Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.3 (95)
87204 2 26 0 23

User reviews

95 reviews
 
17%
 
34%
 
24%
 
12%
 
14%
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.2(95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.4(95)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.1(95)
Value
 
3.5(95)
Overall Experience
 
3.3(95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
95 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
January 16, 2013
(Updated: January 16, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We usually stay here at least one night coming and going to/from Arizona. The park has never looked better; the center area is filled with rock and recently planted trees, and looks great. The Famcamp is easy to get to and is close to the commissary and BX. We like that there are no reservations, and that has never ever been a problem to find a place to park. Site 21 - the sewer is about 4" below the concrete surface so requires a donut to connect - don't remember that issue with other sites. Some sites are not terribly level. But all in all we happily stay here once or twice a year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7 Dec 2012
(Updated: December 09, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here one night enroute from Travis to Nellis. The location is perfect right off Hwy 58. Access onto base was easy, just showed ID's and the airman told us how to find the camp. It is a spartan little camp on a spartan little base, as she said as we left "Just be glad you don't have orders to stay here the next 4 years!" Nice clean shower/restroom facilities, a pleasant little day room set up with small library, TV, comfy chairs and a few books and games. The museum on base is a must-see! Great displays of the heyday of aerospace testing at Edwards. Typical static displays outside, but they have an SR71! Always like seeing that bird. The museum is just south of camp and within walking distance - just look for the buff! We also enjoyed seeing Lake Rosamund where it all happened back in the day. The base has a small but very nice BX complex and a commissary. Bowling alley, golf course and outdoor rec all within easy distance of camp. Propane at the gas station just a block from camp. There is also a very nice rest area a few miles east of the gate and I highly recommend venturing into the small town of Boron where you will find a couple more small museums. One on Air & Space and the other all about the 20 Mule Teams and early days of Boron. They are free, but we left a donation to help them keep it that way. The Borax Mine also has a museum, but we did not make it there this time. Definitely will stay there again, Edwards is a desert gem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
3 - 4 October 2012
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Location is very convenient if you are east or westbound on CA-58. We stopped here for two nights as we were leaving central California heading east to I-40. Very good directional signs from the gate lead you right to the campground. There were about eight spots available when we arrived, and we circled around and choose the one we could find that would provide a little afternoon shade. Self registration is very easy, but only cash or checks. Electrical voltage was a little low, just below 110, but adequate to run the AC without damaging it, and that was using the 50 amp outlet. The location is a short walking distance to the BX, Commissary, and Starbucks. Starbucks has very good WiFi. There is none at the campground. There is no cable TV and my antenna would pick up only two channels: one in Chinese, and the other was too stupid to watch. Very clean restrooms and laundry. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Feb-April, May-June, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed at Edwards for two 90 day periods, separated by two weeks. The 15 dollars a day for retired military is a real bargain. The Camp Host, Andy is a great guy who helped us out several times. When our cat got out and bit and scratched my wife, he and his wife were very helpful by giving us some needed bandages, gauze and ointment. Andy gave us some great advice about RVs and showing me how to properly secure my Harley. Located in a great spot. Within a few blocks to base facilities. Bowling Alley is about a block away. There is a swimming pool right next to the Famcamp. We never used it, but we saw others with kids going over there. They have a good size water slide and with the hot weather, it was getting used alot. Good golf course on the base. I know on Wed. there have a 20 dollar deal--18 holes, cart and lunch. The showers/bathroom were clean. Nice washing machines and dryers in laundry room. They have a day room with ice, microwave, TV and DVD player. A couple of exercise machines and also a small exchange book library. This was the first Famcamp that we have stayed out, so I just hope all of them are as nice as this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jun 16 & 17, 2012
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived at the FAMCAMP not really knowing where to park. However, a gentleman who was driving around in a golf cart told us that we could choose any spot and then self-register. He also warned us that due to the extreme heat that they'd been having power problems and asked if we'd only use one air-conditioner. We did use the bowling alley which was very close as well as the BX and commissary. The last morning we stopped at Starbucks to use Wi-Fi. So overall the FAMCAMP was nice except the temps were too high!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24 May -30 May, 2012
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice CG..this is our 3rd or 4th visit here and our longest...got caught in the 70mph winds last night..took down 4 power poles in Lancaster...NB- believe the high wind advisory and especially when it gets to a warning...we were lucky to get here in one piece...very slow driving! So we are hunkered down till Monday or Tues...it is a ghost town for the holiday...we found the Shoppette mentioned in previous review..from the end of the commissary, with the commissary front entrance to your right, turn right up the winding road..there is the Class VI, Subway, Pizza hut.. post office, and a plethora of little shops...more than in the BX/Commissary complex... We would return without a second thought...the concrete curbs comng in are not a real problem..they are only inches high!! We traveled in a 32 travel trailer. oh be prepared with extra hose lengths in case you are lucky to get a shady spot (we did!! ) --HU's are longer away in this spot as it is on a dead end road (space 1 and 2)... And only reason did not get 5 stars is a tad distant from town (30 miles)..not a real big deal..most folks are 1-2
nighters..again this was most full I have seen it in years... Rich and Stefanie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10-11 May 20012
(Updated: May 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent the night here to get the season started and to warm up (we live on the coast). It was easy to find the RV camp, (watch out for the winding curbs going thu the base gates), no reservations needed, probably 1/2 full, easy pull thrus, FHU, not a lot of shade & little grass, lots of small trees planted that should help with the shade in the coming years, pet friendly. Both the well stocked commissary & exchange were within short walking distance as well as quite a few fast food venders. Note to self: Get Beer before getting set up. Neither the commissary nor the exchange sell beer. I walked a long hot/dry ways looking for the shoppette with its' promise of the cold ones needed to complete my camp out, no luck finding the elusive shoppette. I Finally ventured out again to the base gas station. I knew where it was. Still a bit of a walk but not as far as that unsuccessful shoppette venture. SCORE, and another hot walk back to the RV. The camp host came by for a friendly chat. Seamed be be a pretty nice guy. Was hot in the day and cooled off pretty well in the night. A nice fairly quiet camp out. At $15 a night, I'll certainly go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29-31 Mar 2012
(Updated: March 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The weeds are gone! Another very nice stay. This is the first time we have seen this Famcamp completely full. We'll be back. Good power and water pressure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec. 14-15, 2011 and Dec 26, 2011
(Updated: January 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The camp has nice, clean facilities. Laundry room with 3 washers/dryers; restroom with 2 showers. Multi-purpose room has books, games, area information. Visited the Air Force Flight Test Center Museum, which is well worth the visit. The Dryden Flight Research Facility only gives tours on certain days and advance reservations are required. Commissary and Exchange had good selection. Previous reviews had complained about weeds in the FamCamp, but we saw no evidence of this. We spent a total of 3 nights, but never encountered a camp host. However, the self-registration system works just fine. The $25 per night fee is a bit steep for the isolated location, but EAB worked well has a stopover point in our travels to/from Yuma, AZ. Nearby is the Rio Tinto Visitor Center (boron mine) and the 20 Mule Team and Aerospace Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 11, 2011
(Updated: June 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great spot to spend a few days visiting the base itself. There isn't much else close by in the way of attractions. The host was very helpful and hospitable. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2011
(Updated: June 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first visit here. The campground is old but all utilities worked good and the sites are level. Verizon has a good single. All shopping is in walking distance. The museum was great good history and highly recommended and static displays were presented well. The NASA gift shop is also a great visit. Poor Andy has his hands full with the weeds and is a fine host (To bad they won't let him use round up). He's a wealth of information on the base and surrounding area. This is a great stop over for a few days to rest up and shop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2-3 May 2011
(Updated: May 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I fear Andy is loosing the weed battle here. The concept of putting rock in the center area was good in theory but not very practical. The weeds have taken over. Edwards is a great stop-over park where you can relax and get some shopping done at the Commissary and BX. We have been here several times and will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 23-24, 2011
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Upon arrival, Andy the camp host, was busy weed-eating weeds. It looked like a losing battle. We had just pulled into our site when he drive up to greet us. Very nice and dedicated camp host. It appears MWR is providing more support than they did years ago, but still need to put more attention into the FamCamp. Wouldn't it be nice if even 75% if the revenue generated by the FamCamp is put back into the campgrounds? Besides the weeds, the FamCamp is a nice pace to relax and spend some time if in t he area. Large BX and Commissary across the street. The nightly rate and rotation policy is VERY fair. There were about a dozen sites available when we arrived, with 6 of them getting filled by evening. We'll always stay here when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar 15 - 16, 2011
(Updated: March 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
When we visited the grounds were not in good shape. Weeds high and the whole campground looked unkept. This facility is way out in the desert, and far away from anything. The commissary and exchange is close to the famcamp and within walking distance. It is well stocked. The famcamp is next door to the swimming pool which is indoors. The host is very friendly and helpful. Overall I think they need to come into the famcamp and clean up the weeds.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 2011
(Updated: March 13, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were fortunate to have one of the three sites that had trees and a lot of room from your neighbors. The host was very informative and friendly. The amenities were fine and in my opinion a very good value for $15. The location is remote however the Boron facility and the Air and Space museum were nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 24 2011
(Updated: January 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not a bad little camp ground. On honor system as the camp host has day job mentioned in earlier post. $15.00 for 'lectrics, water, and sewer. Not much to see and do but okay for an over the night stop. One issue I did not like is that there happens to be an area for kids for after school activities. The kids come from school and walk through the camp ground to reach the activity center. As a whole I find military dependent kids to be better behaved that most of their civilian counter parts but if I leave my camper for a trip to the head I am sure to lock up tight. Just trying to keep honest kids honest. Other than that not a bad little campground for a nights stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 24, 2010
(Updated: November 06, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The RV campsites are not being maintained. Weeds all around the sites. Stayed there overnight in May 2010 and no host available the whole afternoon and evening. Site slips had not been removed from the board when sites were vacated leaving us wondering which sites were available. Leaking water bibs at sites. Tall dead vegetation around the laundry and restrooms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 19, 2010
(Updated: October 21, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is just a great place to camp. The facilities are clean, well laid out, easy to get to and convenient to everything that the area has to offer. Tip of the hat to Andy (host). The weather was becoming very stormy the evening that we were there and he went the extra mile to go around and notify everyone of the impending storm. Awnings and external items were spared because of his efforts. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
9-10 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not much has changed since our last visit to Edwards. The hosts are only in the park at night and weekends since they have jobs in Lancaster. Good BX and Commissary. They have diesel fuel at the gas station. The old trailer park behind the RV Park will soon be turned into a new BX Care Care Center, Shoppette and gas station. Also, a new dining facility will be built in the same area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 11, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.P. left this review using the Directory software: The BX has undergone a remodeling with a larger electronics and BluRay/DVD selection, but the prices are still high. Nice Food Court. Burger King is getting a major remodel, only drive thru is available. We live in Rosamond and haven't stayed at the FamCamp, I've placed ratings because it's required to submit this, and based my input on others reviews.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
95 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5