Joint Base Elmendorf/Richardson Famcamp

 
3.9 (27)
61820 1 14 0 9

User reviews

12 reviews with 4 stars
27 reviews
 
30%
 
44%
 
19%
 
7%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.5(27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(27)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(27)
Value
 
3.9(27)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
25-28 July 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The biggest drawback to Ft Richards Fam Camp was the layout. All sites are pull through on each side of the road which is more like parallel parking on opposite sides. There is no separation between the camp site and the road except the power pedestal. Early morning traffic (campers going to work) are rolling right past your bedroom window. The camp host was very helpful with directions around the base and provided a map of JBER. The laundry was clean and nice and very reasonably priced. This is a great place to spend a few days and resupply and get ready for the long trip home to Idaho.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 4-8, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here in early June 2014 while restocking, relaxing, and vehicle maintenance on our Alaska adventure. A nice campground with a friendly staff. The base shoppette, gas station, and an excellent car wash are located within a block. There were several LONG TERM visitors, but everyone was friendly. Moose visiting campground was nearly a daily experience. Security and pass personnel as well as gate personnel were very helpful to help us around security barriers when arriving/leaving with RV attached.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 June 7 July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Easy access to FamCamp via Muldoon Gate, facilities are clean and presentable, campground hosts routinely water road during dry spells to keep the dust down. Shopping mall/complex located outside Muldoon Gate, restaurants, Sams Club, 16 Screen theater, Lowes, Target, and many other stores. Back in sites are spacious, signs on pull thrus can be a bit confusing, state "reserved for transients 14 Day Limit", never did figured out what that meant. Campground host appears to be subject to selective crotchety spells, assistant host is friendly, helpful, and a hard worker. Cell phone/data coverage was adequate, OTA digital TV signals were sat, exchange/commissary/gas station/hospital all within blocks. FamCamp is in wooded area so you can expect wildlife visits, wanted or unwanted. Location very convenient to Anchorage and Anchorage area sights. Enjoyed our stay, would recommend it to anyone traveling in the Anchorage area overnight or for extended stay. Stay limit is now 30 days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 11 - 16 2012
(Updated: July 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The FamCamp is in the trees with no Wi-Fi or CATV. There are no full hookup sites although there is a dump station. Charley, the Assistant Camp Host was most courteous and helpful. I did not use the showers or laundry so I cannot comment on them. If paying by credit card you have to go to the Outdoor Recreation Center Building 7301 off Jerstad Avenue. Take Provider Drive towards the Boniface Gate. Turn right on Vandenberg Avenue and bear to the left at the light onto Arctic Warrior Drive. Turn right on Jerstad Avenue and Outdoor Rec will be ahead on the right in a big old hanger building. The campground is just inside the Muldoon Road Gate on Zeamer Avenue. The gate is easily accessible for RV’s as is the Main Gate off Boniface Parkway. Take the first right on Zeamer Avenue just inside the gate and the FamCamp will be on your left just down the road past the hospital and Helipad. On weekends the gate does not open until 9AM for both entrance and exit to the base. Just outside Muldoon Road Gate on the right is the new Ta ‘Kahtau Commons Shopping Center. Some of the stores are iHop, Lowes, Kohl’s, Olive Garden, Red Robin, PetSmart, McDonalds, Subway, Target, and Best Buy. PetSmart does grooming and also has a Doggy Day Care where you can drop off your dog for a couple of hours or even overnight. Staff is available overnight but you can only pick up your pet during normal business hours. The VA Hospital is on your left when you exit the gate. There is a Gas Station/Shoppette right near the FamCamp. The large and very nice Commissary/Base Exchange is just past that. There is also a car wash next to the Shoppette. Diesel is available at the gas station. If you need any parts for your RV Mobile Trailer Supply off 3d Avenue in Anchorage has just about everything you would find in a Camping World. The easiest way to get to it is take the same route as if going towards Outdoor Rec. Take a left on Pease Road and go out the Post Road Gate. Cross Ship Creek and you will see a yellow building to your right front on the side of the hill. Turn right on 3d Avenue and then left into their location. I gave Amenities/Facilities a 3 as there are no full hookup sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 10 & 11 and 19 - 21, 2011
(Updated: August 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed twice in July 2011. A very convenient location. Wooded sites give a lot of privacy. The Wifi at the BX/Food Court didn't work on our second stay and no one there could fix it. The camp had two washer and dryer houses. The older one needs some work done on it. The host never came around to us so I can't comment on him. Picked a spot and deposited the money in the envelope.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 June - 6 July 2011
(Updated: July 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Had no problem getting a spot here for the week. Had 30 Amp HU and water, dump site ea close to bath. Gravel pad which was fairly level and well treed but not a lot of underbrush. Bathrooms were old and kept OK but need a thorough scrubbing as well as checked on a few times a day. One of the bath houses out of the two had little to no hot water for showers the entire week we were there. Washers and dryers are cheap enough, only a dollar for each. The commissary, BX, and gas station are all close by. New bike path being worked on looks like it will be nice addition to the base. Anchorage is close by and easy to get to and there is a Target, Lowe's and IMAX right outside the gate. We saw a black bear running through camp a few times, it usually ended up at one site which had left a cooler outside by the picnic table. The gas station/shoppette sold diesel and propane as well as gas. The BX has ULU knives which are way cheaper than WalMart, if you are looking for an inexpensive gift. The trash was bear proof and the roads although dusty were sprayed down with water a couple of times a day by the camp host and assistant. Beware the red squirrels, they enjoy tearing up padded chairs for the padding. The sites also had nice charcoal grills. I would definitely stay here in the future and would recommend it to others making this trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2 July - 5 July 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
They don't have full hook ups, but this campground is better than Fort Rich. You have to pay for your laundry, but that's okay. The sites are big, and easy to back into. Dump station is free, Fort Rich charges you. It is only half mile from the BX/Commissary. The campground is just laid out the way it should be. The only knock, is some of the full timers have junk all over their campsites. Is it to much to ask someone to keep it clean? Maybe that is just one of my issues with campgrounds.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 June to 5 July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had better luck with the water than the earlier reviewer, as all was working that we could tell. We didn't note a lot of dust, no more that any place else in Alaska with the eternal gravel parking areas. We did have a bear warning issued but alas, saw none. A fox was noted however. We did encounter a lot of aircraft noise though, an C-17 doing touch and goes, and flights of fighters doing their thing, an annoyance after the relative quiet of most of Alaska. The main gate is under construction and it was necessary to use the secondary gate off Muldoon Road. Black Spruce next door was full when we arrived and this famcamp was nearly so. The assistant camp host, Charlie Brenton, can be reached at 907-227-6866. He was most helpful. The park is well patrolled. newly mowed, and reasonably clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 8 thru June 16, 2009
(Updated: November 08, 2015)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When we arrived we were told that over half of the Famcamp was without water. They did have an area with water (and E), but we could stay in one of the sites with E only for $12, the price of an overflow site with no hookups at all. (Sites with W&30 amp E were $18). We filled our 100 gallon water tank and took them up on their offer. I selected a site and made the same mistake I had made in Albuquerque; I dumped my air, lowered the jacks, extended the slide, and then hooked up to electric. Except there was no electric at the post. I moved to another site, tested the electric first, it was good, so I continued to get set up. At my site, and others, the hookups are on different sides of the RV. I had to run the electric cord under the motorhome. No big deal, but it shouldn’t be that way. The park is convenient to base facilities and downtown, and otherwise is an OK park. The roads are gravel and dirt, and drivers driving over the posted 5 MPH, and that’s most of them, create a lot of dust. There are two bathhouses with washers and dryers; one is in the area with no water, the other does have water. The word is that underground pipes are still frozen, but I doubt that. The temperatures was and had been relatively warm, in the 9 days we were there there was no activity to get the water running again, and the dump rinse in that area had water. One morning we saw out of our windshield a long legged momma moose and her baby slowly walking on the road past our motorhome . That was neat. Steve Turney
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have a large (31 foot) travel trailer that we were concerned wouldn't fit based on previous reviews but we had no problems. Sites are far apart with enough privacy. Bathrooms, although clean, leave much to be desired (showers are not private!!!) as does the laundry facilities. Great location though and you can't beat the price. Has 3 dump and fill stations which is important since all you get here is electric. Overall a great value in a very expensive area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice wooded back-in sites...older design, better for smaller than larger rigs. Water and electric may be old too, first site we tried water wasn't working and it looked like some power boxes had been worked on also, I think one loop is limited to 15 or 20 amp, also at one point, the host came into the laundry to reset some breakers due to overload. Laundry ($1 wash, $1 dry 45 min) bath, shower also older but functional and clean. Never saw a fresh water fill but it wasn't critical so didn't ask. Can't beat the location and price for an Anchorage campground and proximity to commissary/px and Muldoon gate gives it the location edge over Black Spruce.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Email can be retrieved in ACS store in Exchange Mall. Well lit showers. Great commissary and exchange. Good place to buy AK souvenirs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12