Peregrine Pines FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

40 reviews with 4 stars
151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
40 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Sept 16 - Oct 6, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Second time here. Be aware, you have to arrive during office hours. Have Insurance and registration for vehicles when checking in, to include the RV. Will save you a bit of time. As others have said, use Exit 150 to the south entrance of the base, it's closest to the campground. Park is nice and wooded, with several large pull thrus. The way that it is arranged gives you a good amount of room. Fires have to have a screen over them, or be propane. Just learned today that their official length limit for an RV is 45 feet, even tho they have some 90 feet sites. Our fifth wheel is 46 feet, but will now be 45 feet when making reservations. The explanation for this rule is that they are rated for 45 feet. The employee said they were going to start enforcing it, so your mileage may vary. We're currently in site 61 and have a DRV Fullhouse, Semi, and Jeep - all in the designated parking space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 11 - Sep 3, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second time staying at Peregrine, this time in site 12 versus site 99. Arrival - During high season, if you haven't called ahead of time for a reservation, good luck. Make sure you pay attention to the 30-day stay cap for the high season. Tips - Driving north on I-25, take exit 150 to the South Entrance of the USAFA, it's easier than driving to the North Entrance; fewer round-bouts and construction. Driving south on I-25 do the same. Make sure to bring all of your registration and insurance documents for your rig into the office with you. By DoD, mask are required inside all DoD buildings so, give the Peregrine Pines folks a break and wear your mask without comment or voicing your personal opinions, they're only doing their job. Favorites - The trees, the location on the Academy, Manitou Springs, highway 24 and access to fishing and mountain towns, and the mountains. Negatives - While I love the sound of distant trains.....every night at 0330 gets a little old; granted, it was better at site 12 than site 99. Colorado Springs isn't quite the draw that it used to be. The rush hour traffic on I-25 is ridiculous, plan your arrival/departure accordingly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
18 Jul 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
To register for an RV campsite at Peregrine Pines Famcamp you must provide registration and proof of insurance for both your tow vehicle (truck, car, motorhome, etc.) **AND** trailer (travel-trailer, 5th wheel, etc). We checked-in at Peregrine with an in-bed truck camper today (18Jul2021) and they requested the registration and proof of insurance for our truck and in-bed truck camper (a fully self-contained camper with shower/bed/toilet/frig/dinette that sits in the bed of our truck). When we camped at Peregrine last year with our in-bed truck camper, no such request was made. Our state (along with 41 other states) do not require an in-bed truck camper to be registered, titled or tagged. As such, we were unable to provide a registration. Long story short, the check-in clerk made an "exception" and allowed us to camp "this one time". In any case, this is just a friendly reminder to anyone with plans to camp at Peregrine Pines Famcamp: have your vehicle **AND** trailer registration and proof-of-insurance handy when you check-in. Also, a friendly reminder for those with an in-bed truck camper: if you're a legal resident of a state that does not issue a registration/title/tag for an in-bed truck camper, you may have problems obtaining a campsite a Peregrine Pine Famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
3 - 12 June 21
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Northbound travelers beware, I-25 exit 156 is NOT clearly marked and is under extensive construction; you are better off entering the USAFA using the South Gate entrance exit 150. Alternatively, you can bypass exit 156, take the next exit, go over the bridge and approach exit 156 while heading south on I-25. The north gate entrance to the USAFA has some new traffic slowing curves and a narrow entrance as well. PPFC was very easy to find once on the grounds of the USAFA. Ashleigh and Courtney were very accommodating at check-in, very quick process. $35/night for a nice 65' pull-thru (site 99). The sites are beautifully treed (great for hammocks!) and wide. The approaches are pretty easy to navigate. The utilities are in good repair but, our sewer was up hill from our fairly level site. Lots of wildlife with the occasional sound of the passing train and small engine aircraft overhead pulling their gliders. Overall, great location, people, and value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
August 23 - September 9, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As we and others have said, this is our favorite FAMCAMP. We had two good stays this summer. The staff appeared to take the required COVID protections seriously and conducted themselves well. The staff did a good job of letting everyone know of water disconnecting needed prior to a Labor Day week freeze event. They did not do quite as well advising about a water outage for repairs on the west side of the park the first week of October. Our second visit this year was our first experience on the older, west side of the campground. the 50A sites are spacious, but it's a little quirky driving a 40 Ft. motorhome through the west side. For those who don't like the train noise, the west side is better, but AT&T cell/data service is poor. We left the west side on the morning of October 8th and they were shutting down that side of the campground that day. The east side was completely full with folks in for the Columbus Day weekend and to take advantage of the early part of the first come, first served, no stay limit season starting on the 9th. Leaf peeping was good during the first week of October this year. It would have been outstanding if not for the smoke haze from regional forest fires. We'll be back next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
12 Sept. 2019
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I didn't see any comments that mentioned the train. We left after one sleepless night. There is a train crossing next to the campground. The campground and facilities are very good, but we won't be returning. Also, the cadet chapel is closed for remodeling -- a long-term project. A disappointment, but not the reason for our negative review.
BW
Top 100 Reviewer
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
3 - 30 June 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Another fairly good stay. We always enjoy coming here, but as with other FAMCAMPS we’ve visited in the last year or two, maintenance seems to be slipping. There were several campsites out of service for at least a week. The camp is becoming less dog friendly. There used to be quite a few dog bag stations with trash cans attached to them. There are only a couple of stations now and all the attached trash cans have been removed. Still a good FAMCAMP overall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 27, 2018 - June 3, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We enjoyed this park and the Colorado Springs area was great. However, the park is so very dusty. It has gravel roads, gravel sites and grass/sand otherwise. The park is under pine trees so grass can't really grow and, of course, Colorado Springs is painfully dry. Hence all the dust. We stayed a week and when we left our 5th wheel was disgustingly dirty. There is no wifi, but all other utilities were fine. Verizon had a good cell signal. Water pressure is very high. You need a regulator. There are train tracks very near by, but it really didn't bother us. The base is huge! and very scenic. Always look west to Pikes Peak and you won't be disappointed. We would stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
30 July - 23 August 2017
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another wonderful stay! Peregrine Pines is our favorite FAMCAMP and we try to spend time here every summer. This was our eighth stay since 2012 and the staff has managed to get us into a great and satellite friendly site every time. Even though they are loud we actually like the trains. Unfortunately the prices went up this year (again). The prices are still far lower than nightly rates in nearby commercial parks, but compared to commercial park monthly rates this FAMCAMP is not as attractive as it was just a few years ago. We will continue to come here because we really like the park, but it's not the bargain it used to be. We also continue to wonder why each year management goes more and more overboard about having everyone read, initial and sign an ever more stringent set of rules about pets, rig washing, number of vehicles allowed at sites, etc. and then does absolutely zero enforcement of said rules??? Not complaining about these rules. They make sense to us, just don't understand making a huge deal about it on check-in and then nothing, no enforcement of any kind. This is a great FAMCAMP and any gripes we may have are just crotchety old folks gnawing on a bone they love. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 - 28 Aug and 27 Sep - 1 Oct 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Possibly our favorite FAMCAMP. If our schedule would allow it, we'd spend a full 30 days here every summer. We've had ups and downs here, but both recent visits were great. FAMCMAP staff were great. Even if rates go up to $30 per night it's still a great value for this area. We find the newly renovated North Gate easier to maneuver through with our 40Ft Motorhome, towing. However, since it's the visitor entrance, the line at North Gate can get pretty long and slow at peak hours. One thing I can't figure out is why they don't do something about the high water pressure. At Crow Creek on FE Warren they have a water pressure regulator on every riser. Municipalities generally regulate their water pressure. It would seem to be a pretty low cost item to put a water regulator on the line incoming into the FAMCAMP. If the overnight spikes the camp staff claims are correct (up to 150psi), I'm sure water pressure into the base housing areas is regulated, as the claimed pressure is above what most house systems are rated for. It is easy enough to use a pressure regulator on ones water line, but RV water pressure regulators are generally not well-made and don't eliminate all risk. The sites are not real level, but we've always been able to level our MH. We ask for a satellite friendly site when making our reservation and staff has always managed to get us into one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 23, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
PROS: The campground itself is lovely, high up in the piney woods of the Air Force Academy. BX, Commissary are around 10-15 minutes away. Walmart 30 minutes away. Finding the FamCamp was easy. Toilets were clean. Laundry facility was clean and easily usable. CONS: Sites are very tight, especially for bigger rigs. Entering between the pine trees was a bit scary. The sites themselves are dirt. The sites are terribly uneven. I have a 44' toy hauler and the site is so uneven that I could not fully lower the ramp to take out my bike. At $24 a night this camp is overpriced, AND, I was told that the price is going up to as much as $30. Way too little in amenities for that price. The showers were so filthy that I would definitely not shower in them. On the bright side, the staff was friendly, camp was quiet except for the constant trains...but...it is an AFB, so trains are expected. So, in closing I would say that RVers need to be prepared for close quarters, to high prices, and nasty showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked our stay at Peregrine Pines. We were told we had a site with satellite access but our Winegard Traveler would not lock on. Too many trees at site #43. We moved forward and backward three times to try and find an opening but to no avail. We eventually gave up and just watched local TV for a week. It was not the end of the world but we were told and we expected to get satellite TV. Site was fine, plenty of space between neighbors, mostly level and the camp staff would deliver a campfire store if you wanted one for $7 nite (first nite, then $5 after that.) The USAFA is a fantastic place to visit and a great location for the many things to do in Colorado Springs. The laundry was very reasonable at $1.75/wash and $1.25/dry. You may need a sewer hose extension. We had to hook both ours and it was maxed out. Overall very good experience. We camped in a 40' motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
3 July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The overall location of the FAMCAMP was outstanding in relation to the geographical area. Bathrooms/showers & laundry room were very clean and couldn't beat the price for the stay. Although there were no fire pits, they had fire rings you could rent and firewood to purchase. There were BBQ grills however. There were two negative issues 1) The picnic table had been moved by other campers' to their area; however, the camp host was glad to rectify the issue and 2) Where we tent-camped, the train tracks were about 50 yards away and trains passed by what seemed like every 1 - 2 hours...on through the night as well. For that reason, we elected to not stay another night...and the reason for the Overall Experience rating. In the future, I would only stay if in a motor home...to help deaden the sounds of the trains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 1-12, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory Software: - Very nice campground on the beautiful USAFA grounds. Easy access from the South gate exit 150 off I-25. Campsite good, not too close to neighbors. Only complaint is no DirecTV access through the trees. For some reason we couldn't lock on though this is a designated satellite access spot. Laundry facility nearby: .75/wash and .75 dry/45 minutes. Close to shopping. USAFA is a great place to visit. Visitors Center and Chapel a must see. We camped in our 40' Motorhome and would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept to Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful park and friendly, helpful people. I found navigating on base confusing at first with all the ID check stations internal to the academy but everything worked out. Like everyone has said let the staff know you need a spot for satellite TV but spot 48 you cannot get satellite TV with a portable antenna. Waited 2 weeks to move to a spot where we could get reception on our antenna. Trains didn't really bother us, we're used to being in the pattern of Eglin, AFB. They did warn us of a mountain lion that had been prowling the area but we never saw or heard it. We made use of the base services and they treated us extremely well. During football season it fills up on the weekend. We were able to walk to the stadium for the AF vs. Navy game. Wish they offed a discounted monthly rate but would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2 Jun 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice location. Bathroom showers were a bit dirty when i used them. The last day the park was without water due to a main line break nearby. All told we would stay there again. We entered and exited from both the north and south gates, and were not inspected at any time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 28 & 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
L.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice and very friendly people. I really liked being in the trees. That is they way camping should be, but the wifi does suffer because of it. The RV Gate GPS coordinates did sent us to the North Gate. Didn't have any problems, but I was informed by SPs that I should have entered through the South Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
8-30 July 2014
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
First, this is probably our favorite FAMCAMP. We try to spend time here every summer. It's a topnotch facility and generally well operated by a knowledgeable staff. However, it now seems to be in decline. The WIFI is broken. They're working on fixing and upgrading it, but have to go through the usual procurement process so it'll take time. Unfortunately, when we arrived they did not let us know this. They really should let people know when they make reservations and check-in. The staff is great/helpful/welcoming in every way but one. Over the last two years they don't seem to be even attempting to enforce the camp's rules. You have to sign a statement of rules read on check-in, but there's no enforcement, and unfortunately some of our brethren are not as honorable as they might be. There's supposed to be a two pet limit, but both of the last two years we've been near (different) people who've set up play-pen yards and let five and eight dogs out unattended to bark continuously. We're dog people/owners and consider this improper regardless of any rules. When checking-in, staff make sure you're aware you're not allowed to wash your rig (with specified, paid exceptions), but on numerous occasions I've watched staff roll past people doing full wash jobs on RVs and they've never said a thing. You're only supposed to have an RV and two vehicles at a site, but this year there were five cars/pick-ups at a site for several days and four at another for almost our entire stay. There was a campsite where it appeared the people were allowed to stay for an extended period. That's fine, as I believe it was duty related. Problem is it looked like the worst caricature of trailer trash - junk everywhere and cigarette butts enough to look like a carpet. I feel sorry for the next person to get that site. This is still a great FAMCAMP and we'll return as often as we can. We're just sorry to see such a wonderful place sliding. We hope the FAMCAMP team looks around and realizes what's happening. If they do, I'm sure they'll get things squared away. BTW - within capabilities, they do actively work to keep the sites level. Check the commercial RV parks in the Colorado Springs area and you'll find the price here is a very good deal, especially since the sites are not packed together. We actually like to hear and watch the trains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
20 May 2014
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The first couple of years we stayed here I gave them an overall rating of "5". This time I had to reduce it to a "3". They have raised their prices and when I asked why I was told "Because they raised the prices downtown." The camp's Wi-Fi is strictly a frustrating "hit-or-miss" (works when it wants to) and TV reception is extremely poor. I don't see any major improvements over the past eight years to justify any price increase and especially not just because someone else is doing it. This is still a nice place to stay for a few days, but I won't be staying here long term in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
July 13-15, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - I marked big rig friendly as we are a 45 foot motorhome and we made it through the trees without scraping sides or top. If you are a motorhome towing, unhitch at the fam camp office. Because of trees, satellite users may have difficulty. Antenna TV brought in a number of channels. We used South Gate and as others have said, a bit of a squeeze going through, but nothing that would cause damage to your rig if you go slow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
40 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2