Admiral Baker RV Park

 
3.8 (81)
178568 0 10 3 60

User reviews

81 reviews
 
25%
 
44%
 
23%
 
6%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.5(81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(81)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(81)
Value
 
3.6(81)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
81 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
1-6 october 2011
(Updated: October 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been frequenting this facility for over 10 years; the staff has improved tremendously (in the past no one would answer or return call and they were combative but now they are friendly and accommodating) and the grounds/facilities have steadily improved over the year. However, we feel it is important to point out that there are a few issues in the park with bugs and things that crawl in the night. Along with all the other fellow campers we have had to battle ant infestations on every visit however, during this current stay we experienced approximately $100 damage on our first night of a 5 day stay. The culprit was a large, out of control rat that we witnessed running from our patio upon returning from dinner and taking refuge in the engine compartment of the RV next to us. The next morning we discovered the damage which consisted of a destroyed retractable dog leash, a badly chewed up canvas doggie bag holder and hole chewed through a canvas foot stool. A photograph of this damage was given out to the staff and they said they would pass it onto their manager. We requested that they take some sort of proactive eradication program for both rats and ever persistent ants. We understand that in camping you will encounter inconveniences and critters, but when visiting this campground make sure you bring your ant spray, any other remedies for ants and mouse/rat poison...it is well worth the investment. The purpose of this posting is two-fold; one to warn future visitors about this issue of ants/critters and secondly, that this will encourage staff and management to take a more active/proactive stance in dealing with these issues. We will definitely return here as it is not only a convenient facility for the San Diego area. the staff is wonderful and for the area, the price is reasonable. We were in a 35 foot RV and we found the sites to be more than large enough for us and our tow vehicle.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2011
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A well kept secret in a great location if you want to be a tourist in San Diego. Within 15 to 30 minutes of most attractions. Sites a a little tight, but we've been in a lot tighter. No problem backing my motorhome in. Had room to park our toad in front after we were set up. The bathroom/shower facilities were very clean and well-kept. Excellent laundry facility as well. The office for check-in is quite the walk from the parking lot (a good stretch after driving all day). If you're a golfer, this is a great place. The north and south courses are both great courses. The north is longer and more difficult. There is a driving range as well. Nice grassy area to walk the dogs. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 2011
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Park is difficult to get in and out due to VERY steep hill and traffic. Area is in a valley with only one entrance/exit. Might be scary in event of fire or some other disaster. Spaces are too close together and nearly impossible to get into due to placement of poles and other vehicles (we have a 30 foot 5th wheel). Spaces are gravel with very small concrete pads for RV. Restrooms and Laundry are older and need updating. Golf course next to RV area is beautiful but lays in water after slightest rain. Park was without water TWICE while we were there for a total of 5+ days (very small refund given)!! Country Club is nice and has great views but the food was mediocre at best and restaurant was under renovation with seating outside only. Lots of road noise due to park activities and neighboring apartments. Also had loud blaring music (from nearby apartments and bars) most nights past midnight and even later on weekends. Surely they make lots of money with their HIGH prices but they aren't re-investing in improving the RV area! Price is expensive compared to other military parks we have stayed in, but everything in CA is! No Commissary, or mini-mart on site. BEST ASSETS: Grassy park area with pool, playground for kids, close to all area attractions and they take reservations! Otherwise, this place really needs some serious updating - it COULD be a fabulous gem!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 25-March 1, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location, close to local attractions, shopping and restaurants. Called one day ahead for reservations and it was good we did as there were people in the overflow for the weekend. Staff and our neighbors were friendly. Good places to walk the dog. Spots were level and all hookups worked well. Plenty of room to maneuver.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22-31 January 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Located near Qualcomm Stadium, this RV park is centrally located to attractions, freeways, etc. But it is not too noisy. For the San Diego area, we felt the price was good. We found this park to be exceptionally clean. It has a nice, big laundry facility. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. RV sites back up to a nice park/playground for kids. There is lots of green space and a pool with water slide. This RV park is adjacent to their 2 – 18 hole golf courses. We loved staying here and will be back. We camped in a 35ft Motor Home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
3-23 Jan 11
(Updated: January 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This is the most expensive military RV park we have been to and the worst maintained. They have raised the rate $8 in the last two years. The park is dirty and their is no one to enforce any of the rules. The office personnel are there only to collect the money and assign a space. We will not be returning. We suggest anyone interested, check out Santee Lakes in Santee. It is run by the city of Santee and on a monthly basis is over $200 less. It is run professionally and has much more to offer.
JB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
July 15-18, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were here for a golf tournament. They have reduced the price of the sites to $30.00 for retired. That is a really good price for camping in San Diego. The sites are a bit tight. The wifi works well. The north course is certainly better than the south. The clubhouse has breakfast and lunch. Quite pretty sitting on the patio. The campground is well located for almost anything in the San Diego area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Apr 1 - 4, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A nice RV park. The last reviewer is correct. You have to pay attention when you turn into the parking lot. A lot of people mistake the laundry/restroom building for the office, but it is across the parking lot in the picnic area. Has a nice area for kids, pool, grassy area, playground, etc. No exchange or commissary. All are at the area bases. The golf course is great. Great club house and a great place for lunch. The other info about the part given by other reviewers are true. The location is great, but the cost value is not there, except for the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 6, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I would have given a value of 5, but I have stayed in military campgrounds that do not charge this much, but have as good or better everything for less money. All in all, it is a very nice place to stop. The sites were level and accommodated my 40 foot DP. There was room to park the TOAD in the front. All of the sites are back-in on cement slabs. The surrounding area is small rocks. The back of all RV's face a large grassy, and shady area that dogs can be walked. As for directions, here is a little clarity. When you turn on Admiral Baker Road, you will go down a steep hill of about 1/4 mile. At the bottom will be a stop sign. You need to turn right at this stop sign. On your right will be the Army Reserves. There will be a little wooden shack on the left at the entrance to a parking lot. You need to turn left into that parking lot observing the arrows for direction that are painted on the ground. You can also determine the entrance from the direction of the parking spaces. After turning into this parking lot, go to the far end, straight ahead. Stop when you get near the end, but before you have to turn to get out of the parking lot. If you look to the left, you will see, just past the picnic tables a small building. This is the RV check-in. It is about 100 yards and an easy walk. After checking in and getting assigned your site it is easier to unhook the TOAD in the parking lot. When you turn right out of the parking lot you will be looking straight at the entrance to the RV park. If you arrive after hours, stop in the parking lot just as you enter it past that little wooden shack. Walk to the first RV in site #1 and see the park host. At this time it is Leo. He and all of the park staff were very pleasant to work with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
April 18 to May 2, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Campground is very close to all San Diego tourist attractions. The zoo, Wild Animal Park, downtown, Point Loma are 10 to 15 minutes away. I rated this park down on amenities because there are no military facilities except the golf course and golf club (meals available only for breafast, brunch and late lunches). The office does not have any mail service -- not even out-going mail. I had to run a mile to town to find a mailbox. The men's head has two toilets and 4 showers and is kept clean. The laundry has 4 washers and 4 dryers - $1.00 to wash and $1.00 to dry (about 45 minutes.) Some of the spaces are pretty close together and some are pretty short. If you have a big rig, it is best to specify when making reservations. WiFi is fairly good and there is good cable TV. A bit expensive, but probably cheaper than similar civilian RV parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 4 to April 11, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice park that is close to many San Diego attractions and activities. The sites on the inside of loop all back to a central grass field with a playground in the middle. We never used laundry or restrooms. When you come down the hill and turn right (as the directions say), you'll see a building with a sign saying office and an arrow; that it not the office. The office is beyond the parking lot and picnic pavilion. Park the rig in a good spot on the large parking lot, unhook the dinghy, and go back toward the golf course. The office is a small building on the right just beyond all of the picnic tables - not as far as the golf course. La Jolla is 20 minutes north and the views here are amazing. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan. 23 - 29, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a nice 6 days there. Probably a tad crowded for big rigs but my 17 foot Hi-Lo was perfectly placed at the end of a row. Nice and quiet considering I-5 is just over the hill. The three stars on amenities is because the golf course has a bunch of holes with hardly any grass in the fairways...especially the north course. I plan to stay again next year as you can get anywhere in the San Diego area fast once you learn the freeway system. GPS helps a lot!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 28, 2009 - Jan 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: Sites are a little close together. I have stayed here several times, and taking into account where the camp is this is a good place. Golf club is open daily for breakfast and lunch. Lunch extends until closing sometime around dark. good food and really good prices. reservations should be made as far in advance as possible (60 days for retired). This is in San Diego which is a major tourist area, so one or two weeks in advance is probably not going to get you a space!! Wi-fi is free, and works well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
4 - 11 December 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Super location. Level concrete pads surrounded by gravel. It rained VERY hard one of the days we were here and that seemed to bring on an infestation of small ants. Wi-fi worked great with good signal and more than adequate speed. The bath house and laundry facilities were clean and in excellent condition. Check in is a bit of a hassle as noted in other reviews. The price seems high for a military campground, but it is in a prime location. I played the South golf course and found it to be in deplorable condition. The fairways were mostly dirt, but the greens were OK. Wish I had played the course at North Island or Miramar. In any event, this is a great place to stay while visiting San Diego. I would do it again without hesitation. We travel in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 22 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As many have said the location is unbeatable for the San Diego Area. The golf course was not in very good shape compared to my last visit about 18 months ago. The fairways were only so so. Greens were better, but not much. I played both the north & south course & would do so again, even with the conditions as they were. Except for a little highway noise the CG is a quiet & relaxing facility. The spaces are fairly small & tight. They've added free wifi since our last visit & it worked well for us, in space #5. We decided to leave a day early & go to San Onofre as the weather was spectacular & because I notified the office by 72 hrs in advance I was given credit for the one day I would not be using. I thought that they were very reasonable. We'll likely be back again sometime in 2010!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 31 - Sep 3 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There are many things nice about this place but getting to the registration office is not one of them. It is physically impossible to do in your RV. However, if you turn into the large parking area on your left, the walk is not very far. The young woman in the office was very friendly and helpful. While here I needed to go to the Commissary, BX, MWR Tours and Tickets and Balboa Hospital. With the exception of Balboa Hospital, all were situated on San Diego Naval Base about 8 miles away. Balboa Hospital is about 9 miles away in the opposite direction. She provided excellent directions. She always made me feel important to her. The sites are a bit close, but most are on level concrete pads and there are no side by side hookups. They are all back-ins but any size RV will fit. When we were there, the showers/bathroom facility was under renovation. There were portable facilities available but they were quite small but acceptable. WIFI is excellent and provided throughout the park. The park is very quiet and peaceful. We will stay again – AND YES – they take reservations – 2 months in advance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 5-11, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Internet was free while I was there. Slow at times but available. Description above shows a charge for this service, which I did not have to pay. Convenient location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 16 - 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.B. left this review using the Directory software: Great facility with easy access to expressways. Friendly staff & very clean facilities. No internet connection!! Had to go to local library ot Wi/Fi at off-site PX. Sites adjacent to golf course. There a 2 excellent courses at Adm Baker.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: This is a great military campground. The location is great for visiting San Diego. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Other park staff could use lessons on customer service from them
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Apr 13 - 18, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Clean and organized although spaces a little small. I find it amazing that military campers can be so inconsiderate as to walk between the picnic table and my rig to get to the playground especially when two sites down there is a path. Price seems high for famcamp, but low for the area. Hosts were friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
81 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5