Vandenberg SFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.8 (73)
107832 0 21 0 53

User reviews

30 reviews with 4 stars
73 reviews
 
33%
 
40%
 
15%
 
10%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
3.9(73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(73)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(73)
Value
 
3.9(73)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
11 June 2022
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped here for one night on our way up the west coast. If you are on Hwy 101 and exit at Hwy 1 to go to Lompoc, be prepared for a very steep incline just west of 101. Our diesel pusher with an F-150 in tow really struggled getting up an over that hill. The inspection at the Lompoc gate was very mundane; did have to open all the bays but just for a second. We had a reservation but not a site number but as we pulled in we were met immediately by the camp host, a very friendly and professional woman named Whitney. She had our site assignment and welcome package ready. We were in the "parking lot" but it's pretty wide open and level so we had no trouble backing our 38-foor rig into the site. The check-in process includes reviewing about a 12-page document of rules and regulations. You have to initial every page and sign a bunch of places and return it to Whitney. Plus email her a copy of your rig's registration and your pet's vaccination record. So be prepared. Very quiet night; good place for a stopover.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
January 1, 2022
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Recreation/Laundry/Shower building is in desperate need of a fresh coat of paint. See photos attached.
Vandenberg AFB FamCamp
Vandenberg AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20-23 Aug 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Ok place to stay the weather is comfortable. The site we stayed in was just part of a parking lot with full hookups. A mobile veterinarian happened to be on site and was able to get the dogs shots updated. BTW they wanted to see the dog's shot records. There were coyotes running around in the overflow sites. The base is a sleepy place without much activity. There is beach access from the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
20 - 25 NOV 20
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice place to stage for the surrounding areas of Lompoc, Solvang, and Santa Barbara. Being there for the SpaceX launch was an unexpected bonus as well. Pull-through site 10 was very nice but had a large pine tree on the left side which made things a little messy/hairy getting in and leveling. Do not book site 9 if you are expecting a pull-through, power pole at the end. Great laundry facilities, ok WiFi, and lounge areas. Don't expect too much from the FamCamp office customer service side of things though; the camp host was marvelous, can't say the same for the folks in the office. Thank you VAFB for a nice stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June - August 2-19
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The rates shown are not accurate. It is 28 per day for the pull throughs and some of the back ins that now allow two spots instead of one for additional room. Weekly rate is 180. The other backins are still cramped and close to each other for 26 per day or 165 per week. I would avoid this area if I could. I really enjoyed my stay for the quiet area and the wide open spaces available for biking, walking, jogging etc. The weather is always cool and breezy. There is access to beach areas without leaving the base. The onsite staff were very friendly. The grounds were well kept. Internet was not usable and was never repaired even with constant followup. The answer seemed to revolve around one person at outdoor rec who had the password to the router but was not available. The excuse is really as stupid as it sounds. At the same time the wifi for the office was usable and it seemed that if you were connected (knew the right person) you could get the password and use that wifi as needed. wink wink nod nod, say no more. So there was really no incentive for the regulars and the office to apply any priority to fixing the camp wifi connection. Why not just make the other connection available to all if the other is not going to get repaired. This campsite has an office staff and two hosts sharing duties. I would say a bit of an overkill considering the size of the park and the reponsibilities involved. One of the hosts has dogs that are tied but pretty vicious. We decided not to walk by that area. The same host has the outdoor area around her rv looking like trailer trash. My only other observation, sorry to be so negative, was the ability for civilian contractors being able to live in their trailers. Their cost is 30 per night or 200 per week. These are civilian contractors living on base with all utilities paid for 900 per month. On the weekends the 10 o clock quiet time was not enforced as it was rotating beer time at one of the contractor sites. One of the camp hosts is directly across from this group of 4 contractors and likely never maentioned it. I will never understand any military "fam camp" which I guess is an abbreviation of family campground to allow people to stay any longer than a month. There are a group of at least three retirees that stay 6 months every summer and have been able to do so for several years running. How is this serving our active duty as a family campground. The longer people stay, the more it morphs into a trailer park and the trailer trash that generally gets too comfortable. There is no reason why anyone should not be able to drive up here and get a campsite. Too many long termers prevent family campers from being served.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 26 7
Feb 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped in for a week on a slow northbound route. The park was functional and provided a location for us to explore the area. Some very nice areas to view the surf and generally kick back. The only problems we had were being evacuated @2230HRS the first night we were there due to high winds, soggy ground and trees near the power lines over head. It was a Friday night and the camp host was very good at keeping us informed as the fire and power crews worked to ensure every ones safety. Other than that the stay was not too remarkable. The dining facility was convenient and the prices modest. All facilities such as BX and Express all close early, no "club" to speak of so socializing was limited to the Park People between rain showers. It would be nice if the RV facility received some up grades. Our pull through site had bumps where roots of the now dead pines had grown, TV reception was very limited and no WiFi. My wife started puzzles twice in the "adult" lounge and each time they were put back in the box the next day (She made me add this). The lounges and bathrooms were very well kept. The personnel in the office stayed in the office were cordial, had problems with the dryers and was told that maintenance had been notified. We stayed the first week of FEB 19, in a 32 foot motor home with tow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
January, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our time at Vandenberg. The park is clean and well kept. Our dealings with the camp host were very friendly and helpful. Our first site had an electrical problem but they put us in a different spot (in the parking lot area) and it worked out just fine. The famcamp is toward the back end of the base so there is very little traffic and very quiet. Verizon signal was ok - not real strong (our hotspot would get real slow at times). The famcamp wifi was ok. It would also slow down at times. There is a very nice BX and a huge commissary (under remodel). We got to see a launch while we were there, which was exciting. There's a couple different sections to the famcamp. There is the section that has pull throughs in a grassy area with trees. There are a couple of sections that are in parking lots (still full hook up). It all depends on your likes - we were in the parking lot and didn't mind it at all. There was a huge field behind us where we watched a coyote (every day) try to catch ground squirrels. We would go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 10 - 19, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
we are a 45 foot motorhome towing a truck. We followed the directions and had no problem getting on base. We were asked if we had any weapons and that was it. It was possible that we were not inspected because of construction at the entrance. Check in was easy and getting into our space was a breeze. There are two lounges, one for children and one for adults, both in good condition. BX and Commissary are nice sized and easy to get to. Lompoc is the closest town. Disappointed that there did not seem to be much to the city. Santa Maria is much bigger with more things to do, but is further away. Weather here is really nice. In the 90s as we came south on the 101 and down to the 70s here at the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 25, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The FamCamp is going through a major upgrade to the pull through area. Estimated time for completion is 3-6 weeks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 29-30, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived here at VAFB yesterday and was greeted by Ken and Mary, who were very friendly and able to put me in a pull-through spot, which I must have for lots of reasons. The pull-throughs are unfortunately not level, covered by trees, only 50 amp, and the smaller part of this Famcamp with plenty of folks who look like they've been here far longer than 2 weeks. I took a look at the back-in spots and can only describe them as sad--even ghetto-ish!. Yuck! What on earth are they thinking here? It looks more like an RV storage lot than a Famcamp. I hope the MWR manager and VAFB cc pay attention. If they want the Famcamp revenue (which can be considerable!) and invest in improvements, plenty of retirees would make this a destination, but *not in this condition*. Two condemned buildings sit just next to the sites, and one of them is padlocked with all of the former break-room furniture still in place. I wonder how long it will sit there? If you have slide-outs, are unpracticed in backing in to a spot, or don't want to live on top of other people, don't come here. If you specifically reserve a pull-through spot in advance, you'll have a good experience, though (just remember you'll have to level your rig because of the tree roots that have broken up the concrete pads). As others have said, it's quiet as a mouse here...and there are plenty of rodents--squirrels abound. My dachshund and I watched a coyote watching us back at 0630 this morning. It's also generally colder by ~10 degrees than Camp San Luis Obispo, which is just an hour north. Like others who've written reviews, I also had my rig inspected at the Lompoc Gate (having read this website to learn about entry points), but I did not find it unfriendly or alienating. Personally, I wish there'd be tighter security on all of our bases. Perhaps if they secured and maintained them better, we wouldn't find this place such a mess. I know from unfortunate encounters that there are unsavory individuals (and their spouses) who bounce between military campgrounds and cause trouble...but are allowed back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Feb 28 - Mar 1, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Called ahead to reserve a spot. Both the office gent and the new host, Ken, were very cordial and professional. The cost of a pull thru site, $22, seems a bit high but the camp is well run and handy to base shopping. Disappointed that diesel is still not available on base, nearest is in Lompoc. Would certainly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Octorber 15, 2013- May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Vandenberg Famcamp has come along in the last six months. The previous camp host is not here. MWR has installed two new Famcamp host to help with your stay. I arrived Oct 15, 2013, and became one of the camp host. The old camp host is not longer here and moved to Texas. Some of the changes that have occurred have been that staff has been added to help keep the park clean and looking good. Reservations are highly recommended, but drive-ups are welcome. There is always space for drive-ups. The base is very quiet, and the beach and fishing are very close. There is Wi-Fi available and laundry is reasonable. A big change is the dining facilities has been remodeled and is open to retirees and DoD civilians. Do not come in the main gate in your RV, unless you are a small camper van, no trailers. Go through the Lompoc gate until 1900 hrs, and then the 13th street gate after that. If you go to the 13th street gate during duty hours, you will be re-directed to go through the Lompoc gate. The base is great for that super quiet time, with lots of walking and bike riding. There is some hunting for deer and pig, and the Rod and Gun Club is top notch. We also like the bowling alley for specials. The area is great for visiting missions, and the other cities are easy to visit such as: Santa Maria, Lompoc, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Solvang, and all the wine country. To us, this has turned out to be a very beautiful winter stay. We will definitely return, even if we're not hosting. We were able to get cheap tickets to all the attractions and even cheap airline tickets out of Santa Barbara for Christmas. There is a host position coming open for the summer of 2014, please contact the MWR director on Vandenberg for information. If you're active and like to stay someplace for a few months, give hosting here a thought. Thanks,
Jonathan and Sue Hawkins
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 3-6, 2013
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Let me state that everyone staying here at the campground are friendly and very helpful. Be warned if the Lompoc gate is open you will be turned away at all other gates. There are pull thru sites but we have been told there is a waiting list for those sites. It is most likely because there are a lot of homesteaders in the campground. People have lawn sprinklers set out as if they are watering their own lawn. Most of the spaces were made from two parking lots that have been converted to backin spaces. They are very tight to get into. I have a 32 foot travel trailer with opposing slide outs. When I open them I am looking right into the neighbors camper windows. If they had slide outs I could not have used the space. I was not asked when I made the reservation if I had slideouts so when making reservations you need to let them know. It's a nice base off the beaten track, very quiet with a nice commissary and BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
17 March 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
T.P. left this review using the Directory software: - We had reservations for space 11 starting on the 19th but because of the issues with Camp Roberts (see my post for details) we decided to try and come in early. Called the camp on Sunday morning (the camp host answered on the 2nd ring) and asked if we could come in early. He said when we said today he said which site we told him he said wait on while I check it then he said its open I put a cone in front of it. When we got their he meet us and led us to our site offering an assistance that we might need. The base is a long way from anywhere but has some very interesting things to see if you are into missiles and the like. Good Exchange & Commissary but the post office is a bit flackey. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25 Nov-1 Dec 2012
(Updated: December 06, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first visit and found it to be very nice and friendly. The host, Steve, met us directing us to our site and answering all our questions. We inquired about washing the RV and were told we could use the RV dump site which we did before setting up in site #38. This would be nice if all camps would offer this service. Found the laundry room very clean and efficient. The on across from the office has gas dryers. Did not check out the one in the office building. Commissary and Exchange very convenient off California Ave toward the Main gate. Exchange and gas on Community and Commissary on Utah. Not a problem coming in Lompoc gate. Guards friendly. We will definitely return. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
30 Oct - 17Nov 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you're looking for a place to do the touristy thing this isn't it. Other than the beach there isn't much to do here. Getting on base with a motorhome is a pain but bearable, they do go through all the outside bays while you wait in a room with no windows. The commissary and BX are good. The campground is clean and the sites are large enough that I could leave the trailer hooked up. If passing through this part of the country again I would stay here for the peace and quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
July 23-25, 2012
(Updated: July 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Clean and friendly. Full hookups... * 50 amp only! Although it's the most extensive check I've experienced, the security check at Lompoc gate was no big deal. Took less than five minutes and the guards were friendly. It's not an "Agave Gulch" (Arizona)... but it is pleasant. Lot's of wild life roaming around the camp... we saw deer, coyotes, and an ominous shadow lurking in the dark. With family in Lompoc, we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 11, 12, & 13, 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
"Next time do not pull forward in the inspection area until told to do so by a guard." were the first words out of the second guard's mouth. I informed him that the young lady in the guard shack told me to do just what I had done and he should take it up with her if he had a problem. Without checking insurance or registration, I surrendered my ID and we were ordered out of the vehicle, to open all compartments, and to go over to the holding cell and wait to be called out. The holding cell is to prevent you from observing the inspection, but you can observe if you are in line waiting to proceed to the inspection area. I had to open my tow vehicle's hood, but the next day when I arrived at the same gate, without my trailer in the same tow vehicle, I was waved through after showing my ID. I like security, but this was absurd. The pull thrus are nice, the rest is like a mall parking lot, although with hookups. We ate at the base Dining Hall which was very nice. For Breakfast and Lunch, you can only go in the last hour of serving time so the troops can get fed first, but Supper and weekends are open all hours for us. Saw lots of Deer and a Coyote. Steve was helpful and nice and I don't think he is from Texas. Forget emailing for reservations - they don't get to Shelly. Phone calls are not answered regularly and there is no answering machine. Per Shelly, "Just show up and we'll find you a place."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May, 2012
(Updated: May 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Loved staying here. Close to beaches, small town charm of Lompoc, with LA and San Luis Obispo within a easy drive. The office staff, specifically Shelly, is polite, helpful and a pleasure to interact with. Steve, the cigar chewing camp host, on the other hand is another story. He seems to be the leader of a "good old boys" network that exerts some influence on camp policies that favor his clique. His demeanor is tyrannical, rude, crass and obnoxious. But then he is a stereotypical Texan. The facility itself needs some upgrading. The laundry washing machines, the bathrooms and the WiFi system all need upgrading. But the main road into the camp is getting resurfaced after many years of dodging potholes. The reservation system is inconsistent, with some DoD civilian personnel living here full time. Thoroughly enjoyed being surrounded by viewable wildlife.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 2010
(Updated: December 25, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been using the Vandenberg FamCamp for at least the last ten years during hunting season. We have found the park to be quiet, clean and dog friendly. Using Breakers mess hall is certainly a $$ plus and there is lots to do in the area (Solvang, Santa Maria, Buellton). However, with all the open space, we don't understand why there aren't more spaces with hookups. The pull-thrus are great (if you can get one), but the "parking lot" spaces are tight and your view is the RV next to you. You can't open your awning and slide-outs are iffy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2