Sierra Vista RV Park

Sierra Vista RV Park

 
4.6 (16)
32895   2   11   2   18

User reviews

10 reviews with 5 stars

16 reviews

 
(10)
 
(6)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
 
4.1  (16)
 
4.6  (16)
 
4.9  (16)
 
4.8  (16)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Dec 16 - 1 Jan 17

Stayed for 4 days end of Dec. Park was less than half full and very quiet during our stay. The campground is clean and the facilities are new. Checked in at the recreation center during normal work hours so did not see the camp host during our stay. Sites are basically concrete, asphalt pads with wide gravel spacing between sites. Occasionally, you hear a propane cannon to scare off the geese from the golf course next door, but it wasn't too loud. Saw jackrabbits and a fox pass through during the day. Lots of coyotes in the area at night so don't leave your pets out. Wi-Fi worked ok, Verizon had good signal. No trees to block satellite dishes. Navy Exchange, commissary and gas station are located nearby although the gas station has a low overhang that is only 11'6". Plenty of places to eat in town. Good base camp to explore the area. We went into Death Valley, a 120 mile drive and also drove to Lone Pine, about 70 miles up Hwy 395. There are certainly closer campgrounds to these areas, but this one is super clean and a great bargain. We stayed here in a motorhome; would recommend this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 22 - May 31, 2016

We arrived May 22 and stayed 9 days.  Agreed with chiefret90 that Joan, the host, was VERY congenial and helpful.  So were the folks at Rec check-in.  Enjoyed the area very much -- the Museum of Armament and Technology, the Maturango Museum and, for geology buffs, the Trona Pinnacles, Fossil Falls, and Searle Lake.  We, too, highly recommend the site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 21 - Jun 21, 2016

I arrived one day early and the camp host met me as i drove towards my assigned site with all the paperwork. She was VERY helpful. On Monday I went to the office to do the official check in and mentioned that I was having problems with the WIFI. I did not ask for a tech but one was sent to my site within a half hour. Although the base has many restricted areas the area is BEAUTIFUL and there is much to see. I would recommend this park to anyone. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 27-April 3, 2016

After staying at about three dozen military campgrounds all across the country we can rate Sierra Vista as one of our favorites. The sites are large, clean concrete + asphalt with nice gravel between sites. MiFi is only so-so but we like the 50-amp service for a low weekly rate. The laundry, restrooms, and community room are attractive. It's quiet unless the fighter jets are flying low overhead (not often in the week we were here). The RV park was about 40% full this week, with a combination of short- and apparent long-termers. Everyone keeps their sites clean and neat and most people pick up after their dogs (unlike 29 Palms, which we visited last week). The commissary and NEX are decent sizes. The Naval Air Museum on base is very interesting. There are several miles on base to walk and cycle safely. The main downside for us is the somewhat remote location from a larger urban area like Barstow or Bakersfield and the distance to the national parks we were hoping to visit. We did spend a day at Death Valley NP but it was a long drive there and back. A shorter day drive that's very interesting is up to Lone Pine and the Alabama Hills, or up Nine Mile Canyon to Kennedy Meadows. There were a lot of wildflowers blooming at the 3,000-5,000-foot level in the surrounding mountains.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 28 - 31, 2015

Well I thought Beale AFB was out there, I have to apologize to the AF folks. China Lake NAWS is really out of the way. You got want to go there its not on the route to anywhere. But it is nearly new, clean, everything you might need is there. Yes it is HOT HOT HOT. I really like this place would stay again if anywhere close. Sequoia National Park, Bristlecone Pine Forest, and Death Valley National Park are all within a days drive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 27, 2015

Have to give this one a 5 star rating. Reservations through Navy web site, all OK. Not able to make reservation on line, but no other issues. We stayed for 2 nights as our last nights out, returning from an 11 week trip. Host great, facilities very nice. Exchange undergoing remodeling. Location near the museum. Great breakfast at the golf course. Pads level and Park about 35% full. Glad we stopped and stayed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 25, 2015

Just a couple things to add beyond the previous reviews. They've added campground (camp trailer on sign with arrow) signs to the signs to follow to the golf course. The RV park and golf course are next to each other. You should check the lateral (side to side) pitch of the parking pad. I made the mistake of expecting it to be level and unhooked before checking and it was way off! Beautiful park, beautiful area (if you like mountains and high desert!) and lots of nice amenities on the base and in Ridgecrest. I'm going to be using this place more often and stay longer next time I'm in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12-19 Jan 2015

Nice campground. 20 x 40 concrete pads, just started putting gravel between all the sites. Restrooms are clean and roomy. Laundry room clean with 4 washers and 8 dryers (I think, didn't look at price). New lower rates at least til Aug 31 maybe longer. Daily 15-20-25, Weekly 98-133-168, monthly 390-540-690 (military/retired-DOD-Guest). What a gem in the Mojave. Only about 10 sites occupied. Armament Museum is very well done, I enjoyed it. WIFI is gowifi and worked fairly well. ATT cell service 4 bars. Nice small town, has a Walmart, Home Depot, & plenty of eating and other small town places. Staff and host are very friendly and pleasant to chat with. Well worth a visit and stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 26-30, 2014

Spotlessly clean, well laid out, easy access and great people in the office and the camp host. Bathrooms are spotless, the laundry is close and very clean. The WI-Fi is available in the community room..not great, but good enough to get your mail and check the news. TV reception via antenna is good with multiple channels. The golf course is right next door and the BX and Commissary are very near by! This has been a very good experience and we will certainly return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 28, 2013 --- February 4, 2014

Just departed NAWS China Lake after 3 months and had one of the best experiences of my 46 years camping. Could be we got lucky on the weather but it could be called the "Palm Springs - North" given this years winter, basically 60-70's in day and high 20's or low 30's at night. The campground is new and well laid out so nothing wrong with the campground except it is underutilized at this point. The price a major factor among us full timers is very reasonable by the month ($17/day), no cable but just pop up your antenna and get 32 HD channels. The biggest draw for us besides a daughter living there is the desert. There are endless miles of walks, golf, a very serene setting, the mountain scenery is magnificent, and the wildlife is up close and personal. Find a reason to get to this desert resort and go in October/November when all the National Parks are still accessible or wait till the snows fall in the mountains and go for the winter sports.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10