Peregrine Pines FamCamp

Featured
 
4.6 (130)
134434   0   22   1   65

User reviews

87 reviews with 5 stars

130 reviews

 
(91)
 
(30)
 
(8)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.8  (130)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (130)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (130)
Value 
 
4.5  (130)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (130)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
87 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
8 September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice experience. Came in the North Gate. The Security Police were very professional and explained how to get to the RV park. The site we reserved was the best. FHU and nothing but nice surroundings with nothing but tall trees. Coming in from Southern Arizona big pine trees are always a plus. Had heard the train would be a problem but honestly it wasn't bad at all. Will definitely come back. The Air Force Academy was spectacular. One very nice military park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our first stay here but we will be back. Our gravel pull thru site was extra long and level. Lots of trees but we had no problem getting a sattelite signal. My ATT signal for my phone however wasn’t too great! So much space between sites and lots of open field to walk the dog. Commisaary and exchange are small but adequate. They are tearing down the chapel in January so I am glad we visited now. They say it will be 3-5 years before it is completely reconstructed. Great visitor center ( be sure to watch the film), propane at a very reasonable price and friendly and helpful staff. Picnic table at every site. Road are easy to navigate. Great place to stay and visit all the area attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
5-22 Sept 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As others have noted and note to be repetitive - this is an excellent military campground. One tip to offer: The base Library is amazing and has a HUGE selection of DVD movies. Almost any movie you can think of is there. The Library offers a temporary library card so you can check out movies (5 at a time) or books. Since the campground does not have WIFI, movies from the library are a nice alternative. Library staff are awesome and also offers computer services for print documents or other admin. Library is located in the community center complex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 6-14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Shhhh.... Peregrine is one of the best Military Campgrounds. Even though it is located right across the street from the USAFA Football Stadium, it feels secluded. If you like to cycle, one can get an easy 30 miles in on Campus and the Eisenhower Golf Courses are championship quality. There is a Community Gym on campus which gets quite crowded. We did not attend, but Outdoor Rec offers a number of guided tours and trips. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at! Lots of room at each site and the people staying here were very friendly. The train is a little bit bothersome, but not enough to keep us awake all night. Restrooms and laundry room were clean and well maintained. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 Apr - 04 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent camp. Closest entrance is the USAFA north gate off I-25 exit 156. Late night arrivals will probably have to use south gate as north gate may be closed late at night. I think we paid something like $25/night. We had site #7 gravel pull-through, fairly level with plenty of room for our 34' fifth wheel and truck; could have stayed connected if we had wanted to. Full hookups (we used 50 amp) and water pressure was high so regulator needed. I think some sites only had 30 amp power. Did not try WIFI but was told by staff that WIFI only worked near rec room facility. Verizon worked fine. May 1st was the beginning of the season and staff was a bit spun up over that. Apparently during the summer RV's are limited to one month stays. Staff was ready for huge influx as of 1 May. Winter camping is allowed but have to disconnect water if temp forecast to drop below 32 deg F. RV skirts not allowed for some reason or another. Pretty good medium-sized BX and commissary were not too far away (but not within walking distance). Outdoor rec near BX had hiking maps for base. Two excellent USAFA golf courses were nearby and open year round. Biggest problems we had were the loud train whistles at random times especially @ 0430. Train tracks run close by the camp. A pretty camp, well-shaded in the pines. We'll return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
August 18-September 14 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Still an all-time favorite of ours. This time we stayed in Site 52 which was very nice and secluded. We will definitely return. Only thing noticed was on weekends, a little more attention could be given to the shower restroom facilities restocking with paper towels and toilet paper. There is much to do in the Colorado Springs area; the Falcon Trail is a great place to hike right on the Academy grounds. The bowling alley has great food for lunch time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Jul 9 - Aug 8, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Jane in office is very customer oriented. Great help with reservations. Trains going by famcamp did not really bother us. Nice rustic setting with plenty of trees, deer and squirrels. Laundry facilities had a broken dryer for the entire 30 day stay. One laundry room was rather expensive for a famcamp. Definitely going back. Site 52 is not satellite friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11-14 May 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy to find once on base. Good sized sites with full hookup. WIFI was supposed to be available around the baths and office but I could never get on line no matter where I was. We were in a truck camper and had a short site very near the bathroom, it had plenty of room. Enjoyed our visit here and will stop again if in the area, overall a very good campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Awesome. One of the top three Famcamp's in the DoD. Great staff, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We stayed here 2 nights visiting friends. Advice: Make reservations, cone in the north gate, unhook your road at the office it will make it easier to maneuver in the trees, satellite is spotty so let them know if you want a site that can get a clear sky view. Great cell service. There are no "bad" sites, every me is good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an awesome campground. You can't beat the location, the price, or the wooded setting. The sites are all mostly level and pretty easy to get into and there are trees everywhere with playgrounds for the kids. The facilities are a little older but still work just fine. We loved camping here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 24-Sep 23, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I love this the best of all military campgrounds, mainly because of its location in the Foothills of the mountains with many nice hiking trails and other activities right the base. Very well shaded, very well managed and maintained. There is so much to do in the Colorado Springs area that if you get bored, it's your own fault. Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, Pike's Peak, Cripple Creek (and casinos), Woodland Park and Manitou Springs -- just to name a few. Commissary and Exchange are nice but small, we went to Peterson AFB and Fort Carson occasionally to use the larger facilities. The Academy Bowl on base near the Exchange has the best Cheeseburgers of anywhere. 30 days is the max stay allowed for the summer season, I would stay here all summer if I could, but I can understand the need to limit because of the popularity. You can stay longer for the winter in October after the Navy/AF game.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
11-13 Sep 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A very nice wooded, rustic setting. We entered through the North gate with no issues. Fam Camp is easy to find following the signs. Access to the camp site was a bit tricky through the trees. Gravel pad was mostly level but needed one block up one side. I was unable to use satellite dish due to the trees but the tv antenna worked great to pick up local broadcasting. Lots to do in the area so was a fun stay. The base gas station does NOT have diesel fuel and a bit tight for big rig. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 6-9, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WARNING: The directions say to use the North or the South Gate. According to the FAMCAMP that is incorrect. Only the South Gate at exit 150 should be used. Reason: The North Gate is a visitors gate and by visitor anyone with picture ID can get in that gate to attend football games etc. If something should happen to put the base on alert the North Gate will close and you will be made to turn around. Trust me, you do not want to be in that situation at the gate. You are going to have to unhook and make some wild maneuvers. The FAMCAMP has submitted a change to the Military Campground dot US but they have not been implemented yet. We made it through the North Gate but there were not security threats. Driver beware. (Editors note: I verified with security that EITHER gate can be used by RV's. They also stated that during an alert, ALL gates are closed.) With that said, Perigreen Pines is a wonderful RV park/Campground. The RV sites are spacious. The pull-through sites are extremely long in most cases and depending on the length of your MH. The 40' MH's spaces are longer in my opinion. Yes, there are trees all over the place but that is what makes it nice. Some sites have space for roof top satellite and others will require a portable for maneuverability and reception. The trees are very navigable and do not pose a problem. Well, they didn't for me. Spaces between sites is very, very good. The staff are friendly and accomodating. Enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
9-15 June 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As others have stated, a fantastic park. Particularly like how it is laid out so that rigs are not next to each other. Very private in that sense. Nice staff. There is train noise in the distance but it didn't bother us. Comment said that they check rigs in and out: not any more. Waved right through. Someone in the park said there was a period when they did that, maybe during a security threat? Very few sites can get satellite from a roof top system. I never got wifi to work even though there were strong signals...it would not log in no matter. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
15 Sept - 5 Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed here for overnights in the past. This was our first time spending 3 weeks at the park.  You can make reservations so you can make your plans for your visit. Checkin is easy. When you pull in to the park, there is the office. Easy parking for checkin. Staff is pleasant & helpful. The park is located under the pines. Large sites with picnic tables. We did have to watch for the burrs when the grandkids came to visit. There is a little playground by the cg office but a larger play area is located over at the picnic area right next to the cg.  The commissary is a good size. Exchange is on the small side. We were able to get the rv in to the gas station for fillup.  There is so much to do in the area! Starting with the Academy. The Chapel, the football stadium, static displays, hiking trails.  And then you go out the gates! Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, Pikes Peak and so much more! A stunningly beautiful area. So much to see & do - make a list & know you won't get it all done.  And plan to come back. It's obvious, we would happily stay here again.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
February 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great spot!  I have adopted this as my "summer home" for 30 days out of the year, having spent the past two summers at Peregrine Pines.  Friendly staff, great places to walk every day, and hiking trails on the Academy grounds.  There is so much to do in Colorado Springs and the surrounding areas, you can't do it all in 30 days.  Shower facilities, restrooms, and laundry facilities are very well kept and attended to daily.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed at Peregrine several times and will stay again on our next trip to Colorado Springs. We have a 24' tag-along without any slide-outs. The last trip was from about July 24-Aug3. The camp is easy to get to, nicely shaded and everyone I have met there, whether staff or guest, are friendly.  I consider the camp to be a quiet place, but it is close to the train track and trains do go by regularly. We have not parked on the eastern edge which would be closes to the tracks, but have stayed in the center of that area and we have not been bothered by the trains. I have used the WIFI on every trip, even worked from our trailer a time or two. It may not be the strongest WIFI signal, but it has always worked for me. Our site on this trip was not the best site, we were a little too long to fit into this site easily,there was a drop-off at the front of the site, right where our tongue jack sat. I would have preferred one with less of a drop-off right at the front, but there weren't any other available sites for the time we were there. All our other sites have been flat. there are 2 laundry facilities with 3-4 washers and dryers each. I have not had any trouble finding an open unit when I was ready to use them. They have always been clean and well cared for. I can't comment about the satellite TV access, as we do not have one. I do notice others watching TV, but have no idea if it is local or other. There are playgrounds for the kids close by. My grandkids had fun the afternoon they stopped by. There are also hiking trails and bicycle trails as well. It is hard to be bored in the CS area. I lived in Colorado Springs for almost 30 years and this is where we stay when we go back to visit. The price is better than the CO state parks, with more amenities. I recommend Peregrine Pines, just please leave me a spot whenever I plan a trip to the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2-5 Jun 15
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice visit. We will stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 August 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the second time here, almost one year ago and had to return. Only did an overnight. I'll just ditto "floridacamper"in their review. As far as some of the others that reviewed. Big Rig friendly, YES it its. I have a 43' coach and had no problems getting through. Had to drop my trailer behind the office, plenty of room to get it around. Great sites, and very friendly employees, always helpful. When we arrived with tornado warning sirens sounding which made things a bit exciting. When traveling through the area I would always stop. Absolutely love this place. So much to do and see. I have to go back to some comments that others have made about "Big Rig Friendly". Look though the FC and take a look how many big rigs are in there, from 30' to 45' coaches...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
87 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5