Admiral Baker RV Park

 
3.8 (81)
178568 0 10 3 60

User reviews

81 reviews
 
25%
 
44%
 
23%
 
6%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.5(81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(81)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(81)
Value
 
3.6(81)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
81 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
24-31 Mar 09
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Very convenient to major attractions and military bases, but one of the most poorly run military camps in which we've stayed. The office staff is uninformed and had no maps of the local area to pass out. Not only is wi-fi not available for free, it's about $9/day, which is robbery. I called ahead and asked for the General Delivery address and was told "I don't know." Then I found it printed in their brochure. The sites are very small and the park is overall ratty looking. The "host" spot is the worst of the bunch. We won't come back, which is a shame because San Diego is a beautiful city.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 30, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This was a great park until it was "discovered" and now you can't get a space even with a three week advance call. The people administering the park are horrible! I reserved an overflow parking space and when I asked if I could be put on a waiting list for a full service site I was told NO I would just have to call everyday. When I arrived and found that no site had become available I stayed in the overflow which is nothing to write home about. I used to be able to stay on the asphalt parking lot adjacent to the park but no more. Although I told her I would only stay one day the following day we received a phone call stating that a full service site was available and I would have to pay for it in spite of the fact we were in Arizona. They just can't administer a campground reservation and be pleasant about it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
20 December 2008
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This campground was a mild disappointment to us. We camped here over the Christmas holidays intending to have campfires, set up a play tent, and decorate our rig with lights. The office management can't seem to understand why you would want to set up a tent at a "FAMily CAMPground", nor are they willing to bend on allowing a small campfire in a completely contained fireplace...with that...we didn't even bother to decorate the rig because it was clear we wouldn't be able to spend a lot of time outside the rig at night. Overall, the location is very convenient to the San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, and other attractions. Additionally, it has probably the most impressive playground for children we have ever seen. The bathrooms are clean, if somewhat spartan and antiquated--but functional. I just think that with some policy changes this campground could be a lot better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2-13 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pros: location convenient to many bases and sights, playground, large park nearby, cable, level concrete pads. Cons: a little pricier then other famcamps but not too bad, internet was outrageously priced, pads were small, laundry a little pricey but average among famcamps. In need of updating, bathrooms were not very clean on weekends but we didn't use them often. Also a little tight on the drive area, hard to turn around and get in and out with the TT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 Oct 2008 - 31 Oct 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This campground has a great location for visiting San Diego. I probably would have rated the Amenities higher if the pool area had been open. The staff in the office were very helpful and friendly. I had no reason to speak with the camp host and he didn't come around to speak with anyone that I saw. The camp host area is not a positive image for the facility. There was a dog tied outside all day about five spaces from the camp host on the last two days of our visit and he made no effort to address the situation. We did have a problem with ants until we asked the staff to cut back the tree branches from directly over the coach. We did not have a need to use the laundry or showers so they are not included in our rating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Full timer every 30 days after 14 days out
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Alva the woman in the office is absolutely the nicest person in the world and is very helpful. The manager Panama is neither helpful or nice for being a proclaimed christian, he doesn't show any kind of compassion towards his fellow service men ( I am 100% service disabled. They have 2 Disabled spots but he will put larger RV's in the spots when they are not disabled). That is the only reason the hospitality rating is so low. It has a nice coin laundry in the center with modern machines, but the bathroom facilities have push button locks on the door making it extremely difficult to get into the restroom while in a wheelchair. Also, I don't know about the ladies room but it seems like the manager is doing nothing to repair the restroom. Lock on handicapped stall has been broken for over a year, all urinal stall walls have been taken down, so not only is there no privacy, but if there was a full house, you are certain to feel your neighbors splatter. Also, the first sink handle is broken and not fixed. Golf balls will occasionally fly over the fence and hit your RV *OUCH*. Love the park, hate the manager! Hate to deal with him, and this alone is enough for you to not want to come back. Unfortunately I have no choice because my RV is my home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
S.R. left this review using the Directory software: Great value for the San Diego area. Just wish the full time RV'ers would not junk up their sites with statues of animals and yard sale junk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 July - 1 August, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J. C. left this review using the Directory software: Contrary to other reviews, we found park staff to be helpful. They held our reservation even though park was almost completely full and they had rigs in overflow. Spaces are small and tight and if you have a 45 footer as we do, ask for space 47 or 49 - they are easily the biggest in the park and easy in and out. Only "real" issue was that some folks just would not pick up after their dogs. $22.00 a night for this kind of location is a real bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
21 Apr - 21 May 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The location is the best! We stayed for a month and still didn't do everything we wanted. Golfing was great and the staff at the clubhouse were extremely helpful. We tried to extend 15 days, at first we were told no problem but they had to fix the computer first and would call us that evening...didn't hear from them so went in the next day and were told we would have to move out, dry camp 5 days, and then move back in. We decided to press on. The "first impression" of the campground would be improved quite a bit if the night host site was cleaned up. Overall, an very good campground with friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
May 4-7, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'm very impressed with the location and peace and quiet of the park. Its our first time visiting San Diego and this park can't be beat. About 5 miles to any of the major tourist attractions and we get to come home to this island in the city. A little high in price for a FAMCAMP, but considering the area, I think its very reasonable. The staff did not appear to show any favoritism and was out-of-their way helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Mar 24-31, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The location, as has been reported before, for the city is excellent. The sites are short & tight. I'm a golfer, so I loved being next to the golf course! Our personsal preference is to go to one of the "beach" locations next time, though. If you like a big city location, this IS your cup of tea! For kids I'd think this is a great location. There is lots of park/playground area for them, not to mention all the "fun" places to go near by!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
March 2008
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We had reservations but they were so messed up when we arrived that we almost left. One of the staff asked if we would stay an hour to see if "something" could be worked out. A site was found. We were supposed to be in full hook-ups 3 days--on the afternoon of the third day, someone from the office called to ask if we were moving to dry camp!! We asked if mistakes were often made and were told "no". I wonder.... Would stay again because we like San Diego but would hope for a better experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 3
Feb 12, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Did not have a reservtion, but stayed in overflow with no hook ups of any kind. The office staff said that they would let me know if anyone cancelled a reservation. I guess no one cancelled as I was left in the overflow the complete stay, but there were numerous rigs that moved from overflow to a site that arrived after I did. I am guessing that they must have been Officer caliber and I happen to be enlisted. It seemed that the office staff can tell you anything and put who they want in the sites. I have found that the Air Force Family Camps are the best camps to stay in as there does not seem to be any rank has its privelidge in the Air Force Camps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 5
Nov. 20 - 25, 2007
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Price is now $22/night - getting toward that price where amenities "better" offset the cost. But, because it's right in SanDiego (with tons to do), and because there are excellent playgrounds (one in the CENTER of the CG) and a swimming pool, and because a superb comissary is nearby, I would pay the price for a short stay. However, 1) most of the pads are close to each other, 2) dry camping is right accross the road from many full hookup sights (so generator noise is common), 3) there is only one "loop" so traffic is steady enough to keep kids off their bikes on the only pavement; the road, 4) there is no recycling. It also seems that even though they take reservations, I was assigned a sight where trailers usually park (I'm in 35', and towing), and they only had me down for three days instead of the five I asked for. Luckily, it worked out, I was sent to a large sight, but had to re-up at the end of three days. I got to stay in that sight, but if I'd moved I would have been rating this place a lot worse. Perhaps they need to invest in one of those large VISUAL boards with all the sights at a glance (instead of scrolling through each and every sight on the computer); it took forerver to make all this come together.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
February 28, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
B.T. left with the Directory software: Great place to stay! Easy access to freeways, close to trolley station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
---
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
If your a first time visitor to San Diego and you can get into this park by all means do it. It is easy to get to everything from this park. There are tennis courts, full size swimming pool and two 18 hole - really well maintained - golf courses here with a $7M club house that has everything. Be carefull when entering and departing. We have a 38' 5th wheel and had no problems at all. Do not expect to get an extention. The over flow is almost always full. Lots of shade in the parking area which is kind of a large horse shoe with no one behind you. We were able to get our Dish to work but if you have one attached to your rig you may have a problem.
CW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
{No comments recevied}
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall, very nice, low-key, military RV campground with easy access to the highway, and all of San Diego. Not actually on a military base...looks more like a county park but felt secure nevertheless. Finding the office for check-in: Turn right past the unmanned checkpoint, then next left into the large paved parking lot in the middle of an open grassy field...the signs pointing to the reception are NOT clearly marked. You can just park in the large lot and walk about a block to the north of the ball field to get to the office, or if you need to drive, look for the hidden perimeter access road that loops around to the east. Very friendly reception staff! Sites are concrete with newer W/S/E hookups. Nice, central picnic area with clean laundry and restrooms. Pet-friendly as well. Would definitely recommend and plan to visit again.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good campground, expecially if your a golfer. It is very busy. They had 1 to 4 in overflow all time. Do need reservations. WiFi was very good. They have been working on it. I was in site 6 and a person told me they were in this site some time ago and it was unuseable. Seems to be an attractive place for dogs and there were a lot there. Some barking and couple off leash in open areas behind RVs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Friendly staff: good location; nice sites. This is pet heaven, we were located between a RV with 5 dogs on one side and 2 on the other. They all used the green area behind the campsite for dog walks frequently throughout the day. We were concerned about letting our grandkids play there. There should be a designated pet area assigned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
81 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5