Fiddler's Cove RV Park

 
4.3 (73)
202784 1 26 1 137

User reviews

73 reviews
 
56%
 
30%
 
11%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.9(73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(73)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(73)
Value
 
4.3(73)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
73 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
July 2016
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We have Camped here for over 25 years. It is Beautiful. I have given it ONE STAR FOR OVERALL EXPERIENCE BECAUSE. It should now make a sign at the Entrance to stipulate "If your not Active Duty Don't Bother to Ask About Reservations". It used to be usable for Retired but not anymore, as an Example Active Duty Reserve ALL Holidays such as 4th of July one year in Advance. Indeed I spoke with folks who before leaving Book the Next Year. I have nothing against giving our Active Duty Priority. However, I do wonder why the 76 year old Vietnam Vet is for the most part completely excluded from using this Facility due to Availability. It seems that the Older Vet who served 20 years and more should get a little bit more consideration. That is my Opinion and I hope the Managers can make this more equitable in sharing rights such as Camp Pendelton and other Military Facilities where the time frame does NOT Extend to one year. Also I might point out that so many things can change in one year I believe the Cancellation rate maybe quite high? 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 19 9
June 2-6, 2015
(Updated: November 08, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed 4 days, 2 were waterfront (space 47) and 2 were in a back row-back in (space 1). The first 2 days were great and the last 2 not so much. PROS: great views, not actually on base so non-military friends can visit easily. Reasonable rentals for bikes, paddle boards, kayaks, and sail boats, etc. Waterfront spaces have a fire pit and spaces 45-50 are located very near the facilities bathroom, showers, and laundry. Laundry is $1. Small store on site for few basic supplies. 2.5 miles from Coronado downtown. Near city bus line. Security gate and all facilities require use of secure access pin from 10pm -6am. CONS: they strictly enforce their quiet hours policy from 10pm - 6am with roving watches, monitor volumes of conversations on RV porches and outdoor sitting areas. The landscaping is not grass but small rock hard scaping that must be "treated like grass" no walking, parking, tenting allowed. Although they have a strict quiet hours policy they can't control the trading noise from the SEALs training at Coronado which includes helicopters, boats, and automatic machine gun fire and explosions....neat during the day....not so neat when it goes past 8pm and starts at 7am. If you have any degree of anxiety or PTSD please be aware. If we return it will ONLY be because of the great location, price, facility and location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 1
22-29 March 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This continues to be one of the best military sites available. It is also the only full-hookup RV park in the area so it is an even better deal. The commissary and NEX at NASNI are large and offer a very good selection. The price seems a little high now at $40 per day but if you don't like it, don't pay it. Each site now has a picnic table which is a very nice addition. We will stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
April 2016
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The campground itself is awesome. Nice big spaces, clean, nice people.  The only downfall is the barking dogs. Everyone owns a dog and everyone lets them bark, and bark, and bark. Laundry room is clean, price is only a dollar for the washer and a dollar for the dryer. The place would be perfect if people would be considerate of those around them and quiet their dogs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
December 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We very much enjoyed our week at Fiddlers Cove. The easy access to Coronado and its many shops, ferry to San Diego and many other great attractions makes this one of the best RV parks in the military constellation. What made it really exceptional for us was the courtesy and can do attitude of the staff. We had a truck issue that prevented us from making a timely departure and they worked with us to help get us on the road. May not sound exceptional but it was Christmas eve and we would not have made it to our family without their kind understanding. In my old Navy days we used Bravo Zulu to describe the best efforts and they deserve every bit of it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
Nov 8 - Dec 1, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I beg to differ with the person who wrote the previous review: we've stayed in all 3 rows and in my opinion, the front row is the best! The other are fine, so I wouldn't be disappointed in any position! We were there over Thanksgiving and having our family able to do s'mores over the fire pit was precious! It's subjective, but that's my opinion. Making reservations over a holiday "is" a challenge, but it can be done. Yes, I'm a retiree, but with Senior Chief attributes!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Mar 2-16, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We always enjoy our visit to FC. Unfortunately shortly after we arrived everything started to get crazy with Coronavirus. Stuff started closing and then the panic buying. We saw the handwriting on the wall with all the closings and decided to to check out early from our month long reservation and head home. Two days after we left, we got a call from FC saying that they were closing the RV park & canceling all reservations up to 6/1. I really feel sorry for the activity duty families that are “full timers” that rotate between military RV parks. Hopefully they’ve found places to stay. The staff was very accommodating, as much as they could be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Mar 30 - Apr 8, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This one of the Crown Jewels in the military RV Park system! We had a medical emergency while here and the night host was a gem! The folks in the neighboring RV jumped into help, too. Can't say "thank you" enough times to everyone. The military is truly "family". Since we have to extend our stay the staff has been very helpful in the rescheduling process. As is typical at most RV parks (civilian & Miliatry) the wifi is iffy at best. I don't see it as a negative, rather as just the way it is. We just plan to use our iPhone "hotspot".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 2-5, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Million dollar view, no one could ask for better look at the city lights and Coronado bridge. WOW! Large sites were level enough and it was fun watching aircraft carriers and tugs right across the bay from our camp. Very quiet during the week, but a few more kids on the weekend. Good places for walking the dog. Since it is dry camping only, fill up with water on the way in (good water, too). It was easy to dump on the way out. Appreciated all the recycling bins.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 2nd 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a gem of a park, set on the bay overlooking the City of San Diego. If you want to visit the city it could be a drag as like any city TRAFFIC. A mention on the hospitality Judy/Judith mgr. Is awesome and works hard to please. We stayed a week and spent time visiting family, enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
27 May14 - 31 May 14
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place was fantastic! The pads are big enough to park your car next to your camper! True there are no picnic tables, and the beach is a bit small, but we had our 4 and 6 year old and it was plenty for them. High tide covers the beach and low has enough beach for shell hunting and crab chasing! There is free WIFI but it's pretty spotty....There are fixed firepits for the front row spots number 47 to 59. The new bathroom/shower facilities were clean and outstanding! The little store was great and prices were NEX/Shopette prices not Downtown Coronado prices (it closes at 6 tho...)...Also..There is an NEX on both sides of the Amphib base. They were basically a standalone BX/NEX with tons of stuff...and there's a gas station on the oceanside NEX (they are open later and on weekends for the last gas and go)....My wife wanted to go there several times, maybe it was the super-in-shape navy divers walking around...hmmmmm..It was cheap so I didn't argue! Had a great time! Will come back hopefully soon! Great access to everything, close enough yet just far enough away!! If you get a chance, drive by the RV park on the Silver Strand. It will make you appreciate Fiddlers Cove even more. Too many RVs crammed into half the space... PS!! you are on the approach to the runway, so everyday was an awesome airshow!!! Some folks sleep easier with the noise! It was outstanding!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 2017
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
My husband is on orders so we ended up staying at the North Island Navy Gateway Inns & Suites. Since we were in the local area and intend to return with our RV, we decided to check out the park. It is small but wonderfully situated within a short bike ride to the Coronado area. The sites are small and there is no grass. It is definitely a beach and gravel area. They do have spots for retirees however I have to echo the sentiments previously stated. We had an opportunity to speak with one of people working at the area. He said, "I shouldn't be telling you this but...." When people begin with that... Anyhow he said what people do is book for 30 days. On the 28th day they drive out (leaving their items in storage) they cancel the rest of the reservation. They wait 12 hours and make another reservation for 30 days pulling back into their original site on the 30th day of the first reservation. That being said when we were visiting, we saw multiple sites available. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
11-19 June, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The Navy's Fiddler's Cove on Coronado Island, about a mile South of the Hotel Del Coronado on the Silver Strand headed toward Imperial Beach is the most convenient location in San Diego for military campers in my opinion, and... it's right on the beach on the inner bay. However, due the renovations that have underway for about two years, they only have about 35 DRY CAMP spots available currently, the other 5 being reserved for tent campers. But... they have large and clean showers, a laundry facility, a camp store...fresh water supply (top off when you pull in) and a dump... etc. I was just over there for a week... and... at $12 a night you can not beat it... especially when civilian campers are paying $50 a night for very cramped dry camping at a state park a mile further down the Silver Strand. They only have a 30 day advance reservations policy for retirees, but you can stay 30 days. Jim, the night manager, told me that they had rarely been full this summer, but with the 4th coming up I expect that will change. The week I was there in mid June... the morning marine layer was present until about 10 AM every day followed by beautiful sunshine... expect a steady breeze most of the time which can gust... so be sure and anchor your awning down with straps and buckets of rocks and wet sand as I did if you extend it (the ground is TOO hard for most screw-in and other anchors. Of the 15 rigs in with me... I was the only one brave enough to extend my awning...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
1 Nov-1 Dec 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Other than a few days in Sept/Oct this was our first long stay and must say very high on our list of military campgrounds. Wish we could have stayed longer. We were in site #15 middle row with a fairly good view of bay. Think next year we will try for bayside. Staff very helpful and nice, laundry facilities ideal..never a wait,recreational rentals of boats, bikes and kayaks very reasonable and convenient. We found the Naval Air Station beach to our liking as less crowded than public beach on Ocean. Ocean Gate to base open Monday-Friday which is closer to beach. Base Commissary and Exchange very nice. We enjoyed walking Orange Avenue and going for bagels at Bruegger's. Also Village Pizza across the street has great pizza and the stuffed artichoke appetizer delish. If you like hot dogs, stop in at Delux Hot Dogs on Orange. Definitely recommend this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
July 14 to 21, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I've been waiting and watching for this park to open for a couple years. When I made my reservation I had to change my summer plans to get a 7 day block here and then had to accept a move to a non-water front site four days in to it. The place is packed and I'm pretty bugged that they have two sets tenters in full hook up sites and NO tenters in any of the tent sites! I had a conversation with the grumpier of the two women working the front desk on the day I had to move. I asked her if I had a shot at getting in next summer if I called right at the six month day for a reservation and she said "probably not", that active duty is booking like crazy for next summer and they get to book a year out. I really don't like bringing negative stuff on here so I'm hoping I'm wrong and we all have a shot a getting in here. If the retirees are shut out because we can't book a year ahead then I hope they come up with a system that spreads the happiness better. I had a great time here. Visited with friends and family and really enjoyed the area. Navy North Island is really nice. They have a great beach on base and good places to eat and a nice commissary/NEX. If you can get in here you should.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 3
9 - 14 January 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a great experience. Arrived 2 hours early to check in time (trying to beat the expected rain) and Michaela at the desk checked us right in. Had a spot right up against the bay and it was very nice, and the rain did start after we had set up the travel trailer. $45/night for a bay-front spot, I believe the inner spots are $40/night. A great bargain when the private RV parks are $60-$90/night. Good Wi-Fi service (we ran it through our laptop computer and HDMI cabled it to our big TV to watch Netflix). Used the adjacent dog park and later went on the North Island Base to shop at the Exchange and Commissary (NOTE: traffic going onto the base is VERY heavy at the 2 pm shift change so avoid that time period). Diesel fuel available in Imperial Beach (just south of the RV Park) for $3.65/gallon which is cheap for California. The park is very quiet at night (had to walk the dog at 3 am) and there is little traffic on Highway 75 which runs in front of the park from Coronado to Imperial Beach. One big surprise: The Navy/Marine Corps was test firing their big machine guns on the other side of the highway and it sounded like the rounds were going right OVER the RV (I know this is not true but it sounded that close). And the Navy helicopters were flying overhead most of the time; but the flights stopped at night. I have no complaints about this. Great place to stay when visiting San Diego.
Fiddler's Cove RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2 March-16 March, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This newly remodeled facility will likely soon be in the top 5 of all 260 military RV parks. The grounds, amenities, views, location, staff and sense of community are unparalleled! True that there are no picnic tables or free WiFi, but those issues are minor. The store is well stocked and the bath house/laundry are kept very clean. A walking, jogging, bike path can be accessed from the RV park and take the non-motorized traveler north to Coronado or south to Imperial Beach. In addition, access to a rental sail and power fleet with onsite lessons make this RV park unique and desirable. My only concern is that this facility may get so popular that I might not be able to get in next year when we pass through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What's not to like? Fabulous location on Coronado. About 1 mile N to NAB Coronado. Smaller newer park well-spaced out. Paved bike / run path up/down silver strand and beyond. Town of Coronado beyond cute. Great beaches, Hotel Del Coronado, eateries. Golf, both a Muni and a military course nearby. Easy drive across bridge to downtown San Diego or take the ferry or water taxi. On same property is Navy Marina. Rent water toys, bicycles. Amazing views day or night. Doubt you'll be disappointed. Only caution, strategically plan bridge crossing during non-commuter hours. Enjoy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
1-8 Jan 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground. Price may be high for military campground, but since camping in the area is extremely high priced - $60 water & electric at state beach, this is great price for FHU. Nice double concrete pads. Free WIFI not that great - slow, you can subscribe online to get fast service, but didn't so can't tell you how it was. Did not use the bathhouse, but appeared clean. Lots to do in the area and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Staff was fairly friendly and helpful, nothing exceptional. Well worth a visit and stay if you have never been there. ATT cell service 3 bars.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 8th & 9th, 2011
(Updated: July 11, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It was a great place to stay. A little mix up in the reservation, there are a must in summer. They found me a space and the reunion with my old buddy went fine. The Cove is breath taking. I hope I can stay there a again soon. They said they will be closing down soon to rebuilt the park with hook ups. Well I guess there goes $12 a night. The restroom and shower are really clean!!!!! The dump site is easy to use. Can't say enough about this place. Its Great, LTC Jesse Gonzalez, USAR-MSC, Retired
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
73 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4