Seal Beach RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (118)
186775 5 30 2 98

User reviews

118 reviews
 
59%
 
37%
 
3%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(118)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(118)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(118)
Value
 
4.3(118)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(118)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
118 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
Feb. 20-28, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For the first three winters of our travels, we have returned to Southern California to visit doctors, family, etc. Until we gave in and tried Seabreeze, it was always a hassle trying to find affordable, feel-good accommodations. Location was the attraction for us, but it turned out to be a very good over-all experience. Everything in Southern Cal is expensive -- this place is a good value. Incidentally, they told us they need to get up to 80% occupancy before they can expand the number of sites: as more people hear about the park, that's bound to happen soon. I can see it rivaling Nellis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb. 25 - Mar. 9, 2009
(Updated: March 09, 2009)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although we've visited here before, this was the first time we spent more than a few hours. This is a very nice park, clean, well ran, well kept, and a fair value for the location. We used the park as a base for visiting Disneyland (20 minutes away), and friends and family in 4 directions. Knotts Berry Farm is also only 20 minutes away. Of course, the free laundry was greatly appreciated. There were plenty of available machines. The restrooms were always kept very clean. During our almost 2 week stay, there were empty RV sites available. But busier than I expected for slow season. Reservations are a must during the rest of the year. We had made reservations a day in advance for this visit without problems. The office staff was friendly. It's convenient that the RV Park office is also the ITT office. Before we arrived, we were called and informed to use the Westminster gate since a base exercise was going on. However, normally RV'ers are to still use the main gate with the above provided directions. Although I really dislike the heavy traffic and smog of Southern California, this locations is perfect for us to visit family. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
February 9 and 10, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
E. V. left this review using the Directory software: We were slowed by Freeway traffic, at approximately 1800 the camp host Eric Johnson contacted me by phone and asked my position. I told him I was still a couple of hours out. He said he'd wait for us at the office which normally closed at 1800. We arrived at approximately 1930 and there he was. We checked in then he walked us to our site. The base is very clean, sites were concrete and level. Bathrooms were very clean and well ventilated. I was impressed. I would recommend this RV park to everyone. Had a very enjoyable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6 FEB - 10 FEB 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a REALLY nice campground. Very level cement slabs including a cement slab to park your vehicle. Nice new picnic tables at each site. Very cordial check-in process and I appreciated all the info in the packet that is given to each camper. Free laundry is always a plus and it's quite roomy and new and clean. Only supposed to use two washers/dryers at a time. Hours of operation are from 7am-10pm with a combination lock. A bookcase in the laundry has a magazine and book exchange. The RV wash bay is only $2 (no washing of rigs in the RV park, but we saw two people doing it anyway). I was able to get through just fine when making a reservation and had no problems with the reserved site but I WILL admit that I had called a few days earlier and left a message and no one ever got back to me. Very well maintained place--lots of well manicured grass-just a really pleasant place to stay. Our Verizon air card worked very well here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 15 - 29, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
An excellent RV park military or civilian! You get 15 pages of military regulations that contain all sorts of threats. My observation is that they don't enforce regulations to keeping one's site free of superfoulous junk. Three campers had campsites that looked like they were there for a much longer time then the limited 30 days. Keep your dog on a leash! The whole base awaits dog owners who allow their dog to run.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Aug. 31- Sept. 7, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the nicer campgrounds. The sites are huge, laundry is free. Lots of trails to ride bikes on. Convenient to the beaches, shopping etc. If in the area again, would definitely stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 20 - Sep 4, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has become my favorite place in SO.CAL. to stay as well. I also had trouble getting through earlier in the summer to reserve a place. I asked for a spot close to the showers and laundry but got moved to where it was a trek with my laundry. Not a serious problem, but when I reserved, I was told I would be close. There is not a lot on this base in the way of playgrounds for kids, commissary, or decent BX. But I haven't felt this secure since 1968. There is a young man now working in the office who really wants to do a good job. Hopefully he'll stay. But this is very close to the beaches, sunny late in the morning, and nice an cool at night. A huge plus having just come from Nellis AFB, NV !!! The golf course was very nice also. I have always said, "If the greens are good, I don't care if the place is a goat ranch." Beautiful redone clubhouse with a nice breakfast and a lunch buffet. Delicious!!!! And I'm off to Admiral Baker in San Diego.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
July 2008
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Our favorite place to stay in So. California. We have been using this facility since it opened; it is a beautiful setting and close to everything but....good luck trying to get through on the phone to get a reservation and if you do (warning!!!) ask for some sort of confirmation in WRITING. I cannot count the times we have been given a reservation, with a site number, and when we showed up, the spot was occupied. In addition, we have reserved a site in person, including site number, and when we showed up, again, the spot was filled. Another issue is that they allow large civilian groups (from the local area) into the facility and turn down active or retired military, saying that they are full (when in reality there are always open spaces due to their incompetence); that is a CRIME. All we can say is that is a first class facility run by people who have no idea how to run a campground. They should take lessons from Point Mugu or Admiral Baker, they know the meaning of customer service!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
July 13, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit to this campground and we plan on returning again in the near future. One thing we noticed this time was entrance was only allowed through the main gate, that's no problem but the entrance is pretty tight, so watch closely as you enter. We entered the campground after hours, arriving at 5:15 p.m. and found the office closed with a note directing visitors to contact the camp host. The camp host was not available during the evening, so we just took a site and paid in the morning when the office personnel were on duty. This is a very nice campground, the entire facility is very nice and the people are very friendly. For PET OWNERS: Be careful letting your pet get too close to the gopher holes, I was told that poison has been placed in the holes recently.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
June 21-26, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay. Centrally located for most activities for families. Clean, plenty of space for Rv and towing vehicle in space. Great breeze in summer. Looking forward to a return soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June 9 to 13, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: This was a great place to stay. The RV park and whole base were very clean and well kept. It is near the town of Sealbeach which is a nice little place. The temps were in the 60's and 70's no air conditioning required. Looking forward to returning . No loud noises and all the facilities were very clean and modern. RV spaces are really huge. I had space enough to park my 22' trailer, truck, plus space for a boat and maybe another vehicle, and your area is surrounded by grass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
23-26 May 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful, well-maintained campground with a great location!! Our family spent Memorial Day weekend here and enjoyed every minute. Facilities were sparkling clean and people were friendly and hospitable. We will definitely return soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 08 - Feb 08
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is the 2nd year we have stayed here. It is so centrally located to all attractions, it's a great place for vacations to save a little cash compared to motel/hotels. They are a bit pricey, and we stayed here almost 2 full months and I have to say they maint. guys there are constantly doing things that don't need done! I think there are around 5 guys who work there. 2 spend most of their day in the laundry room watching TV and talking on their cellphones, another older man works so slow he would have to speed up to make a good stop! They mowed the ENTIRE grounds weekly (winter time) and would be lucky to get 1/2 bag if that of clippings as the grass grows so slow in the winter time. Makes you think that they could reduce the staff and maybe offer free wi-fi? We did use the wi-fi service offered, VERY EXPENSIVE though really good hi-speed. Will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
24 Jan 08
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
New manager now on board. Facilities are clean and in working order. The woman at the desk is the same one that was there last year so the reservation problems can still exist. I made the reservations on the 22nd to arrive on the 24th. An hour after making the reservations, she called to find out why we hadn't checked in yet. We've stayed here before and were glad that any problems had been corrected as it a beautiful facility with LARGE sites and close to lots of restaurants, tourist places, etc. It's also a great place to just get away. It's hard to believe that there is such a quiet place in the LA basin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2007 - January 2008
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Since the MGR, Maryanne or something like that, left over a month ago, this RV park has gone steeply downhill. Maintenance and cleaning has been greatly declined! Restrooms and facilities are often very dirty and out of supplies. Washing machines and dryers broken and unplugged. Sinks and toilets unserviceable etc...etc... This is heartbreaking as this is a beautiful camp. I can only deduce that this is a leadership problem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
June 07 and December 07
(Updated: December 23, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are one of the those families who can't say enough about the Sea Breeze experience. We categorize the places we park the rig as either a "campground" (cozy trees, scenery, running streams) or "parking lot" (concrete pads, paved roads, scant vegetation). Sea Breeze is obviously a "parking lot" but, it is the BEST parking lot we have ever stayed at. The sites are all VERY wide (we are able to park our 5er and truck side by side with room to spare), free of obstacles, clean, paved, and level. The amenities are tops with a RV wash station, free washers / dryers, ice machines, and a bathhouse that looks like it belongs in a quality hotel. They even make an effort to landscape around the hookup sites. Topping it off for families it has a playground and ball field right next to the park. That aside, we use the park as a launching point for DisneyLand vacations. The only other "comparable" park costs 3-4 times the rate the NAVY charges. They even have a small medical clinic at the base that will see limited small ailments (active duty), no questions about tricare, or interservice junk, from walk in to walk out--with drugs--was less than 15 minutes. The only downside is they seem to have a administrative / bureaucratic problem with their office staff and making reservations. On both occasions I made reservations and took the effort to confirm reservations at a later date. Later (as our usual procedures are), as we are heading out the door to the campground--I get weird phone conversations like "who are you?" and "we don't have any space" or "there are no more pull-throughs available". My trick is always to have their names and dates I made the calls available to "remind them" of the previous reservations. This time when I pulled in, after being assured there were no more pull-throughs open, the front desk told me if something was open--just take it--and they will work it out in the morning. Sure enough, there were 5 or 6 open pull-through sites available, and after confirming with the camphost it was okay, we pulled in and set up. This did cause some frustration with another camper who was clearly waiting for a similar site and wanted to know how we "jumped the line"--I referred him to the camphost. The campground is absolutely the only place we will ever stay at in the area--highly recommend it--just make sure you have reservations (and the names / dates) before you come.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
17 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We store our rig on base but have not stayed at the campground. Yesterday picked up their latest FAQ flyer updated May 2007 which promulgates revised reservation rules. Active duty military 16 weeks in advance; 12 weeks in advance for retired military, reservists, and disabled vets; 8 weeks in advance for DOD active/retired. A unique benefit is that eligible patrons may sponsor one guest RV otherwise ineligible. As sponsor you must register before your guest and must remain as long as your guest RV is registered; you become financially responsible. You cannot sponsor an RV guest without registering your own rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
May 24, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for 2 weeks this year, last year we stayed for 6 weeks. We had troubles connecting to the office to make reservations both times. Last year we had to move since an Elk's group came in for the week-end even thought our stay for another 2 weeks was paid. Best place to stay to do Disneyland, Knotts, Presidents libraries, and other local attractions. Pricey but for the area it's OK, could give free WIFI. Some of the staff uses the laundry for their personnel use on a daily basis. Since they are working the laundry stays in washers or dryers till the get a break. Very windy so watch your awnings, watch the auto sprinkler systems and the water spots on your RV and wetting your lawn chairs, tables, grills, etc. The RV wash I didn't use but can get busy at times. Bad thing is that it was broke down alot, RV's pulled in to find it long enough to do large RV's have to wash it in sections. New camp host hadn't showed up as of the 9th of June. Picnic area very nice along with the BBQ grill connect to gas all the time. Maintenance staff were very helpful with every thing. Lawn mower & lawn edging operates early mornings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Second time I have stayed here. I always have trouble contacting the office for a reservation. I called and left messages for 2 days. Finally, I emailed with this forums link. Finally, got a call back. Park is nice. We love to go there for the mild weather. WIFI is too high! Cable is limited. Free laundry is great. No gas on base, limited mini-mart. Found Diesel about a mile away. City of Seal Beach is quaint. The beach off base is a little unkept but acceptable. The only drawback to this park is having to drive through Los Angeles.....BAD.
JT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We loved this park. VERY WELL MAINTAINED and beautifully landscaped. Very level sites. Location is great...close to all the major attractions and beaches. If you go you must visit the town of Seal Beach. Very cute with neat stores. We really enjoyed our stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
118 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6