Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
151 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
28-29 Sep 2012
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here many, many times. Our son graduated in 2011 and he attended the prep school before going 'up the hill'. So we've been coming for football games and cadet events for many years. Even now our daughter-in-law has a brother here so we still do some cadet events. We attend most of the away football games and we use military FamCamps whenever we can. Peregrine Pines FamCamp is among the very best. At least as good as Nellis and Travis. The staff is first rate. I truly have no complaints or suggestions for improvement. As long as I am blessed to be physically able to do so, I will continue to use this great facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
4sept-11Sept 2012
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our second visit and certainly won't be our last. We were in site 77 near laundry and bathhouse. Excellent free wi-fi and satellite friendly. Sites are large, well maintained and great recycle program. Would suggest that on checking in, this be mentioned. There is also for larger items, a good recycle area near the Exchange. The frequent trains are not a negative. Great area for shopping and restaurants and sightseeing. Staff is most friendly and informed. One of our favorite campgrounds. Once again we had John Goodwin of mdforrv's do a fixed over the air antenna. Last time we had him install a satellite dish. Another plus is washing of RV permitted. Look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2012
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed here for a week and the FamCamp was very clean, well run and safe. The 30 day rule for all is in force and that is very good since that prevents the homesteading effect. The sites do not have cable but do have WiFi at the sites. There are two restrooms with codes and two restrooms without codes throughout the campground area. The camp host and staff are very helpful and keep a good log on what is going on the the FamCamp. I will definitely be back in August for three weeks, Commissary, BX, Chapel and other services are close by and off base facilities are ample.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24-31Jul 2012
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
L.R. left this review using the Directory software: - This FamCamp is fantastic! Staff are more than helpful and accommodating. I arrived a couple of hours early and they went to see if my assigned site was vacate. It was so I was allowed to check in. My only negative comment concerns the Air Force Academy's medical facility. I went to get two prescription refilled. The clerk, at AFA's Community Pharmacy, said they would have to call the original pharmacy to get the prescriptions transferred and it would take at least 72 hours. Wal-Mart had it done in 2 hours! Despite the AFA's medical facility, I would stay at Peregrine Pines again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed 2 weeks in June until the wildfires drove us out. Had a great experience as the park is large & spacious. Got used to the train noise after a few days. Nothing bad to report as it was a really great visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a great campground and I understand the high marks. The young woman at the front desk was exceptional! The sites are spacious and plenty of room to negotiate the 40 ft motorhome. The only downside has been the train noise - the train rumbles thru and blows the horn all night. As previously posted you can eventually get used to it however, it is a downside to an otherwise totally pleasant experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had to "live" here for almost 2 months last year and I agree with everyone else...very nice facility. We haven't really gotten around to "rving" yet as we have legal problems with the VA but I use this site regularly and plan to give my contribution when all is resolved. We have kids in the Springs and of course VA doctor visits in Denver so this campground is the bee's knees!! Hope to try out the new one up at Buckley next week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 May 2012
(Updated: May 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a Great FamCamp. We were heading for Denver and called from the road. The lady at the desk took a reservation for that night and gave us great directions to the park. We came in though the south gate, with the speed bumps. Our rig is 55' long, bumper to bumper, and there is NO way to get though those speed bumps. That said, if you you go slow, you won't have any trouble going over them. Once you are in the park, the sites are situated so that you don't feel crowded, and the trees make the nicest sound in the breeze. I will be staying here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7May to 10 May, 2012
(Updated: May 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great staff, asked where satellite was to put us in the correct spot for reception. This is a great camp. I would also tell you that the north gate is not any harder to get in than the south gate both require some careful maneuvering to get through the gate but we really didn't have any problem with our 40 ft motorhome. Great place and we will come back later this summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2 March - 22 April 2012
(Updated: May 06, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We're repeat visitors, and as before, this is THE best overall famcamp we have ever visited. What separates this from others is the attitude and helpfulness of the staff! Although the office is closed between 30 September - 1 May, all one need do is show up, pick an open site, fill out the slips which are provided in a drop box by the door to the office, and start camping. Base maps and regulations are provided in the drop box. Credit cards are welcome, and campers may pay for as many nights as they know they'll be there as long as they realize there's the 30 day summer season limit. You may want to try different sites to get a good satellite shot for your TV, as they are some trees. Latrines are as clean as any we've seen, and washers/dryers are clean and they work, and we found the change machine always filled with quarters, and they work, too! Need help? Call or visit Outdoor Rec in the Community Center across from the gas station. John Rodriguez is the manager. Need a refund because you overpaid? Don't know the policy, but by being able to either pay-as-you-go or several days at a time, you should be able to plan it out. They even have a reduced rate if you have to leave your RV for a few days during the winter season, check with John about this. Helpful, proactive, customer #1, being the best they can be - all those terms apply.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 1 - April 30
(Updated: April 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have stayed at the Academy on numerous occasions since I have family in Denver area and for medical treatments in Denver. I also have been critical of the management of this famcamp in the past. I am very happy to report that everything has improved since my last visit. John and his staff strive to accommodate all RVers. They have added speed bumps because of the people who think it is a 25 MPH instead of 5 MPH. That has helped to keep the dust down (now if the base contractor would obey the speed limit it would be nice). Yes there are still trains but nothing can be done about that and you will get used to it very soon. I wish the sites were more level but every year John brings in more gravel to level the sites, I think the people who spread the gravel might need a class on leveling (IMHO). John is installing a propane tank on site (Really a nice feature) and Harold (?), the maintenance guy is always around and extremely nice. The bathrooms and showers are always clean and kept in great shape. If you come during football season, the stadium is within walking distance and you will see some very good football. FYI there is a new security post on Stadium road so there is one more chance to show you ID if you are driving to the south gate or BX/ gas station. If you need to use the Auto Hobby shop -- the guys there are friendly and know their stuff if you have a question. The golf course is outstanding and Wednesday is retiree day with $25 green fees. I think the famcamp is getting better every time I come back here!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2 Apr - 6 Apr 2012
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The template for all other FamCamps!! Great spacing between sites. Great atmosphere. The CG and the sites are easy to get in and out of. And for $20 a night...are you kidding me?!?! I wish the place I stayed the night before arrival and day after departure were half as nice. Instead, they were twice the cost and no where near as nice. There is no construction at either the north or south gate, so use the one you come to first. Just slow down as you weave thru the force protection curbs. If there is no host (their season starts 1 May), just fill in the registration form and put the money in the envelope and envelope thru the slot in the door. Great CG. I may have to plan a trip just to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
20 September 6 October 2011
(Updated: September 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first visit and certainly won't be our last. It is one of the nicest FamCamps we have stayed. The spaces are very large and convenient affording privacy. Staff very friendly and helpful and the overall setting very serene in spite of the trains. Even saw 2 Elk near the BX. Weather was perfect. Spent several days touring the Academy and other local sights. Yes, would rate it a 10 for sure. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 9-23, 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We entered the Academy from the north gate and exited from the south. The obstacles are the same at both gates. No actual barriers, just a curved road that makes you go slow. Easy to negotiate by a big rig towing. If coming from the north, the north gate is much closer to the FamCamp than the south gate. Our stay was very relaxing. Except for the trains, the place is very quiet. After a day or two the trains didn't bother us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 29 - August 28, 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: - First time at the campground and it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is very helpful and will try to satisfy every request. There is no cable at the sites but there is cable/dish TV in the community center. The sites are wide, deep and plenty of room between sites. There is a Commissary and PX on the grounds. Outside the South gate there are plenty of places to eat and shop. Police patrol the campground on a regular basis. The only down side is the train. The train whistle goes off all day/night and there are no sites that escape the sound. After awhile you can get used to it. If you stay for over 14 days and you have a pet you need to register the pet with the base vet down the road. I will be back there again next summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9 - 11 Sep 2011
(Updated: September 11, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent FamCamp. Located directly across from Falcon Stadium. We did hear a few trains but I find an occasional train whistle to be a good thing. The academy has light aircraft only, no jets, so aircraft noise is nil. Staff is extremely helpful. Facilities are very good. A very relaxing stay and I would recommend to all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 12, 2011
(Updated: August 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
There are two reasons for the low Experience rating. First, there are only a few sites in this RV Park that are level enough to prevent the use of boards to level RV's with longer wheel bases. Many motorhomes can be seen with wheels off the ground. Management is aware of this problem. Secondly, although there is a 5MPH speed limit sign at the entrance to the gravel/dirt road and speed bumps have been installed speeding continues to be a serious problem. Campground Office workers speed in and out themselves so I doubt this problem will be resolved. Solution for RVers is to keep the RV closed and air conditioners running to prevent dust from infiltrating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 21-24, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here on our return trip to Colorado Springs. This is a very nice FamCamp. Gravel roads and sites but they are very well maintained, had no problems with leveling. Sites are well spaced so that you are not on top of your neighbor Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a lot to see in the area so the next time we come we will most definitely stay longer. There was mention of Train whistles and aircraft noise, we did hear a train whistle once or twice while we were there but did not hear a single aircraft. I found it very quiet and relaxing and would recommend it to all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 3, 2011
(Updated: August 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was here a couple months ago and have returned during my travels. The purpose of this second review is to recap some of the issues brought up in other reviews. There is some train whistle noise depending on their schedule and is more pronounced at the back of the CG. The airfield traffic from sailplane towing creates some noise, but it’s during daylight hours. The access road is gravel, but well maintained. Some sites are not completely level so if the rig is long more leveling might be needed. Keep in mind that it is Colorado and the CG is in the woods. Satellite coverage depends on the site. Again, you are in the woods. Verizon 3G signal is good. Wi-Fi covers all of the sites. There is usually a special event at each cadet graduation. We were treated to the Thunderbirds air show back in May. Speed bumps have been added. No one who RVs enjoys speed bumps, but I suspect that a few fellow campers continually failed to observe the posted limit and ruined it for the rest of us. Customer service is excellent and should be made the standard for all DoD campground facilities. If you are being a tourist in the area, the MWR office is in the Mini-Mall. Discounts aren’t large, but the convenience of one stop shopping for tickets and local tourist info is invaluable. Outdoor rec also provides some additional services for things like water rafting and equipment rentals. The mall contains many other businesses and the post office. There is a USAA complex a couple miles outside the north gate where you can do limited banking business if you are a member. That area is also most convenient for all off base shopping needs. The CG information mentions that the preferred entrance is the south gate. I don’t know why because the north gate is actually easier to navigate thru with a bigger rig. A third security post has been added in the middle of the base. Depending on direction of travel, you will need to stop and provide ID again. If you happen to need mobile RV services there are a couple who will come to the campground. The office has the POC numbers. You might find a more resort like campground in the area, but Peregrine is the best deal going.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
19 Jun - 30 Jun 2011
(Updated: July 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had mechanical problems one day out from our scheduled arrival and had to delay our arrival one day at a time. The staff (Joan mostly) was very understanding and pushed back our arrival as necessary. Staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Roads are now marked with great signs. North Gate is still to be avoided because of construction. Cars can enter and leave through the North Gate with no problem. Commissary and exchange is rather small but adequate for most basic needs. The commissary and exchange at Peterson AFB is much larger and has a greater selection. For us Navy types there is a Navy Federal Credit Union a couple of miles north of Peterson AFB. As stated below there is much to see and do. Having tri-pods for both TV and Internet, had no problem with the trees. Staff is very knowledgeable about satellite reception and many sites have decent reception. Definitely, a worth while stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
151 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8