Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
151 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
August 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have visited many military campgrounds in the past year, and this is one of the finest. Laundry and restrooms are very clean. Sites are level and hook-ups are good. No power fluctuations that we know of. The weather in summer is in the 70's, and the scenery is beyond description. Some of the sites are randomly configured (not sure why), but overall there is enough room between most sites for privacy. BX, Commissary and Shoppette are all good. Two Subways and Godfather pizza for fast food on base. Academy Dr. outside of South gate has numerous places to shop and eat, including a Whole Foods Market-excellent! All major restaurant chains, shopping mall, etc. And of course, all the tourist places including Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, and (Royal Gorge 60+ miles). We will definitely return in future summers due to the beautiful weather and well-kept campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 18-21 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here as a last minute trip to visit our niece, calling just 1 day in advance in the middle of summer. We are hoping to be stationed at Ft. Carson some day and now we know why. Not only is this FamCamp incredibly gorgeous backed up to the Rockies, but being on a Military Academy makes it that much more beautiful. There is so much to do from here that we couldn't get enough done in our 3 day visit. Next time we will plan ahead and rent a vehicle since we don't tow one. There is a dog walk area and even baggies to clean up too. The laundry and bathrooms were clean. We stayed on the older side but it was gorgeous. The sites are spaced out so to give privacy. No fires were allowed but they do have BBQ grills at the sites and they were so clean we chose to use them rather than get out our gas grill. We are already planning another trip to stay here next year only this time for a minimum 2 weeks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 14 thru July 22
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground, will visit again. They are repaving the road in from the south gate but should be done within the next two weeks. We extended out stay and the staff was very easy to work with. Signage was very good coming in from the south, had no problem finding the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23 Jun 09-7 Jul 09
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our visit to the Peregrine Pines Campground. The facilities were clean and very convenient to our site. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We would certainly stay at this FamCamp again. It was very convenient to the local tourist attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 30-July 13, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent location within the Academy grounds. Very serene environment. We extended a week as we enjoyed it so much. Campsites are set in woods, so many are shady. Friendly efficient office staff. Only negatives are that wifi is spotty which is irritating, and the train noise is horrid. I heard seven trains within two hours during the night and each one blasts his horn at least five times (deer on the line?). You cannot select your site so beware! The 30 amp sites are further from the train track.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 3 to June 14, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a nice stay for 10 days. Campground is relatively quiet; however, a few trains passing in the night seem to enjoy blasting the horn more than necessary. Also, the planes start towing gliders as early as 6 am. For wi-fi, I suggest a spot real close to the bathhouse/laundry facility. Be sure to visit the academy and the chapel. I will be back again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28-June 11
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been here 3 times and will come back...however the new 'office' personal is just that-in the office. The 'old' regime used to guide you to your campsite so be aware even though they give a map the dirt 'street' and 'driveway' and 'campsites' can look alike. There is recycling on base by the commissary/exchange, they don't sell diesel at the gas station but do sell propane there. My Verizon had stronger signal than the campground wi-fi but sites vary for signal-hear that about satellite! Unfortunately retirees can't eat at the dining hall anymore...but plenty to chose from in town. Be aware of altitude cuz we have seen many a camper have problems with this. Beautiful and peaceful and look for bears!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
G.C. left this review using the Directory software: The staff here are great very helpful. The sites are nice and the facilities clean. Will come back again for a longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 4-8 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A "sponsored guest" and I stayed here for our 1st time. They do have street signs BUT they are all on the left side of the street so it makes it hard to see the sign before you get to it. The two ladies in the office were GREAT and HELPFUL and went out of their way to answer any questions. The office staff make a tour through the park about ever 2 hours and the base security comes by about 5-6 times a day. The park is nice but since the roads and sites are mostly dirt you might have a problem if there are hard rains. We would not mind staying here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27-28 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WOW!!! Had a wonderful stay! Can't wait to go back. Didn't even hear the trains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6 October 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed just one night, but we found the famcamp in a beautiful location in the woods. Our greeting very friendly and directions to the site were great. We found the BX nice; if a little small. Overall our stay was great and we will surly stay there again when we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 27-29, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful setting and host was extremely accommodating! Stayed here to unwind and do some sight seeing during an extended trip, mission accomplished. Train noise out of their control and I could foresee a dust problem if there was heavier traffic. Hope to visit again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 30, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Love this place but have to mention a couple of things. Wifi is awful, I do not think it is right for them to advertise this when it is not working. It is also hard to understand the rule about lengths of stay. Had an emergency situation and needed to stay a while but even with all that land they would not bend unless the reservations were down to 80%. I know we have to have boundries but just needed a little help
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
9 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
B.G. left this review using the Directory software: The only thing to complain about is the dust, it is always present and most drivers do not observe the posted 5mph limit. Otherwise, this would be a top choice of all famcamps. Setting in the woods is super, most are level and very spacious.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5-12 April 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We spent a week here and were impressed by the facility. The lady in the office went out of her way to find us a great site and was very helpful. The setting, in the tall pines, is wonderful. The WiFi worked well during our entire stay. The only drawbacks are the train noise, which depending on your site may not be much of a problem, and that the sites aren't too level. Nice commissary; small BX. The Academy Chapel is a MUST visit. A great location to base from; lots to see and do in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As a primitive camper, this campground took the edge off. Heated restroom/shower was a first for me. The campgrounds were great, however the typical questions that you would ask at the shoppette, BX, or commissary, about information was like talking to another tourist. My cell phone died and I needed to make a collect call, no one knew where any pay phones were, the only one that I located was inside the hospital, just off the emergency room. The base map is in need of updating. There is no enlisted men's club, it is consolidated with the officer's club and only open on Friday. The American Legion downtown is only open Tuesday - Friday 1500 - 2100, so buy your own adult beverages, if you plan on cocktails in the afternoon or evening. The bowling alley has beer, however $2.75 is a little steep for a military installation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 1-31, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
N.G. left this review using the Directory software: Great location but most sites not level, no maintenance being done (spent month of May & Oct), problem with mice, no recreation room, no longer have camp host if have problems, best was bathrooms. God gave them the beautiful location but the profits all sucked off and not reinvested in the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 16, 2007 - present
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I agree with most of what has been said about this beautiful campground, the only exceptions being the trains. Maybe it's a matter of what you're used to, but I don't find them very noisy and have only heard their horn a half-dozen times so far. The winter monthly rate is now $390--too high for what you get but something we might as well get used to. Wireless Internet is now available (although on the fritz today), and there are now signs on Academy Blvd. Commissary is excellent, BX so-so, and the only dining available on base for retirees is the bowling alley and a Burger King. Luckily, there is a wealth of excellent restaurants and stores just off base to the south. There are no wintertime camp hosts but John, from Outdoor Services, has been great. We'll definitely be back, although we'll probably wait until it's warmer--it's 17 degrees outside as I write this!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 6-11, 07
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with others; Beautiful campground with sites nestled in the trees, with wide drives, no overhanging braches, and great, level sites. Water pressure IS very high, train DOES wake you, and cost is slightly higer than many military CGs. There is only a toddler play area, and only main roads are paved, so kids may have a difficult time staying occupied without "adult supervision." Recycling by commissary and a good selection of organics and "healthy foods" at the commissary. CG is close to many services, and the current CG hosts are excellent!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 19, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There is a 30-amp and a 50-amp section in this campground. The 50A side is a heavily wooded area so you may not get satellite signals if you have a roof top dish. A portable dish is necessary. The gravel access road is free of overhanging tree limbs. The FHU sites are gravel and mostly level. There is an odd layout that provides a lot of space on some sites and just average on others. A couple of the very helpful check-in staff have rigs parked here so they are familiar with matching rig size to sites. Voltage was good, but at the time of our stay, the water pressure was about 95 psi, which is way too high and can damage RV plumbing. Bring a good regulator if you stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
151 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8