Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (44)
66702   0   17   0   36

User reviews

27 reviews with 5 stars

44 reviews

 
(27)
 
(15)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.6  (44)
 
4.3  (44)
 
4.4  (44)
 
4.4  (44)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2017

Stayed here during the Huntsville Hamfest. It is located close to downtown and the Von Braun Center. Lots of eating places nearby. No office on site, but made reservation on the phone and just came and went as I wanted. They could use some trees to provide some shade again the Summer heat. Could not get a WIFI connection but no big deal for me. Very nice concrete pad for parking the RV and truck. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 21-23, 2017

Great campground. All sites are pull-through full hook-up. Big concrete pads and long sides. More than enough room for our 35' motorhome and out toad. Sites are level and utilities are an easy connection. There is no office on site. There is a campground host. Call ahead for a reservation, they will assign you a site and you just drive to it and park. Be sure and follow the directions on this site, and not the brown signs on the base, or you will end up pointed the wrong way. Bathhouse facilities are small but clean. Only on shower each. Nice well equipped laundry site. Plenty of nice place to walk your pet. Even a paved jogging trail through the forrest right near by. We had good reception of all the local major TV stations and good satellite reception. Verizon connected fine. Wifi signal is week but connectable. You have to get information about the WiFi up in the Laundry building. If you are coming to the area, or want an nice short term, this is a great place. Clean, safe, big sites. As we were arriving at Gate 9, they flagged us over to the far right and a wide width gate entrance. It was closed, but they opened it for us. Stayed here in our motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 25-28, 2016

This is a great stopping place and the campground is wonderful.  One mishap, however:  we came in thru gate 9 just after 5:00 p.m. And only the left two gates were open.  They are barely wide enough to get thru with an 8 ft wide travel trailer, and the top of my trailer hit an overhead outdoor light about 9 ft high sticking way out into the lane.  I think the gate guard should step out and volunteer to open a right hand gate (wider) when they see a full size travel trailer approaching for entry.  Another camper told me it's a chronic problem and that another person had their awning torn off trying to enter the same gate.  I now have a nice long scratch in the gel coat of my new Keystone Cougar!  Otherwise, we'll be back but next time I will pull in front of the right most gate and wait for someone to open it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2016

Stayed on site #4 for 5 nights.  Site was wide, long and level.  Water pressure was very good.  Access to the campground was easy and directions found here are accurate.  There is no cable for short term stays.  Facilities are clean and well maintained.  Enclosed dog run is a nice benefit particularly for dogs who like to explore off the leash but must use them at most campgrounds.  Camp host was friendly and helpful.  Never met or interacted with any of the MWR staff.  Commissary and Exchange are a short walk away and sufficiently stocked to meet your needs on the road.  Only negative observation is that there appears to be a lot of long term campers in the park.  Every day we witnessed some of them shuffling their rigs to new sites in the park when their 60 day stay limit was up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2015

Very good facility. Easy to get in and out. Good amenities. Clean. Manager at the commissary was very helpful. Manager at camp ground was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5-8 Dec 2014

Perfect for our use! Big, level concrete spaces with super easy access. We arrived 10:30 at night and found a late arrival was very easy and uncomplicated. All facilities were very clean and well kept, with the only exception being a few low-lifes who don't pick up after their dogs! We travel with 4 dogs, so not a hater, just don't appreciate others not picking up! Base facilities are very close and the gas station is big rig friendly too. Dog park is a nice addition to give our dogs a little running room! Very quiet and secure with base police driving through periodically.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 11-15, 2014

Changes at Gate 9 make it easier to get to campground (see Note below). We stayed in space 15 directly across from laundry and bath house. Made our reservations via phone and just pulled in. They have name/dates of your stay and your receipt in a Lucite letterbox on your site. Couldn't have been easier. This is a well kept facility. Pads level and large. We did not use bath house but did do laundry and everything was clean and convenient. We found the information about Wi-Fi access in the laundry building. They apparently change access codes frequently and it is written on the white board inside of the laundry room. Flyers are also available to help you get on the first time -- you will then set up a courtesy account via MWR Lodging. There is no longer cable available for short term stays. Those staying longer have to make arrangements with local provider. Information can be found on the information boards at bath house. We didn't really see anyone our entire stay, but it rained almost continuously and part of the time was a weekend. However, we did get a note on our door while we were gone one day, letting us know that weather alerts had been issued and that the bathhouse was the emergency shelter. We would definitely return and would highly recommend this campground to others for convenience, cleanliness, and accessibility to local area. NOTE: One slight change in directions. When you enter Gate 9, they have put in new roads and you no longer have to make the U-turn noted in directions above. You go to the first red light and turn left onto Goss Road and follow that until you see the campground sign. If you get to the Express (Shoppette) you have gone to far, BUT you can turn right at the shoppette, turn right again on Jupiter (Commissary and PX would be left turn), and follow Jupiter as per directions above.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 5 to 8, 2014

Great FamCamp. Stayed here 3 nights. Very large concrete pads, great laundry facilities. Very close to PX and Exchange. Car wash was great also. Watch diesel prices in town. Range from $3.74 to $3.62 per gallon. Gas Buddy helped a lot. Will stop here again if we are ever in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May, 2014

...just call and get the reservation and then go to your site # on the afternoon of the date of your arrival... ...no checkin... ...the folks at Outdoor Recreation are great to work with...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 25 - Oct 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place, you've found it. There was very little noise and the campground has almost no traffic. Sites are long and concrete, electricity is great, cable is clear and Wi-Fi was very strong. You are close to gates and Huntsville has lots to offer. Be sure to check out the small historic area downtown in their Constitution Village. Many of the buildings remind you of Williamsburg. Remember to call ahead for your campground reservation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 23-30, 2013

You just have to love the Huntsville, AL area. They are respectful of all veterans, and the space program. There are literally hundreds of things to do in the area. Plenty of eating establishments, plenty of parks and nice golf courses in the area. The 36 holes on Post are fine and fun to play, though a little expensive to play at $37 for a green fee and cart. The commissary and BX are great. Having to stop at the shoppette to buy ice after leaving the commissary is a bit of a pain but it's not far. I did find propane at Costco... $10 for a 30 lb bottle. Cheap... I will be back....

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 5, 2013

We overnighted in Redstone. I called (Jordan?) to make reservations, was charged and was given our site number right over the phone. How sweet that was. We followed the directions given, drove slow through the campground and went right to our site. The concrete slab was the biggest I've ever seen. Since we needed a few things for the galley, we walked a short two blocks to the commissary and back. This FamCamp was just what we needed for an overnight stay. Thank you Redstone MWR.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27&28 Feb 2013

Do Not Follow GPS to Gate...went to a closed gate and wound up backing a 30' RV much further than I cared. After a lot of roaming around locating an open gate and eventually the RV Park the rest was great. Given site 3 for two nights. As others have already mentioned, sites are huge and level, concrete. All inner roads are gravel. Acceptable WiFi. On Air TV reception is good, several channels. BX/Commissary within walking distance. A very good walking (paved) trail behind the campground with miles of walking or biking trail. Excellent bath facilities, very clean and warm, which was very nice since the morning temps were in the 20s. Laundry ($1.00 per load) in same building. Close to Huntsville business activities, auto dealership, WalMart, etc...Enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 27 thru March 3rd 2013

Retired Navy couple, we stayed at the Redstone Arsenal for a few days although was quite chilly, super nice level pads, full hook-up, super clean restrooms and showers. Close to Exchange and Comissary overall can't complain and will go back again. We entered through gate 8 easy and close.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 and 9 Oct 2012

These sites are great. Large enough for my truck and travel trailer to stay connected and not be in the way. We stayed for two nights in Oct 2012. The place was quiet and facilites were really clean. Will stay here again. Close to the base gas station and PX. Hope all the others are in as great shape.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12 thru 31 August 2012

As I read the previous reviews, I would liked to have known the orientation of the RV spots to keep the afternoon sun out of the windshield in the motor home. We were assigned a great spot that points a bit right of north - about 030 degrees. As such we only get the morning sun in the windshield at an oblique angle and we are able to enjoy complete shade from the coach in the afternoon. Sites 1-6, 14-21 and 29-34 similarly point NNE. The remaining spots point NW so if yours is a motor home, you will have the afternoon sun in the windshield. The folks at the MWR are most hospitable. When I made my reservation they told me there would be no need to go to the MWR office as they would place our name and receipt in the locator box at the site - we could proceed directly to our assigned site. The previous reviews remain current. A nice campground with lots of interesting things to see and do in this beautiful area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12 Jul - 15 - Jul, 2012

We will definitely stay here again! HUGE level concrete pads, 50 amp service, cable, free wifi - who can beat that for $20 a night? We didn't use the laundry or shower facilities but they look fairly new from the outside. Fenced in dog walk area - we don't have pets so I don't know the condition. Very convenient to the commissary and PX and to Huntsville itself. Almost all sites are pull-throughs except for one row. The only drawbacks we found: No shade to speak of and the row of sites that are not pull-throughs has the electric post placed at the beginning of the site making it very hard to plug-in. We had to pull our 41 ft 5th wheel way up (leaving a ton of empty space at the back of the site) in order to plug-in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2012

With cable, 50 amp service and 25 X 65 concrete pads what else could you ask for? Trees. This is a great place but with very few trees, it can get hot. Located near PX and Commissary. Used the dog walk area, which was great. Did not use the bathhouse or laundry. You have to enter via gate 1, which is the only gate that can handle entries of large vehicles, but you can exit via Gate 8, which is closer. Would recommend that you download a map of the base prior to arrival so you can get around. Best Army RV park we've ever stayed in. We sill stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 May - 10 Jun 2011

A.D. left this review using the Directory software: Great experience! Camp Host on scene but I never talked to him/them, but I had no problems either. A word to the wise, however! The water pressure is very strong. It is very advisable to have a "water pressure regulator" on your connection. I didn't at first and got a leak in the bathroom. Only facility comment is that it would be helpful if the bath house had more than one shower in male and female bath rooms. Men's bath house has only one stall, ladies' have two. On base service station is too "tight" on maneuvering room to expect to refuel there. Very convenient to the PX and Commissary. Definitely coming back again since I have relatives in Huntsville!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18-21 Feb 2011

We were impressed with the friendliness of the Outdoor Rec staff who generally operate 7 days a week. These new facilities are a great value with seventh day free with payment for 6 days; campground is within easy walking distance of PX, Commissary, Post Chapel and other services. Free WIFI reception was great as well as cable TV, two services not found often at military campgrounds. Spacious, level, concrete pads with utilities optimally located made set-up a breeze.

Was this review helpful to you? 
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2