Peregrine Pines FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (135)
146674 0 22 1 73

User reviews

88 reviews with 5 stars

135 reviews

 
(92)
 
(31)
 
(9)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.8  (135)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (135)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (135)
Value 
 
4.4  (135)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (135)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
88 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
June 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed here for a week and the FamCamp was very clean, well run and safe. The 30 day rule for all is in force and that is very good since that prevents the homesteading effect. The sites do not have cable but do have WiFi at the sites. There are two restrooms with codes and two restrooms without codes throughout the campground area. The camp host and staff are very helpful and keep a good log on what is going on the the FamCamp. I will definitely be back in August for three weeks, Commissary, BX, Chapel and other services are close by and off base facilities are ample.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had to "live" here for almost 2 months last year and I agree with everyone else...very nice facility. We haven't really gotten around to "rving" yet as we have legal problems with the VA but I use this site regularly and plan to give my contribution when all is resolved. We have kids in the Springs and of course VA doctor visits in Denver so this campground is the bee's knees!! Hope to try out the new one up at Buckley next week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18 May 2012
(Updated: May 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a Great FamCamp. We were heading for Denver and called from the road. The lady at the desk took a reservation for that night and gave us great directions to the park. We came in though the south gate, with the speed bumps. Our rig is 55' long, bumper to bumper, and there is NO way to get though those speed bumps. That said, if you you go slow, you won't have any trouble going over them. Once you are in the park, the sites are situated so that you don't feel crowded, and the trees make the nicest sound in the breeze. I will be staying here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
7May to 10 May, 2012
(Updated: May 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great staff, asked where satellite was to put us in the correct spot for reception. This is a great camp. I would also tell you that the north gate is not any harder to get in than the south gate both require some careful maneuvering to get through the gate but we really didn't have any problem with our 40 ft motorhome. Great place and we will come back later this summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2 March - 22 April 2012
(Updated: May 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We're repeat visitors, and as before, this is THE best overall famcamp we have ever visited. What separates this from others is the attitude and helpfulness of the staff! Although the office is closed between 30 September - 1 May, all one need do is show up, pick an open site, fill out the slips which are provided in a drop box by the door to the office, and start camping. Base maps and regulations are provided in the drop box. Credit cards are welcome, and campers may pay for as many nights as they know they'll be there as long as they realize there's the 30 day summer season limit. You may want to try different sites to get a good satellite shot for your TV, as they are some trees. Latrines are as clean as any we've seen, and washers/dryers are clean and they work, and we found the change machine always filled with quarters, and they work, too! Need help? Call or visit Outdoor Rec in the Community Center across from the gas station. John Rodriguez is the manager. Need a refund because you overpaid? Don't know the policy, but by being able to either pay-as-you-go or several days at a time, you should be able to plan it out. They even have a reduced rate if you have to leave your RV for a few days during the winter season, check with John about this. Helpful, proactive, customer #1, being the best they can be - all those terms apply.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 1 - April 30
(Updated: April 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have stayed at the Academy on numerous occasions since I have family in Denver area and for medical treatments in Denver. I also have been critical of the management of this famcamp in the past. I am very happy to report that everything has improved since my last visit. John and his staff strive to accommodate all RVers. They have added speed bumps because of the people who think it is a 25 MPH instead of 5 MPH. That has helped to keep the dust down (now if the base contractor would obey the speed limit it would be nice). Yes there are still trains but nothing can be done about that and you will get used to it very soon. I wish the sites were more level but every year John brings in more gravel to level the sites, I think the people who spread the gravel might need a class on leveling (IMHO). John is installing a propane tank on site (Really a nice feature) and Harold (?), the maintenance guy is always around and extremely nice. The bathrooms and showers are always clean and kept in great shape. If you come during football season, the stadium is within walking distance and you will see some very good football. FYI there is a new security post on Stadium road so there is one more chance to show you ID if you are driving to the south gate or BX/ gas station. If you need to use the Auto Hobby shop -- the guys there are friendly and know their stuff if you have a question. The golf course is outstanding and Wednesday is retiree day with $25 green fees. I think the famcamp is getting better every time I come back here!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2 Apr - 6 Apr 2012
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The template for all other FamCamps!! Great spacing between sites. Great atmosphere. The CG and the sites are easy to get in and out of. And for $20 a night...are you kidding me?!?! I wish the place I stayed the night before arrival and day after departure were half as nice. Instead, they were twice the cost and no where near as nice. There is no construction at either the north or south gate, so use the one you come to first. Just slow down as you weave thru the force protection curbs. If there is no host (their season starts 1 May), just fill in the registration form and put the money in the envelope and envelope thru the slot in the door. Great CG. I may have to plan a trip just to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
20 September 6 October 2011
(Updated: September 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our first visit and certainly won't be our last. It is one of the nicest FamCamps we have stayed. The spaces are very large and convenient affording privacy. Staff very friendly and helpful and the overall setting very serene in spite of the trains. Even saw 2 Elk near the BX. Weather was perfect. Spent several days touring the Academy and other local sights. Yes, would rate it a 10 for sure. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 9-23, 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We entered the Academy from the north gate and exited from the south. The obstacles are the same at both gates. No actual barriers, just a curved road that makes you go slow. Easy to negotiate by a big rig towing. If coming from the north, the north gate is much closer to the FamCamp than the south gate. Our stay was very relaxing. Except for the trains, the place is very quiet. After a day or two the trains didn't bother us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 29 - August 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: - First time at the campground and it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is very helpful and will try to satisfy every request. There is no cable at the sites but there is cable/dish TV in the community center. The sites are wide, deep and plenty of room between sites. There is a Commissary and PX on the grounds. Outside the South gate there are plenty of places to eat and shop. Police patrol the campground on a regular basis. The only down side is the train. The train whistle goes off all day/night and there are no sites that escape the sound. After awhile you can get used to it. If you stay for over 14 days and you have a pet you need to register the pet with the base vet down the road. I will be back there again next summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
9 - 11 Sep 2011
(Updated: September 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent FamCamp. Located directly across from Falcon Stadium. We did hear a few trains but I find an occasional train whistle to be a good thing. The academy has light aircraft only, no jets, so aircraft noise is nil. Staff is extremely helpful. Facilities are very good. A very relaxing stay and I would recommend to all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 21-24, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here on our return trip to Colorado Springs. This is a very nice FamCamp. Gravel roads and sites but they are very well maintained, had no problems with leveling. Sites are well spaced so that you are not on top of your neighbor Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a lot to see in the area so the next time we come we will most definitely stay longer. There was mention of Train whistles and aircraft noise, we did hear a train whistle once or twice while we were there but did not hear a single aircraft. I found it very quiet and relaxing and would recommend it to all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 3, 2011
(Updated: August 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I was here a couple months ago and have returned during my travels. The purpose of this second review is to recap some of the issues brought up in other reviews. There is some train whistle noise depending on their schedule and is more pronounced at the back of the CG. The airfield traffic from sailplane towing creates some noise, but it’s during daylight hours. The access road is gravel, but well maintained. Some sites are not completely level so if the rig is long more leveling might be needed. Keep in mind that it is Colorado and the CG is in the woods. Satellite coverage depends on the site. Again, you are in the woods. Verizon 3G signal is good. Wi-Fi covers all of the sites. There is usually a special event at each cadet graduation. We were treated to the Thunderbirds air show back in May. Speed bumps have been added. No one who RVs enjoys speed bumps, but I suspect that a few fellow campers continually failed to observe the posted limit and ruined it for the rest of us. Customer service is excellent and should be made the standard for all DoD campground facilities. If you are being a tourist in the area, the MWR office is in the Mini-Mall. Discounts aren’t large, but the convenience of one stop shopping for tickets and local tourist info is invaluable. Outdoor rec also provides some additional services for things like water rafting and equipment rentals. The mall contains many other businesses and the post office. There is a USAA complex a couple miles outside the north gate where you can do limited banking business if you are a member. That area is also most convenient for all off base shopping needs. The CG information mentions that the preferred entrance is the south gate. I don’t know why because the north gate is actually easier to navigate thru with a bigger rig. A third security post has been added in the middle of the base. Depending on direction of travel, you will need to stop and provide ID again. If you happen to need mobile RV services there are a couple who will come to the campground. The office has the POC numbers. You might find a more resort like campground in the area, but Peregrine is the best deal going.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
19 Jun - 30 Jun 2011
(Updated: July 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had mechanical problems one day out from our scheduled arrival and had to delay our arrival one day at a time. The staff (Joan mostly) was very understanding and pushed back our arrival as necessary. Staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Roads are now marked with great signs. North Gate is still to be avoided because of construction. Cars can enter and leave through the North Gate with no problem. Commissary and exchange is rather small but adequate for most basic needs. The commissary and exchange at Peterson AFB is much larger and has a greater selection. For us Navy types there is a Navy Federal Credit Union a couple of miles north of Peterson AFB. As stated below there is much to see and do. Having tri-pods for both TV and Internet, had no problem with the trees. Staff is very knowledgeable about satellite reception and many sites have decent reception. Definitely, a worth while stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 27 - June 3, 2011
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I arrived on the 27th of June when I walked into the office, I was met by the great staff of the Fam-Camp. What a pleasure to sign in and get all the information about the Fam-Camp and Academy. When I made my reservations I was asked where my satellite was on the motorhome was located front or back, also where my connections where located. Even after that my spot was a little hard to get the satellite tuned in, I had to move back a few feet. Sites are not true level but can be worked. My biggest compliant is with the dog owners, for some reason they don't think they have to clean up after the dogs since we are in a wooded area. Some sites are a little hard to get into if you have a large RV but again it just takes a little time. Everyone tells me that the winds doesn't blow all the time, but every day we've been here for the week it has blown hard. The best time about this Fam-Camp is the surrounding attractions, Seven Falls, Royal Gorge, Cliff Dwellings, COG railway to the top of Pikes Peak and many others. We were here for a week and went every day to see an attraction, but could have stayed longer. Now I have a reason to return for another stay. The Mall, Stores, Dining places are just off the Academy south gate. Don't forget to visit Fort Carson, it has a much larger PX and Commissary. Presently they are resurfacing the road to the Fam-Camp, should be completed in a week. They also have road work at the North Gate to the Academy. Oh I almost forgot You can wash your RV in the Fam-Camp, that is the biggest plus of all Fam-Camps being able to wash you RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 24, 2011
(Updated: May 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My normal driving day is around 300 miles/day before I stop at a campground. Today I drove 452, thru winds and some rain, just so I could stay at this particular one. I’ve been here before and have never been disappointed. If you need to have a site for satellite coverage then ask for one that provides it. If you need to be near a bath house, then ask for it. If you need a big rig site, then make it known. The staff will do everything possible to make it happen whenever possible. Read the rest of the reviews listed here to get a feeling for what you can expect. The campground pleases 99% of the users 99% of the time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11-20 Sep 10
(Updated: November 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Staff was most friendly and helpful. Site was selected on information they collected about my rig including where the satellite receiver was positioned on my rig. They warned about very high water pressure and they were right. I used an external regulator. The train noise was noticeable at first, but got use to it. So many things to do in the area and the Academy facilities are fantastic and beautiful. Our stay was extended a few days due to a mechanical problem with a slide awning, which the staff helped in locating a reliable repair company. We really enjoyed our stay and will surely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
22 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 28, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground, best option in the Springs area. Plenty of things for the kids, scenic location right of the main road through the USAFA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 20-23, 2010
(Updated: October 22, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We always enjoy this campground. Close to commissary, full hook ups, great laundry room, nice walking trails on base, great location. This time I was disappointed with the showers which are usually very nice. They were pretty dirty. They appear to get a quick wipe down, but the brown soap scrum is nasty. Yes, it comes off if you gently scrape it. So I mentioned it to the caretaker, and he said the showers get a lot of use in the summer. This really made me uncomfortable since it's October 22nd. Anyways, it is a great place, especially off season when it's so quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15 Sep. 2010-27 Sep.2010
(Updated: September 29, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the Second time I have stayed Here. I find it one of the best run RV parks in the Military system. The Staff are friendly and always helpful. The sites are large and easy to enter and exit. The rest rooms and laundry are very nice and kept very clean. If you are a light sleeper an bothered by the noise of passing trains, request a site on the West side. I grew up around train tracks so the noise didn't bother me. The only things that I would like to see improved are: install a dog park and work on making the sites more level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
88 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5