Peregrine Pines FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (135)
146462 0 22 1 73

User reviews

88 reviews with 5 stars

135 reviews

 
(92)
 
(31)
 
(9)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.8  (135)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (135)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (135)
Value 
 
4.4  (135)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (135)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
88 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
17 August 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the second time here, almost one year ago and had to return. Only did an overnight. I'll just ditto "floridacamper"in their review. As far as some of the others that reviewed. Big Rig friendly, YES it its. I have a 43' coach and had no problems getting through. Had to drop my trailer behind the office, plenty of room to get it around. Great sites, and very friendly employees, always helpful. When we arrived with tornado warning sirens sounding which made things a bit exciting. When traveling through the area I would always stop. Absolutely love this place. So much to do and see. I have to go back to some comments that others have made about "Big Rig Friendly". Look though the FC and take a look how many big rigs are in there, from 30' to 45' coaches...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I'll start with the negatives first. OK, there are no negatives for us. Making a reservation was easy. I had to leave a message but I did receive a call back in a few hours, unlike some other famcamps I've dealt with recently. Check in was easy. I asked for a site where I could receive satellite and that's what I got. The base is very large and well kept. The mountains in the distance are very cool....I mean still snow capped. Temps in the 50's early in the morning, warming to 80's during the day. Sites are very spacious and you don't feel on top of your neighbor. The price is fair and there is lots to do in the area, i.e. Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Cripple Creek and more. The previous review mention the laundry. Maybe there are some washers and dryers at the price mentioned but we just finished using them and paid .75 for the washers and .75 for the dryers. The cheapest of this trip. It's amazing the difference between famcamps... This one is a keeper. BZ to the AF Academy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 8-July 8, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed a month and really enjoyed our stay. Great setting in a pine forest, with birds, squirrels, pocket gophers, and the occasional deer. We had requested a site with satellite TV access, which we got (#59). Might need to move the rig back and forth for the right position to get a signal, and if particularly windy the movement of the branches might cause some pixelation. Site wasn't very level, but again, by moving the rig back and forth a bit, we managed to get mostly level with our jacks and no additional blocks. Spacious sites with plenty of space between sites as well ... some more so than others. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful. Hiked the Falcon Trail on base -- 13 miles of up and down; great exercise and wonderful scenery. Access the base from the South Gate as recommended; lines to get in did get long at times as more often than not only one of several checkpoints was open. You might want to reconsider staying if you find train noise particularly bothersome (mostly whistles; mostly at night from our site) ... was not an issue for us. USAFA Command Center warns of lightning within 5 nautical miles. Announcements are made over the P/A system ... we appreciated the extra warning as several storms came through the area during our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 14 - September 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This FamCamp is in a beautiful setting, and we would definitely return again. The pros: excellent water, sewer, and electrical hookups, satellite accessible (request this when you make a reservation because the FamCamp is in a forested area), good WiFi, nice fitness facilities, nice library, excellent location to visit Colorado Springs area sites, and there is comprehensive recycling on site. The cons: the sites are not real level (bring extra blocks for your jacks and to support your tires), there is a considerable amount of iron in the water supply (be prepared to filter your water), and the trains are quite loud and run often (the tracks are directly behind the rear of the FamCamp).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just a heads-up: The per diem rate at Peregrine Pines is now $24.00, not $22. Also, some other reviewers have noted the difficulty in finding a level site, but this is mostly for Class A & other RVs using automatic levelers. Graduation day for AFA's new academic year is 28 May 2015, a Thursday. Makes sense to call in March to arrive at least a week before that date, especially since this Famcamp remains open year round. Limit is 30 *consecutive* days. If you call 60 days ahead, stay a month, go out for a day, seems like you could spend the summer in a gloriously awesome place! Sites apparently stay 90 percent full throughout the summer season weekends, May - September, so set yourself a reminder because otherwise it'll be tough to get in. During the week it changes to ~70 percent. There's wiggle room if you arrive late for your reservation, too. With 105 sites and all of the amazing AFA and area attractions (Go Falcons and... Thunderbirds!), even $720/month seems like a privilege. I'd say, go early, stay late, and feel the THUNDER!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great FamCamp. All around great service from the folks At the welcome office, to the guys filling propane tanks...at a very reasonable rate I might add. We were told at check in that the wifi is undergoing an update and they are testing some systems to see what will work best at the most reasonable cost to all involved. We were directed to Rammport Hall to use the internet at their business center. We did that the first morning then in the afternoon we tried from our campsite and with very few issues it worked fine during the rest of our stay. We will be back for sure and hope then that there will be no fog to block our view of the Academy campus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 6, 2014 - Jun 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Knowing the park is woodsy, when I made reservations I told them I'd like a site where I could use my roof top satellite dish. They were accommodating and scheduled me for such a site, which made me a happy camper. Their Wifi was no good where I was, but my Verizon Mifi (and cell phone) worked fine. The base has a nice club which serves a daily lunch buffet (and served an outstanding Sunday champagne buffet on father's day). There was no inspection of my rig going in; just a check of our ID cards and a wave thru. Directions to the Famcamp was a piece of cake; enter the gate (south gate), no turns until you pass the stadium and see the Famcamp sign, then turn right (and then left at another sign). If you're heading north when you leave, you can go out the north gate. Great place to stay to see the Colorado Springs attractions.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
OCT 22 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I live in base housing at the USAF Academy & so I haven't stayed in the FamCamp BUT have dropped by a few times. It is one of the best I have ever seen PERIOD. RVs and Campers MUST use South Gate (exit 150) off I-25 because the bridge at the North Gate cannot handle the weight (the gate guard WILL turn you around at the North Gate. South Gate is open 24/7. The North Gate closes at 10pm. On game days the gate guards are in the shack and there is no ID checks as tons of people are coming to the stadium. In the directions getting to the camp it describes crossing railroad tracks. Well, you do . . . kinda! They are below you and go under a bridge so you don't ACTUALLY cross over them (tires on rails). The rest of the directions are good. Basically go thru South Gate and follow that road past the stadium and watch for the sign on the right to turn right into the camp. Again, this is one of the BEST FamCamps I have ever been around. Tons to do in the area as has been mentioned. Other sites within 90 minutes are Royal Gorge, Denver, Broncos, cog rail up the mountain, Pikes Peak, Manitou Springs, Tanger Outlet, Old Colorado City, major league sports teams within 90 minutes are Rockies Baseball, Rapids Soccer, Broncos Football, Nuggets Basketball. Heed the warning about graduation time & home games; the camp is PACKED!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
12 - 19 September 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here during the great Colorado Floods. The camp has excellent drainage all of the interior roads and pads are gravel even with 9" of rain in three days we had no problems with mud. The staff are excellent and accommodating. When we made our reservation they asked if we had a satellite dish on my roof and where on the roof it was located so they could assign me a space accordingly. Need to change the directions some, the roads are clearly marked with road signs. The base security is a bit strange, because of all of the activities at the Academy a lot of civilian tourists come on the base when that happens the north gate is open but unmanned. They have a bunch of portable guard shacks that they setup to keep the public out of the community areas. What this means is that you have to keep your I'd handy at all times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 8-13, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice place, friendly staff, noisy train and a great place to be. Lot's to do in Colorado Springs. Garden of the Gods, Mountains, and fires. I was on the golf course when the black Forest Canyon fire started. It wasn't pretty far and lasted long time. Being a retired firefighter, I can appreciate the hard work those guys put in to get in under control. I was long gone by the time they accomplished it. Commissary and BX were great. I will return many times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 Jul-28 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was the third time we have stayed here and each time there are marked improvements. The staff we worked with John and Diane, helped any any way they could. We extended twice and the transaction was smooth. The grounds and facilities were well kept. Trees have been trimmed back to allow easier access for larger rigs and, in some cases, better satellite reception. I plan on staying here each time I'm in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 20-August 11 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the better parks that the military has to offer. Sites are large and can accommodate any size RV. MAKE RESERVATIONS!! They accept them up to 60 days in advance for retired members, and you can request sites that are satellite available, so why not do it, The campground is clean and well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. We stay here every summer and will always have that answer. Lots to do in Colorado Springs and there is always something happening at the Academy. They used to have a monthly rate for the summer season, but is now a flat rate of $22 per day. Expensive by some standards but still cheaper than parks in the nearby area. Don't miss out on this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 30-June 13, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice wooded campground. Easy to find coming in the South gate. Staff was very nice & helpful. Will stay again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 4 - 6, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.G. left this review using the Directory software: - This is the first time we've stayed at a FamCamp and based on our experience here, we will check out FamCamps first for future trips and we will definitely stay here any time we are traveling in the area again. It was convenient for visiting Garden of the Gods, the Cog Railroad, and the Academy Chapel. Since I'm a light sleeper, I was a little concerned about the close proximity of the railroad tracks, especially after reading a few of the reviews. I was very pleasantly surprised to find the it was no problem at all, even though we had a campsite about as close as you could get to the railroad track end of the campground. It might be a problem, if you were sleeping in a tent or a pop-up, but not in an RV. The people who checked us in were very helpful and pleasant. The facilities were clean and well maintained. Our campsite was level and well shaded. We were able to get both TV and internet access. This was an excellent introduction to FamCamps. Thanks to this U.S. Military Campgrounds Directory, which we decided to purchase, we'll be prepared for future trips. It's well worth the price to keep up-to-date on nationwide FamCamps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 16-30, 2013
(Updated: June 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here Jun 16-30, 2013. The 40 sites on the west side of the park are closed for an electrical system upgrade/rebuild. The contractor has laid the new conduit, pulled most on the new wiring and is installing new electric boxes. We were told the scheduled contract completion date is 9/5/13 but staff is hoping for early completion. After electrical work new gravel will laid on roads & sites disrupted for the new conduit. Staff is hoping to reopen area in time for USAFA Parents Weekend Aug 29 thru Labor Day. North Gate inbound restriction due to bridge work continues; RV's are to use South Gate entry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Summer 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Called for reservations, and they didn't have space for the whole time I was here, but made for the few days they had. Within an hour, Jane called back to inform me they had a cancellation and could get me in but I would have to move to a space after the first night. When we got here, we were informed that they were able to get me set for the whole time. Then I threw them a loop and asked to stay for an extra 4 days. They had us go to our site and within an hour came out to tell us we could stay but would have to move in a couple days which was no problems for us. After walking around the camp that night, we found a space we really liked that the signpost said the people were moving out the next day. So up to the office again, asking if we could have that space. They were able to move a couple things around and get us the space we wanted. Diane and Jane in the office have been great and so helpful. I will come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This FamCap of 100+ sites has about 40 sites (West Side) with no electric. The power is off and they are beginning construction on the new 30 and 50 amp service this week. One employee said they hope to have full service finished by Labor Day. Also, they were limiting entrance to the South Gate (Exit 151 from I-25) as the bridge at the North Gate (Exit 156 from I-25) has some structural problems and they were limiting RV's and big trucks to the South Gate. Use the directions above and you'll have no problems finding the FamCamp from the South Gate. As someone said -GO SLOW through the gate and you'll have no problem. I made the mistake of not making reservations early enough for our projected 10 day stay. It also coincided with the 2013 graduation for the AF Academy - not good. The staff managed to find us all service spots for all but one night - we had to move 4 times but we were okay with that. The sites are for the most part roomy (we have a big rig) and allow for some privacy. Trees can cause difficulty with TV reception but this is an area that has so much to offer that TV just wasn't a priority for us. Staff is very helpful - from sites, to propane service, to letting folks know they have the AF Frequent Camper packages available and supplying quarters for laundry when change machines don't work. Trains were not an issue for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2010
(Updated: November 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The only negative about this awesome campground is the coal train that comes real close to the (I think East) side of the CG. If you are a light sleeper, the camp ground is really big and ask for a site away from the coal train.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28-29 Sep 2012
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed here many, many times. Our son graduated in 2011 and he attended the prep school before going 'up the hill'. So we've been coming for football games and cadet events for many years. Even now our daughter-in-law has a brother here so we still do some cadet events. We attend most of the away football games and we use military FamCamps whenever we can. Peregrine Pines FamCamp is among the very best. At least as good as Nellis and Travis. The staff is first rate. I truly have no complaints or suggestions for improvement. As long as I am blessed to be physically able to do so, I will continue to use this great facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
4sept-11Sept 2012
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our second visit and certainly won't be our last. We were in site 77 near laundry and bathhouse. Excellent free wi-fi and satellite friendly. Sites are large, well maintained and great recycle program. Would suggest that on checking in, this be mentioned. There is also for larger items, a good recycle area near the Exchange. The frequent trains are not a negative. Great area for shopping and restaurants and sightseeing. Staff is most friendly and informed. One of our favorite campgrounds. Once again we had John Goodwin of mdforrv's do a fixed over the air antenna. Last time we had him install a satellite dish. Another plus is washing of RV permitted. Look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
88 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5