Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
151 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
11-13 Sep 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A very nice wooded, rustic setting. We entered through the North gate with no issues. Fam Camp is easy to find following the signs. Access to the camp site was a bit tricky through the trees. Gravel pad was mostly level but needed one block up one side. I was unable to use satellite dish due to the trees but the tv antenna worked great to pick up local broadcasting. Lots to do in the area so was a fun stay. The base gas station does NOT have diesel fuel and a bit tight for big rig. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 6-9, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WARNING: The directions say to use the North or the South Gate. According to the FAMCAMP that is incorrect. Only the South Gate at exit 150 should be used. Reason: The North Gate is a visitors gate and by visitor anyone with picture ID can get in that gate to attend football games etc. If something should happen to put the base on alert the North Gate will close and you will be made to turn around. Trust me, you do not want to be in that situation at the gate. You are going to have to unhook and make some wild maneuvers. The FAMCAMP has submitted a change to the Military Campground dot US but they have not been implemented yet. We made it through the North Gate but there were not security threats. Driver beware. (Editors note: I verified with security that EITHER gate can be used by RV's. They also stated that during an alert, ALL gates are closed.) With that said, Perigreen Pines is a wonderful RV park/Campground. The RV sites are spacious. The pull-through sites are extremely long in most cases and depending on the length of your MH. The 40' MH's spaces are longer in my opinion. Yes, there are trees all over the place but that is what makes it nice. Some sites have space for roof top satellite and others will require a portable for maneuverability and reception. The trees are very navigable and do not pose a problem. Well, they didn't for me. Spaces between sites is very, very good. The staff are friendly and accomodating. Enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug 29 2016
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Have stayed here numerous times over the years. The facility is showing its age. The sites have never been close to level. Ridiculously placed stop signs (maybe should be yield signs). The 5 mph interior speed limit would keep the dust down if it was enforced but there are so many inconsiderate campers that do not adhere to it (some 25 mph) that dust can be a major issue. Some of the staff personnel lead by example when they also disregard the speed limit. Don't mind rate increases if they cross over to facility improvements but so far have not seen any. 50 amp service was added to all sites but that was done when a major electrical power safety issue arose. There are a lot of first class Famcamps and this one, in my opinion, falls short of that classification and it is a shame being located on the Air Force Academy site and could very well set the example for all other Famcamps to follow.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 23, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
PROS: The campground itself is lovely, high up in the piney woods of the Air Force Academy. BX, Commissary are around 10-15 minutes away. Walmart 30 minutes away. Finding the FamCamp was easy. Toilets were clean. Laundry facility was clean and easily usable. CONS: Sites are very tight, especially for bigger rigs. Entering between the pine trees was a bit scary. The sites themselves are dirt. The sites are terribly uneven. I have a 44' toy hauler and the site is so uneven that I could not fully lower the ramp to take out my bike. At $24 a night this camp is overpriced, AND, I was told that the price is going up to as much as $30. Way too little in amenities for that price. The showers were so filthy that I would definitely not shower in them. On the bright side, the staff was friendly, camp was quiet except for the constant trains...but...it is an AFB, so trains are expected. So, in closing I would say that RVers need to be prepared for close quarters, to high prices, and nasty showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
9-15 June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As others have stated, a fantastic park. Particularly like how it is laid out so that rigs are not next to each other. Very private in that sense. Nice staff. There is train noise in the distance but it didn't bother us. Comment said that they check rigs in and out: not any more. Waved right through. Someone in the park said there was a period when they did that, maybe during a security threat? Very few sites can get satellite from a roof top system. I never got wifi to work even though there were strong signals...it would not log in no matter. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15 Sept - 5 Oct 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here for overnights in the past. This was our first time spending 3 weeks at the park.  You can make reservations so you can make your plans for your visit. Checkin is easy. When you pull in to the park, there is the office. Easy parking for checkin. Staff is pleasant & helpful. The park is located under the pines. Large sites with picnic tables. We did have to watch for the burrs when the grandkids came to visit. There is a little playground by the cg office but a larger play area is located over at the picnic area right next to the cg.  The commissary is a good size. Exchange is on the small side. We were able to get the rv in to the gas station for fillup.  There is so much to do in the area! Starting with the Academy. The Chapel, the football stadium, static displays, hiking trails.  And then you go out the gates! Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, Pikes Peak and so much more! A stunningly beautiful area. So much to see & do - make a list & know you won't get it all done.  And plan to come back. It's obvious, we would happily stay here again.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
February 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great spot!  I have adopted this as my "summer home" for 30 days out of the year, having spent the past two summers at Peregrine Pines.  Friendly staff, great places to walk every day, and hiking trails on the Academy grounds.  There is so much to do in Colorado Springs and the surrounding areas, you can't do it all in 30 days.  Shower facilities, restrooms, and laundry facilities are very well kept and attended to daily.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed at Peregrine several times and will stay again on our next trip to Colorado Springs. We have a 24' tag-along without any slide-outs. The last trip was from about July 24-Aug3. The camp is easy to get to, nicely shaded and everyone I have met there, whether staff or guest, are friendly.  I consider the camp to be a quiet place, but it is close to the train track and trains do go by regularly. We have not parked on the eastern edge which would be closes to the tracks, but have stayed in the center of that area and we have not been bothered by the trains. I have used the WIFI on every trip, even worked from our trailer a time or two. It may not be the strongest WIFI signal, but it has always worked for me. Our site on this trip was not the best site, we were a little too long to fit into this site easily,there was a drop-off at the front of the site, right where our tongue jack sat. I would have preferred one with less of a drop-off right at the front, but there weren't any other available sites for the time we were there. All our other sites have been flat. there are 2 laundry facilities with 3-4 washers and dryers each. I have not had any trouble finding an open unit when I was ready to use them. They have always been clean and well cared for. I can't comment about the satellite TV access, as we do not have one. I do notice others watching TV, but have no idea if it is local or other. There are playgrounds for the kids close by. My grandkids had fun the afternoon they stopped by. There are also hiking trails and bicycle trails as well. It is hard to be bored in the CS area. I lived in Colorado Springs for almost 30 years and this is where we stay when we go back to visit. The price is better than the CO state parks, with more amenities. I recommend Peregrine Pines, just please leave me a spot whenever I plan a trip to the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2-5 Jun 15
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice visit. We will stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 August 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the second time here, almost one year ago and had to return. Only did an overnight. I'll just ditto "floridacamper"in their review. As far as some of the others that reviewed. Big Rig friendly, YES it its. I have a 43' coach and had no problems getting through. Had to drop my trailer behind the office, plenty of room to get it around. Great sites, and very friendly employees, always helpful. When we arrived with tornado warning sirens sounding which made things a bit exciting. When traveling through the area I would always stop. Absolutely love this place. So much to do and see. I have to go back to some comments that others have made about "Big Rig Friendly". Look though the FC and take a look how many big rigs are in there, from 30' to 45' coaches...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
9-14 Aug 15
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
OK famcamp. Lots of trees thus no satellite. Sites were gravel (not too level) and some located very close together. Wifi was non-existent at the sites. They had wifi available at other areas but you would have to sit outside to use it. AF Academy is a nice location--very large installation with lots of land mass. Didn't use the facilities (laundry or shower) but went inside to check them out and they appeared clean and well taken care of. There are two 18 hole golf courses--played both. Both courses were in great shape. If I were to return to this area, would probably consider a different location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 3
June 2015
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Pros, cool temps in summer, some sites shaded. Cons, WIFI is a joke, cell service just OK. No cable, not big rig friendly with trees/vehicles in road. Pricey, no weekly/monthly rate. They could get good WIFI and offer longer stay rates to improve.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'll start with the negatives first. OK, there are no negatives for us. Making a reservation was easy. I had to leave a message but I did receive a call back in a few hours, unlike some other famcamps I've dealt with recently. Check in was easy. I asked for a site where I could receive satellite and that's what I got. The base is very large and well kept. The mountains in the distance are very cool....I mean still snow capped. Temps in the 50's early in the morning, warming to 80's during the day. Sites are very spacious and you don't feel on top of your neighbor. The price is fair and there is lots to do in the area, i.e. Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Cripple Creek and more. The previous review mention the laundry. Maybe there are some washers and dryers at the price mentioned but we just finished using them and paid .75 for the washers and .75 for the dryers. The cheapest of this trip. It's amazing the difference between famcamps... This one is a keeper. BZ to the AF Academy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked our stay at Peregrine Pines. We were told we had a site with satellite access but our Winegard Traveler would not lock on. Too many trees at site #43. We moved forward and backward three times to try and find an opening but to no avail. We eventually gave up and just watched local TV for a week. It was not the end of the world but we were told and we expected to get satellite TV. Site was fine, plenty of space between neighbors, mostly level and the camp staff would deliver a campfire store if you wanted one for $7 nite (first nite, then $5 after that.) The USAFA is a fantastic place to visit and a great location for the many things to do in Colorado Springs. The laundry was very reasonable at $1.75/wash and $1.25/dry. You may need a sewer hose extension. We had to hook both ours and it was maxed out. Overall very good experience. We camped in a 40' motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June 8-July 8, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed a month and really enjoyed our stay. Great setting in a pine forest, with birds, squirrels, pocket gophers, and the occasional deer. We had requested a site with satellite TV access, which we got (#59). Might need to move the rig back and forth for the right position to get a signal, and if particularly windy the movement of the branches might cause some pixelation. Site wasn't very level, but again, by moving the rig back and forth a bit, we managed to get mostly level with our jacks and no additional blocks. Spacious sites with plenty of space between sites as well ... some more so than others. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful. Hiked the Falcon Trail on base -- 13 miles of up and down; great exercise and wonderful scenery. Access the base from the South Gate as recommended; lines to get in did get long at times as more often than not only one of several checkpoints was open. You might want to reconsider staying if you find train noise particularly bothersome (mostly whistles; mostly at night from our site) ... was not an issue for us. USAFA Command Center warns of lightning within 5 nautical miles. Announcements are made over the P/A system ... we appreciated the extra warning as several storms came through the area during our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
3 July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The overall location of the FAMCAMP was outstanding in relation to the geographical area. Bathrooms/showers & laundry room were very clean and couldn't beat the price for the stay. Although there were no fire pits, they had fire rings you could rent and firewood to purchase. There were BBQ grills however. There were two negative issues 1) The picnic table had been moved by other campers' to their area; however, the camp host was glad to rectify the issue and 2) Where we tent-camped, the train tracks were about 50 yards away and trains passed by what seemed like every 1 - 2 hours...on through the night as well. For that reason, we elected to not stay another night...and the reason for the Overall Experience rating. In the future, I would only stay if in a motor home...to help deaden the sounds of the trains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 1-12, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory Software: - Very nice campground on the beautiful USAFA grounds. Easy access from the South gate exit 150 off I-25. Campsite good, not too close to neighbors. Only complaint is no DirecTV access through the trees. For some reason we couldn't lock on though this is a designated satellite access spot. Laundry facility nearby: .75/wash and .75 dry/45 minutes. Close to shopping. USAFA is a great place to visit. Visitors Center and Chapel a must see. We camped in our 40' Motorhome and would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept to Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful park and friendly, helpful people. I found navigating on base confusing at first with all the ID check stations internal to the academy but everything worked out. Like everyone has said let the staff know you need a spot for satellite TV but spot 48 you cannot get satellite TV with a portable antenna. Waited 2 weeks to move to a spot where we could get reception on our antenna. Trains didn't really bother us, we're used to being in the pattern of Eglin, AFB. They did warn us of a mountain lion that had been prowling the area but we never saw or heard it. We made use of the base services and they treated us extremely well. During football season it fills up on the weekend. We were able to walk to the stadium for the AF vs. Navy game. Wish they offed a discounted monthly rate but would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2 Jun 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice location. Bathroom showers were a bit dirty when i used them. The last day the park was without water due to a main line break nearby. All told we would stay there again. We entered and exited from both the north and south gates, and were not inspected at any time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 28 & 29, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
L.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice and very friendly people. I really liked being in the trees. That is they way camping should be, but the wifi does suffer because of it. The RV Gate GPS coordinates did sent us to the North Gate. Didn't have any problems, but I was informed by SPs that I should have entered through the South Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
151 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8