitely recommend it to everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
25 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2