Peregrine Pines FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (151)
164093 0 27 1 99

User reviews

151 reviews
 
66%
 
25%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(151)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(151)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(151)
Value
 
4.4(151)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
151 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Sept 16 - Oct 6, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Second time here. Be aware, you have to arrive during office hours. Have Insurance and registration for vehicles when checking in, to include the RV. Will save you a bit of time. As others have said, use Exit 150 to the south entrance of the base, it's closest to the campground. Park is nice and wooded, with several large pull thrus. The way that it is arranged gives you a good amount of room. Fires have to have a screen over them, or be propane. Just learned today that their official length limit for an RV is 45 feet, even tho they have some 90 feet sites. Our fifth wheel is 46 feet, but will now be 45 feet when making reservations. The explanation for this rule is that they are rated for 45 feet. The employee said they were going to start enforcing it, so your mileage may vary. We're currently in site 61 and have a DRV Fullhouse, Semi, and Jeep - all in the designated parking space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 11 - Sep 3, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second time staying at Peregrine, this time in site 12 versus site 99. Arrival - During high season, if you haven't called ahead of time for a reservation, good luck. Make sure you pay attention to the 30-day stay cap for the high season. Tips - Driving north on I-25, take exit 150 to the South Entrance of the USAFA, it's easier than driving to the North Entrance; fewer round-bouts and construction. Driving south on I-25 do the same. Make sure to bring all of your registration and insurance documents for your rig into the office with you. By DoD, mask are required inside all DoD buildings so, give the Peregrine Pines folks a break and wear your mask without comment or voicing your personal opinions, they're only doing their job. Favorites - The trees, the location on the Academy, Manitou Springs, highway 24 and access to fishing and mountain towns, and the mountains. Negatives - While I love the sound of distant trains.....every night at 0330 gets a little old; granted, it was better at site 12 than site 99. Colorado Springs isn't quite the draw that it used to be. The rush hour traffic on I-25 is ridiculous, plan your arrival/departure accordingly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
27 Aug 2021-1 Sep 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Originally planned to stay just 2 nights here, after the first night we extended our stay another 4 nights. Beautiful location, quiet campground even when full. There is an occasional train that goes thru but not a big deal. Large lots with plenty of shade. Ton of things to do nearby. All facilities are clean and laundry is $1.50/load. Will definitely be staying here again when we travel thru the area. You will definitely need a water pressure regulator, upwards of 80+ lbs pressure. Only negative is the campground Wi-Fi has a weak signal and basically no bandwidth so have your own internet access. Cell signal is a strong 2-3 bar 4G so our hotspot worked fine.
Peregrine Pines FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 Jul 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
To register for an RV campsite at Peregrine Pines Famcamp you must provide registration and proof of insurance for both your tow vehicle (truck, car, motorhome, etc.) **AND** trailer (travel-trailer, 5th wheel, etc). We checked-in at Peregrine with an in-bed truck camper today (18Jul2021) and they requested the registration and proof of insurance for our truck and in-bed truck camper (a fully self-contained camper with shower/bed/toilet/frig/dinette that sits in the bed of our truck). When we camped at Peregrine last year with our in-bed truck camper, no such request was made. Our state (along with 41 other states) do not require an in-bed truck camper to be registered, titled or tagged. As such, we were unable to provide a registration. Long story short, the check-in clerk made an "exception" and allowed us to camp "this one time". In any case, this is just a friendly reminder to anyone with plans to camp at Peregrine Pines Famcamp: have your vehicle **AND** trailer registration and proof-of-insurance handy when you check-in. Also, a friendly reminder for those with an in-bed truck camper: if you're a legal resident of a state that does not issue a registration/title/tag for an in-bed truck camper, you may have problems obtaining a campsite a Peregrine Pine Famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
3 - 12 June 21
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Northbound travelers beware, I-25 exit 156 is NOT clearly marked and is under extensive construction; you are better off entering the USAFA using the South Gate entrance exit 150. Alternatively, you can bypass exit 156, take the next exit, go over the bridge and approach exit 156 while heading south on I-25. The north gate entrance to the USAFA has some new traffic slowing curves and a narrow entrance as well. PPFC was very easy to find once on the grounds of the USAFA. Ashleigh and Courtney were very accommodating at check-in, very quick process. $35/night for a nice 65' pull-thru (site 99). The sites are beautifully treed (great for hammocks!) and wide. The approaches are pretty easy to navigate. The utilities are in good repair but, our sewer was up hill from our fairly level site. Lots of wildlife with the occasional sound of the passing train and small engine aircraft overhead pulling their gliders. Overall, great location, people, and value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
August 23 - September 9, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As we and others have said, this is our favorite FAMCAMP. We had two good stays this summer. The staff appeared to take the required COVID protections seriously and conducted themselves well. The staff did a good job of letting everyone know of water disconnecting needed prior to a Labor Day week freeze event. They did not do quite as well advising about a water outage for repairs on the west side of the park the first week of October. Our second visit this year was our first experience on the older, west side of the campground. the 50A sites are spacious, but it's a little quirky driving a 40 Ft. motorhome through the west side. For those who don't like the train noise, the west side is better, but AT&T cell/data service is poor. We left the west side on the morning of October 8th and they were shutting down that side of the campground that day. The east side was completely full with folks in for the Columbus Day weekend and to take advantage of the early part of the first come, first served, no stay limit season starting on the 9th. Leaf peeping was good during the first week of October this year. It would have been outstanding if not for the smoke haze from regional forest fires. We'll be back next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Sept 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great stay at the USAFA. This is our favorite famcamp. Reservations are currently required due to Covid. No drive-ups allowed. Masks and social distancing required at the office. Walking thru the famcamp, not so much. Yes, there is a train that comes thru and sometimes a horn blows. At $30 a night for a wonderfully sized site in Colorado Springs, it isn't a big deal. Other than the train, it is very quiet. Got lucky this time and was able to get some satellite tv with Dish. No off leash dog area on the base, but no one bothered me for letting him run at the stadium parking lot. The base auto hobby shop has reasonable prices for vehicle detailing. If you want to use their equipment to work on your vehicle, you have to take a test. It isn't hard, but it is a nuisance. No idea when we'll pass thru "The Springs" again, but when we do, we'll no doubt stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our 6 night stay. Excellent location for touring around Colorado Springs. Really enjoyed Old Colorado City which is in Colorado Springs city limits. Ate at Amanda's Fonda in Old Colorado City. Outside seating on the creek. Food was really good, great margaritas. PX and Commissary were in full operation. Got a decent haircut on base. The sites are big. No complaints with any of the hookups. We were fortunate that we had a clear view of the southern sky for our portable satellite dish which could be a problem due to all the pine trees. I read some complaints about the train...did not bother us, but we run one of the air conditioners for white noise and air circulation. The only interaction with staff was at check in. Young lady was very friendly. I actually wish we could stay longer, but we are on a three month trip and had to move on. I highly recommend this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed three nights, but with lots of activities and visiting friends, we didn't spend that much time at the FamCamp. That being said, the RV pad was level (19), even if the picnic table at the site was not. Slightly annoyed at the fact that you had to rent a fire pit separately ($8 for the first night, $5 each subsequent night). That being said, it was nice and quiet, nicely central for everything around the Colorado Springs area, and now my wife is really interested in checking out other FamCamps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
July 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful campground with nicely spaced sites for lots of privacy and lots of extra green space. You can hear some traffic noise during rush hours and there is an occasional train horn, but otherwise the place is very quiet at night. Lots of tall trees - very nice for shade, but my sirius radio did not work well, and I doubt satellite TV would either. Verizon signal is good. No wifi at sites, but you can rent a hot spot if you don't have your own. My site was very level, but it looked to me that many of them were fairly off-level, as the entire park is set into a hill. Decent customer service when you go into the office, but they do not always answer the phone. Currently no guests - military and retired only, and no drop-ins - must have a reservation. No late arrivals - have a plan B ready.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here during Thanksgiving 2019 and it was nice. Second day and Mother Nature dumped tons of snow on us. Beautiful in all of it's wonders but this Texas Fella didn't like it much. Wifey enjoyed the snow. Nice location, awesome folks helped along the way and meet some great people. Nothing in the world can beat the family of Military Vets. Only negative is we had to roll out a day early due to another monster snow storm coming. It's only as fun as you make it and we had fun exploring.
Peregrine Pines FamCamp
Peregrine Pines FamCamp
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
15-18 June 2020
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Pros: $30 per night for full hook up sites. Good location relative to Colorado Springs and for the base. Good space for most sites. Cons: Road noise from I-25. Intermittent loud train horns at night. Dry and dusty. Pay to use approved enclosed campfire pits per day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
22-24 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
FamCamp reopened in mid-May. Bath houses still closed. Reservations need to be made by phone. Check-in only during work hours. No late check-in currently. Park already mostly full for summer. North gate currently only open 0600-0800 and 1500-1700 during workweek.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12 Sept. 2019
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I didn't see any comments that mentioned the train. We left after one sleepless night. There is a train crossing next to the campground. The campground and facilities are very good, but we won't be returning. Also, the cadet chapel is closed for remodeling -- a long-term project. A disappointment, but not the reason for our negative review.
BW
Top 100 Reviewer
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
October- November 2019
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location is the best part of this FamCamp. In the winter season you basically check yourself in, find a spot and fill out a form and place in the office door. I’m not sure how they run it in the “On Season” but in the Fall/ Winter nothing really gets done. We stayed for almost a month and the change machines in the laundry rooms were never functioning and most of the washers were “out of order” most likely because they couldn’t accept any more coins. Every time I drive by the office it says closed even during the few winter hours they are supposed to be open. I was told to go to the office to show my ID and the door was locked. The manager heard me so opened the door and was rude and the opposite of welcoming. Other then that we love exploring the local areas including Pike’s Peak and Garden of the Gods. There was an unusual October snow storm which made everything beautiful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 15-22, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Check in was fast and very professional. Roads were wide enough for our 43' motorhome. All utilities worked well and were well placed. We really enjoyed our time here. The campsite was level and we were not on top of our neighbor. Very nice setting in the pines! We would use it again if in the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 7-12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been here several times & have always had a good camping experience. Check in is simple, staff was friendly, professional & helpful. I know sometimes people can have a bad day, both workers & campers but the staff here has always been professional. Road in was easy to navigate, lots of trees but they weren’t a problem. This time we had to use leveling blocks to get level. We had site 75, a pull thru gravel site on the eastern edge of the campground with nothing next to us on our patio side except trees & views. Utilities worked fine & located for easy connection. Self contained so we didn’t use the facilities. Laundry room was clean as were the washers & dryers. We will return to this FamCamp whenever we’re in this area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
3 - 30 June 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Another fairly good stay. We always enjoy coming here, but as with other FAMCAMPS we’ve visited in the last year or two, maintenance seems to be slipping. There were several campsites out of service for at least a week. The camp is becoming less dog friendly. There used to be quite a few dog bag stations with trash cans attached to them. There are only a couple of stations now and all the attached trash cans have been removed. Still a good FAMCAMP overall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2019
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Restroom were never clean!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 12, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Terribly managed famcamp. Poorly maintained roads, hanging trees, dirty bathrooms. Staff is rude!!! They pick your spot for you and you must accept it! Too much speeding in the park and no dog park for your dog to run. They are very hard on tenants with animals!!!!! We booked two weeks here, terrible staff, they put you in one spot and asked you half way through your stay to change to another. No grass all dirt, they have a 4.5 mph speed limit but their workers can drive as fast as they want around you. No dog park, don’t think of putting your dog outside in a dog run on your site cause they will not alllw it. Run down campground. Terrible management. I witnessed him yelling at fellow patron. Do yourself a favor and don’t come here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
151 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8