Point Mugu Recreation Facilities

Featured
 
3.9 (83)
157582 1 19 1 68

User reviews

83 reviews
 
35%
 
42%
 
14%
 
6%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.5(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(83)
Value
 
3.9(83)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
June 2011
(Updated: March 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We take our grandchildren with us every year. We have gone on overniters with the kids. Each time is great. Our grand-kids are getting older, this may be the last year they attend with us. It is relaxing there; friendly; price is great;June/July weather is great; our experience there is great. One note: the first time we took our 6 grandchildren, they asked, "where are all the people?" prior to arriving there, we passed by Ventura Beach, they noticed the crowds. We answered, we are the crowd. Nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 1-30, 2011
(Updated: December 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of our favorite places to stay in Southern California!! Staff is one of the friendliest around and very helpful. Bathrooms have been remodeled since our last visit and are really nice (although we didn't use them for showering). One new addition is the FREE laundry now. It's nice to see with the price increase that some of the bases are adding this convenience. We would definitely stay here again. Site 123 is one of our favorite sites. This year we have enjoyed watching HUGE pods of dolphins swim by.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
11-13 November 2011
(Updated: November 13, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just an amazing spot to spend a relaxing weekend. The staff is excellent and they always make sure everyone is taken care of. Had a group of 8 other RV's with me and they couldn't believe how nice it was to camp less than 30 feet from the ocean. Sleeping at night listening to the surf hit the beach is the best ever.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23 August to 24 August 2011
(Updated: August 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No credit card required to reserve. No cancellation fee. No payment until you get there. No hassle. $30 a night. All paved pads that are plenty wide with abundant space between each site (could have fit 3 more RV's between us). Yards from the beach which is free of the rip raft of most beaches. Friendly staff. The only drawback was the sand fleas. Definitely will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 25, to June 23, 2011
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here for the 30 day maximum period. Even though it's $30 a night, we felt that this was a great price considering what we would have had to pay at local RV parks. Additionally, we were 10 paces from the beach!! The view from my rig was beach and surf.....can hardly complain. We stayed busy watching the pelicans, dolphins, and seals. The sites are in need of some work. They're nothing to brag about, but they are fairly level. The engine hush house/test cell sits right next to the facility. Sometimes it got a little annoying listening to them run up engines, but, after all, that is the "sound of freedom". The motel lobby and laundry were clean and well-kept. The bathroom/shower facilities were also clean and well-kept. There's a gas station a couple of miles away with a car wash next door. The gas station has propane as well. Just a small NEX on Pt. Mugu. You can get the basics there. There's a great NEX at Port Hueneme. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 2011
(Updated: February 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Just spoke with the RV park office. Bathrooms closed for remodeling with completion scheduled for summer 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
8-19 Nov 2010
(Updated: December 07, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first RV experience. My wife and I enjoyed our stay here very much. The park is surrounded by the beach and an estuary, providing lots to watch. From our spot we could watch the surf come in, harbor seals and dolphin swim by, along with pelicans, ducks, and many other birds flying and diving. The park is adjacent to a large engine run facility, which does impact the view from many spots. I only heard large prop engines being run, which didn't bother me at all. For $30 a night, the sites seemed rather basic; asphalt pad surrounded by sand, a picnic table and a fire ring. Hook-ups include 30/50 AMP service, basic cable TV, phone (didn't utilize it), water, and sewer. Also included was free WiFi, but coverage was intermittent. Community bathrooms were closed for remodeling. Laundry is available in adjacent lodging facility, which also offered free coffee and sold some sundries. Office personnel were friendly. Place was almost empty during the week, and almost full over Veteran's Day weekend. Pt Mugu has a decent gym, small shopette, and gas station. The gas station has a propane station and a wand type car wash, but no diesel. We did to go to Port Hueneme (20-min drive) and get a base sticker. Pass & registration was right at the main gate. Port Hueneme has a large NEX, commissary, and the gas station offers diesel. It was about 15 min into Camarillo. Lots of shopping (including a large outlet mall), restaurants, etc... Looking forward to another stay.
W&
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
29 AUG-1 SEP 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
GREAT EXPERIENCE AT PT. MUGU. I TOOK ABOUT 8 CIVILIAN FAMILY MEMBERS AND ALL I HAD TO DO WAS GO TO THE PORT HUENEME VISITORS CENTER AND PUT THEM ON A VISITORS LIST. TENT SITES WERE PERFECT, CLOSE TO FACILITIES AND THE BEACH. ONLY ONE PROBLEM, WHILE WE WERE THERE ONE OF THE TOILETS WASN'T WORKING AND DIDN'T GET FIXED EVEN AFTER THE PRIDE WORKERS SHOWED UP. STAFF WAS EXTREMELY FRIENDLY. NEX IS SMALL BUT DOES PROVIDE SUFFICIENT SUPPLIES. OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
8 June - 11 June 2010
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Right on the Beach great view, but the park is basically a parking lot and the rates are now $30.00 a night. Could be a truly great place with some upgrade work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 2 - May 16, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice little park. Free coffee every morning in the Beach Motel lobby (where you check in). Right now, a lot of the spaces are having electrical difficulties. The sea salt air tends to eat away hookups. And, the wifi is limited at best. The beach is really close - my wife and walked it nearly every money. Sea lions, seals, pelicans and dolphins are often visible. The navy exchange is small, no diesel at the gas station -- but there is a Subway next door to the exchange. Port Hueneme is about 9 miles away. This is a fairly good location for trips to Catalina and the Channel Islands National Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 28 to May 4, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a beautiful setting. We were very impressed with the "on the Beach" location. Last year we paid $75 a night for a spot on the bluffs over Malibu Beach. We thought that was nice, but Pt Mugu is even better! The power outlet at our lot was burnt and my coach computer told me that there was an open ground. I just plugged into the adjacent lot and went to the office to report the problem. They young man working the desk could not have been less help. He suggested I move lots. I suggested he could try to think out of the box a little. The next morning I spoke to the manager. Wendy was great and very accommodating. While we were there I saw six people come look at the dead power outlet. No one brought a screwdriver or a test unit. One person asked me if I had flipped the circuit breaker on. Duh! Another "electrician" tried to convince me that it was a 220 volt outlet. (No it isn't-Duh again) I sure do sympathize with Wendy and what she has to deal with to get something fixed. Another problem we had is that no one seemed to think we would want to know that the gate we came through closes at 5:00pm and is closed on weekends. That is very alarming when you don't know what the options are. I let everyone I met know about the gate closure, and they had not been advised either. All in all it was a wonderful stay. Not too far away, in Simi Valley is the Ronald Reagan Library. They have one of the AF1 aircraft on permanent display. You can go through the airplane as part of the tour. This was very impressive. Retired Military get free admission! Wendy, thanks for all you do and best of luck to you. I know you are trying to have a nice facility there. Keep up the good work. We look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 11 to 17, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We selected a 30 amp site because it is right on the Pacific Ocean - just 12 feet of road separates us from the dune barrier to the beach. We came on Sunday and used the Main Gate via Wood Rd. as instructed. You'll see the Motel where you check-in; however, if you continue just a bit farther, you can take a left turn and easily park the rig behind the motel and walk in through the back door. The park has Wi-fi, but we found it dropping in and out. The power post is old and we blew a fuse about 7PM one evening. I hooked up to the vacant site next door and called the office/motel; telling them I was OK until morning. Around 8:30PM someone showed up and replaced the fuse - GREAT service... We have a million dollar view, but I might be hesitant to spend $30/night if it goes up. There are many sites that have little or no view, but all are close to the beach. We have a 40 ft. motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
February 18-March 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a great location! We had a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean, with the beach stretching off to the east. Although the BX was very small and no commissary, the Port Hueneme complex was only 20 minutes way. The laundry was $1 to wash and $.50 to dry with three washers and four dryers. New machines were being installed. Not a lot to do on the base but there was a great walk out to the point either along the beach or on the road. Lots of seals in the estuary provided additional entertainment. We had a terrific storm one Sunday morning with extremely high surf. Unfortunately, a lot of the beach was washed away and the road to the point was closed. The campground experienced some flooding but no serious damage. We paid $23/night but were told the price was going up to $30 as of June 1. Great location and we hope to return some day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 12-17, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: This was our 2nd time at Pt. Mugu. To be able to fall asleep at night listening to the ocean can't get any better. Personnel are very friendly. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1-3 May 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you are looking for a park "ON" the ocean, this is it. Location: The base and park are a bit away from the surrounding city and without a toad, its a bit of a walk to the NEX area. But, you are 1 sand dune from the beach. Clean/Hosp: Front desk staff very nice and helpful (also serves as lodge/hotel desk). A drawback to being so close to the beach is lots of blowing sand and the restrooms are a little dated, but fine. Amen/Fac: Since I was here about 6 years ago, the base has gone down hill with many areas looking overgrown and some (driving range) closed completely. There is a NEX, club/cyber area, gym and such about 1 1/2 miles from park on main road. There is also a lot of wildlife to view (birds, seals, etc) in the areas surrounding the park. Also a change since the early 2000's, the road around the base perimeter and ANG base is closed (used to make for a nice run/bike ride and had areas of extensive wildlife).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18-20 sept 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The beach motel and RV Park is in one of the greatest locations on the west coast. The campground is on a private beach with a second (surfer’s beach) up the road a bit from the camp grounds. The surf is some of the best on the CA coast and the Navy has it all to them self, which is really nice. The park is a bit run down though. The power poles are in need of an overhaul, and the water pressure is a bit high, but did not hurt our rig. They have cable at all the sites as well as internet. They also have wireless internet, although I would only work from time to time, ad that to the list of things to overhaul. The base is small and looks a little run down as well. It has a small NEX and gym. The Port Hueneme base is located about thirty minutes away and houses the commissary, and the big NEX, so if you’re not up for a drive bring supplies with you. The Beach Motel has small snacks to buy, but at a huge mark up. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful although the new camp host Don can be a little intrusive, and is not very customer oriented. If the upper management would put some money in the park and hotel the place would be the most sought after place in CA. I recommend the park it can be a lot of fun for anyone of any age but do recommend you bring enough supplies to last your visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 11 - Sep 22 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We came here on a Friday, 9/11/09 and have been here almost 2 weeks now. The park is right next to the beach and almost no one comes to the beach, so there is lots of privacy. No grass in the park at all, just sand, lava rock and more sand. The winds cause some sand to accumulate on the paved parking spots and paved streets. Fair amount of local base traffic with folks going to and from the classified Test Pods and other labs just down the road. Some aircraft flyovers at times, but not a problem with me, I enjoy watching them fly by. Weather has been excellent. WiFi is available in the park, but comes and goes at times, however each site has DSL connections along with Cable TV. Several military folks been here for up to 3 years in some RV's. Overall, a very nice place and we plan on coming back next year for an extended stay. Bill Miller, USN Retired - 27 Years, E6 - Radioman
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1968-1971
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I lived at NAS Point Mugu Navy quarters 1968-1971 (Stationed at NAVFAC San Nicolas Island) and can only praise the area of Point Mugu. Just down the beach you will find multi-million dollar homes. Enjoy your opportunity.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug 23-30, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My retired Navy wife and I stayed here for the first time from Aug 23-30, 2009. What a great ocean FamCamp. The host/hostess seemed preoccupied with the motel area rather than the RV park. Who ever is in charge of maintenance is lacking consistency in taking out weeds and other debris around the park. A puddle was in the middle of the cross-walk leading to the office, the entire week. This was due to sprinkler run-off. We met many very nice people there. A major peeve with me was the illiterate people who can't read the signs posted everywhere; "Dogs must be leashed." You can't believe how many people we observed who ignored this requirement completely letting their dog run up and down the beach and dropping their waste there without picking it up. Its disgusting. The few acted as if it was a big dog park. G. OKeefe, MCPO (SW) USN Ret. p.s. They should have a shuttle to the NEX from the RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 17-20, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Can't beat the view! Camp is nice, enjoyed the fire rings and ocean breezes. Only reason we left so soon was that the park was full for the surf contest weekend. We will definitely be back! Wifi was down during our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
83 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5