Point Mugu Recreation Facilities

Featured
 
3.8 (89)
157582 1 19 1 78

User reviews

89 reviews
 
34%
 
42%
 
15%
 
7%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.4(89)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.7(89)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(89)
Value
 
3.8(89)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(89)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
89 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
June 6, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I live within 20 minutes of this facility and use the RV Lot quite often. Here's some information you should know. 1.) No Diesel Gas is available on this base. The Seabee Base in Port Hueneme does have diesel. The "Excuse" I was given by the NEX people was that "Because they didn't sell much Diesel Gas at the Seabee Base (Over 20 minutes away) they didn't feel that the gas station at Point Mugu merited one when they upgraded and installed new pumps. Yes, they are idiots. 2.) The Beach Motel is right next to the RV Lot and was recently upgraded. Unfortunately, neither the Motel or the RV Lot offer Free Basic Cable TV any more. (It's about the money folks) 3.) The 30 amp RV spots are the best spots IMO. I can use up to 50 amp and always ask for the 30 amp. 4.) Free Coffee in the Motel Lounge. Always Fresh. If you're early enough, free local Newspaper too. 5.) The Bathroom Facilities were gutted and remodeled and are very nice. 6.) If you are staying during the Week Days, BEWARE. There's and Aircraft Engine test facility right next to the lot and they can get noisy sometimes when running up one of the Turboprop engines during testing. 7.) The Beach is the BEST beach in the county. It faces South, not West like all of the others, so if a breeze kicks up, it's not in your face. Also, the surfers beach down the road is one of the most sought after Surfing beaches in So. Cal. So if you surf, bring your board, you won't be disappointed. 8.) The staff at the Motel are very helpful. If you have any issues with noise, yappy dogs etc. Let them know and they will fix the problem. There's also a Camp Host who is responsible for making sure folks keep it tame. 9.) There is a Navy Gateway Inns & Suites on base and it's in the middle of the barracks area and closer to the mini-mart (Sorry, Commissary and Main Exchange is at the Seabee Base). 10.) The theatre on base offers FREE movies each night to Active, Retired, Reserve, and DOD Civilians. 11.) The Las Posas Gate (Off Pacific Coast Highway) is the only gate open 24/7. I hope this helps.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 16 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park lacks modern amenities such as WiFi and cable, but the views make you forget those things. The park is kept in immaculate shape, due mostly because of the camp hosts Bob and Ruth. They work around the clock to get you in and make sure all your needs are taken care of. These two are an asset to the park. They care and it shows. The park itself is fairly run down due to the salt water. Bob works hard to keep every site up and running. Laundry area is in poor shape. Overall we definitely enjoyed our stay this memorial weekend. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 2
February 3, 2020
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We stayed here 5 nights, but had we had other accommodations we would have left the next day. We didn't stay in the main RV Park as apparently they still have no sewer and/or water hook-up due to a line break. This appears to be going on for some time, which I believe would be something of an urgent matter?!?! We were moved to the other side which is on the beach but with a tall rock wall, but a short walk you can be in the beach. The bathrooms in this side are disgusting. They told us if we want to use the shower to come to the main area of the park as they are maintained. It would not take much to keep the bathrooms near to this side of the campground clean! It appears nothing is maintain here, such as electrical/water hook-up post and pick nix table benches missing the seats. An employee on base said this base is referred to as Point Megee" and isn't cared for at any level. So disappointed in this campground. The price should be the $20 range not $40.there is no WIFI. We will not be back. We did have high winds, but that's the weather for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
Sept. 28, 2018
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The one good thing about this RV Park is it is close to the ocean. New MWR Bldg is nice. Staff does not offer anything unless you ask. Checked in okay,but I had to ask for a map of the base (1st time here). With a sigh she searched for a map. There is NO WIFI. No cable TV. Unfortunately my satellite system decided to crash which meant I had to put up the RV Antenna. We got 12 channels. ABC, Bounce, Ion, 3 Spanish channels, 4 PBS channels, Jewel channel, and a channel that shows really old programming. The sites are really quite small. We had a back in site and we had to move the picnic table to squeeze in our Chevy HHR. The absolute worst thing are the hordes of Mosquitoes. They are everywhere. 2 minutes outside my RV and I must have been stung 10 times. They are very aggressive to the point our dogs didn't want to go outside the RV. I called the desk and asked if the base sprays for mosquitoes and was told "I think so." Stay away from any vegetation! For the price of $40/day I think we got short changed. This is our first time here. We will not be returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
May 16, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground. Spacious sites with 30 and 50 Amp sites. Full hookups. Front desk very helpful and accommodating. The Camp hosts, Bob and Ruth, are very friendly and make sure the rules are followed. The worst spot is 100 yards from the Beach and even during the middle of Summer the Beach isn't crowded. This is my Wifes favorite camp spot. We feel safe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
24 Apr 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Basic campground in a great location. 300-400 ft. from the beach. April-May is a good time of the year if you like peace and quiet. Beautiful beach, good for nice walks. Easy check-in. The camp hosts make a difference here. They are involved and enforce the rules. Don't let your dogs run wild here, you will get caught! Pros: located near the beach, lots of wildlife in the nearby estuary, fairly quiet. Cons: no supplies nearby, there is a BX on the other side of the base. Sites are mostly back-in so you have to unhitch. Utilities (water, electric, sewage) all work well. Laundry room located in the hotel only had one working washing machine and two dryers. Plenty of restaurants located in Oxnard between 15-25 minutes away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
June 26 - July 10 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The office personnel at Pt Mugu Hotel/Rv park are fantastic. We had several mixups with our reservations but with all my questions, issues, etc. they were patient, polite and seemingly appreciative that we were staying with them. Bob and Ruth the camp host, I can't say enough about. They have arranged a July 4th picnic to honor the vets and their guests. Bob is always on the go, cleaning up the sites, pulling weeds, talking with the other campers. I can't say enough of the camp hosts. They welcome you, help with any problem that may arise. When we were here during Memorial Day weekend and the seal swam up on shore, they did babysitting duty until he went back to the sea.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
14-21 FEB 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is really a very beautifully located park. Our main issue were the Santa Ana winds, they are apparently quite prevalent in the winter months an will jostle your rig day and night when they blow. Sites are large enough and the restrooms and showers appeared clean. Camp Host was essentially nonexistent although I did see him once on the JD Gator. We cut our stay to one week due to the winds, but will be back as there are a vast number of activities and sights within easy travel that we still want to enjoy. We stay in a 32' motor home with tow.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 1-15, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
When you check in, please be VERY specific what you want/need as the staff doesn't seem to have the training to ask for specifics. Heard this compliant from several other campers. We had called and made reservations for a full hookup, 50A location. They put us in a spot that had no sewer hook up. After that first night we requested to move and were able to more to a location further down the peninsula where the spaces were tight but doable. If you enjoy grass, this isn't your kind of campground. It's all sand here. Picnic tables on the sand which was nice. There's a great beach between the two RV Sites and the most of the rest of the ocean side is covered in large rock berms. It was nice to hear the waves crashing at night. The issue of mosquitos has been mentioned in other reviews. The campground backs up against an estuary where they bred pretty heavily. Luckily, the temps were down so we notice in their presence but the stories are epic when they come out. Overall, we'd stay here again as the location is very interesting what with the seals, dolphins, pelicans, egrets, ospreys, buzzards and other numerous sea birds. The marine layer (low clouds) can keep the temps down in the AM and obscure the stars at night but if you enjoy the salt air and pounding sea, this is your kind of place to make camp. A previous reviewer mentioned the Camp Host that I personally met and saw often. There only appears to be one host and he stays very busy. Being right on the ocean, there is a LOT of upkeep. All the pedestals are corroded due to the salt air. No WiFi or cable TV but the fire rings are nice (if you brought wood to burn) and the constant breeze is great. We will likely return to this campground again within the next twelve months with our 40' Class A and tow vehicle. Oh, the on base NEX is well stocked, including fire wood, and the staff is very friendly. There's a gas station (no diesel) and a Subway in the same parking lot. Hope you find this review helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
September 2016
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Where do I begin? Water connections are either broken or are on their last days. Some sites the sewer is broken and unusable. Some sites the electricity is broken and unusable. Absolutely no wifi. Mosquitoes that are thick as thieves. Drunks everywhere. Vomit and feces smeared in the bathroom showers. Trash littering the beach. Dog crap is rarely picked up Dogs running off leash Police speeding through the campground, and driving the wrong way. Dogs left outside for many hours, barking Drunk drivers all over the place Very loud music being played after hours Manager is useless Homesteaders trying to find ways around the 30 day rule They need to shut this park down and fix it. This place has gone way downhill. If you stay here, don't say you weren't warned!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 9 5
August 12, 2017
Overall rating
 
2.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Terrible experience and I am submitting this review in hopes that it will not happen to anyone else. So, we are going to California. As a Navy vet, I was pretty excited to find such nice-looking accommodations at such a good price. A yurt on the beach - sound terrific - sign me up! I asked the people on the phone several times to be sure that it was OK that I was no longer active duty, not retired, just your average vet. Sure sure they said. Can you check with your manager, I asked. Sure - everything is fine - looking forward to having you. Flash forward several months and we pull up to the gate, tired and ready to hit the rack at 7:30 p.m. Gate guards say no. We call the office. They say we are so sorry, you have to be active duty to get on the base and so cannot stay here. You know, they said, this is the second time this week that this has happened. The people on the 800 number keep making these reservations. So, there we are, family of five, parked in the dirt lot outside of the gate, googling a new place to stay at 8 p.m. in the evening on a Saturday night. It's not the 800 number people who are to blame here. It's the people who manage the 800 number. This was completely unacceptable - there are other "Navy words" that come to mind. The upshot is that they need to fix this now. 
July 2018
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I’m a full timer and the promise of WIFI is kind of critical. I’m here for leisure/necessity. That means I’m in the park long term. Everyone is raving about the host, but the regular staff are worthless. They don’t answer the phone, they shrug their shoulders if you complain about something, “meh, that’s how it’s been and it isn’t getting fixed.” The organization and operation is haphazard, didn’t even get a pamphlet with the codes to the shower room or a map of the facility. The grounds are generally “adequate, while the staff has a less than 1 year old building to work out of with functional internet. All of the managers are located on Port Hueneme and they are easier to reach than the reception desk. Oh yea, they only have 1 washer/dryer for the hotel, yurts, and RV sites which are all managed together.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
January 13, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little worried about staying at this park. But our stay was wonderful and we have no complaints at all. Check-in is well marked and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our site was right across from the beach and was level and long enough for our 42’ 5th wheel. There was a parking spot right beside our RV for the truck. There is a picnic table and fire ring at each site. The hookups showed some deterioration from the salt air but worked just fine. The facility was clean and all the dog owners were all participating in “clean up duty”! The views are beautiful and the beach is very nice. The park was very quiet and lots of space to ride you bike or walk the dog. There is an exchange on base for any necessities and the commissary at Port Hueneme is just a 15 minute drive. Would love to come back for another visit.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 3
Nov 21-24, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Cons: A bit beat up by ocean elements. Lots of old outlets that need updating. We were in site #111 w/ a new 30amp outlet. Most are very old. It's very tight to get in to some spots and if you have to unhook, you may be blocking the road for however long it takes to unhook. Pedestals need replacing. Asphalt is worn in places. Never used the bathroom or laundry, which is free, I hear. Check in is weird and we just happened upon the process bc we got there WAY before 10am and spoke to others who knew what to do. So...the office opens at 10am and you wait in line outside the building. When they open, you line up w/ the others who have been waiting outside and put your name on a list. Then you go back at about 11:45 and wait around until they start calling names off the list. You're only supposed to put YOUR name on the list. I was 4th in line, but when I got up to the list, there were 8 spots already taken. Cheaters are annoying. When it's your turn to pick a site, that's when they show you a map of available sites. PRO TIP: The map is NOT correct. After you have put your name on the list at 10am, walk the campground and make note of open spots or spots that you like. Prioritize that list (you have two hours to wait, after all) and when it's your turn, pick a spot. My spot was actually NOT on the list of available spots so I asked, and they said, "Sure, you can have that one." ha ha ha...OK. PROS: OMG, the beach is gorgeous!! Animals everywhere. Dolphins, seals, pelicans...amazing. Very quiet. Long walks are easy. Dogs allowed on a leash. We are 30amp, but the 50 amp sites are larger, in the main area, and we may go for one of those next time. There is also a strip away from the main campground for Class As/50amp, but those sites are SUPER close together and don't have direct beach access. We will go back. It's like you're on your own private beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I have stayed at Pt Mugu several times in the past and generally love the park. This time was a little different, and it does seem to be going downhill. On the positive side, the location is above par and the views can't be beat. The area is great and the overall experience is worth it. All employee interactions were great and nothing negative to say about their work ethic. On the negative side, I think the price for a full-hook up site is pretty high at $40 per night, but for a short term stay is is OK. The 50 amp back-in sites (there are no pull-throughs), which is what I reserved through the Navy Getaways website, are adequate for size and accessibility, however upon arrival to the park I learned that many of the 50 amp sites have the sewer shut down due to maintenance issues and won't be available until sometime in 2019. They still charge $40 a night, and several of the sites that were supposedly affected had rigs in there with the sewer hooked up, so it is either a "who you know" situation or there is some other reason that some people can have sewer and others can't, but it sure creates an impression of favoritism. I was put into another area (near the tenting area) that did have 50 amp and sewer, however it is just an asphalt parking lot with stripes and hookups near the end of the parking lot. I did get the services I reserved (50 amp, back in, full hookup) however I literally had another trailer less that 1' from my living room window on the last night we stayed. They were interested in drinking and raising a ruckus until about 3 AM, with their windows open, so while they were technically inside and not in the common areas, it was a disturbance for part of the stay. On a previous visit I elected to stay in a smaller 30amp site, however due to the backlog of maintenance on the power service the circuit breakers kept tripping under light load. That required a move to another site so that was a pain. The WiFi was nowhere near reliable, and in Navy parks the system is pretty wonky, so I usually don't rely on it. MWR does have a brand new building at the park, and it seems the employees have a nice place to work--I believe that is an indicator of the attitude toward the park itself. I think the patron experience should take priority as they are paying the bills, so the improvement funds should have gone into the camping facilities rather that the MWR employee area. This park has the potential to become a great place to stay, but I think they're trading location for service to the customer and figuring the customer will put up with less in exchange for the views. I don't think I'll return, at least until the utilities situation is resolved.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 29 2022
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Nothing good to say about facility or staff. One person in office totally untrained. Booked over two months earlier via 1800 Navy Bed. When I arrived to check in, which had terrible signs to get to, I handed her my reservation and was told the site was not full hook up, which I was told it was, The site I had reserved was given to someone else, that morning! No others sites available for my 40 ft diesel push with full hook up or long enough to accommodate my length. 30 amps site where not available because her computer would not allow the change to 30 amps. Very frustrating after driving 5 hours. Right after me another guest shows up she too denied. She know enough about the area that she and I both got into Navy Base Ventura. Worse MWR so far!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
03-31 December 2021
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here in the 50 amp sites with full hookups, which is just south of the main RV campground and directly across from the tent sites. Follow the new signs as there is a new building to check-in now and that is just south of the hotel. There is a large dirt parking lot and there would be no issues pulling in a large trailer or 5th wheel during check in. This location is perfect for walks along the beach and viewing the numerous types of wildlife as the tides change. As I'm still working from the RV and using internet, I found using my T-Mobile 5g hotspot and sometimes my work phone with Verizon, provided the connection I needed to work and to stream movies in the evening. I could not pick up any digital TV signals where we were parked. The laundry is free, which is a nice addition and those are located in the south end of the hotel, no codes needed for the door. Pt. Mugu does have a small Exchange, gas station and RV dump at the gas station. A 10 minute drive to the Navy Base at Pt. Hueneme, you will find a large Commissary/Exchange and near the intersection of US 101, exit 55 (Las Posas Rd), you will find a rather large outlet mall for you wife's shopping needs. RV access via the Las Posas gate is the best option as they are open 24 hours and do have a dedicated lane for large vehicles. I have a 30' Class C towing a Jeep and had no problems using the car lane when entering the base. We will enjoy this stop again soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 28 to May 4, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a beautiful setting. We were very impressed with the "on the Beach" location. Last year we paid $75 a night for a spot on the bluffs over Malibu Beach. We thought that was nice, but Pt Mugu is even better! The power outlet at our lot was burnt and my coach computer told me that there was an open ground. I just plugged into the adjacent lot and went to the office to report the problem. They young man working the desk could not have been less help. He suggested I move lots. I suggested he could try to think out of the box a little. The next morning I spoke to the manager. Wendy was great and very accommodating. While we were there I saw six people come look at the dead power outlet. No one brought a screwdriver or a test unit. One person asked me if I had flipped the circuit breaker on. Duh! Another "electrician" tried to convince me that it was a 220 volt outlet. (No it isn't-Duh again) I sure do sympathize with Wendy and what she has to deal with to get something fixed. Another problem we had is that no one seemed to think we would want to know that the gate we came through closes at 5:00pm and is closed on weekends. That is very alarming when you don't know what the options are. I let everyone I met know about the gate closure, and they had not been advised either. All in all it was a wonderful stay. Not too far away, in Simi Valley is the Ronald Reagan Library. They have one of the AF1 aircraft on permanent display. You can go through the airplane as part of the tour. This was very impressive. Retired Military get free admission! Wendy, thanks for all you do and best of luck to you. I know you are trying to have a nice facility there. Keep up the good work. We look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
December 19-28, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Staff at the Beach Motel are as nice as always. There are newspapers every morning for both hotel and RV park guests. We used their washers and dryers this time and they are free and well maintained. RV Park utilities work, but they do not seem to be doing much maintenance and at some point expect the electric outlets to fail. Most sites can accommodate rigs up to 40 feet. If you have a 45 footer, suggest you ask for 156-159 or the "200" numbered sites. There is direct beach access. Mugu has a gas station and a small NEX, you'll need to go to Port Hueneme for a big NEX and Commissary. Being winter, no mosquitoes. We had no problem with wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 27, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Gorgeous beach, saw people catching fish. Spots are tight and map on site is outdated. There is also a lagoon for tenters. Only problem was we had to go through main gate because we arrived after 6 pm and despite base sticker, civilian at gate was very rude and disrespectful when asked simple questions and responded, I kid you not, by saying things like "you are blocking traffic" (nobody was behind me) and "you got it?" Small exchange and beach motel check-in were quite friendly however. Excellent wi fi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
89 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5