Peregrine Pines FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (137)
154395 0 22 1 75

User reviews

89 reviews with 5 stars

137 reviews

 
(93)
 
(31)
 
(10)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.8  (137)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (137)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (137)
Value 
 
4.4  (137)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (137)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
89 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
15 Sep. 2010-27 Sep.2010
(Updated: September 29, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the Second time I have stayed Here. I find it one of the best run RV parks in the Military system. The Staff are friendly and always helpful. The sites are large and easy to enter and exit. The rest rooms and laundry are very nice and kept very clean. If you are a light sleeper an bothered by the noise of passing trains, request a site on the West side. I grew up around train tracks so the noise didn't bother me. The only things that I would like to see improved are: install a dog park and work on making the sites more level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 23-June 27, 2010
(Updated: September 19, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the nicest military cg's. The people in the office were outstanding--courteous to a fault--no matter the number of questions I had. The cg itself was left as 'natural' as possible--now yes as it is not yards of concrete you could track good ole dirt in--I found a small mat at door worked just fine. Laundry & bathrooms spotless. As far as the price / consider where you are--the surrounding civilian cgs were much, much higher AND the rv's packed in like sardines. Besides the beauty of the AF Academy Campus there is soooo much to do in the Colorado Springs area---AND if BX / commissary not enough for you--a Walmart less mile from south gate!! I just hope that one day we will be back that way & have the opportunity to stay again. Oh some said train disturbed sleep--uhhhh what train--I was so relaxed after a day there that I honestly didn't hear a thing--and I am usually a light sleeper :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 14th- September 28th 2010
(Updated: September 17, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived here September the 14th and will leave here the 28th September. This is a great place, the best military Camp we have ever stayed at. The sites are well kept and there are a picnic table and grill at each site and lots of pine trees. We have been to the commissary which is ok and the BX is on the small side. Everything is a short distance from here to downtown Colorado Springs. The woman at the office was really helpful about where we could go that wasn't too touristy . We drove to the Garden of the gods [free - just bypass the Visitor center as it's all about getting you to buy stuff] and the drive through there is just so wonderful whew. Take time to drive over to Peterson AFB , they have a bigger commissary and BX. Nice coming back here in the late afternoon to our quiet peaceful camp. Yes the trains go through but the sound isn't enough to keep you awake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2-6 Aug 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice, well-maintained park. Large spots with plenty of shade. Laundry room was clean...and pretty inexpensive (.75 to wash and .75 to dry for 40 mins). Only reason I marked it down for "value" is for a military park--$20 is on the high end...would be great if they had cable :-). I would definitely stay here again, there is so much to see and do in the Colorado Springs area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8-16 Jul 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Only complaint, the train whistles make for restless nights, otherwise an outstanding famcamp. Be careful, bears in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 JUNE 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I stayed here as an overnight stopover. I was able to call and make a reservation. Which is very nice since alot of military parks do not. The trains & whistles were there but I was still able to sleep. Will have to have a spot further away from the train tracks next time as my husband is a very light sleeper. The sites are only graveled not paved so tracking dirt into the unit was a disadvantage. The bathrooms & laundry facilities were very clean. The staff were very helpful with check-in and directions to the site. It was nice to have full hook-ups. It would have been nice to have the shopppette closer but we stopped on the way in and didn't need to stop on the way out. Will definitely stay here again on our next overland trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 26, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Love it. Very nice camp. It was nice being able to make reservations. Wish others were that way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 28-April 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at this FamCamp very much. The staff went overboard to be nice and helpful. We have never been met with such hospitality even though it was technically still winter when we got there. The showers were the cleanest we've ever seen. Can't imagine how anyone could complain about this place. We hated to leave but "they wouldn't let us live there". We left when they were getting ready for the summer season. Even though they were sawing and loading and bringing in gravel and spreading it, you could barely notice it. This is a top grade FamCamp and a value at any price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 March 2010
(Updated: March 29, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We moved in today. We will be here for 30 days, so I'll comment again when we leave. We understand fully that it is still the winter season and there is no host - hence the 4 on hospitality. But so far we LOVE it. I mean it's in Colorado and at the USAFA no less. I hope we get to see everything the area has to offer in 30 days.

NOTE: The new rate of $20.00 per day begins on April 1, 2010 and there is no discount, weekly or monthly rate. I thought this was important. There is no one in the c/g office until May 1, you have to go to the recreation center for info or help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
3-23 September 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Probably the best managed park in the DoD System. Very friendly staff, and they go out of their way to make everyone feel at home. The Colorado Springs area is a beautiful place to visit, and it just makes good sense to stay at the AF Academy park to take everything in. Big sites, trees that are trimmed so you don't drag them on the roof of your RV, and a park that is kept immaculate. Within minutes after someone's departure, staff members are out cleaning the grills and picking up around the vacated site. The park is easy to get to from either the South or the North gate, and all of the facilities on base, commissary, BX, etc. are more than adequate. Make sure you give yourself time to enjoy a few days here, you won't be sorry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have visited many military campgrounds in the past year, and this is one of the finest. Laundry and restrooms are very clean. Sites are level and hook-ups are good. No power fluctuations that we know of. The weather in summer is in the 70's, and the scenery is beyond description. Some of the sites are randomly configured (not sure why), but overall there is enough room between most sites for privacy. BX, Commissary and Shoppette are all good. Two Subways and Godfather pizza for fast food on base. Academy Dr. outside of South gate has numerous places to shop and eat, including a Whole Foods Market-excellent! All major restaurant chains, shopping mall, etc. And of course, all the tourist places including Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, and (Royal Gorge 60+ miles). We will definitely return in future summers due to the beautiful weather and well-kept campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 18-21 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here as a last minute trip to visit our niece, calling just 1 day in advance in the middle of summer. We are hoping to be stationed at Ft. Carson some day and now we know why. Not only is this FamCamp incredibly gorgeous backed up to the Rockies, but being on a Military Academy makes it that much more beautiful. There is so much to do from here that we couldn't get enough done in our 3 day visit. Next time we will plan ahead and rent a vehicle since we don't tow one. There is a dog walk area and even baggies to clean up too. The laundry and bathrooms were clean. We stayed on the older side but it was gorgeous. The sites are spaced out so to give privacy. No fires were allowed but they do have BBQ grills at the sites and they were so clean we chose to use them rather than get out our gas grill. We are already planning another trip to stay here next year only this time for a minimum 2 weeks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 14 thru July 22
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground, will visit again. They are repaving the road in from the south gate but should be done within the next two weeks. We extended out stay and the staff was very easy to work with. Signage was very good coming in from the south, had no problem finding the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23 Jun 09-7 Jul 09
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our visit to the Peregrine Pines Campground. The facilities were clean and very convenient to our site. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We would certainly stay at this FamCamp again. It was very convenient to the local tourist attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 30-July 13, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent location within the Academy grounds. Very serene environment. We extended a week as we enjoyed it so much. Campsites are set in woods, so many are shady. Friendly efficient office staff. Only negatives are that wifi is spotty which is irritating, and the train noise is horrid. I heard seven trains within two hours during the night and each one blasts his horn at least five times (deer on the line?). You cannot select your site so beware! The 30 amp sites are further from the train track.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 3 to June 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had a nice stay for 10 days. Campground is relatively quiet; however, a few trains passing in the night seem to enjoy blasting the horn more than necessary. Also, the planes start towing gliders as early as 6 am. For wi-fi, I suggest a spot real close to the bathhouse/laundry facility. Be sure to visit the academy and the chapel. I will be back again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 28-June 11
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have been here 3 times and will come back...however the new 'office' personal is just that-in the office. The 'old' regime used to guide you to your campsite so be aware even though they give a map the dirt 'street' and 'driveway' and 'campsites' can look alike. There is recycling on base by the commissary/exchange, they don't sell diesel at the gas station but do sell propane there. My Verizon had stronger signal than the campground wi-fi but sites vary for signal-hear that about satellite! Unfortunately retirees can't eat at the dining hall anymore...but plenty to chose from in town. Be aware of altitude cuz we have seen many a camper have problems with this. Beautiful and peaceful and look for bears!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
G.C. left this review using the Directory software: The staff here are great very helpful. The sites are nice and the facilities clean. Will come back again for a longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
27-28 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WOW!!! Had a wonderful stay! Can't wait to go back. Didn't even hear the trains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
6 October 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed just one night, but we found the famcamp in a beautiful location in the woods. Our greeting very friendly and directions to the site were great. We found the BX nice; if a little small. Overall our stay was great and we will surly stay there again when we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
89 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5