Davis Monthan AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.6 (178)
168487 2 18 2 106

User reviews

136 reviews with 5 stars
178 reviews
 
77%
 
16%
 
4%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.8(178)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(178)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(178)
Value
 
4.5(178)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(178)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
136 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
March 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found that the office staff were very friendly and helpful. The FHU sites were full but they put us in a nice dry campsite. We were able to get a FHU site the next day. The FHU sites have increased in price...now $24 daily rate. We have stayed here a few times and will definitely stay here again if passing thru the area.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb 9-26, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice. Clean, large sites w cement pad, picnic table. Huge Exchange and Commissary, open 7 days! We dry camped for 7 days. Their system for being assigned full hookup site is very fair. When we checked in, they estimated 7 days..spot on. Great dog walking area, dog park. LOTS of dogs. Very clear instructions on the bulletin board outside office for late arrivals. So many terrific things to see and do in the area. Highly recommend. Note, Wilmot Street gate is closed most of the time. Your GPS will take you there. From Wilmot turn left on Golf Links to Craycroft. Gate on Craycroft.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
9-10 Oct 19
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have used both Kolb and Alvernon Way to get to the Base, and I prefer the latter. I have stayed here three times now and will stay here again as I like the Tucson area. Nothing to complain about and nothing but praise. I am a retired Department of the Army civilian with an ID card issued by my civilian personnel office after retirement that allows me on military installations to use certain recreation facilities. I have stayed at Army, Navy and Air Force Famcamps and also visited a Marine Corps base. I pass this on to other civilians retired from Federal Civil Service that a visit to a civilian personnel office with proof of retirement and apply for an ID card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21-23 June 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived in Tucson and stayed at DM for the weekend. We decided to enter the Craycroft gate as the Wilmot gate (which is closer to the RV Park) had concrete traffic barriers that were hard to weave in and out of for the truck and 5th wheel. The employees were courteous during check in, the office appeared clean and luckily air-conditioned on a balmy 104 degree day. I was never able to get connected to the Wi-Fi, they have a dog park area, dog wash, and the bathhouse were ok. Our site #16 W/S/50 was rock with a concrete pad and a picnic table. Got lucky with no neighbors on either side for our visit. Quiet at night, short drive to commissary, bx, movie theater, and bowling. Centrally located for touring around Tucson. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 5-7, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Friendly check in staff. Ideal location and convenient to Tucson and vicinity. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 5-8, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Enjoyed our short stay in dry-camp. Friendly staff, good location, friendly staff, fair pricing and lots to do in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2018
(Updated: May 07, 2018)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What everyone else says. It is indeed one of the better FAMCAMPS we've experienced. My only divergence from other reviews is I found internet service marginal without an extender/amplifier. Famcamp wifi kept dropping connection and wasn't all that fast - we were only one site from an antenna but there was vegetation inbetween. Usually not a problem because I can use my Verizon unlimited plan but in the middle of a very large metro area my Verizon data signal was also poor - significantly less than 1mb downloads. Up on main post had great speeds. As indicated I suspect an extender/amplifier would solve the problem but configuring my extender is problematic with web page logins - which you have to do once a day. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
12-19 March 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very busy famcamp with several large overflow sites. First come first served is well regulated to be fair for all. All site are desert landscaped (gravel) but well laid out with good FHU's. The laundry was good size, had eight washers and seven dryers. We will stay here again, the area has a lot to offer just outside the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our stay was great, no surprise. We have stayed DM in the past and always enjoy our stay. Just a update, was talking with one of the employees here and he informed us that one of the overflows will be converted to FHU . 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
22 Jan - 12 Feb 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second time at DM FamCamp. Weather was great (upper 70s/low 80s) - the CG was full the whole time to include the overflow/drycamping area. Several gem shows were going on so I think this contributed. Most folks were staying 5-7 days in overflow before getting full hookups. Can't say anything bad about Agave Gulch, staff is great and process is fair to everyone. CG was kept clean and not cluttered like we've seen at other FamCamps. There were some extracurricular activities that they put on, which was a nice touch. Wish they would have a closer recycle, currently they just have aluminum can receptacles. We plan on coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
January 19 - 26, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here on numerous occasions both winter and summer and have always come away satisfied. Current prices for retirees are $22.00 for a FHU site and $11.00 for overflow. We are a 45 foot motorhome and can fit in all the newer sites and most of the older ones. Typically the park gets full mid to late January, but this year, because of hurricane damage in Florida and some parks being closed, the FamCamp got full early. There is a pretty steady rotation so most folks will be in overflow for a week or less. They publish each night a list of the folks in overflow and how many are projected to go into a FHU site the next day. AT 11:00 each morning at the FamCamp office they total up the number of vacancies and call out the names of folks who can move into a FHU site. Sometimes they have unexpected departures so I suggest go to the office for the 11:00 AM call out the day before you expect to move as well as the day of. I initially was told 8 days in overflow, but it turned out they had some unexpected move outs, so it was only 7. Due to some electrical issues, there are a number of older sites that are 30 amp only.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July - October 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this place. It is convenient to Tucson shopping and restaurants. On base, the commissary is very good, well stocked, and there is a convenience store for after hours. The bowling alley is terrific ( we used it a lot during our stay) and it is easy to keep fit with two gyms. The laundry facilities are nice and clean as are the bath/shower rooms. The one thing I object to is that the contract workers who come over early in the morning use the campground bathrooms before going to work. I like the system at Yuma Proving Grounds where you get a key for the facilities - keeping out the civilian contractors. It is a one mile walk from the campground to where the sidewalk ends, and this path is lighted, so you can walk after dark. We were told that after October 1, prices were going up to $27/night for everyone, which we think is high for a military campground. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay and they have figured out how to make it nice for everyone. I like the no-reservation policy. If you have ever tried to get a site at Nellis, you will know what I mean. They are reserved for folks who may never show up - keeping others from getting a place for the night. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
24 Dec 2017- ??? 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a side note. Do NOT follow Google Maps. It will get you to the base, but unless you have a VERY high clearance, don't go in the gate beside the Famcamp. Go in the front gate, and follow the directions on this site. I got there on Sunday, 23 Dec, and pulled toward the gate....realized it was locked. So had to unhook the TOAD, turn around, and rehook up to go to the Main Gate. But after going out the gate yesterday morning, I'm SOOOO glad it wasn't open when I got there. The 'bump' is probably over a foot high...I know I would have scraped. But it is a great place. I will be here every year.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September - October 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent park, we stayed in the newer area. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not much I can say that others haven’t. Nice place to stay if you need to be in the Tucson area in the summer, and a great winter destination. Prices increased on Oct 1, 2017. Nightly rate is now 22 dollars for military. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 20, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This RV park is very nice. We arrived after hours and there were very clear instructions on what to do and where to park. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's no wonder why this FamCamp is so crowded in the winter time. We would definitely come back, if the opportunity presents itself.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 10-17, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Can't say much about this place that hasn't already been said - this place is an ideal winter location and a great FamCamp. I like the "no reservations" policy and the waitlist procedure; this is a fair way to do this for such a popular park. With that said, it would be nice to be able to get a full-hookups site if you're just passing through, (i.e. maybe make 5-8 full-hookup sites short term, like max 2 days). It took us 4 days in overflow area to get a full-hookups site (overflow is dry camping). Facilities are kept clean and in good shape and the park itself is kept clean and orderly. We had no issues with this park and would definitely come back. One drawback, getting to the main gate off of Golf Links Rd could be nerve-racking if you arrive during high-traffic times. We left through the Wilmont Gate to Kolb Ave and headed south to I-10 - this was much better than dealing with Main Gate & Golf Links Rd to I-10 South.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
October 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The FAMCAMP is easy to get to from the Craycroft Gate. Newer section (200 series) provides some of the largest, sites I have stayed at. A bargain for the price. No trees for sun protection for the rig, even October is in the 90's. It is a very clean facility, well maintained. Office staff was very professional. We extended our stay. Will return again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 2016
(Updated: October 18, 2016)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just showed up and lots of sites to choose from, of course it was still hitting the high 90's, so not best time to visit. However, we enjoyed the park and WiFi access in the RV. They have a good thing going here and aren't allowing homesteading found in other southern tier FamCamps. We will return. Update: After I posted the above, we decided to extend our stay. When I went to the office to do so was told that their records showed us arriving on Sunday and not the Monday Holiday when we really did. On originally checking in the person handling the check-in had a hard time keeping track of the information we provided, so the documentation was wrong from the beginning (and I didn't look closely at it). We did get it all straightened out in the end but I was a bit frustrated for a while. BOTTOMLINE: Check your paperwork for correct arrival and departure dates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Mar 21-24 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice park! Staff was great too! We were fortunate to get in as a they do not take reservations; just have plan B ready and call a day ahead to get an idea. Getting advance reservations is important as Tucson is a great destination spot. Nicer parks in the area are quite expensive! Fairgrounds is an option, but farther away. We will stay again if space is available. It is a popular park and fills quickly during snowbird season. We did not use the restrooms/showers/laundry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 11-15, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Once again, we were here in the "off" season, also the "HOT" season. Called ahead to ensure space was available and Scott confirmed. About half of the FamCamp was closed for seasonal work, but there was still plenty to choose from. We even found a tree to camp next to :) Needed a part for my rig; it was delivered to the office well before our arrival. Notification of staff that I would be there to pick it up assured they kept it. (FedEx, UPS can be delivered to Camp Office, NOT US Mail though) Staff will give you a token for washing your rig at the RV wash - 15 minutes worth - NICE touch. Make sure all your A/C units are in top working order. They won't get much of a rest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
136 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7