Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (154)
164093 0 27 1 112

User reviews

98 reviews with 5 stars
154 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(154)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(154)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(154)
Value
 
4.4(154)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(154)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
October 2 - 9, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for a week at Peregrine Pines FamCamp in early October this year and had a great time. The Academy has a gate, but security does not require registration, and access is described as "Open." So, I just presented my "Service Connected" VHIC at the gate and was granted access for me, my wife, and our 39' diesel-pusher pulling a Jeep. We then drove directly to the FamCamp. They do enforce check-in times at Peregrine Pines, at least they did on the day we arrived which was a Saturday and relatively busy. We arrived before check-in time (noon) and had to wait 45 minutes on the tarmac across from the office before we were allowed to check-in. We were told that they don't have an inventory of which sites have been vacated and cleaned until well after 1100. The staff was amicable and helpful before and during our stay. If you call this facility, you will usually have to leave a message. But don't worry because even though their recording says it may take them 72 hours to respond, our experience was that they usually called back within an hour or so and were always positive and helpful. We had to rearrange our reservations a couple of weeks before arrival due to a personal emergency and the staff took care of it without question or penalty. There is a large propane tank behind the camp office where they will dispense propane by the gallon on any day except Saturdays. At the time we were there, propane was $4.25/gallon. The base is very convenient to the surrounding community and there is almost any store or service you may need within just a few miles of the South Gate. The FamCamp itself is a lovely setting nestled in a shady wooded section of young pine trees. The facility is close to a fairly busy railroad track, so the only downside is that you can hear the trains going by at all hours and some do whistle loudly. However, the track is down in a sort of gorge behind the facility which muffles a good percentage of the noise, so it was not a huge detraction. The facility is very close to major attractions such as Garden of the Gods State Park which is a must-see if you are in the area. Overall, Peregrine Pines FamCamp is one of the nicest we have experienced and the "Open" aspect of the base is very convenient. We will look forward to visiting again next time we come through Colorado.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2 - 8, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Probably one of the best Military FamCamps in the US. Clean, modern and well run. Closest to the north entrance to the Academy which usually has less traffic than the south entrance. Campsites are located amongst tall pines giving plenty of shade. Ours was a pull-through (#23) and was well graded with close access to the power, water and waste connections. Walking around the campground it appeared that some sites could be a bit difficult backing into due to various approach angles. The staff assign sites based on the type / length of your rig so don't underestimate your length. As everyone mentions bring insurance and registration into the office when you arrive. Also the water pressure here can be quite high so use a pressure regulator. The bathroom / shower / laundry area was modern and well maintained. Office staff was attentive and helpful. The only negative I could think of would be the WiFi signal is weak and really only usable just outside the office and bath houses. I'll also mention that there are freight train tracks nearby and when the trains pass by they do blow their horns. Some nights it seemed if six trains came through while other nights there was only one. It's out of the control of the folks that run the FamCamp so don't bother complaining about this.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
27 Aug 2021-1 Sep 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Originally planned to stay just 2 nights here, after the first night we extended our stay another 4 nights. Beautiful location, quiet campground even when full. There is an occasional train that goes thru but not a big deal. Large lots with plenty of shade. Ton of things to do nearby. All facilities are clean and laundry is $1.50/load. Will definitely be staying here again when we travel thru the area. You will definitely need a water pressure regulator, upwards of 80+ lbs pressure. Only negative is the campground Wi-Fi has a weak signal and basically no bandwidth so have your own internet access. Cell signal is a strong 2-3 bar 4G so our hotspot worked fine.
Peregrine Pines FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great stay at the USAFA. This is our favorite famcamp. Reservations are currently required due to Covid. No drive-ups allowed. Masks and social distancing required at the office. Walking thru the famcamp, not so much. Yes, there is a train that comes thru and sometimes a horn blows. At $30 a night for a wonderfully sized site in Colorado Springs, it isn't a big deal. Other than the train, it is very quiet. Got lucky this time and was able to get some satellite tv with Dish. No off leash dog area on the base, but no one bothered me for letting him run at the stadium parking lot. The base auto hobby shop has reasonable prices for vehicle detailing. If you want to use their equipment to work on your vehicle, you have to take a test. It isn't hard, but it is a nuisance. No idea when we'll pass thru "The Springs" again, but when we do, we'll no doubt stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
August 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our 6 night stay. Excellent location for touring around Colorado Springs. Really enjoyed Old Colorado City which is in Colorado Springs city limits. Ate at Amanda's Fonda in Old Colorado City. Outside seating on the creek. Food was really good, great margaritas. PX and Commissary were in full operation. Got a decent haircut on base. The sites are big. No complaints with any of the hookups. We were fortunate that we had a clear view of the southern sky for our portable satellite dish which could be a problem due to all the pine trees. I read some complaints about the train...did not bother us, but we run one of the air conditioners for white noise and air circulation. The only interaction with staff was at check in. Young lady was very friendly. I actually wish we could stay longer, but we are on a three month trip and had to move on. I highly recommend this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed three nights, but with lots of activities and visiting friends, we didn't spend that much time at the FamCamp. That being said, the RV pad was level (19), even if the picnic table at the site was not. Slightly annoyed at the fact that you had to rent a fire pit separately ($8 for the first night, $5 each subsequent night). That being said, it was nice and quiet, nicely central for everything around the Colorado Springs area, and now my wife is really interested in checking out other FamCamps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
July 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful campground with nicely spaced sites for lots of privacy and lots of extra green space. You can hear some traffic noise during rush hours and there is an occasional train horn, but otherwise the place is very quiet at night. Lots of tall trees - very nice for shade, but my sirius radio did not work well, and I doubt satellite TV would either. Verizon signal is good. No wifi at sites, but you can rent a hot spot if you don't have your own. My site was very level, but it looked to me that many of them were fairly off-level, as the entire park is set into a hill. Decent customer service when you go into the office, but they do not always answer the phone. Currently no guests - military and retired only, and no drop-ins - must have a reservation. No late arrivals - have a plan B ready.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here during Thanksgiving 2019 and it was nice. Second day and Mother Nature dumped tons of snow on us. Beautiful in all of it's wonders but this Texas Fella didn't like it much. Wifey enjoyed the snow. Nice location, awesome folks helped along the way and meet some great people. Nothing in the world can beat the family of Military Vets. Only negative is we had to roll out a day early due to another monster snow storm coming. It's only as fun as you make it and we had fun exploring.
Peregrine Pines FamCamp
Peregrine Pines FamCamp
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
22-24 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
FamCamp reopened in mid-May. Bath houses still closed. Reservations need to be made by phone. Check-in only during work hours. No late check-in currently. Park already mostly full for summer. North gate currently only open 0600-0800 and 1500-1700 during workweek.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 15-22, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Check in was fast and very professional. Roads were wide enough for our 43' motorhome. All utilities worked well and were well placed. We really enjoyed our time here. The campsite was level and we were not on top of our neighbor. Very nice setting in the pines! We would use it again if in the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 7-12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been here several times & have always had a good camping experience. Check in is simple, staff was friendly, professional & helpful. I know sometimes people can have a bad day, both workers & campers but the staff here has always been professional. Road in was easy to navigate, lots of trees but they weren’t a problem. This time we had to use leveling blocks to get level. We had site 75, a pull thru gravel site on the eastern edge of the campground with nothing next to us on our patio side except trees & views. Utilities worked fine & located for easy connection. Self contained so we didn’t use the facilities. Laundry room was clean as were the washers & dryers. We will return to this FamCamp whenever we’re in this area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
8 September 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice experience. Came in the North Gate. The Security Police were very professional and explained how to get to the RV park. The site we reserved was the best. FHU and nothing but nice surroundings with nothing but tall trees. Coming in from Southern Arizona big pine trees are always a plus. Had heard the train would be a problem but honestly it wasn't bad at all. Will definitely come back. The Air Force Academy was spectacular. One very nice military park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first stay here but we will be back. Our gravel pull thru site was extra long and level. Lots of trees but we had no problem getting a sattelite signal. My ATT signal for my phone however wasn’t too great! So much space between sites and lots of open field to walk the dog. Commisaary and exchange are small but adequate. They are tearing down the chapel in January so I am glad we visited now. They say it will be 3-5 years before it is completely reconstructed. Great visitor center ( be sure to watch the film), propane at a very reasonable price and friendly and helpful staff. Picnic table at every site. Road are easy to navigate. Great place to stay and visit all the area attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
5-22 Sept 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As others have noted and note to be repetitive - this is an excellent military campground. One tip to offer: The base Library is amazing and has a HUGE selection of DVD movies. Almost any movie you can think of is there. The Library offers a temporary library card so you can check out movies (5 at a time) or books. Since the campground does not have WIFI, movies from the library are a nice alternative. Library staff are awesome and also offers computer services for print documents or other admin. Library is located in the community center complex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 6-14, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Shhhh.... Peregrine is one of the best Military Campgrounds. Even though it is located right across the street from the USAFA Football Stadium, it feels secluded. If you like to cycle, one can get an easy 30 miles in on Campus and the Eisenhower Golf Courses are championship quality. There is a Community Gym on campus which gets quite crowded. We did not attend, but Outdoor Rec offers a number of guided tours and trips. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 22, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at! Lots of room at each site and the people staying here were very friendly. The train is a little bit bothersome, but not enough to keep us awake all night. Restrooms and laundry room were clean and well maintained. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
29 Apr - 04 May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent camp. Closest entrance is the USAFA north gate off I-25 exit 156. Late night arrivals will probably have to use south gate as north gate may be closed late at night. I think we paid something like $25/night. We had site #7 gravel pull-through, fairly level with plenty of room for our 34' fifth wheel and truck; could have stayed connected if we had wanted to. Full hookups (we used 50 amp) and water pressure was high so regulator needed. I think some sites only had 30 amp power. Did not try WIFI but was told by staff that WIFI only worked near rec room facility. Verizon worked fine. May 1st was the beginning of the season and staff was a bit spun up over that. Apparently during the summer RV's are limited to one month stays. Staff was ready for huge influx as of 1 May. Winter camping is allowed but have to disconnect water if temp forecast to drop below 32 deg F. RV skirts not allowed for some reason or another. Pretty good medium-sized BX and commissary were not too far away (but not within walking distance). Outdoor rec near BX had hiking maps for base. Two excellent USAFA golf courses were nearby and open year round. Biggest problems we had were the loud train whistles at random times especially @ 0430. Train tracks run close by the camp. A pretty camp, well-shaded in the pines. We'll return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
August 18-September 14 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Still an all-time favorite of ours. This time we stayed in Site 52 which was very nice and secluded. We will definitely return. Only thing noticed was on weekends, a little more attention could be given to the shower restroom facilities restocking with paper towels and toilet paper. There is much to do in the Colorado Springs area; the Falcon Trail is a great place to hike right on the Academy grounds. The bowling alley has great food for lunch time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Jul 9 - Aug 8, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Jane in office is very customer oriented. Great help with reservations. Trains going by famcamp did not really bother us. Nice rustic setting with plenty of trees, deer and squirrels. Laundry facilities had a broken dryer for the entire 30 day stay. One laundry room was rather expensive for a famcamp. Definitely going back. Site 52 is not satellite friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11-14 May 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Easy to find once on base. Good sized sites with full hookup. WIFI was supposed to be available around the baths and office but I could never get on line no matter where I was. We were in a truck camper and had a short site very near the bathroom, it had plenty of room. Enjoyed our visit here and will stop again if in the area, overall a very good campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
98 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5