Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
151 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
May 27 - June 3, 2011
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I arrived on the 27th of June when I walked into the office, I was met by the great staff of the Fam-Camp. What a pleasure to sign in and get all the information about the Fam-Camp and Academy. When I made my reservations I was asked where my satellite was on the motorhome was located front or back, also where my connections where located. Even after that my spot was a little hard to get the satellite tuned in, I had to move back a few feet. Sites are not true level but can be worked. My biggest compliant is with the dog owners, for some reason they don't think they have to clean up after the dogs since we are in a wooded area. Some sites are a little hard to get into if you have a large RV but again it just takes a little time. Everyone tells me that the winds doesn't blow all the time, but every day we've been here for the week it has blown hard. The best time about this Fam-Camp is the surrounding attractions, Seven Falls, Royal Gorge, Cliff Dwellings, COG railway to the top of Pikes Peak and many others. We were here for a week and went every day to see an attraction, but could have stayed longer. Now I have a reason to return for another stay. The Mall, Stores, Dining places are just off the Academy south gate. Don't forget to visit Fort Carson, it has a much larger PX and Commissary. Presently they are resurfacing the road to the Fam-Camp, should be completed in a week. They also have road work at the North Gate to the Academy. Oh I almost forgot You can wash your RV in the Fam-Camp, that is the biggest plus of all Fam-Camps being able to wash you RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 24, 2011
(Updated: May 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My normal driving day is around 300 miles/day before I stop at a campground. Today I drove 452, thru winds and some rain, just so I could stay at this particular one. I’ve been here before and have never been disappointed. If you need to have a site for satellite coverage then ask for one that provides it. If you need to be near a bath house, then ask for it. If you need a big rig site, then make it known. The staff will do everything possible to make it happen whenever possible. Read the rest of the reviews listed here to get a feeling for what you can expect. The campground pleases 99% of the users 99% of the time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-20 Sep 10
(Updated: November 05, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Staff was most friendly and helpful. Site was selected on information they collected about my rig including where the satellite receiver was positioned on my rig. They warned about very high water pressure and they were right. I used an external regulator. The train noise was noticeable at first, but got use to it. So many things to do in the area and the Academy facilities are fantastic and beautiful. Our stay was extended a few days due to a mechanical problem with a slide awning, which the staff helped in locating a reliable repair company. We really enjoyed our stay and will surely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
22 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 28, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground, best option in the Springs area. Plenty of things for the kids, scenic location right of the main road through the USAFA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 20-23, 2010
(Updated: October 22, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We always enjoy this campground. Close to commissary, full hook ups, great laundry room, nice walking trails on base, great location. This time I was disappointed with the showers which are usually very nice. They were pretty dirty. They appear to get a quick wipe down, but the brown soap scrum is nasty. Yes, it comes off if you gently scrape it. So I mentioned it to the caretaker, and he said the showers get a lot of use in the summer. This really made me uncomfortable since it's October 22nd. Anyways, it is a great place, especially off season when it's so quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct. 3 - 6, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
B.A. left this review using the Directory software: Winter season began 10/4/. Winter rates $18. Great sites but roads are dusty and dry. Not a problem except for the inconsiderate campers who don't follow the 5 mph speed limit in the campground. Anything over 5 mph kicks up dust and gets into campers with doors/windows open. No diesel in base gas station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 Sep. 2010-27 Sep.2010
(Updated: September 29, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the Second time I have stayed Here. I find it one of the best run RV parks in the Military system. The Staff are friendly and always helpful. The sites are large and easy to enter and exit. The rest rooms and laundry are very nice and kept very clean. If you are a light sleeper an bothered by the noise of passing trains, request a site on the West side. I grew up around train tracks so the noise didn't bother me. The only things that I would like to see improved are: install a dog park and work on making the sites more level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 23-June 27, 2010
(Updated: September 19, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the nicest military cg's. The people in the office were outstanding--courteous to a fault--no matter the number of questions I had. The cg itself was left as 'natural' as possible--now yes as it is not yards of concrete you could track good ole dirt in--I found a small mat at door worked just fine. Laundry & bathrooms spotless. As far as the price / consider where you are--the surrounding civilian cgs were much, much higher AND the rv's packed in like sardines. Besides the beauty of the AF Academy Campus there is soooo much to do in the Colorado Springs area---AND if BX / commissary not enough for you--a Walmart less mile from south gate!! I just hope that one day we will be back that way & have the opportunity to stay again. Oh some said train disturbed sleep--uhhhh what train--I was so relaxed after a day there that I honestly didn't hear a thing--and I am usually a light sleeper :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 14th- September 28th 2010
(Updated: September 17, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived here September the 14th and will leave here the 28th September. This is a great place, the best military Camp we have ever stayed at. The sites are well kept and there are a picnic table and grill at each site and lots of pine trees. We have been to the commissary which is ok and the BX is on the small side. Everything is a short distance from here to downtown Colorado Springs. The woman at the office was really helpful about where we could go that wasn't too touristy . We drove to the Garden of the gods [free - just bypass the Visitor center as it's all about getting you to buy stuff] and the drive through there is just so wonderful whew. Take time to drive over to Peterson AFB , they have a bigger commissary and BX. Nice coming back here in the late afternoon to our quiet peaceful camp. Yes the trains go through but the sound isn't enough to keep you awake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2-6 Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice, well-maintained park. Large spots with plenty of shade. Laundry room was clean...and pretty inexpensive (.75 to wash and .75 to dry for 40 mins). Only reason I marked it down for "value" is for a military park--$20 is on the high end...would be great if they had cable :-). I would definitely stay here again, there is so much to see and do in the Colorado Springs area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8-16 Jul 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Only complaint, the train whistles make for restless nights, otherwise an outstanding famcamp. Be careful, bears in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16 JUNE 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stayed here as an overnight stopover. I was able to call and make a reservation. Which is very nice since alot of military parks do not. The trains & whistles were there but I was still able to sleep. Will have to have a spot further away from the train tracks next time as my husband is a very light sleeper. The sites are only graveled not paved so tracking dirt into the unit was a disadvantage. The bathrooms & laundry facilities were very clean. The staff were very helpful with check-in and directions to the site. It was nice to have full hook-ups. It would have been nice to have the shopppette closer but we stopped on the way in and didn't need to stop on the way out. Will definitely stay here again on our next overland trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 26, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Love it. Very nice camp. It was nice being able to make reservations. Wish others were that way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2 - 19, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just spent 2 1/2 weeks and had weather from the 50's up to the 90's and pea size hail one morning. Extremely clean restrooms/showers & laundry. Campground Management went out of their way to assist. I was surprised at how large the installation is, from the S Gate to the FamCamp is almost 5 miles! We saw wild turkeys, deer and squirrels on the installation. My spot was close to the RR tracks and it took some time to get use to the train whistles (loud) better than ½ dozen times most nights. If in the area again, will definitely stay again. BTW, summer rates are $20/night for authorized users and $25/night for guest that are not authorized that might be caravanning with you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 16-25, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice FamCamp and an excellent location in Colorado Springs. The nearby train tracks with the noise and whistles at night is the only negative. We loved the large wooded sites and and it is a great place to walk. Bathrooms and laundry are spotless and washer/dryers only $.75 each. The golf course is truly beautiful and a great course to play. Although the office is being renovated, someone was there almost every day. Cable would have been nice as TV reception was minimal. Wish it had been a little warmer - we got six inches of snow one day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 28-April 20, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at this FamCamp very much. The staff went overboard to be nice and helpful. We have never been met with such hospitality even though it was technically still winter when we got there. The showers were the cleanest we've ever seen. Can't imagine how anyone could complain about this place. We hated to leave but "they wouldn't let us live there". We left when they were getting ready for the summer season. Even though they were sawing and loading and bringing in gravel and spreading it, you could barely notice it. This is a top grade FamCamp and a value at any price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 -28 April 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Update to my last input on the USAF Acacemy's famcamp. I stated that the famcamp has not had any improvements since 2004; however, there has been maintenance and they have added gravel to the campsites for the last two springs and the last two weeks has seen a steady improvement to the campsites. Tons of gravel have been distributed to the RV sites and they seem to be in alot better shape now. I talked to the Famcamp Manager after my last input and was told that they were trying to get enough road rock to also cover the roads into the campsites and it also appears that the registration office is being redone. During the summer there will be someone in the registration office during duty hours but no one to talk to after duty hours if there is problems or questions. The base has one of the best golf courses in the military system and is worth a visit just to play the two 18 hole courses.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 March 2010
(Updated: March 29, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We moved in today. We will be here for 30 days, so I'll comment again when we leave. We understand fully that it is still the winter season and there is no host - hence the 4 on hospitality. But so far we LOVE it. I mean it's in Colorado and at the USAFA no less. I hope we get to see everything the area has to offer in 30 days.

NOTE: The new rate of $20.00 per day begins on April 1, 2010 and there is no discount, weekly or monthly rate. I thought this was important. There is no one in the c/g office until May 1, you have to go to the recreation center for info or help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Mar 20- April 12 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I would not say that this is the best managed famcamp in DOD! There have been no improvements to this famcamp since 2004. The roads into the sites are dirt and therefore muddy whenever it rains. They are raising the rates to $20 starting April 1st. Someone said the sites are level - I don't think you can not find a level site anywhere in the park. On the positive side - Linda at the Rec Center is outstanding!! The bathroom facilities (upgraded in 2004) are always clean and kept in good shape. The maintenance man does a good job but I can't say that he cleans the grills as soon as someone leaves. It is set in the woods which gives you that "camping" experience but it also has the trains and uneven gravel sites. The famcamp setting is great not the management, except Linda! The area is a great place to visit with many many things to do and see but I do not confuse the famcamp as being outstanding just because it happens to be at the foot of the Rockies and locate on the beautiful Air Force Academy. All that said, I like the famcamp, just not enough to say it is one of the best and I really do not like the rate increase (btw - the rate increase is to pay off a 2004 loan to the Air Force).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
3-23 September 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Probably the best managed park in the DoD System. Very friendly staff, and they go out of their way to make everyone feel at home. The Colorado Springs area is a beautiful place to visit, and it just makes good sense to stay at the AF Academy park to take everything in. Big sites, trees that are trimmed so you don't drag them on the roof of your RV, and a park that is kept immaculate. Within minutes after someone's departure, staff members are out cleaning the grills and picking up around the vacated site. The park is easy to get to from either the South or the North gate, and all of the facilities on base, commissary, BX, etc. are more than adequate. Make sure you give yourself time to enjoy a few days here, you won't be sorry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
151 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8