Davis Monthan AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.6 (191)
168487 2 18 1 127

User reviews

140 reviews with 5 stars
191 reviews
 
75%
 
18%
 
4%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.8(191)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(191)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(191)
Value
 
4.5(191)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(191)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
140 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
Feb-Mar 2022
(Updated: April 01, 2022)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
After reading all the comments, we had to post about our wonderful experience here at Davis Monthan AFB. We have stayed in A LOT of military FamCamp's and this, by far, is our most favorite. We are lucky enough to be able to fully boondock so we have been in the overflow area the entire time. There is a dump station and potable water in the main portion of the campground and it is easy to access and to use. As for wifi, we have our own so had no issues with the park not having wifi. Honestly, we've never been in a FamCamp that had useful wifi so its a surprise to us that people expect it. As for overflow, it is spacious and open and the ground is hard...after all, its Arizona and the caliche makes the ground like concrete...it's not a Davis Monthan thing, its an Arizona thing. Everyone in the overflow area (and there are very few of us here, a bit more on the weekend) are very polite and the ONLY time I have heard a generator running at night is when the temp got down into the 30's and I would expect you to want to be warm. Biggest advantage to the overflow is that is where the dog park is. It is pea gravel, clean and spacious, and made our stay here much better! Plus they allow pens outside your Rig as long as you are with your pets which also makes for an enjoyable stay when furry feet need to potty at night. Don't let the "no reservation" policy discourage you. There has ALWAYS been spots in the overflow and it's cold here at night so you won't need your AC to sleep. BEST FAMCAMP OF THEM ALL! We will definitely be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Feb 12-22, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautifully laid-out, well-run and well-maintained. Only fly in the ointment is chronic trouble with the WiFi, going back at least a year. If you need WiFi, plan for now on providing your own. A couple of updates to the info posted here. First, the 3- & 5-month rates have gone up, currently $2250 & $3750, payable in full in advance. Also, the best way to GPS to here is to set your destination to Davis Monthan Main Gate or Visitor center; once thru the gate, take the first left; FamCamp office is perhaps a mile on your right. Finally, the auto hobby shop has a wash rack specifically designed to accommodate RVs & trailers, including dual hoses to allow washing the complete rig without having to reposition. Includes soap brush, high-pressure rinse, spot-free rinse, and a couple of other selections you'd find at most automated car washes. Very nice--if you're willing to WORK at it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
October 19 to April 11, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is my first time here. 40’ toyhauler, f350 & my steel stallions 2 Harley Road King Specials. I’d say my only complaint is the camp WiFi only works in or near the camp office. The base facilities are great. Xchg, commissary, auto hobby shop, Stripes (Expresso deli), bowling alley and snack bar. Everything else is shut down due to C19. No chow hall. Beautiful walking paths. Cactus w beautiful flowers. Hummingbirds so bring ur feeders. Laundry facilities bathrooms showers are great. I don’t use the showers so I’m just speaking from observation. There’s even a doggy wash station. Tucson is small compared to Phoenix. Tucson downtown is 4 blocks of businesses. There is another 8 block business strip I think it’s 6th. Plenty of restaurants and one of the best Korean BBQ restaurants I’ve ever been. Taegukgi. Plenty of great Mexican food. But I’m really here for one thing & one thing only. Riding my Harleys in warm DRY WEATHER!! Peace. Ride often. Ride safe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
2 - 7 October 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What can I say about Agave Gulch that hasn't already been said. It's one of the best FamCamps in the system. Friendly staff, easy to get on and off base, conveniently located for activities in and around Tucson, wide spaces, no trees to block satellite signals ;-) and very reasonable rates. This was our 4th or 5th time there and we've never been disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
March 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found that the office staff were very friendly and helpful. The FHU sites were full but they put us in a nice dry campsite. We were able to get a FHU site the next day. The FHU sites have increased in price...now $24 daily rate. We have stayed here a few times and will definitely stay here again if passing thru the area.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Feb 9-26, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice. Clean, large sites w cement pad, picnic table. Huge Exchange and Commissary, open 7 days! We dry camped for 7 days. Their system for being assigned full hookup site is very fair. When we checked in, they estimated 7 days..spot on. Great dog walking area, dog park. LOTS of dogs. Very clear instructions on the bulletin board outside office for late arrivals. So many terrific things to see and do in the area. Highly recommend. Note, Wilmot Street gate is closed most of the time. Your GPS will take you there. From Wilmot turn left on Golf Links to Craycroft. Gate on Craycroft.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
9-10 Oct 19
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have used both Kolb and Alvernon Way to get to the Base, and I prefer the latter. I have stayed here three times now and will stay here again as I like the Tucson area. Nothing to complain about and nothing but praise. I am a retired Department of the Army civilian with an ID card issued by my civilian personnel office after retirement that allows me on military installations to use certain recreation facilities. I have stayed at Army, Navy and Air Force Famcamps and also visited a Marine Corps base. I pass this on to other civilians retired from Federal Civil Service that a visit to a civilian personnel office with proof of retirement and apply for an ID card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21-23 June 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived in Tucson and stayed at DM for the weekend. We decided to enter the Craycroft gate as the Wilmot gate (which is closer to the RV Park) had concrete traffic barriers that were hard to weave in and out of for the truck and 5th wheel. The employees were courteous during check in, the office appeared clean and luckily air-conditioned on a balmy 104 degree day. I was never able to get connected to the Wi-Fi, they have a dog park area, dog wash, and the bathhouse were ok. Our site #16 W/S/50 was rock with a concrete pad and a picnic table. Got lucky with no neighbors on either side for our visit. Quiet at night, short drive to commissary, bx, movie theater, and bowling. Centrally located for touring around Tucson. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 5-7, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Friendly check in staff. Ideal location and convenient to Tucson and vicinity. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 5-8, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Enjoyed our short stay in dry-camp. Friendly staff, good location, friendly staff, fair pricing and lots to do in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2018
(Updated: May 07, 2018)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What everyone else says. It is indeed one of the better FAMCAMPS we've experienced. My only divergence from other reviews is I found internet service marginal without an extender/amplifier. Famcamp wifi kept dropping connection and wasn't all that fast - we were only one site from an antenna but there was vegetation inbetween. Usually not a problem because I can use my Verizon unlimited plan but in the middle of a very large metro area my Verizon data signal was also poor - significantly less than 1mb downloads. Up on main post had great speeds. As indicated I suspect an extender/amplifier would solve the problem but configuring my extender is problematic with web page logins - which you have to do once a day. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
12-19 March 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very busy famcamp with several large overflow sites. First come first served is well regulated to be fair for all. All site are desert landscaped (gravel) but well laid out with good FHU's. The laundry was good size, had eight washers and seven dryers. We will stay here again, the area has a lot to offer just outside the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our stay was great, no surprise. We have stayed DM in the past and always enjoy our stay. Just a update, was talking with one of the employees here and he informed us that one of the overflows will be converted to FHU . 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
22 Jan - 12 Feb 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second time at DM FamCamp. Weather was great (upper 70s/low 80s) - the CG was full the whole time to include the overflow/drycamping area. Several gem shows were going on so I think this contributed. Most folks were staying 5-7 days in overflow before getting full hookups. Can't say anything bad about Agave Gulch, staff is great and process is fair to everyone. CG was kept clean and not cluttered like we've seen at other FamCamps. There were some extracurricular activities that they put on, which was a nice touch. Wish they would have a closer recycle, currently they just have aluminum can receptacles. We plan on coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
January 19 - 26, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here on numerous occasions both winter and summer and have always come away satisfied. Current prices for retirees are $22.00 for a FHU site and $11.00 for overflow. We are a 45 foot motorhome and can fit in all the newer sites and most of the older ones. Typically the park gets full mid to late January, but this year, because of hurricane damage in Florida and some parks being closed, the FamCamp got full early. There is a pretty steady rotation so most folks will be in overflow for a week or less. They publish each night a list of the folks in overflow and how many are projected to go into a FHU site the next day. AT 11:00 each morning at the FamCamp office they total up the number of vacancies and call out the names of folks who can move into a FHU site. Sometimes they have unexpected departures so I suggest go to the office for the 11:00 AM call out the day before you expect to move as well as the day of. I initially was told 8 days in overflow, but it turned out they had some unexpected move outs, so it was only 7. Due to some electrical issues, there are a number of older sites that are 30 amp only.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July - October 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this place. It is convenient to Tucson shopping and restaurants. On base, the commissary is very good, well stocked, and there is a convenience store for after hours. The bowling alley is terrific ( we used it a lot during our stay) and it is easy to keep fit with two gyms. The laundry facilities are nice and clean as are the bath/shower rooms. The one thing I object to is that the contract workers who come over early in the morning use the campground bathrooms before going to work. I like the system at Yuma Proving Grounds where you get a key for the facilities - keeping out the civilian contractors. It is a one mile walk from the campground to where the sidewalk ends, and this path is lighted, so you can walk after dark. We were told that after October 1, prices were going up to $27/night for everyone, which we think is high for a military campground. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay and they have figured out how to make it nice for everyone. I like the no-reservation policy. If you have ever tried to get a site at Nellis, you will know what I mean. They are reserved for folks who may never show up - keeping others from getting a place for the night. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
24 Dec 2017- ??? 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a side note. Do NOT follow Google Maps. It will get you to the base, but unless you have a VERY high clearance, don't go in the gate beside the Famcamp. Go in the front gate, and follow the directions on this site. I got there on Sunday, 23 Dec, and pulled toward the gate....realized it was locked. So had to unhook the TOAD, turn around, and rehook up to go to the Main Gate. But after going out the gate yesterday morning, I'm SOOOO glad it wasn't open when I got there. The 'bump' is probably over a foot high...I know I would have scraped. But it is a great place. I will be here every year.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September - October 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent park, we stayed in the newer area. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not much I can say that others haven’t. Nice place to stay if you need to be in the Tucson area in the summer, and a great winter destination. Prices increased on Oct 1, 2017. Nightly rate is now 22 dollars for military. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 20, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This RV park is very nice. We arrived after hours and there were very clear instructions on what to do and where to park. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's no wonder why this FamCamp is so crowded in the winter time. We would definitely come back, if the opportunity presents itself.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 10-17, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Can't say much about this place that hasn't already been said - this place is an ideal winter location and a great FamCamp. I like the "no reservations" policy and the waitlist procedure; this is a fair way to do this for such a popular park. With that said, it would be nice to be able to get a full-hookups site if you're just passing through, (i.e. maybe make 5-8 full-hookup sites short term, like max 2 days). It took us 4 days in overflow area to get a full-hookups site (overflow is dry camping). Facilities are kept clean and in good shape and the park itself is kept clean and orderly. We had no issues with this park and would definitely come back. One drawback, getting to the main gate off of Golf Links Rd could be nerve-racking if you arrive during high-traffic times. We left through the Wilmont Gate to Kolb Ave and headed south to I-10 - this was much better than dealing with Main Gate & Golf Links Rd to I-10 South.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
140 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7