Bethany Beach Training Site

 
4.2 (51)
115263 0 25 2 59

User reviews

51 reviews
 
49%
 
35%
 
14%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.6(51)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(51)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(51)
Value
 
4.3(51)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(51)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
51 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
December 2021
(Updated: April 06, 2022)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Looks like the rate increase for BBTS has come to fruition. Pull-thru sites will experience a 33% increase; from $30/night to $40/night. Additionally, the RV sites (as well as has been the case, the trailers) will now be included in the lottery system. The attached pdf (above) spells all of this out in detail. Pay particular attention to the periods of non-availability. My past experience tells me that these dates aren't necessarily periods of military activity but times when the post has been used for various summer camps (civilian). On two times I've been there during these camping activities and once I was denied a spot due to the presence of campers. Looks like BBTS will now become an off-season destination for me. UPDATE...Despite being told to the contrary, the periods of non-availability apparently only apply to the rental trailers. The PDF Lottery document doesn't distinguish between the RV sites and the rental trailers. I think reinstituting the lottery procedures has been a learning experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 20, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great value vacation at the beach. We stayed in Trailer 18. Three bedrooms (each with a double bed), two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. Kitchen has stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee pot. Sheets and bath mats are included. Must bring your own towels and toiletries. WiFi works but a little spotty. DVD player in living room and cable TV. I hooked up iPad with HDMI. Nice walking track and we went to pond to check it out. Nice playground for kids. Saturdays the VFW has chicken BBQ right outside gate. Bethany Beach trolley picks up outside gate - 25 cents each trip.
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 7-17, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay in this place. Billeting Staff and gate Guards are good people and professionals. This is not a destination RV campground but a safe and quiet place to park your RV while you explore neighboring towns. This RV campground is very clean, with concrete pads, full hook-ups, and full cable channels but no wifi. Sites 13-22 are pull-through and Sties 1-12 are back-ins. There is a big oval running track, a children's playground, one pavilion with a picnic table, and a small floating pier to launch a paddleboat, good for crabbing I heard but not good for fishing. Big laundry facility is available, very clean inside and although not all machines work there are plenty to choose from. I noticed a couple of longtime residents on class A RVs at sites 16 and 20 and a couple of class C RVs in the back-in sites. If you are exploring Delaware, which is a beautiful state, and want to visit Ocean City, MD, which is only 7 miles away, I highly recommend this campground.
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Several spots difficult to back into. Very small base with nearly no amenities. Medium walk to the beach. Towards the high end $$ of military campgrounds for full hook-up. So overall, this place has security and location. Plenty of restaurants with off-season specials. To enjoy the area you probably will want a car - but traffic is horrible during the season. Billeting staff was excellent. Front gate guards friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Gate is on the south side - past the base on RT1 South, then right at the little shack that sits on 1.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 - 18 October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our second stay at this facility. Both were off season so I don’t know how their lottery system works to get a site during peak season. I stayed in the pull through sites and they are a hike from the facilities ( which I prefer to use but, with full hookups...). This facility is very close to the beach and 20 miles from Assateague Island. Staff does an excellent job in returning calls and handling all your question.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Early June 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Staff was very attentive to answering email prior to and during our stay. RV Latrine is now closed. RVers are to use the Male/Female Latrines in the same building. Both newly renovated and are pristine. Jack up the quality of the base WiFi and the sites will be truly worthy of the $30/night cost.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 19-25, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Staff was very friendly, helpful, courteous. and overall wonderful! The base guards were on top of it. There wasn't that usual we don't recognize you non-sense I've run into other places. The site was well maintained. The salt water pond was well maintained, mother nature of course wanted to do her thing and have some algae in the pond but what do you expect? We can't control everything, (though it seems some would like to.) The beach was just a 3/4 mile walk very doable. This was an overall great place to stay. Thanks for having it and keep up the great work! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 7-9 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
All of what the previous reviewer from June 8 2019 said was true, but we were in the short sites closer to the facilities which this weekend meant closer to the drill training, (marching in formation, singing) and flight ops with two blackhawks on the infield of the track. All of which took me back in some ways to my time on active duty. The updates I would add from some of the previous reviews are: The gate is manned 24/7 now so no need for access codes and you can come and go as you please. This is a tobacco free installation. The pads are all concrete in both locations and sites 1 thru 12 are tight against the fence and the access road from which to back in. This was a good break from DSSP for the weekend up out of the sand at those sites. Thanks to the Guard for the hospitality
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2019
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not bad for a weekend getaway. The Army Guard had a drill this weekend, and the troops who brought their own RVs were whooping it up late into the night. Loud slurred speech and yelling WOO HOO doesn't work after 10pm. I scoped this place out in early May and the water in the salt pond was clear, but algae has since taken over. Globs of it on the surface and you can't see to the bottom (even though it's only 1 foot near the dock). There ARE showers, bath house, and laundry facilities, but it's not near the waterfront sites. Site 1-12 are small, tight back-in sites and the facilities are near those sites. The larger pull through sites 13-22 are a 1/4 mile walk to the facilities. My computer IS picking up an unsecured wifi signal (SSID is MWR) but no idea if it works or not. No campfires allowed, so that was a bummer. $30/night is a bit high for a FamCamp, but I guess you're paying for the location, so close to the beach. No PX, Commissary, or gas station, so think ahead before you arrive. 
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
October 2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed at BBTS for 5 nights in early October while visiting with friends and family in the area and were pleasantly surprised to discover such a nice facility so near the beach. Full hook ups, a nearly level pull through site, secure location, free laundry (which we didn't use but saw the facility), and friendly staff all made for a great stay. It's pricey for a military RV park, and the fees are the same even for off-season. Drawbacks were the lack of wifi, no cable (only picked up 2 or 3 OTA channels), and man eating mosquitoes! Very relaxing. We'll definitely return here!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 23, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you are coming from the south, your GPS may send you through Ocean City. ****DON'T DO IT*!!! ** GO UP TO ROUTE 26 and straight over to Bethany Beach. I concur with most of the previous comments. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
April 17-24, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit and very pleased. The staff and gate guards very helpful and nice. Made them some cookies before we departed to let them know. Location is perfect and Bethany Beach a nice non congested small community. While there we visited Fort Miles SP and toured Battery 519 which is open on Fridays and Saturdays for tours. Also visited town of Lewes and New Castle. Also Kalmar Nyckel ship next to Fort Christina in Wilmington. Shopping near by. Laundry very clean,free and 10 washers and dryers. We were only ones in campground for 5 days. Had site 22 next to pond. Oval walking/running path steps away. Yes, would definitely return. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2017
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Office is not open at convenient hours to rent or return equipment. Daily rate is $30, WIFI rarely works and they don't seem to care. Salt pond and playground are nice but pond is not for swimming and spaces are pretty close to each other with no shade. 1SG Bill
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sept. 5, 2017
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Surely they can't mean ADA dogs, that fly's in the face of the American Disabilities Act.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 6-9, 2017
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I loved this place until I got a dog. Unfortunately for whatever unknown reason this installation does not allow dogs. The facility should give serious consideration to changing this policy. Especially in the case of visitors with their own RV. Until that happens we for one will not be able to stay here. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
1 - 6 Sept 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice campground, located just a few blocks from Bethany Beach and just a short drive North to Rehoboth Beach, DE & a just 10 miles South to Ocean City, MD beaches. As said earlier, there really aren't ANY "amenities", just a very nice FREE laundry. The biggest disappointment we found is that there really ISN'T CABLE TV SERVICE available: the woman in the Billeting office explained that they'd changed their cable provider to one that requires use of a "digital box" & they've not had the funding provided to purchase these boxes. Also, be advised that the MAIN GATE is permanently CLOSED & you need to enter through the SOUTH GATE, which is located just a few hundred feet SOUTH on Rt. 1, just behind where the VFW conducts their weekly chicken BBQs.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 9 - 11, August 11-13, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
SO do not let the 3 fool you, there are really no Amenities at this site other than a small but very nice gym, clean showers, and free laundry, the playground by the salt pond is really in bad shape the little dock area is great for crabbing and the site itself was beautiful, we stayed at site 18 and had a GREAT time. The training center itself is quiet, and small which is really great for us, and we had a GREAT stay, we are actually headed back down next week for 3 days but I can assure you next time we are going down for 7 days. There is beach access directly across the road from the training site that you can literally walk to if you don't have a whole lot of things to drag along, The chicken BBQ which is hosted by the VFW every Saturday morning was pretty good for the price I think it was 5 bucks or something. There are armed guards at the gate 24/7 and they are super nice and professional.......Overall its an amazing value that's clean in a great location I will make this a yearly stop for us. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
2 - 9 June 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fifth Street is a little difficult to recognize while driving down SR 1. I drove past the entrance and had to make a few turns on narrow streets to return. Going South on SR 1 you will pass the closed main entrance to the post. (There is a Huey on a stick at the main entrance.) The next street on the right is the entrance street to the post. It is approximately 100 yards from the main gate with the “VFW BBQ Chicken House” just before the turn. It is a narrow road entrance and a narrow gate. Wide enough for RVs, but only oneway traffic. If a vehicle is coming out you have to let it pass before you enter. The gate is 24/7 with friendly, professional civilian guards on duty at all times. A great place to relax and enjoy close to the beach. Our pad was assigned to us on my email account so we went to the RV site, set up and then went by the billeting office. Sites 16 through 20 are pull through with a paved and gravel road to enter the pads. The pads are all concrete, level, full hook-ups, picnic tables and BBQ grills. The laundry is in building 162 with numerous free washers and dryers. We were there during a drill weekend so a few UH-60s flew in and out and some troops were here. Very low key activity. No facilities (PX, Commissary, Hospital), but the surrounding area offers everything. We will definitely return to this site for a week vacation in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12 June 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I have reservations for the week of 12 June and thought I would share that they do have open sites. The price is now $30 a day and you have to pay 15 days prior to the dates you request, if you change the reservation it can not be refunded. This is a wonderful site right near the beach and very peaceful. We have stayed there about three times now; it's the best beach site.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Spring/Summer 2017
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Faxed Lottery request form as previously required but no response. Called on April 12th and was told all sites were booked from April thru end of September. When asked if received Lottery request form was told no longer required at which I responded that website does not indicated that and did not receive any correspondence/email/phone call to inform otherwise. I was then informed that new priority listing was established and that a no response meant lottery(?) had been conducted and all request available dates had been filled. I was then told that reservations can be made six months in advance of requested dates.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
51 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3