Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
151 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
August 14 - September 11, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This FamCamp is in a beautiful setting, and we would definitely return again. The pros: excellent water, sewer, and electrical hookups, satellite accessible (request this when you make a reservation because the FamCamp is in a forested area), good WiFi, nice fitness facilities, nice library, excellent location to visit Colorado Springs area sites, and there is comprehensive recycling on site. The cons: the sites are not real level (bring extra blocks for your jacks and to support your tires), there is a considerable amount of iron in the water supply (be prepared to filter your water), and the trains are quite loud and run often (the tracks are directly behind the rear of the FamCamp).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a heads-up: The per diem rate at Peregrine Pines is now $24.00, not $22. Also, some other reviewers have noted the difficulty in finding a level site, but this is mostly for Class A & other RVs using automatic levelers. Graduation day for AFA's new academic year is 28 May 2015, a Thursday. Makes sense to call in March to arrive at least a week before that date, especially since this Famcamp remains open year round. Limit is 30 *consecutive* days. If you call 60 days ahead, stay a month, go out for a day, seems like you could spend the summer in a gloriously awesome place! Sites apparently stay 90 percent full throughout the summer season weekends, May - September, so set yourself a reminder because otherwise it'll be tough to get in. During the week it changes to ~70 percent. There's wiggle room if you arrive late for your reservation, too. With 105 sites and all of the amazing AFA and area attractions (Go Falcons and... Thunderbirds!), even $720/month seems like a privilege. I'd say, go early, stay late, and feel the THUNDER!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great FamCamp. All around great service from the folks At the welcome office, to the guys filling propane tanks...at a very reasonable rate I might add. We were told at check in that the wifi is undergoing an update and they are testing some systems to see what will work best at the most reasonable cost to all involved. We were directed to Rammport Hall to use the internet at their business center. We did that the first morning then in the afternoon we tried from our campsite and with very few issues it worked fine during the rest of our stay. We will be back for sure and hope then that there will be no fog to block our view of the Academy campus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8-30 July 2014
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
First, this is probably our favorite FAMCAMP. We try to spend time here every summer. It's a topnotch facility and generally well operated by a knowledgeable staff. However, it now seems to be in decline. The WIFI is broken. They're working on fixing and upgrading it, but have to go through the usual procurement process so it'll take time. Unfortunately, when we arrived they did not let us know this. They really should let people know when they make reservations and check-in. The staff is great/helpful/welcoming in every way but one. Over the last two years they don't seem to be even attempting to enforce the camp's rules. You have to sign a statement of rules read on check-in, but there's no enforcement, and unfortunately some of our brethren are not as honorable as they might be. There's supposed to be a two pet limit, but both of the last two years we've been near (different) people who've set up play-pen yards and let five and eight dogs out unattended to bark continuously. We're dog people/owners and consider this improper regardless of any rules. When checking-in, staff make sure you're aware you're not allowed to wash your rig (with specified, paid exceptions), but on numerous occasions I've watched staff roll past people doing full wash jobs on RVs and they've never said a thing. You're only supposed to have an RV and two vehicles at a site, but this year there were five cars/pick-ups at a site for several days and four at another for almost our entire stay. There was a campsite where it appeared the people were allowed to stay for an extended period. That's fine, as I believe it was duty related. Problem is it looked like the worst caricature of trailer trash - junk everywhere and cigarette butts enough to look like a carpet. I feel sorry for the next person to get that site. This is still a great FAMCAMP and we'll return as often as we can. We're just sorry to see such a wonderful place sliding. We hope the FAMCAMP team looks around and realizes what's happening. If they do, I'm sure they'll get things squared away. BTW - within capabilities, they do actively work to keep the sites level. Check the commercial RV parks in the Colorado Springs area and you'll find the price here is a very good deal, especially since the sites are not packed together. We actually like to hear and watch the trains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
July 1/July 13, 2014
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Other reviewers have previously commented on the poor WiFi. I've been here twice in the last 30 days and it still sucks to the point that it sometimes isn't even usable. It is absurd that the grass all over the base gets watered every day, but this long term issue goes uncorrected. I won't be returning to this FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
June/July 2014
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not a camp I'd give all fives to. Why, when so many other "glowing" reviews say this is the place to be? First and foremost, it is difficult to find a site that is near level. (We had to move sites after the first day here due to leveling problems.) Okay, maybe not a big deal, but living on an angle isn't what I would expect for a FAMCAMP of this size and magnitude. Nonetheless, it is clean, but very tight to maneuver around trees, which also block satellite reception in most sites. WiFi works . . . sometimes, and when it does it is very good. No amenities at the camp, though the base offers many. Coming in the south gate in a "big rig" is interesting due to the speed devices in place that have to be navigated. A can do situation, but be very careful and aware. No problem at gate with proper ID. Follow the directions given and not your GPS or you'll end up at the north gate, and not allowed to enter. Lots of trains passing through at night blowing there whistles. Staff very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. No view of the mountains here, just pines, which isn't all that bad. Roads are gravel/sand as are the camp sites, hook-ups all good, but make SURE you have a water pressure reducer, as the water pressure in the park can reach 100psi. The 50amp is strong. I guess the reason I gave this camp threes is that I was expecting more, particularly after reading all the glowing reviews. That said, it is always nice to be with our military family. We would stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 3
Jun 6, 2014 - Jun 16, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Knowing the park is woodsy, when I made reservations I told them I'd like a site where I could use my roof top satellite dish. They were accommodating and scheduled me for such a site, which made me a happy camper. Their Wifi was no good where I was, but my Verizon Mifi (and cell phone) worked fine. The base has a nice club which serves a daily lunch buffet (and served an outstanding Sunday champagne buffet on father's day). There was no inspection of my rig going in; just a check of our ID cards and a wave thru. Directions to the Famcamp was a piece of cake; enter the gate (south gate), no turns until you pass the stadium and see the Famcamp sign, then turn right (and then left at another sign). If you're heading north when you leave, you can go out the north gate. Great place to stay to see the Colorado Springs attractions.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 May 2014
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The first couple of years we stayed here I gave them an overall rating of "5". This time I had to reduce it to a "3". They have raised their prices and when I asked why I was told "Because they raised the prices downtown." The camp's Wi-Fi is strictly a frustrating "hit-or-miss" (works when it wants to) and TV reception is extremely poor. I don't see any major improvements over the past eight years to justify any price increase and especially not just because someone else is doing it. This is still a nice place to stay for a few days, but I won't be staying here long term in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
OCT 22 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I live in base housing at the USAF Academy & so I haven't stayed in the FamCamp BUT have dropped by a few times. It is one of the best I have ever seen PERIOD. RVs and Campers MUST use South Gate (exit 150) off I-25 because the bridge at the North Gate cannot handle the weight (the gate guard WILL turn you around at the North Gate. South Gate is open 24/7. The North Gate closes at 10pm. On game days the gate guards are in the shack and there is no ID checks as tons of people are coming to the stadium. In the directions getting to the camp it describes crossing railroad tracks. Well, you do . . . kinda! They are below you and go under a bridge so you don't ACTUALLY cross over them (tires on rails). The rest of the directions are good. Basically go thru South Gate and follow that road past the stadium and watch for the sign on the right to turn right into the camp. Again, this is one of the BEST FamCamps I have ever been around. Tons to do in the area as has been mentioned. Other sites within 90 minutes are Royal Gorge, Denver, Broncos, cog rail up the mountain, Pikes Peak, Manitou Springs, Tanger Outlet, Old Colorado City, major league sports teams within 90 minutes are Rockies Baseball, Rapids Soccer, Broncos Football, Nuggets Basketball. Heed the warning about graduation time & home games; the camp is PACKED!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
12 - 19 September 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here during the great Colorado Floods. The camp has excellent drainage all of the interior roads and pads are gravel even with 9" of rain in three days we had no problems with mud. The staff are excellent and accommodating. When we made our reservation they asked if we had a satellite dish on my roof and where on the roof it was located so they could assign me a space accordingly. Need to change the directions some, the roads are clearly marked with road signs. The base security is a bit strange, because of all of the activities at the Academy a lot of civilian tourists come on the base when that happens the north gate is open but unmanned. They have a bunch of portable guard shacks that they setup to keep the public out of the community areas. What this means is that you have to keep your I'd handy at all times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 8-13, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place, friendly staff, noisy train and a great place to be. Lot's to do in Colorado Springs. Garden of the Gods, Mountains, and fires. I was on the golf course when the black Forest Canyon fire started. It wasn't pretty far and lasted long time. Being a retired firefighter, I can appreciate the hard work those guys put in to get in under control. I was long gone by the time they accomplished it. Commissary and BX were great. I will return many times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
29 Jul-28 Aug 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the third time we have stayed here and each time there are marked improvements. The staff we worked with John and Diane, helped any any way they could. We extended twice and the transaction was smooth. The grounds and facilities were well kept. Trees have been trimmed back to allow easier access for larger rigs and, in some cases, better satellite reception. I plan on staying here each time I'm in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 20-August 11 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the better parks that the military has to offer. Sites are large and can accommodate any size RV. MAKE RESERVATIONS!! They accept them up to 60 days in advance for retired members, and you can request sites that are satellite available, so why not do it, The campground is clean and well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. We stay here every summer and will always have that answer. Lots to do in Colorado Springs and there is always something happening at the Academy. They used to have a monthly rate for the summer season, but is now a flat rate of $22 per day. Expensive by some standards but still cheaper than parks in the nearby area. Don't miss out on this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 30-June 13, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice wooded campground. Easy to find coming in the South gate. Staff was very nice & helpful. Will stay again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 13-15, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - I marked big rig friendly as we are a 45 foot motorhome and we made it through the trees without scraping sides or top. If you are a motorhome towing, unhitch at the fam camp office. Because of trees, satellite users may have difficulty. Antenna TV brought in a number of channels. We used South Gate and as others have said, a bit of a squeeze going through, but nothing that would cause damage to your rig if you go slow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 4 - 6, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
D.G. left this review using the Directory software: - This is the first time we've stayed at a FamCamp and based on our experience here, we will check out FamCamps first for future trips and we will definitely stay here any time we are traveling in the area again. It was convenient for visiting Garden of the Gods, the Cog Railroad, and the Academy Chapel. Since I'm a light sleeper, I was a little concerned about the close proximity of the railroad tracks, especially after reading a few of the reviews. I was very pleasantly surprised to find the it was no problem at all, even though we had a campsite about as close as you could get to the railroad track end of the campground. It might be a problem, if you were sleeping in a tent or a pop-up, but not in an RV. The people who checked us in were very helpful and pleasant. The facilities were clean and well maintained. Our campsite was level and well shaded. We were able to get both TV and internet access. This was an excellent introduction to FamCamps. Thanks to this U.S. Military Campgrounds Directory, which we decided to purchase, we'll be prepared for future trips. It's well worth the price to keep up-to-date on nationwide FamCamps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 16-30, 2013
(Updated: June 28, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here Jun 16-30, 2013. The 40 sites on the west side of the park are closed for an electrical system upgrade/rebuild. The contractor has laid the new conduit, pulled most on the new wiring and is installing new electric boxes. We were told the scheduled contract completion date is 9/5/13 but staff is hoping for early completion. After electrical work new gravel will laid on roads & sites disrupted for the new conduit. Staff is hoping to reopen area in time for USAFA Parents Weekend Aug 29 thru Labor Day. North Gate inbound restriction due to bridge work continues; RV's are to use South Gate entry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Summer 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Called for reservations, and they didn't have space for the whole time I was here, but made for the few days they had. Within an hour, Jane called back to inform me they had a cancellation and could get me in but I would have to move to a space after the first night. When we got here, we were informed that they were able to get me set for the whole time. Then I threw them a loop and asked to stay for an extra 4 days. They had us go to our site and within an hour came out to tell us we could stay but would have to move in a couple days which was no problems for us. After walking around the camp that night, we found a space we really liked that the signpost said the people were moving out the next day. So up to the office again, asking if we could have that space. They were able to move a couple things around and get us the space we wanted. Diane and Jane in the office have been great and so helpful. I will come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This FamCap of 100+ sites has about 40 sites (West Side) with no electric. The power is off and they are beginning construction on the new 30 and 50 amp service this week. One employee said they hope to have full service finished by Labor Day. Also, they were limiting entrance to the South Gate (Exit 151 from I-25) as the bridge at the North Gate (Exit 156 from I-25) has some structural problems and they were limiting RV's and big trucks to the South Gate. Use the directions above and you'll have no problems finding the FamCamp from the South Gate. As someone said -GO SLOW through the gate and you'll have no problem. I made the mistake of not making reservations early enough for our projected 10 day stay. It also coincided with the 2013 graduation for the AF Academy - not good. The staff managed to find us all service spots for all but one night - we had to move 4 times but we were okay with that. The sites are for the most part roomy (we have a big rig) and allow for some privacy. Trees can cause difficulty with TV reception but this is an area that has so much to offer that TV just wasn't a priority for us. Staff is very helpful - from sites, to propane service, to letting folks know they have the AF Frequent Camper packages available and supplying quarters for laundry when change machines don't work. Trains were not an issue for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2010
(Updated: November 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The only negative about this awesome campground is the coal train that comes real close to the (I think East) side of the CG. If you are a light sleeper, the camp ground is really big and ask for a site away from the coal train.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
151 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8