Peregrine Pines FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

40 reviews with 4 stars
151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
40 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2
Ordering
24-31Jul 2012
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
L.R. left this review using the Directory software: - This FamCamp is fantastic! Staff are more than helpful and accommodating. I arrived a couple of hours early and they went to see if my assigned site was vacate. It was so I was allowed to check in. My only negative comment concerns the Air Force Academy's medical facility. I went to get two prescription refilled. The clerk, at AFA's Community Pharmacy, said they would have to call the original pharmacy to get the prescriptions transferred and it would take at least 72 hours. Wal-Mart had it done in 2 hours! Despite the AFA's medical facility, I would stay at Peregrine Pines again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed 2 weeks in June until the wildfires drove us out. Had a great experience as the park is large & spacious. Got used to the train noise after a few days. Nothing bad to report as it was a really great visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a great campground and I understand the high marks. The young woman at the front desk was exceptional! The sites are spacious and plenty of room to negotiate the 40 ft motorhome. The only downside has been the train noise - the train rumbles thru and blows the horn all night. As previously posted you can eventually get used to it however, it is a downside to an otherwise totally pleasant experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 12, 2011
(Updated: August 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
There are two reasons for the low Experience rating. First, there are only a few sites in this RV Park that are level enough to prevent the use of boards to level RV's with longer wheel bases. Many motorhomes can be seen with wheels off the ground. Management is aware of this problem. Secondly, although there is a 5MPH speed limit sign at the entrance to the gravel/dirt road and speed bumps have been installed speeding continues to be a serious problem. Campground Office workers speed in and out themselves so I doubt this problem will be resolved. Solution for RVers is to keep the RV closed and air conditioners running to prevent dust from infiltrating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct. 3 - 6, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
B.A. left this review using the Directory software: Winter season began 10/4/. Winter rates $18. Great sites but roads are dusty and dry. Not a problem except for the inconsiderate campers who don't follow the 5 mph speed limit in the campground. Anything over 5 mph kicks up dust and gets into campers with doors/windows open. No diesel in base gas station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2 - 19, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just spent 2 1/2 weeks and had weather from the 50's up to the 90's and pea size hail one morning. Extremely clean restrooms/showers & laundry. Campground Management went out of their way to assist. I was surprised at how large the installation is, from the S Gate to the FamCamp is almost 5 miles! We saw wild turkeys, deer and squirrels on the installation. My spot was close to the RR tracks and it took some time to get use to the train whistles (loud) better than ½ dozen times most nights. If in the area again, will definitely stay again. BTW, summer rates are $20/night for authorized users and $25/night for guest that are not authorized that might be caravanning with you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 16-25, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice FamCamp and an excellent location in Colorado Springs. The nearby train tracks with the noise and whistles at night is the only negative. We loved the large wooded sites and and it is a great place to walk. Bathrooms and laundry are spotless and washer/dryers only $.75 each. The golf course is truly beautiful and a great course to play. Although the office is being renovated, someone was there almost every day. Cable would have been nice as TV reception was minimal. Wish it had been a little warmer - we got six inches of snow one day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 -28 April 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Update to my last input on the USAF Acacemy's famcamp. I stated that the famcamp has not had any improvements since 2004; however, there has been maintenance and they have added gravel to the campsites for the last two springs and the last two weeks has seen a steady improvement to the campsites. Tons of gravel have been distributed to the RV sites and they seem to be in alot better shape now. I talked to the Famcamp Manager after my last input and was told that they were trying to get enough road rock to also cover the roads into the campsites and it also appears that the registration office is being redone. During the summer there will be someone in the registration office during duty hours but no one to talk to after duty hours if there is problems or questions. The base has one of the best golf courses in the military system and is worth a visit just to play the two 18 hole courses.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 20- April 12 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I would not say that this is the best managed famcamp in DOD! There have been no improvements to this famcamp since 2004. The roads into the sites are dirt and therefore muddy whenever it rains. They are raising the rates to $20 starting April 1st. Someone said the sites are level - I don't think you can not find a level site anywhere in the park. On the positive side - Linda at the Rec Center is outstanding!! The bathroom facilities (upgraded in 2004) are always clean and kept in good shape. The maintenance man does a good job but I can't say that he cleans the grills as soon as someone leaves. It is set in the woods which gives you that "camping" experience but it also has the trains and uneven gravel sites. The famcamp setting is great not the management, except Linda! The area is a great place to visit with many many things to do and see but I do not confuse the famcamp as being outstanding just because it happens to be at the foot of the Rockies and locate on the beautiful Air Force Academy. All that said, I like the famcamp, just not enough to say it is one of the best and I really do not like the rate increase (btw - the rate increase is to pay off a 2004 loan to the Air Force).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 4-8 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A "sponsored guest" and I stayed here for our 1st time. They do have street signs BUT they are all on the left side of the street so it makes it hard to see the sign before you get to it. The two ladies in the office were GREAT and HELPFUL and went out of their way to answer any questions. The office staff make a tour through the park about ever 2 hours and the base security comes by about 5-6 times a day. The park is nice but since the roads and sites are mostly dirt you might have a problem if there are hard rains. We would not mind staying here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jul 30, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Love this place but have to mention a couple of things. Wifi is awful, I do not think it is right for them to advertise this when it is not working. It is also hard to understand the rule about lengths of stay. Had an emergency situation and needed to stay a while but even with all that land they would not bend unless the reservations were down to 80%. I know we have to have boundries but just needed a little help
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
9 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
B.G. left this review using the Directory software: The only thing to complain about is the dust, it is always present and most drivers do not observe the posted 5mph limit. Otherwise, this would be a top choice of all famcamps. Setting in the woods is super, most are level and very spacious.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5-12 April 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We spent a week here and were impressed by the facility. The lady in the office went out of her way to find us a great site and was very helpful. The setting, in the tall pines, is wonderful. The WiFi worked well during our entire stay. The only drawbacks are the train noise, which depending on your site may not be much of a problem, and that the sites aren't too level. Nice commissary; small BX. The Academy Chapel is a MUST visit. A great location to base from; lots to see and do in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 6-11, 07
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with others; Beautiful campground with sites nestled in the trees, with wide drives, no overhanging braches, and great, level sites. Water pressure IS very high, train DOES wake you, and cost is slightly higer than many military CGs. There is only a toddler play area, and only main roads are paved, so kids may have a difficult time staying occupied without "adult supervision." Recycling by commissary and a good selection of organics and "healthy foods" at the commissary. CG is close to many services, and the current CG hosts are excellent!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 19, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There is a 30-amp and a 50-amp section in this campground. The 50A side is a heavily wooded area so you may not get satellite signals if you have a roof top dish. A portable dish is necessary. The gravel access road is free of overhanging tree limbs. The FHU sites are gravel and mostly level. There is an odd layout that provides a lot of space on some sites and just average on others. A couple of the very helpful check-in staff have rigs parked here so they are familiar with matching rig size to sites. Voltage was good, but at the time of our stay, the water pressure was about 95 psi, which is way too high and can damage RV plumbing. Bring a good regulator if you stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
P.R. left this review using the Directory software: The camp host was really friendly and guided us to disconnect and park our motorcycle trailer and then led us to the site. He even gave us a ride back to the camp office to pick up our bikes. He told me they are looking for a winter camp host right now if anyone is interested.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
All info so far is right on. Couple of things to add. The Pass and ID section is very user friendly. We brought guests in to stay with us and all I had to do was show my ID at the gate to get them on post. Then we went to ID section to get them car pass for duration of thier stay. Thier famcamp cost was $22 a day. The present camp hosts are ok. No where near as good as the ones that used to be here, but just adequate. We will return as often as possible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
One of our favorite places to stay. The campground is surrounded by spectacular Rocky Mountain scenery with easy access to all the attractions in the Colorado Springs area. Be prepared to drive a bit, however, as the Academy grounds are large and the campground is located on the north edge with Colorado Springs to the south. But, the campground is worth the drive. The only downside was already mentioned....the railroad tracks on the east end of the campground. If you request a site on the West end or near the office, the train sounds aren't as much of a factor. High recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Beautiful setting in a Ponderosa pine forest with a great view of Pikes Peak on clear days. Interior roads and sites are gravel. Spacing between trees allows satellite TV access at many sites. No campfires allowed but a grill and picnic table are available for cooking. Immaculate bathhouse and laundry. Small clubhouse with books, magazines, games, and puzzles. Friendly and helpful staff. Office is at the campground. Only negative is a railroad track at the eastern edge of the campground and it can get busy (and noisy) on some nights.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2006
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Wonderful campground with large sites and plenty of open space between them. We found the hosts and staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Great to tour the USAF Academy and nearby Royal Gorge. Didn't get a higher rating because of the noisy trains next to the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
40 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2