Davis Monthan AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.6 (185)
168487 2 18 1 112

User reviews

30 reviews with 4 stars
185 reviews
 
76%
 
17%
 
4%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.8(185)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(185)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.4(185)
Value
 
4.5(185)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(185)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 21 - 30
1 2
Ordering
Jan-Feb 2010
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first stay at Agave-Gulch FAM camp. We only planned to stay a week or so and ended up staying for 25 days. We had to stay in overflow for 3 days but it was not bad at all it was kind of exciting to try out dry docking for the first time and learn how to do it. Everything is so convenient on base and in Tuscon. Lots to do and see in town and surrounding area. Found Laundry to be small for the size of the campground but very nice. All the staff is extremely nice and accommodating. It's good to know that there are adding on FHU's to camp because it is definitely busy in Jan-Feb. Will definitely return next winter!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 31, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very clean, crushed rock pads, full service, WiFi @ office, Nice laundry, very courteous hosts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 5, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very friendly staff and helpful staff. Had to use the over flow but no problem, just needed to get there a little early in the day. One bad thing was a person came in at the same time as me went to over flow then their friends showed up and they had sign up for a full hook up site so they moved. Didn't think that was fair to other RVer's, since they have a no reservation policy. But that's not the campgrounds fault just RVer's.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23 Jan to 7 Feb 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very good park. That said these are my observations during my recent 16 night Jan/Feb 2009 stay. Pro's: Excellent staff with great attitude. Clean park. Animals always under control. Very fast WiFi with AgaveGulch 4 router in park. Bathhouse in long-term part of park updated and clean. Availability of overflow. Extremely fair and executed overflow => park policy. No reservations, first come, first served is best policy. 21 day policy before rotate out. Con's: Sites are too close together in most of the park. WiFi in overflow (AgaveGulch 2) is scared turtle slow. Pressure to vote for park on MilitaryCamprounds web site. Bathhouse at laundry and west end of park not updated and not very clean (especially showers). Laundry too small for size of park. No fitness facilities in park. Actually, there are no real campground facilities other than utilities, you must go across base and use the base facilities if you want anything extra.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
February 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although I have enjoyed this campground very much in the last few years, my last visit was a disapointment. It was the first time that I was assigned to the newer 201-215 row. For several days, there were other campers in the overflow sites both in front and in back of me with extremely loud generators. These loud generators are usually the lower cost units used on construction sites. It seemed that these units ran continously making it very uncomfortable to sit outside. During my stay, there were over 30 units in the overflow area plus the 15 units on the 200 row. The occupants must cross a busy street to use the shower and restroom facilities. Suggest new facilities be built as soon as possible to avoid a serious accident.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 3
Nov. 25 - Feb. 5, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
VERY neat, clean park with plenty of sites; all level and with great hook ups. All staff and hosts are very friendly and accomodating. Vehicle washing on site allowed (YAY), and a good selection of organic at the Comm. The base is well laid-out, and very tidy as well. Although no recycling is in the CG, the manager said they are trying to get some. Meanwhile, there is a huge recycling center on base that takes everything, even old furniture (not that I had any ;0). My complaints; 1)laundry is only convenient if you're in the entrance of the camp, otherwise you have to drive, 2)many of the sites are close to each other (maybe three people's arm lengths max), 3) the price - with no weekly discount - is a bit high, but not ridiculous, 4)no play ground in the CG or within' 'hollerin' distance. Quite a ways down the street is the pool, skate park, and youth center (they have monthly fees of $2 per child) with lots for kids to do - so grandkids can have some fun too! My children love the time away from adults, and I like it too! :) Suguaro NP is very near, and there is plenty of great shopping in Tuscon; Micheals, Book Stores and Wild Oats too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Nov. 1, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I am traveling across the US and stayed just one night. I arrived after dark, so could not see a lot of the campground. The next morning, I could see a litle more and it looked like a very neat, clean place. The staff at MWR when I checked were very friendly. I can't recommend this campground because I only stayed overnight, but I would definately give it a try.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
February 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Bottom Line Up Front. This is a nice park and we'd highly recommend it. It is very busy during late January through February. Get into the park by 15 January and you'll probably not have to wait for a site. Later than that and you'll end up in the overflow without services until a space comes available. You'll wait from 3 to 5 days to get an actual full service site during late January through February. There are no reservations, which is fine because they consistently apply the first-in/first served policy. Bathhouses are available to those staying in the overflow sites and they're clean. The overflow sucks but the actual sites are quite nice. Cost is $5 in overflow and $16 per night in full hookup sites. Hardwire DSL internet connections are available free in the office building, which is open 24/7. Free is nice! Besides the campground, there aren't any on-site amenities such as fitness center or clubhouse. You'll have to go to the main base facilities for these.
DF
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been to this Fam Camp before,and it only gets better. We love the new BX that was improved since last year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
December 2005
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
They will give you directions to the PO which is on Cherry about 6 miles from the base. You cannot have mail sent to the famcamp. You can have packages sent there by UPS and FedEx. Beautiful fitness center with indoor pool on base. Rating of 4 is because it is a little pricey and they do not offer weekly and monthly rates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
30 results - showing 21 - 30
1 2