Admiral Baker RV Park

 
3.8 (81)
178568 0 10 3 60

User reviews

39 reviews with 4 stars
81 reviews
 
25%
 
44%
 
23%
 
6%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.5(81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(81)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(81)
Value
 
3.6(81)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2
Ordering
February 25-March 1, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location, close to local attractions, shopping and restaurants. Called one day ahead for reservations and it was good we did as there were people in the overflow for the weekend. Staff and our neighbors were friendly. Good places to walk the dog. Spots were level and all hookups worked well. Plenty of room to maneuver.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 15-18, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were here for a golf tournament. They have reduced the price of the sites to $30.00 for retired. That is a really good price for camping in San Diego. The sites are a bit tight. The wifi works well. The north course is certainly better than the south. The clubhouse has breakfast and lunch. Quite pretty sitting on the patio. The campground is well located for almost anything in the San Diego area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Apr 1 - 4, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A nice RV park. The last reviewer is correct. You have to pay attention when you turn into the parking lot. A lot of people mistake the laundry/restroom building for the office, but it is across the parking lot in the picnic area. Has a nice area for kids, pool, grassy area, playground, etc. No exchange or commissary. All are at the area bases. The golf course is great. Great club house and a great place for lunch. The other info about the part given by other reviewers are true. The location is great, but the cost value is not there, except for the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
April 4 to April 11, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice park that is close to many San Diego attractions and activities. The sites on the inside of loop all back to a central grass field with a playground in the middle. We never used laundry or restrooms. When you come down the hill and turn right (as the directions say), you'll see a building with a sign saying office and an arrow; that it not the office. The office is beyond the parking lot and picnic pavilion. Park the rig in a good spot on the large parking lot, unhook the dinghy, and go back toward the golf course. The office is a small building on the right just beyond all of the picnic tables - not as far as the golf course. La Jolla is 20 minutes north and the views here are amazing. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
4 - 11 December 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Super location. Level concrete pads surrounded by gravel. It rained VERY hard one of the days we were here and that seemed to bring on an infestation of small ants. Wi-fi worked great with good signal and more than adequate speed. The bath house and laundry facilities were clean and in excellent condition. Check in is a bit of a hassle as noted in other reviews. The price seems high for a military campground, but it is in a prime location. I played the South golf course and found it to be in deplorable condition. The fairways were mostly dirt, but the greens were OK. Wish I had played the course at North Island or Miramar. In any event, this is a great place to stay while visiting San Diego. I would do it again without hesitation. We travel in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 31 - Sep 3 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There are many things nice about this place but getting to the registration office is not one of them. It is physically impossible to do in your RV. However, if you turn into the large parking area on your left, the walk is not very far. The young woman in the office was very friendly and helpful. While here I needed to go to the Commissary, BX, MWR Tours and Tickets and Balboa Hospital. With the exception of Balboa Hospital, all were situated on San Diego Naval Base about 8 miles away. Balboa Hospital is about 9 miles away in the opposite direction. She provided excellent directions. She always made me feel important to her. The sites are a bit close, but most are on level concrete pads and there are no side by side hookups. They are all back-ins but any size RV will fit. When we were there, the showers/bathroom facility was under renovation. There were portable facilities available but they were quite small but acceptable. WIFI is excellent and provided throughout the park. The park is very quiet and peaceful. We will stay again – AND YES – they take reservations – 2 months in advance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 5-11, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Internet was free while I was there. Slow at times but available. Description above shows a charge for this service, which I did not have to pay. Convenient location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 16 - 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.B. left this review using the Directory software: Great facility with easy access to expressways. Friendly staff & very clean facilities. No internet connection!! Had to go to local library ot Wi/Fi at off-site PX. Sites adjacent to golf course. There a 2 excellent courses at Adm Baker.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2-13 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pros: location convenient to many bases and sights, playground, large park nearby, cable, level concrete pads. Cons: a little pricier then other famcamps but not too bad, internet was outrageously priced, pads were small, laundry a little pricey but average among famcamps. In need of updating, bathrooms were not very clean on weekends but we didn't use them often. Also a little tight on the drive area, hard to turn around and get in and out with the TT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 Oct 2008 - 31 Oct 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This campground has a great location for visiting San Diego. I probably would have rated the Amenities higher if the pool area had been open. The staff in the office were very helpful and friendly. I had no reason to speak with the camp host and he didn't come around to speak with anyone that I saw. The camp host area is not a positive image for the facility. There was a dog tied outside all day about five spaces from the camp host on the last two days of our visit and he made no effort to address the situation. We did have a problem with ants until we asked the staff to cut back the tree branches from directly over the coach. We did not have a need to use the laundry or showers so they are not included in our rating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
S.R. left this review using the Directory software: Great value for the San Diego area. Just wish the full time RV'ers would not junk up their sites with statues of animals and yard sale junk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 July - 1 August, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J. C. left this review using the Directory software: Contrary to other reviews, we found park staff to be helpful. They held our reservation even though park was almost completely full and they had rigs in overflow. Spaces are small and tight and if you have a 45 footer as we do, ask for space 47 or 49 - they are easily the biggest in the park and easy in and out. Only "real" issue was that some folks just would not pick up after their dogs. $22.00 a night for this kind of location is a real bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
21 Apr - 21 May 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The location is the best! We stayed for a month and still didn't do everything we wanted. Golfing was great and the staff at the clubhouse were extremely helpful. We tried to extend 15 days, at first we were told no problem but they had to fix the computer first and would call us that evening...didn't hear from them so went in the next day and were told we would have to move out, dry camp 5 days, and then move back in. We decided to press on. The "first impression" of the campground would be improved quite a bit if the night host site was cleaned up. Overall, an very good campground with friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Nov. 20 - 25, 2007
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Price is now $22/night - getting toward that price where amenities "better" offset the cost. But, because it's right in SanDiego (with tons to do), and because there are excellent playgrounds (one in the CENTER of the CG) and a swimming pool, and because a superb comissary is nearby, I would pay the price for a short stay. However, 1) most of the pads are close to each other, 2) dry camping is right accross the road from many full hookup sights (so generator noise is common), 3) there is only one "loop" so traffic is steady enough to keep kids off their bikes on the only pavement; the road, 4) there is no recycling. It also seems that even though they take reservations, I was assigned a sight where trailers usually park (I'm in 35', and towing), and they only had me down for three days instead of the five I asked for. Luckily, it worked out, I was sent to a large sight, but had to re-up at the end of three days. I got to stay in that sight, but if I'd moved I would have been rating this place a lot worse. Perhaps they need to invest in one of those large VISUAL boards with all the sights at a glance (instead of scrolling through each and every sight on the computer); it took forerver to make all this come together.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
February 28, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
B.T. left with the Directory software: Great place to stay! Easy access to freeways, close to trolley station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall, very nice, low-key, military RV campground with easy access to the highway, and all of San Diego. Not actually on a military base...looks more like a county park but felt secure nevertheless. Finding the office for check-in: Turn right past the unmanned checkpoint, then next left into the large paved parking lot in the middle of an open grassy field...the signs pointing to the reception are NOT clearly marked. You can just park in the large lot and walk about a block to the north of the ball field to get to the office, or if you need to drive, look for the hidden perimeter access road that loops around to the east. Very friendly reception staff! Sites are concrete with newer W/S/E hookups. Nice, central picnic area with clean laundry and restrooms. Pet-friendly as well. Would definitely recommend and plan to visit again.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good campground, expecially if your a golfer. It is very busy. They had 1 to 4 in overflow all time. Do need reservations. WiFi was very good. They have been working on it. I was in site 6 and a person told me they were in this site some time ago and it was unuseable. Seems to be an attractive place for dogs and there were a lot there. Some barking and couple off leash in open areas behind RVs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Friendly staff: good location; nice sites. This is pet heaven, we were located between a RV with 5 dogs on one side and 2 on the other. They all used the green area behind the campsite for dog walks frequently throughout the day. We were concerned about letting our grandkids play there. There should be a designated pet area assigned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The only drawback to the campground is the entrance/exit. It is an abrupt turn & steep drop coming in and a stop sign at the top of a steep grade & turn leaving. Limited visibility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2