Holiday Park FamCamp

Featured
 
3.8 (41)
90113 2 19 1 23

User reviews

7 reviews with 3 stars

41 reviews

 
(14)
 
(15)
 
(7)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.3  (41)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (41)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.3  (41)
Value 
 
4.1  (41)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (41)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
26 August - 2 September 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This FAMCAMP is conveniently located to Tacoma and the surrounding areas. You could visit sites at Seattle from this location, but competing with the traffic would be a challenge. It is a reasonable location to perform a day trip to Mount Rainier National Park, which I'd highly recommend. On base, the FAMCAMP is convenient to the Base XChange and Commissary. Most sites are shaded amongst large and very tall trees. Great in the summer, but may be a challenge during the wet season of the year. Tree cover will likely impede satellite TV reception, but since you are near a large city, over the air TV reception is fairly reasonable. These are the positives. The negatives: "No one is minding the store!". Checkin was a challenge; no one is there on Sunday and Monday and the Camp Host doesn't start work until 5pm. About 5 of us didn't have any idea what site we had, only later to find out that is secretly listed on our email confirmation receipt, but not very "clear". My recommendation is to call in advance during one of their work days. Also, follow the directions on this website, the email conformation receipt they send to you in advance, suggests using Exit 122. Exit 122 is a terrible choice and is completly under construction. In addition, the dumpsters were overflowing with trash, so whatever frequency cycle they use to empty them, it isn't often enough. The laundry room hadn't been cleaned at all, in fact, one of our friends was so disgusted, they used their own broom to clean things up. Hopefully someone soon will start to mind the store, but this FAMCAMP has more positives than negatives in our opinion, so we will likely return. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Summer 2014 and 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
HOMESTEADERS get the boot at JBLM !  Good !!  Read article stripes.com   "Joint Base Lewis-McChord tells long-term residents to pull up stakes"  Dated  27 May 2016.  About time homesteaders are kicked out.  FamCamps are not housing.   Glad they kicked them out!  GOOD! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 3
Sept-Oct 2012
(Updated: October 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
The campground has been upgraded with full service as well as 50 amp (instead of 30amp) in the loop. They freshened up grounds. However we tried 3 times after it reopened going up/back/thru Washington and it appears that with the good price it has now become 'homestead haven' and we were not able to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 23 to July 2, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This campground is a good value. Its few shortcomings are offset by the low price. It is basically two campgrounds. The 19 sites with sewer connection are located in a tight loop and spaced relatively close together. The remaining sites are water and electric only and are located in a more heavily forested section with thick vegetation between widely separated sites. This vegetation needs to be periodically trimmed as it encroaches on the site. Bring pruning shears if you plan to stay in the partial hookup sites. The trees make satellite reception (TV or Internet) difficult if not impossible. About 10 dry camping sites are located throughout the campground and an overflow area shares a large open field with RV storage. If you must have satellite reception, this is the only option. When the planes are not flying, the campground is a quiet, peaceful setting. Most of the time, it has been quiet but one evening was the exception – lots of takeoffs that lasted until midnight. And the campground is less than 400 yards from the end of the runway. Little or no effort to maintain the sites. The picnic table surface was coated in crud falling from the trees. Vegetation and trees around campsites need to be trimmed. Lots of ants at many sites. Campers are using Ajax to sprinkle around their site perimeter but the ants don’t seem too impressed. But the Ajax creates an unsightly mess. There is a nice laundry with 3 washers and 3 dryers. Bathhouse and restroom were in good condition but had not been cleaned on the day of my observation. A small mobile home houses a lounge area with a small library with books, magazines, VCR tapes, and DVDs for check out. Verizon air card signal is strong with a download speed of 800k bps. Retirees can now use the base dining facilities. BX and commissary are less than 2 miles away. When entering the base with an RV, base security makes a cursory inspection of the interior and exterior bays. A previous reviewer though he was being treated like a terrorist – to me it was a standard, simple, quick inspection.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I've visited the site several times over the last ten years and seen it have it's ups and downs, but I must say that I'm super impressed with the management that is running the FAMCAMP right now. (I'd include the ladies names but I don't want to cause any FP issues). If you have an issues, they will bend over backwards to help you out. It is true the post doesn't put the money into the camp that they put into their runway every couple of years, but even so it is a well kept area and kept clean. You could try the cheaper Camp Murry across the highway, but it's kind of a dump and the management is not concerned with much except telling everyone that they are the management.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Convenient to exchange and commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This Fam camp has steadily gone down hill over the past several years. No money has been put into it. Roads have very large pot holes. The full hook-up area is very muddy and has a large puddle (20' in diameter). Satelite reception is limited to a few sites. It's heavely wooded. I would rate average minus this year, probaby lower next year if no improvements are made. The 62nd usually does better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
7 results - showing 1 - 7