Fiddler's Cove RV Park

Hot
 
4.3 (72)
202784 1 26 1 109

User reviews

36 reviews with 5 stars
72 reviews
 
56%
 
31%
 
11%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.9(72)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(72)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(72)
Value
 
4.3(72)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(72)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
36 results - showing 21 - 36
1 2
Ordering
23 Feb - Mar 2 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this park! While the renovation took a lot longer than they anticipated, we feel it was worth the wait and booked as soon as we heard the park was open for business. There were a few bugs worth mentioning - the newest laundry/shower facility had issues with the keypad to the laundry room. It's electronic and failed several times on the weekend and locked out a few people who were doing their laundry. The staff responded, but it happened several more times. Wi-Fi is available but fee driven. It's provided by a commercial company and somewhat expensive. We simply set up our Verizon iPhone as a hot spot and just kept an eye on our data usage. Recommendation - if you get a site on the front row and have a class A coach, point the front towards the bay and make sure you have enough sewer hose to go under the coach to the sewer connection. Also, there is a TV cable connection on the utility tower (same configuration as the shore power towers at the marina) that isn't hooked up yet. We're not TV hounds so the 10 or so non-Spanish HD stations in the San Diego area were quite sufficient. The staff is still working on acquiring a cable provider. Secondly, they advertise fire rings at an extra charge, but have a limited number of them and didn't seem to know which sites have them and which didn't. Thirdly, if you are bringing children, the "beach" is really not an acceptable place to swim, only wade. It is silty with lots of seaweed. There is a nice beach on North Island about 7 miles away and a public beach at Silver Strand State Beach about a mile south of Fiddler's Cove. Lastly, we chose not to go over the Coronado Bridge on the day we arrived to avoid traffic and high winds. Traveling down I-5 and coming up 75 from Imperial Beach was a much better option for us. Overall, this was an excellent stay and value for us and we plan to come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
February 16, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've been waiting for years for Fiddler's Cove to re-open and wanted to get a test night in on President's weekend. Very nice, clean, modern facilities. Friendly people at the front desk. Nice location along the Strand...bring your bikes to ride along the nice bike path that is separate from the road. The guy at the front desk said that they'll be opening a pizza joint on the site (forgot when it's supposed to open...didn't see it under construction yet though). They are just missing a few things like picnic tables (front desk said they "might" be getting those), vegetation (there are a few tiny shrubs that separate sites right now), and fire rings (only 4 of those when we were there but it sounds like more were going to be installed soon). I couldn't get the cable TV to work and I didn't want to pay for WiFi so we went semi-tech free! All in all, a great place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23 Feb 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the first time we have stayed here since the recently completed renovation and I must say it is a tremendous improvement! The designers did a superb job of creating one of the better military parks in southern California. The roads are wide and well marked; they have offset the spaces in the back row such that one is able to view the water between the rigs in the front row; the hookup stations are state-of-the-art such that us old guys don't have to get down on our knees to plug stuff in; the check-in staff are very friendly and accommodating (especially Jan!); and the views of the harbor and the Navy ships across the bay are spectacular! So whats not to like? 1)they need to put a sign on the road as it is very easy to miss; 2)they should have put a few alternate hookup stations on the front row so that motor homes don't have to run their hoses, etc., underneath the rigs; 3)the cable TV needs tweeking; 4)picnic tables would be a nice addition; and 5)they are one of the few places today where you have to pay $9/day for WiFi. But these are minor things compared with the overall experience of one of the top Military RV parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
26 Feb 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were on the Silver Strand on our way down to Baja California ... couldn't pass up the chance to see the new Fiddlers Cove park. Wow! What a change. From the days of dry camping on shells to a completely modern facility with hook-ups, it has stepped up to be a premier park (I don't work for them!). The fees are much higher, but it's still one of the best bargains for Pacific Coast military campgrounds -- how many places offer $300 views for that price. Just a reminder: the sign to enter the park is the sail on a boat parked along the road. Easy to miss.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 13 2012
(Updated: June 20, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Well this was not the first time i stay here but i think that it is last this a dry camp and it is so nice just the way it is. i love waking up in the morning drink my coffee and see all of San Diego out my back window how nice. well the days of staying here are now gone because in July they are closing for about 6 to 12 month this is that they can upgrade this place by adding full hook up now that sounds great but this only means one thing and that is the price is going to go up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. the big question is why would you stay here any more because there is no way that they can met some of the other camp grounds in the area like having a pool a nice rec. room and so on so why would you pay a high price when you can get the same thing out in town it seams that this is always happening. just the thought this old navy guy
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 25-28, 2012
(Updated: June 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stay over Memorial Day weekend. May 25-28, 2012, Great weather, great neighbors. Friendly and great staff. Great lounge, watched a VHS and DVD Saturday night. Five minutes to downtown Coronado. Old Town San Diego was fun.Great breakfast at Clayton's. We will be back. LTC G.USAR, Retired
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 2 - 7, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
M.D. left this review using the Directory software: - The number being bandied about for a FHU site after the renovations is in the area of $40/Nite. Hope it's just a rumor, but if it's true, it'll be out of my reach. I've seen a lot of the military parks jack up their prices to match the surrounding civilian parks lately. Who's in charge of pricing, and why are they shafting the lower pay-grades? Why bother to stay at a FamCamp when you can stay at a civilian park with a pool, game room, etc for the same price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Aug 2011
(Updated: March 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is an excellent campground if you don’t mind dry camping. I would recommend a small generator for lights and the refrigerator (or you can run frig on propane). The campground/heads where clean and in good repair the scenery was beautiful (its San Diego I would expect anything less), you are a short drive from everything Sea World the zoo, any number of restaurants on Coronado and a commissary and NEX onboard North Island helps to make life a bit easier. The spaces are wide enough and long enough for big rigs it is a bit of a walk to the head but a nice walk in the morning is a good thing. My wife two kids and myself enjoyed our stay would defiantly stay again and for only $12 you can’t beat the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 8th & 9th, 2011
(Updated: July 11, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It was a great place to stay. A little mix up in the reservation, there are a must in summer. They found me a space and the reunion with my old buddy went fine. The Cove is breath taking. I hope I can stay there a again soon. They said they will be closing down soon to rebuilt the park with hook ups. Well I guess there goes $12 a night. The restroom and shower are really clean!!!!! The dump site is easy to use. Can't say enough about this place. Its Great, LTC Jesse Gonzalez, USAR-MSC, Retired
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 2-5, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Million dollar view, no one could ask for better look at the city lights and Coronado bridge. WOW! Large sites were level enough and it was fun watching aircraft carriers and tugs right across the bay from our camp. Very quiet during the week, but a few more kids on the weekend. Good places for walking the dog. Since it is dry camping only, fill up with water on the way in (good water, too). It was easy to dump on the way out. Appreciated all the recycling bins.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
14 Feb 2011 to 28 Feb 2011
(Updated: February 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have to agree with the other inputs this is a great place in which you can give five stars to even the amenities cause you know what you getting in to as far as dry camping..when I first came here I thought there was alot of congestion but from 9am to 3pm you can go anywhere without much hassle even to the activities ie Zoo, Museums etc. then again after 6pm. The free movies (up to date at that) was a nice plus with the ocean just across the road and only about 50ft from the bay with a fantastic view, lots of fishing, tanning, sightseeing it was a great 2 weeks.I will certainly stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July and Sept 2010
(Updated: September 21, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great dry camping...showers and laundry are very clean and well kept..gen hrs are 6am to 10PM...very liberal...Jim gets things done, Robert, Joann and Rob are very hard workers and keep the place shipshape. ATT cell and aircard work great...and well..u r 10 feet from the bay...cool marine layer knocks the 100 degree inland temps to 70! What more could you want..they have dump and blueboy for use...and water is fresh and good from faucet. Spent over 2 months there this year. 4th of July the potties got raunchy...but cleaned up quickly on Monday. Rich and Stefanie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
31 August 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stay at this campground about 10 weekends each year and this Memoral Day weekend going for 3 days. We have another retiree going with his family and a guest and his family. By far this is the best value in my mind in the entire San Diego area. Its true the sites are close together and not built for large rigs with numerous slides. When the upgrade is completed then this problem should be corrected. Unfortunately the upgrade will extend into the dry camp area. During the summer at $12 for active/retirees its the best you could ask for. You have large wide sites and up are up just a gentle rise from the water. For the July 4th weekend this is the best spot to set and watch numerious shows.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
December 2006
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is as good as the other reviews suggest and the staff is really that friendly. They want visitors to know that the U. S. Postal Service does not deliver to this facility so you need to have mail sent to General Delivery at Coronado, CA 92118. UPS and FedEx both deliver to your site. Their mail comes through the Naval Amphibious Base MWR office. The good news is that they have approved plans to add sewer to the sites and widen them over the next few years. In the mean time, they have a blue bomber that they loan out for you to pull behind your tow vehicle or dinghey. At least they try.
GK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent facilities, knowledgeable and helpful staff, close to commissaries and BX's. Some sites right on water but pretty close to adjoining sites - probably can't use awnings in most of those sites. Cost of sites with elect and water is $22 per day. Sail and Fishing Boat rentals available w/mandatory classes & safety checks. Beautiful views.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Without a doubt worth every penny. If and I say IF there was another RV park in Coronado like this one it would cost $60 a night. Although the spots are small San Diego, Coronado, and Mexico are all very close. Some back in spots and some pull through. Base is about 5 miles away with huge commissary and Gas Station. Kayak, and boat rentals at the RV park. Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
36 results - showing 21 - 36
1 2