Point Mugu Recreation Facilities

Featured
 
3.9 (88)
157582 1 19 1 74

User reviews

37 reviews with 4 stars
88 reviews
 
34%
 
42%
 
14%
 
7%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.4(88)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.7(88)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(88)
Value
 
3.8(88)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(88)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
37 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Nov 21-24, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Cons: A bit beat up by ocean elements. Lots of old outlets that need updating. We were in site #111 w/ a new 30amp outlet. Most are very old. It's very tight to get in to some spots and if you have to unhook, you may be blocking the road for however long it takes to unhook. Pedestals need replacing. Asphalt is worn in places. Never used the bathroom or laundry, which is free, I hear. Check in is weird and we just happened upon the process bc we got there WAY before 10am and spoke to others who knew what to do. So...the office opens at 10am and you wait in line outside the building. When they open, you line up w/ the others who have been waiting outside and put your name on a list. Then you go back at about 11:45 and wait around until they start calling names off the list. You're only supposed to put YOUR name on the list. I was 4th in line, but when I got up to the list, there were 8 spots already taken. Cheaters are annoying. When it's your turn to pick a site, that's when they show you a map of available sites. PRO TIP: The map is NOT correct. After you have put your name on the list at 10am, walk the campground and make note of open spots or spots that you like. Prioritize that list (you have two hours to wait, after all) and when it's your turn, pick a spot. My spot was actually NOT on the list of available spots so I asked, and they said, "Sure, you can have that one." ha ha ha...OK. PROS: OMG, the beach is gorgeous!! Animals everywhere. Dolphins, seals, pelicans...amazing. Very quiet. Long walks are easy. Dogs allowed on a leash. We are 30amp, but the 50 amp sites are larger, in the main area, and we may go for one of those next time. There is also a strip away from the main campground for Class As/50amp, but those sites are SUPER close together and don't have direct beach access. We will go back. It's like you're on your own private beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2021
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Mugu campground is all about location because facility-wise it rates as just OK. If you are an ocean lover though, it's a great stop, with a long, curving beach that during our September visit was almost entirely populated only by seals & sea birds. The facility itself is as others have described it - somewhat weather-beaten by the salty windblown sea atmosphere and located on sandy waterfront terrain with no grass or other landscaping, concrete pads on a variety of site sizes, clean but not fancy washrooms etc. Notably, although you have a "reservation", it is not for a specific site, and during high-utilization periods you may not get any much (or any) choice of location. Wi-Fi signal was strong but provided no internet connection during our stay, and my AT&T service - as with others, according to reviews - was marginal. During our September-plus-COVID stay things were pretty much powered down; the "Beach Hotel" was closed and the Rec Center where you check in only was renting beach toys on weekends. Still, everyone was friendly and my ocean-loving wife says we'll go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 2020-June 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
My husband PCSed to CA a few months before the family and ended up staying here for about 4 months. He arrived just as everything was shutting down d/t the COVID crisis which meant he didn't have to switch back and forth between here and Port Hueneme (which was kind of nice). The park is in definite need of some rehab. When he first arrived his spot did not have functioning water so he had to fill up at another spot but he negotiated a lower price for the spot until it was fixed a couple of weeks into his stay. His picnic table was fine but I did notice some in disrepair. He did not utilize the bathhouse but I did use the ladies side when I visited for a week midway through his stay and they were generally clean. Word was that the campground was going to close in Sept for a major rehab but the last time we went to the beach (in mid Oct), it was still being used.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
14-21 FEB 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is really a very beautifully located park. Our main issue were the Santa Ana winds, they are apparently quite prevalent in the winter months an will jostle your rig day and night when they blow. Sites are large enough and the restrooms and showers appeared clean. Camp Host was essentially nonexistent although I did see him once on the JD Gator. We cut our stay to one week due to the winds, but will be back as there are a vast number of activities and sights within easy travel that we still want to enjoy. We stay in a 32' motor home with tow.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
October 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First off I have to say, we did not stay here. We decided to make reservations at Port Hueneme after reading the reviews here. We were so wrong! We should have stayed here. Now that was a nice park but this one sits right on the ocean and I guess it depends on what you're looking for. The location could not be beat and even though we don't like paying $40 a night for a military campground, this one could be considered cheap compared to other California RV parks. After all, it's right on the beach!! We spent quite a bit of time visiting this RV park and wished we had more time to extend our stay in the area. However, we have now put it on our list for a future trip. It is gorgeous here. The location is out of this world. The beach is beautiful and RVs back up to the beach. Right at the location are rentals for outdoor equipment. In addition there are covered picnic tables for day use. Shopping is close both on the base and at Port Hueneme/Oxnard right down the road. Gorgeous. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 4
May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park lacks modern amenities such as WiFi and cable, but the views make you forget those things. The park is kept in immaculate shape, due mostly because of the camp hosts Bob and Ruth. They work around the clock to get you in and make sure all your needs are taken care of. These two are an asset to the park. They care and it shows. The park itself is fairly run down due to the salt water. Bob works hard to keep every site up and running. Laundry area is in poor shape. Overall we definitely enjoyed our stay this memorial weekend. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 2
24 Apr 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Basic campground in a great location. 300-400 ft. from the beach. April-May is a good time of the year if you like peace and quiet. Beautiful beach, good for nice walks. Easy check-in. The camp hosts make a difference here. They are involved and enforce the rules. Don't let your dogs run wild here, you will get caught! Pros: located near the beach, lots of wildlife in the nearby estuary, fairly quiet. Cons: no supplies nearby, there is a BX on the other side of the base. Sites are mostly back-in so you have to unhitch. Utilities (water, electric, sewage) all work well. Laundry room located in the hotel only had one working washing machine and two dryers. Plenty of restaurants located in Oxnard between 15-25 minutes away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
January 13, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little worried about staying at this park. But our stay was wonderful and we have no complaints at all. Check-in is well marked and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our site was right across from the beach and was level and long enough for our 42’ 5th wheel. There was a parking spot right beside our RV for the truck. There is a picnic table and fire ring at each site. The hookups showed some deterioration from the salt air but worked just fine. The facility was clean and all the dog owners were all participating in “clean up duty”! The views are beautiful and the beach is very nice. The park was very quiet and lots of space to ride you bike or walk the dog. There is an exchange on base for any necessities and the commissary at Port Hueneme is just a 15 minute drive. Would love to come back for another visit.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 3
June 6, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I live within 20 minutes of this facility and use the RV Lot quite often. Here's some information you should know. 1.) No Diesel Gas is available on this base. The Seabee Base in Port Hueneme does have diesel. The "Excuse" I was given by the NEX people was that "Because they didn't sell much Diesel Gas at the Seabee Base (Over 20 minutes away) they didn't feel that the gas station at Point Mugu merited one when they upgraded and installed new pumps. Yes, they are idiots. 2.) The Beach Motel is right next to the RV Lot and was recently upgraded. Unfortunately, neither the Motel or the RV Lot offer Free Basic Cable TV any more. (It's about the money folks) 3.) The 30 amp RV spots are the best spots IMO. I can use up to 50 amp and always ask for the 30 amp. 4.) Free Coffee in the Motel Lounge. Always Fresh. If you're early enough, free local Newspaper too. 5.) The Bathroom Facilities were gutted and remodeled and are very nice. 6.) If you are staying during the Week Days, BEWARE. There's and Aircraft Engine test facility right next to the lot and they can get noisy sometimes when running up one of the Turboprop engines during testing. 7.) The Beach is the BEST beach in the county. It faces South, not West like all of the others, so if a breeze kicks up, it's not in your face. Also, the surfers beach down the road is one of the most sought after Surfing beaches in So. Cal. So if you surf, bring your board, you won't be disappointed. 8.) The staff at the Motel are very helpful. If you have any issues with noise, yappy dogs etc. Let them know and they will fix the problem. There's also a Camp Host who is responsible for making sure folks keep it tame. 9.) There is a Navy Gateway Inns & Suites on base and it's in the middle of the barracks area and closer to the mini-mart (Sorry, Commissary and Main Exchange is at the Seabee Base). 10.) The theatre on base offers FREE movies each night to Active, Retired, Reserve, and DOD Civilians. 11.) The Las Posas Gate (Off Pacific Coast Highway) is the only gate open 24/7. I hope this helps.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 16 0
5-9 February 2015
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Due to renovations, reception was in a trailer on site versus in the beach motel. Fellow campers friendly and pleasant. Beautiful beachfront. Nice wilderness area (salt estuary). Stayed in site 151. Great cable connections. Old electric connections but effective. Quiet location; easy to get to; Las Posas gate open only from 6AM to 6PM; use Mugu Rd gate during off hours and weekends. Pick up a base map upon check in for orientation purposes. Will definitely come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 8-12, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Enjoyed our stay, especially since on the ocean. Quiet area. We did see signs of homesteading and think they need to do some clean up around a few of the campers. Campground needs upgrades, everything works, just electric panels only have one plug in and are ancient. Hotel closed for renovations and like other poster check in is in trailer. Staff was very polite and helpful. Would stay again. Didn't use restrooms. Also wish they would change 2 pet limit, they aren't following the other rules so do away with this one and if pets are an issue kick the offender out. My 4 are better than most peoples 1.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 13-23, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Campground is still open, but motel is closed for renovation. Registration is now in a trailer in site 103. Washing machines are gone. I was told if we needed a washer/dryer, there are some located in active duty housing area. You will need directions. This is our third year here, still enjoy Point Mugu. There are picnic tables and fire rings by the sites. Remember if you are over 40 feet, you will want sites 155-159 or the 200 numbered sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
28-31 March 2014
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice location. Anywhere you can stay next to the water always makes for a great stay. The staff were extremely professional, as well as polite. The only downfall that had nothing to do with the overall facility was the windy weather that was cold. That just had to do with the season. Other than that the place is absolutely worth it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 19-28, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Staff at the Beach Motel are as nice as always. There are newspapers every morning for both hotel and RV park guests. We used their washers and dryers this time and they are free and well maintained. RV Park utilities work, but they do not seem to be doing much maintenance and at some point expect the electric outlets to fail. Most sites can accommodate rigs up to 40 feet. If you have a 45 footer, suggest you ask for 156-159 or the "200" numbered sites. There is direct beach access. Mugu has a gas station and a small NEX, you'll need to go to Port Hueneme for a big NEX and Commissary. Being winter, no mosquitoes. We had no problem with wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 17 - 22, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We just came back from here, we had a total of 18 rigs in our group. Elks Kamper Klub this was our second time hosting this group here. Everyone is awesome and even with a few glitches with the new computer system, a good time was had by all. Our only complaint right now is that we were eaten alive by huge blood thirsty Mosquitoes, Seems to be a bad year for them at all areas where there is an estuary nearby. Be forewarned and forearmed!!! The office staff had citronella candles burning in the lobby!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Jan 2013
(Updated: January 31, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location but limited facilities. The base has a very small PX although there is all the usual but small facilities, auto shop, gas station, subway, gym, golf course, etc,. The RV park is clean and the staff is good, polite, etc. Wifi is unreliable. It is out for hours at a time and keeps dropping the connection when it is working. There are two channels of wifi and you must switch channels frequently to get a connection. Still better than a couple of years ago when it was out for 4 days at a time. We like this area and enjoy our stays at Mugu but must acknowledge Port Hueneme has better facilities if a slightly less fabulous location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
5 September 2012
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We only spent one night on our way back to the San Diego area, so our ratings are based on a limited observation. We did have some problem locating the park as the GPS coordinates listed above put us in the middle of a civilian housing area several miles north of Pt. Mugu. We finally called the base to get a street address for the GPS (none listed above). Once on the base, and in the in the park, my Garmin GPS said the coordinates were N34.05910, W-119.06222. Once we were settled, we found the location on the beach great. You can hear the ocean, so we left our window open all night. The electrical hookup boxes were badly decaying, although everything worked ok. There was a cable TV connector, but no signal. We heard that the park is due for a major upgrade in the near future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2011
(Updated: August 05, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We've been coming to Mugu from N.W. Montana for 4 years. I'm a Retired D/V. Last year 2011, we weren't sure we could afford it, what with the gas prices so high. I decided to make it a working vacation. As such I would be in need of internet services. I called before we made reservations to make sure WiFi or cable was working. Was told it was working fine. Of course, when we got there it was down stayed down for 3 weeks. Was told the "Server" was down and that they couldn't afford a new one. "SERVER"????? Come on gang, you can do better that that... Upon arrival we got another surprise. Surprise!!! We've raised our rates. Not a couple of bucks, or even 5 bucks, but went from $23.00 to $30.00 a day. Gee, that might have be nice to know when we made our reservations. And it wasn't even indicated on the Web Site. Thought we might have trouble getting home with that extra expense and having to rent a Verizon WiFi modem for work. Not a happy camper.. However, we still love the place, but see ZERO upgrades from the increase of fees. Our site had broken glass, nails and chunks of wood all over the place. The showers, while they had been updated??? didn't even have soap dishes in the showers. Can't make the trip this summer 2012. Camp fees, gas prices, still no reliable internet service has given us enough cause to just stay home. We have so enjoyed the park for so many years, it's a shame that "MWR" here and at other military parks just don't seem to have the "Troops" "Welfare" in mind. It's hard enough just to survive and MWR doesn't seem to want to help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 6
May 2012
(Updated: June 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
You can't beat the location! The beach here is very nice, clean - sort of- every time we came back from the beach we had tar all over our feet. We didn't go in the water, but there were plenty of kids who did & it looked very shallow. We also saw plenty of birds, dolphin & sea lions. One person even saw a Whale. If you go to the end of the street in front of the motel, you would see the sea lions lying on the sand, they looked like a bunch of rocks. We enjoyed riding our bikes around the area as there is very little traffic & it's mostly flat. I think they had new workers when we checked in because the person didn't know which sites would accommodate a 40' class A or anything about the sites. He told us to go pick one out. Also, there are a lot of weeds in the gravel areas, so that could use some clean up. All the staff was very nice & helpful. The laundry area was clean & FREE! We didn't use the rest rooms. Try to bring everything you need because stores aren't close & the base exchange is a HUGH RIPOFF! I feel sorry for the people who live on base & need to use it. I bought a dozen eggs, which cost twice the price of eggs at Target & a loaf of bread that $1 more for the exact same kind. Port Hueneme isn't too far (not for a quick pickup of milk or bread) & you can do major shopping there. Overall, it was a good place to go & we would return if in the area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23 August to 24 August 2011
(Updated: August 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No credit card required to reserve. No cancellation fee. No payment until you get there. No hassle. $30 a night. All paved pads that are plenty wide with abundant space between each site (could have fit 3 more RV's between us). Yards from the beach which is free of the rip raft of most beaches. Friendly staff. The only drawback was the sand fleas. Definitely will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
37 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2