Camp Roberts campground

Camp Roberts

Featured
 
3.3 (33)
72905 0 8 0 12

User reviews

33 reviews
 
9%
 
39%
 
33%
 
9%
 
9%
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.3(33)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.3(33)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.2(33)
Value
 
4.1(33)
Overall Experience
 
3.4(33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 21 - 33
1 2
Ordering
September 2010
(Updated: October 01, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
If, like us, you want full hook-ups and solitude, this is the place. Park is very bare-bones but they have plans to upgrade it. People on this base are very very friendly and helpful. Great sandwiches and smoothies at the internet cafe. Retirees can eat at the dining facility. We didn't use it, but were told the food is very good. Small fitness center behind Billeting. The museum across the street from the fitness center is not to be missed. Open Thursdays and Saturdays. We visited twice during our two weeks at the base and will return next year. We really enjoy this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
14 July 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
10 new gravel sites added within the last ?6 months. Easy access, great hook ups. Very friendly staff at billeting office. You can't beat the price. 48 mile drive over excellent roads to visit Hearst Castle. Hearst Castle has large RV parking area. Driving vehicles over 30ft in length North of San Simeon, (Hearst Castle), on HWY1 not recommended as posted. Camp Roberts has a small PX with a fair selection of items/food. 13 Mile drive south on 101 to Paso Robles and Hwy 46 has numerous wine tasting stops/vineyards. No Wi-fi but verizon service good in the area. A good place to stop over or spend time to see Hearst Castle or visit vineyards. No traffic noise heard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April17, 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We read complaints about traffic noise, but honestly we had more noise in some private resorts. This time of the year it is beautiful here. Billeting was very friendly and helpful. Travel to Paso Robles is 13 miles on 101 where there are lots of shops and wine/olive tasting. Only a short distance to the coast on a beautiful road. We stayed in the new site area. GREAT!!! We will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 3, 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WOW! Paso Robles has grown up! Great place to roam. The Moose Lodge is very friendly. Near Hearst Castle and Denny's is just 5 min away. The campground has full hookups. A little tricky to find at 4 in the morning. Guard is very graceful and polite no matter how many times you get lost. We found the price is nice! No restrooms or showers, but our RV with water, sewer and electric did just fine. Will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18-19 March 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
New section is fine, all pull-through with plenty of room between sites. Older section is overgrown, long-term residents here. Some RV's appear to be abandoned. Being close to the highway, road noise is a problem. Can't beat the price though. Good location for visiting wineries. Close to 200 in the area. Plus a couple good olive oil places. Also a great little air museum at the Paso Robles airport. Worth the visit, plus it has quite a car collection there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 March 2010
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The new section is now open with ten (10) new pull throughs. These have W/E50,30,20/ S. The spaces are a little tight but decent. These are hard packed gravel not concrete pads, but they are hard packed and level. The closeness of the spaces makes it unpractical for any tables. This is a good place for an overnight or to stay while visiting the area. The RV park is next to the freeway and therefore picks up the traffic noise. The Shoppette, is OK. Kinda pricey but has munchies. Mostly it is geared to support the needs of the National Guard personnel and their needs. The CG area is in need of housekeeping as the area is overgrown and run down, with local trailers unkept and overgrown with weeds and such. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to answer any questions and help with information. Good phone and air card reception (Verizon).
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 30, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first experience with a Military campground. For us it was a place to stop and sleep on our way north. We really appreciated the willingness of the campground to accept the CG Auxiliary. The staff in the office was very friendly and helpful. We didn't arrive until after dark, so I don't know about any of the amenities or facilities, as we pulled out early in the morning, but for $10/night you can't find a better value in the area. The other two RV parks are quoting as high as $85/night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov. 16-17, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I compromised on the Cleanliness/Hospitality rating. Cleanliness is a 1, but hospitality is a 5. It seems it wouldn't take much work to clean up the campground, get rid of the weeds, do a little landscaping, run proper water lines to each site, etc. But I'm sure they just don't have the manpower or budget. On the other hand, the office staff were wonderful and I know they wish they could do more. But on the other hand, improvements to the park would also raise the price. The best feature here is the wonderful cost. (Although, Gila Bend, AZ is a better RV park for $7). The location isn't the greatest. However, Paso Robles and the coast isn't too far of a drive. This was our 2nd time here and would stay again for a day or two if we're in the area. We were lucky to get a site, as the park was full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 26-28, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Based on the previous reviews there must be improvement. The billeting office was very friendly and helpful. The site is pretty bare but I have good electricity and water in site #11. According to billeting 11 out of the 12 sites are booked. We were planning on stopping in Paso Robles but all the RV parks wanted over $30 and one wanted $45+ so at $10 this is a great value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 25 - 27, 2007
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I agree maintenance is a low priority. Although Billeting is trying hard to provide the best they can, with what they're given. They even have (unfunded) plans to build a new RV Park. As mentioned, not all sites have W/E/S. They all have electric, and those that don't have water have a garden hose running from the site next to them. Since most RV's are self-contained, it's a compromise to use your own sewer or fresh water tank to stay here (if needed). For the reasonable price, I had no problems using our own fresh water tank, since regular garden hoses aren't good for fresh drinking water (bacteria grows in them). They know this location isn't popular, as there's not much in the local area to visit. We enjoyed our few days here, which allowed us to catch up on some chores, reading, and washing the rig. Not a destination park, but a fair place to spend a few nights at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 2006
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Only 5 sites have full hook ups. The remaining sites do not have water or sewer or both. The hook up area is overgrown with weeds about 1 foot high. Maintenance of hook ups seem to be a very low priority. We had planned to stay 14 nights with full hooks, however, we could only find a site with water and electric. We changed our plans and only stayed one night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Basically a grass covered field with power poles & water/sewer hookups. Not all sites had working water. Good 50A power. Camp Roberts is a largely deserted WWII training base. Not exactly a destination FamCamp; old, run down post, 2.5 miles from gate & 15 miles to town. OK as a base to tour wineries or Hearst Castle.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Nice camping base for travel to local sightseeing. A new campground is in planning stage with no date given for completion. Quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
33 results - showing 21 - 33
1 2