Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (61)
94977 0 17 0 58

User reviews

61 reviews
 
61%
 
34%
3 stars
 
0%
 
3%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(61)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(61)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.4(61)
Value
 
4.4(61)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
61 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
August 2021
(Updated: September 20, 2021)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As mentioned it is just a few blocks from the PX and Commissary. But the arrival instructions are not accurate. Using the take exit 14 off I 565 to gate 9 is perfect. The gate will have several entrances, maybe 7-8, but use the gate lights (red and green) to select the left most green lighted gate. After getting thru the gate by showing your ID, keep left, DO NOT turn left at the first light. Go past the lights and look left for a U turn sign for Goss Road. Take the U turn and go straight (you are now headed back toward the gate). Move to the right most lane. It will look like you are leaving the base. The red light you come to adjacent to the entrance gate is actually Goss Road. Turn right at that light and follow Goss Road for several miles. It will lead you around the golf course and then up a slight hill. As you go over the hill, begin to look on the right side for a very small sign that says “RV”. Turn on that street which is Jupiter street. Go to the end of Jupiter, which will dead end at the RV park. Follow the signage to the entrance (right off Jupiter then left at the dumpster and the entrance is on your left). The confusion is caused by the directions that tell you to turn left at the first light … which is not true. (Editors note: The directions have been updated).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 9-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Never ever had to mow my site in a camp ground until here at redstone. Camp host on a big riding mower manicured his spot left the rest of us with waist high weeds. Used the old push mower left at the laundry entrance to mow. 600$ a month and you mow I just do t see this as a great deal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21-24 June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great area, very large concrete pads. No propane on post, wifi not good at all. Camp host “Kelly” very helpful & friendly, highly recommend this RV park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
9 Apr-12 Apr 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first visit to Redstone Arsenal. I am writing this review while currently parked in the campground because we have had such a great experience here and wanted to share it! We came in at Gate 8 and had a very smooth entry, only needing to show an ID card, then traveled about 1/4 mile and saw a sign for the RV Park to the left onto Jupiter St. It took us right to the campground! The layout, signage, and sites are very well planned. Plenty of information and easy to get around. Very quiet, too. The WiFi is not very robust. Cable channels are satisfactory. There's a nice dog park; the dog run is overgrown and doesn't appear to have been used in some time. There's plenty of areas to walk the dog or ride a bike. We perused Redstone Arsenal and were amazed by everything happening here! We enjoyed Rocket Park and other space race static displays. We also learned about new space projects taking place here. NASA has a presence here. We saw NASA's International Space Station Payload Operations and Integration Center, the National Historic Landmark Redstone Test Stand, and more! A great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Jan 27 - Feb 4, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park in Huntsville Alabama is an awesome campground and has a perfect location to explore the local area. The daily rate is $25 a night and the weekly rate is $150. It is very well laid out and very quiet. It's very close to the Commissary and the Exchange. The bathhouse is well maintained and clean. The washroom facilities has four washers and four dryers, which are well maintained and very clean too. Our camp host were very friendly and helpful. We love this place and would stay here again. We definitely recommend Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park to anyone wanting to explore Huntsville Alabama.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 16 0
Aug. 4, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Did not actually get to visit because my reservation was not accepted because I was not a civilian contractor although I am a 100% disabled vet. Not a good experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 9
Sep 18-25, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First off I have to say the Camp Host, Phil and Terri were very friendly. We were greeted and given our packet and shown where we were to be parked. Everything was great. One word of caution to campers is that you might need an electrical extension and maybe an extra water hose because for some reason the electrical boxes and water connection were installed too far forward. The concrete pads are great. The cable hasn't been connected but we were able to get around 20 channels over our antenna. The campground was full during our stay and was very quite. Gate 9 is the easiest gate to get in but all gates are large enough for RV's to clear. After clearing Gate 9, you get into the left lane and go about 3/4 of a mile then turn left on Homestead Rd. Then turn left onto Rideout and get into the right lane. Follow the signs to Goss Rd. We ride in a 43" Class A. This was not our first stop here nor will it be our last. So far this is the best Army Campground we have ever stayed at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 0
June/July 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I spent two weeks in June/July 2019 at this campground. It was hot! The campground was very nice. It has the largest concrete pads I've ever stayed on in 15 years of RVing. There are no trees in the campground, so it stays hot. The sites are only $20 per night. You can't beat that! You are close to the Rocket Center. The exchange, commissary, and class 6 are all with 2 blocks of the RV Park. I'll stay there again! It's my understanding they are going to expand the campground to add more sites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
24 Aug - 31 Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground! Most sites are pull-through, full hook-up with large concrete pads. The campground host was great and very helpful. This site has changed our focus, to use more Military Campgrounds when available. Good park for satellite reception. They have cable but we didn’t try it, so no comment. The Campground has everything you need, nothing you don’t. Close to the BX and Commissary, I would say within walking distance, if it wasn’t August and 100 degrees might be something I would do. Huntsville is a great little city, lots to do and this campground is the best in the local area. Definitely use Gate 9, and follow the directions provided. The Goss Road Intersection is currently under construction so look for the detour “cut-over” road or you’ll get to see a lot more of Redstone then you’ll want to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice campground with very large RV sites. The RvVsites are the biggest we have ever had. They are slopped just a little. You are very close to the commissary, gas station and off the base there is everything under the sun that one would need. There is a mall right outside gate 9. Gate 9 is all messed up due to the new roads and you have to do a U Turn to get into the base. Gate 8 was so much easier to get into the base. There is a very nice laundry room. Never used the showers. That being said, there is a lot of DOD folks who taking up way too many of the RV spots who have been there for years. It is very hard for a retiree to get a spot with so many folks living full time at the campground. There are no trees and the heat during the month of Aug was extreme. We were told that too many people complained about their Satellite would not work because of the trees. I would of given anything for a little bit of shade. The other thing is the MWR office is like 5 miles from the campground and you must pay in full before you arrive. The daily rate starting in Sept will go up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 31, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very nice rv park. We camped in a 35 MH. All sites have huge 25x65 cement pads. Newer restroom and laundry. Dog run is big and “ clean “. Px and commissary are just a short bike ride or walk away. Space museum is 3 miles away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 9 - 12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Was crowded but was able to get a spot without a reservation. The camp host meet me as I drove in and that was a nice surprise--In the times I had been there previously never saw the camp host. Forgotten the site number but was pretty much in the middle of the CG, the WIFI was excellent. I can speak to it from the edges of the CG. Going back in Aug for the Huntsville Hamfest, will make reservation well ahead as this appears to becoming a hot location for campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 12-24, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The CG and base were excellent. The sites are enormous level cement pads! The area directly around the base is rather rundown, but downtown Huntsville and the shopping strip (University Dr.) has every kind of store and place to eat! The PX and Commissary are VERY close to the CG; a nice walk away... The hospital on base is very nice and also takes TriCare! Negatives were no WIFI and a LOT of homesteaders/contract workers; though didn't affect our stay (this time, but could be an issue during peak season). I will definitely stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 9 thru 12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived mid afternoon and was met by Terri and she gave me directions to the campsite. Everything was great. All are nice pull through sites. Quite and enjoyable. Actually came back on the 19th for two night without a reservation. Even thought there were very near full, they managed to put me in a slot for two nights. They were very helpful. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 18-26, and Sep 19, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Close to commisary exchange and gas station. Very nice walking trails. Huge cement pads with pull thrus from spots 15 - 70. Spots 8 -14 were back in with hookups to far forward actually at my front door of motorhome. This is a realy nice campground and we would always go back. They need to get rid of the abandoned truck and travel trailer on spot 1 for camphost which has been there fora year. We never saw this guy. Two new camphost on spot 14 and 70 are working to make this one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. No swingsets or playground for children.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Aug 19, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have a site in the newly opened area. The concrete pads are huge, plenty of room for our 43 foot motor home and tow car. Utilities are well placed and water pressure is high. Close to Commissary and PX. The new Gate 9 is very narrow so go slow as you enter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 4 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Had a pull through site. Large pad. Jogging path next to park. Clean bathhouse but only one shower. No cable. Mwr said no free cable but can be purchased through local cable company. Huntsville has everything in close vicinity. New addition with 28 sites complete and awaiting opening. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 25, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground. Full hook-ups up to 50 amps all sites. Huge pads. All but second row, sites 7-14 are pull through. Some of the hook ups are well forward which takes away most of the site for parking unless you have really long hoses and cables. Main gate is gate 9 at Redstone. New gate has been built in the past few months but still was tight for my 40 foot Tiffin Phaeton. I’m former Navy, but...Army did good. OBTW, they are building a bunch of new sites adjoining the ones here already. That will really be nice for busy season. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb. 4-10, 2018
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Made a reservation for Feb.4-11.Arrived on Feb 4 as planned, 4 days into our stay the camp host finally put the check-in/checkout paper in the box, showing our arrival as Feb.3 and checkout on Feb.10. Called billeting to try and get this straightened out and was told "Well that's what we have written down, so that's what it is." So we payed in advance for 7 days and only were allowed to stay 6 because of what they had written down. Campground is primarily homesteaders. Currently construction work is being done to add more spaces to the campground so be prepared for noise. Laundry is nice. There is a change machine and a detergent/fabric softener machine, neither work. Very close to Xpress,commissary and PX. The nicest thing about this campground is the wide concrete pads. Definitely won't be coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Aug 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here during the Huntsville Hamfest. It is located close to downtown and the Von Braun Center. Lots of eating places nearby. No office on site, but made reservation on the phone and just came and went as I wanted. They could use some trees to provide some shade again the Summer heat. Could not get a WIFI connection but no big deal for me. Very nice concrete pad for parking the RV and truck. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
61 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4